Yvelines

History

Region of ancient settlement, where the Neolithic left of many megaliths, still in place or transported to the Museum of Saint-Germain. The Romans have subsequently left their mark, particularly by channels of communication: the current 186 borrows yet in part the route of the "via nova", which connected Paris to Rouen.

In the middle ages, this territory was directly concerned, by the institution progressive royal power over the île de France, right-of-way which is marked by the construction of castles built for or against the King of France: after the Marly Montjoie, which will inspire the royal war cry, it was Conflans, Beynes, Montfort-L'amaury, Houdan, Chevreuse. Saint Louis, born in Poissy, often resided at Saint-Germain, which he built the Sainte-Chapelle. The region was directly affected by the hundred years war: Du Guesclin resumed Meulan in 1364 and Dunois fought at Poissy in 1436. Region, too, monastic settlements, of which we find traces in Vaux-de-Cernay.

Peace returned, the region remained Royal residence, in particular with the Château de Saint-Germain where the monarchy stayed regularly after his return from the val de Loire. François Ier died at Rambouillet in 1547. The wars of Religion also manifested on our territory, in particular by the vain Colloquy of Poissy. Another royal castle built at Saint-Léger-en - Yvelines.La presence of many forests there attracted Kings, all hunters, and the Château de Saint-Germain, doubled by Henri IV, became the residence of the monarchy until the middle of the reign of Louis XIV, while Ministers were build other residences (houses).

In the dark days of the Fronde, the Royal family, twice, forced to flee to Saint-Germain. But an appointment of Louis XIII hunting during the second half of the 17th century, little by little birth give the royal castle by excellence, Versailles, where Louis XIV moved the Court in 1682: Royal city which became, for a century, the capital of the France. The King of England dethroned moved to Saint-Germain; Louis XIV had built Marly for his privileged; Princes and Ministers did arise from many fields; Mme de Maintenon at Saint-Cyr founded a large House of education. And it is in our region that fought the most religious grandeaventure. literary also. century, pushed almost to the point of martyrdom: Port-Royal-des-Champs.

The monarchical presence was maintained here throughout the 18th century, where Louis XV had built Saint-Hubert, while Mme de Pompadour lived in La Celle-Saint-Cloud, and where Louis XVI acquired Rambouillet.Le October 6, 1789, the monarchy left Versailles, and the great political our region, where we can hardly point out that the creation, at Saint-Germain, boarding house of Mme Campannursery of leading ladies, or even stays of Napoleon at Trianon. In 1815, general Exelmans won the last victory of the Empire in Rocquencourt.

Our region was the first to see the railway, which reached Le Pecq in 1837, then Versailles by two routes. The new communication routes favoured the construction and wood of le Vésinet, loti, became a model residential city, while Park was irretrievably sacked. Thanks to the railway also, Parisians discovered the banks of the Seine; Argenteuil, Chatou, Bougival, Medan, welcomed impressionists and writers. In 1870, it was the invasion, and many battles took place on our soil. The Prussian general staff moved to Saint-Germain and is in the Hall of mirrors at Versailles that was proclaimed the German empire.

New french Government had, before the Commune, withdrawing him into the Royal City, and it is there that after his departure, were, until 1954, elected sixteen presidents of the Republic, which many stayed in Rambouillet.temoin heroic times of aviation (Buc, Villacoublay), our region lives ended the first world war by the Treaty of Versailles, Saint-Germain and Trianon. Between the wars was a great industrial development (Poissy) and residential.The region was hit by the German occupation of 1940-1944 (Rommel had his headquarters at le Vésinet, then to La Roche-Guyon) and by Allied bombing that ravaged Mantes or Poissy. Economic recovery was slow and manifested by industrial settlements (Flins) and a rather untidy residential construction. Some municipalities (Fontenay-le-Fleury, Villepreuxl, La Celle-Saint-Cloud) was a spectacular expansion.

One of the first "estates" was built in Marly (main land) and fairly harmonious residences appeared in Louveciennes. Subsequently, the creation of the new town of Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines strove to polarize the phenomenon.The Yvelines Department was born in 1964 and received full powers in 1982. He led an important action, especially in the cultural field.

