Seine maritime

History

Before the Roman invasion, currently occupied by the Department of Seine-Inférieure, the territory was inhabited by the Velocaces, with Rothomagus, today Rouen, the capital, and speak rolled, which Julia Bona, become Lillebonne, formed the main town.

After the conquest, these peoples were included in the second Lyonnaise. At the beginning of the 5th century, they revolted against Roman rule, and formed in the Republic up to the time when the region was conquered by Clovis. Throughout this period the middle age was troubled and bloodied by the Frankish Kings family quarrels.

In the 9th century, the Norman pirates nominal the Seine and overran Rouen. Charles the Simple, unable to push back, changed the name of Neustria which was the province of Normandy, and built it to a Duchy in favour of Rollo, the leader of the Normans.

Among his successors, there is Richard II, who was forced to suppress the revolts of peasants, Robert le Diable, and his bastard, Guillaume the Conqueror, who in 1066, defeated the Anglo-Saxons in the battle of Hastings, in which Harold succumbed heroically.

The death of Guillaume, one of his sons, Robert short Plunzhera, inherited Normandy. All this time still felt infighting dissensions; It was Philippe Auguste, who, in 1204, confiscated the Duchy of Normandy on John Lackland, and brings together it the Crown.

Philippe de Valois formed Normandy in Duchy apanager in favour of his eldest son. During the hundred years war, this province was again invaded by the English, and it was issued at the time when Louis XI the definitely brings to the royal domain.

The wars of religion were disastrous for Normandy, which also became the theatre of the League, and Arques that Henri IV won a famous victory over the Duke of Mayenne, in 1589.

In 1790, the Department of Seine-Inférieure was formed the Roumois, the country of Caux and Bray, and the Norman Vexin.

Geography

The Department is located on the western edge of the Paris Basin, through his contact with the handle. It consists of three different regions: the pays de Caux, the Valley of the Seine and the pays de Bray:-most of the Department consists of the pays de Caux, vast plateau of upper Cretaceous which the average altitude exceeding 200 meters. covered uniformly flint clay and fertile silt, it combines intensive cultivation and cattle breeding; the pays de Caux ends on the sea by high chalk cliffs notched by "gaps" (estuaries of the rivers), or the "valleys" (hanging dry valleys).

The Seine place meanders cashed in a wide Valley to poor soils covered with forests; the estuary forms a deep Bay where the river waters mingle with the waters of the sea and the tide is felt up to Rouen, creating a tidal wave, tidal bore, which dates back the estuary, vital artery of the Department, the Seine has an intense inland and allowed the development of the two major ports, Le Havre and Rouen.

The buttonhole of the pays de Bray provides a perfect example of inverted relief: erosion ruled high anticlines bulges, updating the underlying soft rocks (limestones, clays); wooded depression, the pays de Bray is delimited by the chalky cliffs of the pays de Caux. The climate, oceanic order, knows little rigorous winters, cool summers and significant rainfall. the Western winds dominate. The Department has a strong industrial tradition in relation to the important port traffic. Rouen, Le Havre and Elbeuf are the three main centres around which have settled very diversified industries (metallurgy, textile chemistry, refineries, shipbuilding).

Agriculture remains active: livestock and polyculture are the two main resources.

Arts

Rich land of culture, the Department has a monumental heritage of any first-order. Megalithic civilization is only weakly represented (menhir Icecrown Petit Pierre-State) and the Roman era has left only one monument important (theatre of Lillebonne, the largest Roman theatre in the North of the France). On the other hand, the Antiquities of Rouen Museum houses very rich Gallo-Roman collections (mosaic of Lillebonne, the largest signed mosaic found in France) and a few coins from the time of the Vikings.

Romanesque architecture is developed very early; Jumièges Abbey is one of the most representative monuments of an art which relate the churches of St-Martin-de-Boscherville, Montivilliers or Etretat, le Prieuré de Graville du Havre and the small church of Manéglise or that of Varengeville, adorned with stained glass windows by Braque and surrounded by a small cemetery where he is buried. The Gothic dominates in some major buildings in Normandy: Abbey of St-Wandrille, Trinity of Fécamp, Cathedral of Rouen (patiently restored after World War II), churches of St Maclou and St-Ouen of Rouen.