Geography

Geologically, the Department of Yvelines, as throughout the Ile-de-France, consists of alternating layers of sand and limestone, more or less mixed clay. Sands are kept in a large number of locations, while also reappears the calcareous layer. The banks of the Seine are a land of alluvial deposits. These various actions determined the relief of the Department, including a series of trays to an average altitude of 150 metres in which the rivers dug their beds to reach the Seine, to the North (Mauldre), to the West by the intermediary of the Eure (Vesgre) or East (Yvette).

You can delimit, in this Department, from North to South, six natural regions: Valley of the Poissy Seine at Port-Villez, area of vegetable crops and livestock, quarrying of sand and chalk, but whose place of passage vocation has favored residence and industrial implantation; the outskirts of Paris which, Vélizy Houilles and Maisons-Laffitte through Versailles and Saint-Germain, tends to become a huge conurbation, the crops of Chambourcy or Montesson disappearing little by little; the Drouais, bocage country, pasture and Woods; the plain of Versailles, in the center of the Department, region of crops (cereals, maize), but also fruits and vegetables, while patches of sandstone and sand support forests (Marly, Beynes); the region itself Yvelines (Rambouillet, Chevreuse, Saint-Arnoult, Gambais), area of great culture, but also for breeding as well as forests, very residential area; the Beauce Finally, the Yvelines have, Ablis autour, a small part (about 10 000 hectares), plain flat where cereals reach outstanding performance.

Nature is never reports by its relief, and the man's hand is almost everywhere presents through the channels of communication, the habitat and, in some areas, the industry. But the landscape is still lively and often taking with two main elements: streams and forests. For the former, it is firstly the Seine, which crosses the northern part of the Department, describing large meanders caused by the weakness of the slope, and the banks still offer places of the natural aspects, for example in the West, where they line of chalk cliffs. But the river receives, here or elsewhere, amount of tributaries born on the floor of the Yvelines: Mauldre, Yvette, barley, Vixen, Drouette, Vesgre, Vaucouleurs including the banks, despite the proliferation of homes, still views field.

In the field of water, we can still mention ponds, natural or artificial, passing little by little the State of wild mares to sophisticated water parts. As forests, they are a wealth of the Department, be they state-owned (Germain, Marly, Rambouillet, Dourdan) or private (700 000 hectares in all, a quarter of the surface of the Department). It is the area of oak, chestnut and in lesser quantities, birch, beech, charm, but conifers are a most important part.

Arts

The growth of villages, the importance of religious communities, the presence of the Court and its satellites have endowed the region of an impressive monumental adornment, which it may be noted that the heads of section. In the middle ages we must not only fortresses, cited, but countless churches, where the novel is quickly supplanted by a Gothic village, modest but still elegant: Poissy, Saint-Arnoult-en-Yvelines, Maisons-Laffitte, Chatou, Bougival, Triel, Mézières-sur-Seine are some of the different aspects, while the Sainte-Chapelle of the Château de Saint-Germain, recalls the memory of the Capetians and the Collegiate Church of Mantes rises proportions and harmony of a cathedral.

And in religious architecture, medieval puts time to confess defeated and throws his last fire in Montfort-L'amaury, at Richebourg, Houdan, mixing gradually to new forms, while Renaissance already manifested itself in the castles of Saint-Germain, of Mesnuls, de Wideville, as at the cemetery of Montfort. It is still in Saint-Germain that opens the new series of the large homes of the first half of the 17th century, with the Château-Neuf, which we remain two pavilions, followed by Medan, houses and its cave, Rosny, Thoiry, Celle-les-Bordes La, Gambais, Breteuil, the nymphaeum of Wideville: architecture is singing the colors of brick, stone, slate now more residential aristocracy that stately service.

But this is Versailles, which is of course for the second half of the century, the great page not only architecture, but of all the arts that find their framework. And it is necessary, with Versailles, count its Orangery, stables, annexes its satellites (Trianon, Dampierre) and even citywide accompanying. It is still at Versailles that manifests itself, in our region, the Louis XV style, theatrical Cathedral or the flag french, more measured in the library, classicisant at the Opera, while the Interior of Rambouillet offers some of the finest woodwork of the time.

The neo-classicism of the time Louis XVI manifests itself in the dining room of houses, in the dairy of Rambouillet, in the nymphaeum of Chatou, to the Church of Port-Marly and still at Versailles, where the petit Trianon remains as the symbol of that era which flow to its loss through the fantasies of the hamlet by the Queen or the Desert de Retz. After the Revolution, the architecture of the region fell asleep for one hundred fifty years and. one can hardly cite for the 19th century as Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas Castle. But she awoke with Le Corbusier, author of the villa Savoye in Poissy, followed after the second world war by Dubuisson (seat of the C.S.F. at INRIA Rocquencourt), Wogensky (his home in Saint-Rémy-les-Chevreuse), Lourdin (Saint-Thibaut-de-Marly), Zehrfuss (factory Renault of Flins), functional, but rich architectures of invention and originality.

latest Department notices

Monuments et patrimoine Yvelines

Histoire

Région de peuplement très ancien, où l'époque néolithique a laissé de nombreux mégalithes, encore en place ou transportés au musée de Saint-Germain. Les Romains y ont ensuite laissé leur marque, en particulier par des voies de communication : l'actuelle N186 emprunte encore en partie le tracé de la "via nova", qui reliait Paris à Rouen.

Au Moyen Age, ce territoire se trouvait directement concerné, par l'établissement progressif du pouvoir royal sur l'Ile de France, emprise qui se marqua par la construction de châteaux-forts édifiés pour ou contre le roi de France : après la Montjoie de Marly, qui inspirera le cri de guerre royal, ce furent Conflans-Sainte-Honorine, Beynes, Montfort-l'Amaury, Houdan, Chevreuse. Saint Louis, né à Poissy, résida souvent à Saint-Germain dont il construisit la Sainte-Chapelle. La région fut directement touchée par la guerre de Cent Ans : Du Guesclin reprit Meulan en 1364 et Dunois combattit à Poissy en 1436. Région, aussi, de peuplement monastique, dont on retrouve les traces aux Vaux-de-Cernay.

La paix revenue, la région resta résidence royale, en particulier avec le château de Saint-Germain où la monarchie séjourna régulièrement après son retour du val de Loire. François Ier mourut à Rambouillet en 1547. Les guerres de Religion se manifestèrent aussi sur notre territoire, en particulier par le vain colloque de Poissy. Un autre château royal se construisit à Saint-Léger-en-Yvelines.La présence de nombreuses forêts y attira les rois, tous chasseurs, et le château de Saint-Germain, doublé par Henri IV, devint la résidence habituelle de la monarchie jusqu'au milieu du règne de Louis XIV, tandis que des ministres se firent construire d'autres résidences (Maisons).

Aux jours sombres de La Fronde, la famille royale, par deux fois, dut se réfugier à Saint-Germain. Mais un rendez-vous de chasse de Louis XIII au cours de la seconde moitié du 17ème, donnera peu à peu naissance au château royal par excellence, Versailles, où Louis XIV transféra la Cour en 1682 : ville royale qui devint, pour un siècle, la capitale de la France. Le roi d'Angleterre détrôné s'installa à Saint-Germain; Louis XIV fit construire Marly pour ses privilégiés; princes et ministres firent naître de nombreux domaines; Mme de Maintenon fonda à Saint-Cyr une grande maison d'éducation. Et c'est dans notre région que se déroula la plus grandeaventure religieuse. littéraire aussi. du siècle, poussée presque jusqu'au martyre : Port- Royal-des-Champs.

La présence monarchique se maintint ici pendant tout le 18ème siècle, où Louis XV fit bâtir Saint-Hubert, tandis que Mme de Pompadour habitait La Celle-Saint-Cloud, et où Louis XVI acquit Rambouillet.Le 6 octobre 1789, la monarchie quitta Versailles, et la grande politique notre région, où l'on ne peut plus guère signaler que la création, à Saint-Germain, du pensionnat de Mme Campan, pépinière de grandes dames, ou encore les séjours de Napoléon à Trianon. En 1815, le général Exelmans remporta à Rocquencourt la dernière victoire de l'Empire.

Notre région fut la première à voir apparaître le chemin de fer, qui attint Le Pecq en 1837, puis Versailles par deux itinéraires. Les nouvelles voies de communication favorisèrent la construction et le bois du Vésinet, loti, devint une ville résidentielle modèle, alors que le parc de Maisons fut irrémédiablement saccagé. Grâce au chemin de fer aussi, les Parisiens découvrirent les bords de Seine; Argenteuil, Chatou, Bougival, Médan, accueillirent Impressionnistes et écrivains. En 1870, ce fut l'invasion, et de nombreux combats eurent lieu sur notre sol. L'état-major prussien s'installa à Saint-Germain et c'est dans la Galerie des glaces de Versailles que fut proclamé l'empire allemand.