The art of the Renaissance occurred through the Abbey of Valmont, that of the 17th century through the chapels of the Jesuits of Eu or Rouen. The castles and mansions, often open to the public, abound in the Department. The Dukes of Normandy or their great vassals have built castles which some have survived in more or less good state of conservation: Dungeon of Lillebonne, tour Jeanne d'Arc in Rouen, Château de Robert le Diable, castles of Arques, Dieppe or Tancarville. Later, the castles of Bailleul, Clères, Miromesnil and Mesnières-en-Bray testify to the refined art of the Lords of the Renaissance.

The castles of Bois-HÉROULT and channels are impregnated with the elegance of the 18th century. Modest mansions embellish the countryside, such as the Manor Pierre Corneille in the Petit-Couronne, or the Manor of Ango, with its picturesque brick Dovecote. Rural habitat is of great interest with its half-timbered houses or buildings of brick. Finally, contemporary art has produced ambitious achievements (the Tancarville bridge, the pont de Brotonne) and convincing (circular Church of Yvetot).

latest Department notices

Monuments et patrimoine Seine maritime

Histoire

Avant l'invasion romaine, le territoire, actuellement occupé par le département de la Seine-Inférieure, était habité par les Velocaces, dont Rothomagus, aujourd'hui Rouen, était la capitale, et parles Galetes, dont Julia Bona, devenue Lillebonne, formait la ville principale.

Après la conquête, ces peuplades furent comprises dans la seconde Lyonnaise. Au commencement du Ve siècle, elles se révoltèrent contre la domination romaine, et se constituèrent en république jusqu'à l'époque où la contrée fut conquise par Clovis. Toute cette période du moyen âge fut troublée et ensanglantée par les querelles de famille des rois Francs.

Au IXe siècle, les pirates normands remontèrent la Seine et s'emparèrent de Rouen. Charles le Simple, incapable de les repousser, changea le nom de Neustrie que portait la province pour celui de Normandie, et l'érigea en duché en faveur de Rollon, le chef de ces Normands.

Parmi ses successeurs, on remarque Richard II, qui dut réprimer les révoltes des paysans, Robert le Diable, et son bâtard, Guillaume le Conquérant, qui, en 1066, vainquit les Anglo-Saxons à la bataille d'Hastings, dans laquelle Harold succomba heroïquement.

A la mort de Guillaume, l'un de ses fils, Robert Courte Heuse, hérita de la Normandie. Toute cette époque se ressentit encore des dissensions intestines ; ce fut Philippe Auguste, qui, en 1204, confisqua le duché de Normandie sur Jean sans Terre, et le réunit la couronne.

Philippe de Valois constitua la Normandie en duché apanager en faveur de son fils aîné. Pendant la guerre de Cent ans, cette province fut encore envahie par les Anglais, et elle n'en fut délivrée qu'à l'époque à laquelle Louis XI la réunit définitivement au domaine royal.

Les guerres de religion furent désastreuses pour la Normandie, qui devint en outre le théâtre de la Ligue, et c'est à Arques qu'Henri IV remporta une célèbre victoire sur le duc de Mayenne, en 1589.

En 1790, le département de la Seine-Inférieure fut formé du Roumois, des pays de Caux et de Bray, et du Vexin-Normand.

Géographie

Le département est situé sur la bordure occidentale du Bassin parisien, à son contact avec la Manche. Il se compose de 3 régions différentes : le pays de Caux, la vallée de la Seine et le pays de Bray : - La plus grande partie du département est constituée par le pays de Caux, vaste plateau de crétacé supérieur dont l'altitude moyenne dépasse 200 mètres; recouvert uniformément d'argile à silex et de limons fertiles, celui-ci associe culture intensive et élevage bovin; le pays de Caux s'achève sur la mer par de hautes falaises crayeuses échancrées par les "brèches" (estuaires des fleuves côtiers), ou les "valleuses" (vallées sèches suspendues).

La Seine déroule ses méandres encaissés dans une large vallée aux sols médiocres recouverts de forêts; l'estuaire forme une baie profonde où les eaux du fleuve se mêlent aux eaux de la mer et la marée se fait sentir jusqu'à Rouen, faisant naître une vague déferlante, le mascaret, qui remonte l'estuaire, artère vitale du département, la Seine connaît une intense navigation fluviale et a permis le développement des deux grands ports, Le Havre et Rouen.

La boutonnière du pays de Bray fournit un parfait exemple de relief inversé : l'érosion a tranché les bombements anticlinaux élevés, mettant au jour les roches tendres sous-jacentes (calcaires, argiles); dépression bocagère, le pays de Bray est délimité par les escarpements crayeux du pays de Caux. Le climat, d'ordre océanique, connaît des hivers peu rigoureux, des étés frais et une pluviosité importante; les vents d'ouest dominent. Le département est doté d'une tradition industrielle solide en liaison avec le trafic portuaire important. Rouen, Le Havre et Elbeuf sont les trois centres principaux, autour desquels se sont installées des industries très diversifiées (métallurgie, chimie, textile, raffineries, constructions navales).

L'agriculture demeure active : élevage et polyculture sont les deux principales ressources.

Les arts

Riche terre de culture, le département possède un patrimoine monumental de tout premier ordre. La civilisation mégalithique n'est que faiblement représentée (menhir de la Pierre-d'Etat du Petit-Couronne) et l'époque romaine n'a laissé qu'un seul monument important (théâtre de Lillebonne, le plus grand théâtre romain du nord de la France). En revanche, le musée des Antiquités de Rouen abrite de très riches collections gallo-romaines (mosaïque de Lillebonne, la plus grande mosaïque signée trouvée en France) et quelques pièces de l'époque des Vikings.

L'architecture romane s'est développée très tôt; l'abbaye de Jumièges figure parmi les monuments les plus représentatifs d'un art auquel se rattachent les églises de St-Martin-de-Boscherville, Montivilliers ou Etretat, le prieuré de Graville du Havre et la petite église de Manéglise ou celle de Varengeville, ornée de vitraux de Braque et entourée d'un petit cimetière marin où il repose. Le gothique domine dans certains édifices majeurs de Normandie : abbaye de St-Wandrille, Trinité de Fécamp, cathédrale de Rouen (patiemment restaurée après la Seconde Guerre mondiale), églises St-Maclou et St-Ouen de Rouen.

L'art de la Renaissance s'est manifesté à travers l'abbaye de Valmont, celui du 17ème à travers les chapelles des Jésuites d'Eu ou de Rouen. Les châteaux et manoirs, souvent ouverts au public, abondent dans le département. Les ducs de Normandie ou leurs grands vassaux ont édifié des châteaux forts dont certains ont subsisté en plus ou moins bon état de conservation : donjon de Lillebonne, tour Jeanne d'Arc à Rouen, château de Robert le Diable, châteaux d'Arques, Dieppe ou Tancarville. Plus tardifs, les châteaux de Bailleul, Clères, Eu, Miromesnil et Mesnières-en-Bray témoignent de l'art raffiné des seigneurs de la Renaissance.

Les châteaux de Bois-Héroult et de Filières sont imprégnés de l'élégance du 18ème. De modestes manoirs embellissent la campagne, tels le manoir Pierre Corneille au Petit-Couronne, ou le manoir d'Ango, avec son pittoresque colombier de brique. L'habitat rural est d'un grand intérêt avec ses maisons à colombage ou ses constructions de brique. Enfin, l'art contemporain a produit des réalisations ambitieuses (le pont de Tancarville, le pont de Brotonne) et convaincantes (église circulaire d'Yvetot).

les dernières fiches patrimoine du département

Répertoire du patrimoine

proposer un site web dans l'annuaire Promotion du patrimoine Proposez un site, blog, en rapport avec le département Seine maritime
La fiche descriptive de votre site sera directement accessible dans cette rubrique.