Le nouveau gouvernement français dut, devant la Commune, se replier lui aussi sur la Ville royale, et c'est là qu'après son départ, furent, jusqu'à 1954, élus seize présidents de la République, dont plusieurs séjournèrent à Rambouillet.Témoin des temps héroïques de l'aviation (Buc, Villacoublay), notre région vit se conclure la première guerre mondiale par les traités de Versailles, de Saint-Germain et de Trianon. L'entre-deux guerres connut un grand développement industriel (Poissy) et résidentiel.La région fut durement touchée par l'occupation allemande de 1940-1944 (Rommel eut son quartier général au Vésinet, puis à La Roche-Guyon) et par les bombardements alliés, qui ravagèrent Mantes ou Poissy. La reprise économique fut lente et se manifesta par des implantations industrielles (Flins) et une construction résidentielle assez désordonnée. Certaines communes (Fontenay-le-Fleury, Villepreuxl, La Celle-Saint-Cloud) connurent une expansion spectaculaire.

Un des premiers "grands ensembles" fut construit à Marly (les Grandes Terres) et des résidences assez harmonieuses apparurent à Louveciennes. Par la suite, la création de la ville nouvelle de Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines s'efforça de polariser le phénomène.Le Département des Yvelines est né en 1964 et a reçu pleins pouvoirs en 1982. Il mène une action importante, en particulier dans le domaine culturel.

Géographie

Géologiquement, le département des Yvelines, comme toute l'Ile-deFrance, est constitué de couches alternées de sables et de calcaire, plus ou moins mêlés d'argile. Les sables se sont maintenus dans un grand nombre d'endroits, tandis qu'ailleurs réapparaît la couche calcaire. Les bords de la Seine sont une terre d'alluvions. Ces diverses actions ont déterminé le relief du département, comportant une série de plateaux d'une altitude moyenne de 150 mètres dans lesquels les rivières ont creusé leur lit, pour rejoindre la Seine, au nord (Mauldre), à l'ouest par l'intermédiaire de l'Eure (Vesgre) ou à l'est (Yvette).

On peut délimiter, dans ce département, du nord au sud, six régions naturelles : vallée de la Seine de Poissy à Port-Villez, zone de cultures maraîchères et d'élevage, de carrières de sable et de craie aussi, mais dont la vocation de lieu de passage a favorisé la résidence et l'implantation industrielle; la banlieue parisienne, qui, de Vélizy à Houilles et Maisons-Laffitte en passant par Versailles et Saint-Germain, tend à devenir une immense agglomération, les cultures,maraîchères de Chambourcy ou de Montesson disparaissant peu à peu; le Drouais, pays de bocage, de pâturages et de bois; la plaine de Versailles, au centre du département, région de grande culture (céréales, maïs), mais aussi de fruits et légumes, tandis que des îlots de grès et de sable supportent des forêts (Marly, Beynes); la région des Yvelines proprement dite (Rambouillet, Chevreuse, Saint-Arnoult, Gambais), zone de grande culture, mais aussi d'élevage ainsi que de grandes forêts, région très résidentielle; la Beauce enfin, dont les Yvelines possèdent, autour d'Ablis, une petite partie (10 000 hectares environ), plaine plate où les céréales atteignent un rendement exceptionnel.

La Nature ne se signale jamais par son relief, et la main de l'homme est presque partout présente par les voies de communication, l'habitat et, en certaines zones, l'industrie. Mais le paysage est encore vivace et souvent prenant, avec deux éléments principaux : cours d'eau et forêts. Pour les premiers, c'est d'abord la Seine, qui traverse toute la partie nord du département, décrivant de grands méandres provoqués par la faiblesse de la pente, et dont les rives offrent encore par endroits des aspects naturels, par exemple dans l'ouest, où elles se bordent de falaises de craie. Mais le fleuve reçoit, ici ou ailleurs, quantité d'affluents nés sur le sol des Yvelines : Mauldre, Yvette, Orge, Renarde, Drouette, Vesgre, Vaucouleurs dont les rives, malgré la prolifération des résidences secondaires, offrent encore des vues agrestes.

Dans le domaine de l'eau, il faut encore citer des étangs, naturels ou artificiels, qui passent peu à peu de l'état de mares sauvages à celui de pièces d'eau sophistiquées. Quant aux forêts, elles constituent une richesse du département, qu'elles soient domaniales (Saint-Germain, Marly, Rambouillet, Dourdan) ou privées (700 000 hectares en tout, le quart de la surface du département). C'est le domaine du chêne, du châtaignier et en moindre quantité, du bouleau, du hêtre, du charme, mais les résineux y prennent une part de plus en plus importante.

Les Arts

La croissance des villages, l'importance des communautés religieuses, la présence de la Cour et de ses satellites ont doté la région d'une impressionnante parure monumentale, dont on ne peut noter que les têtes de chapitre. Au Moyen Age nous devons non seulement des forteresses, citées par ailleurs, mais d'innombrables églises, où le roman est vite supplanté par un gothique villageois, modeste mais toujours élégant : Poissy, Saint-Arnoult-en-Yvelines, Maisons-Laffitte, Chatou, Bougival, Triel, Mézières-sur-Seine en donnent quelques-uns des différents aspects, tandis que la Sainte-Chapelle du château de Saint-Germain, rappelle le souvenir des Capétiens et que la collégiale de Mantes s'élève aux proportions et à l'harmonie d'une cathédrale.

Et en matière d'architecture religieuse, le Moyen Age met du temps à s'avouer vaincu et jette ses derniers feux à Montfort-l'Amaury, à Richebourg, à Houdan, en se mêlant peu à peu aux formes nouvelles, alors que la Renaissance s'est déjà manifestée aux châteaux de Saint-Germain, des Mesnuls, de Wideville, comme au cimetière de Montfort. C'est encore à Saint-Germain que s'ouvre la nouvelle série des grandes demeures de la première moitié du 17ème siècle, avec le Château-Neuf, dont nous restent deux pavillons, suivi de Médan, Maisons et sa grotte, Rosny, Thoiry, La Celle-les-Bordes, Gambais, Breteuil, le nymphée de Wideville : l'architecture y fait chanter les couleurs de la brique, de la pierre, de l'ardoise au service d'une aristocratie désormais plus résidentielle que seigneuriale.

Mais c'est Versailles qui constitue évidemment pour la seconde moitié du siècle, la grande page non seulement d'architecture, mais de tous les arts qui y trouvent leur cadre. Et il faut, avec Versailles, compter ses annexes (Orangerie, Ecuries), ses satellites (Trianon, Dampierre) et même toute la ville qui l'accompagne. C'est encore à Versailles que se manifeste, dans notre région, le style Louis XV, théâtral à la cathédrale ou au Pavillon français, plus mesuré à la Bibliothèque, classicisant à l'Opéra, tandis que l'intérieur de Rambouillet offre certaines des plus belles boiseries de l'époque.

Le néo-classicisme de l'époque Louis XVI se manifeste dans la salle à manger de Maisons, à la Laiterie de Rambouillet, au nymphée de Chatou, à l'église de Port-Marly et encore à Versailles, où le petit Trianon reste comme le symbole de cette époque qui s'acheminait à sa perte à travers les fantaisies du Hameau de la Reine ou du Désert de Retz. Après la Révolution, l'architecture de la région s'endormit pour cent cinquante ans et. l'on ne peut guère citer pour le 19ème siècle que Monte-Cristo, le château d'Alexandre Dumas. Mais elle s'est réveillée avec Le Corbusier, auteur de la villa Savoye à Poissy, suivi après la seconde guerre mondiale par Dubuisson (siège de la C.S.F. à Rocquencourt), Wogensky (sa maison à Saint-Rémy-les-Chevreuse), Lourdin (Saint-Thibaut-de-Marly), Zehrfuss (usine Renault de Flins), architectures fonctionnelles, mais riches d'invention et d'originalité.

les dernières fiches patrimoine du département

Répertoire du patrimoine

proposer un site web dans l'annuaire Promotion du patrimoine Proposez un site, blog, en rapport avec le département Yvelines
La fiche descriptive de votre site sera directement accessible dans cette rubrique.