Morbihan

History

Currently occupied by the Department of Morbihan, the territory was inhabited before the Roman invasion, by the armorican tribe of the Veneti; This population consisted mostly of daring sailors, who were wearing their warships, and who bravely resisted the troops of César; but defeated by the Roman galleys, they had to pay their blood a heroic resistance against the invaders.

Subjected to Rome, the country of the Veneti was then largely to its skilful donations; numerous and useful routes plied, and it is perhaps of all the departments of the France, who has retained the more testimonials of the druidic period and the Roman occupation; We can even say that the number is infinite. Under the new administration, the country was shopping, and residents resumed their marine habits.

Christianity emerged in the 4th century, and 465, valves, seat of a bishopric, lives a Council to meet within its walls. From the 6th century, the counties of valves became independent, and remained barbarians, they became the terror of the surrounding countries. the authority of the Carlovingiens was recognized by them, but since Charlemagne until the 11th century, they were perpetually at war with the counties of Rennes. At that time, Henri II, King of England, invaded the region and seized valves; the mid-14th century, after various alternatives, the English were still masters of this city, and were driven out by Olivier de Clisson and Beaumanoir.

After having both excited the envy of the Kings of England, this province was coveted by the Dukes of Brittany, and the last of them, François II, establishes the residence of Parliament. Throughout the period that followed, valves, which focuses the history of the Department, became flourishing; but during the reign of Charles VIII, she had to spend with any Brittany into the hands of the King of France, and it is in this city that was voted the final meeting of Brittany to France in 1532. Since that time, the country was little tested by religious wars or political dissensions which disturbed the Kingdom. During the Revolution, the peasants rebelled to the voice of their cures, and they failed in their attempts against valves; but the city, surprised by Cadoudal, in the year VIII of the Republic, was taken over by Republicans. After the disastrous case of Quiberon, the emigrants were shot in Vannes, in 1795.

In 1790, at the time when the France was divided into departments, the Morbihan formed part of Basse-Bretagne.

Geography

Orography hydrography

The main relief of Morbihan is indicated, in its northern part, by detached foothills of the black mountains, which emerge through the boroughs of Ploërmel and Napoleonville, and the highest point not exceeding 180 metres above the sea level.

The Morbihan Department, located on the side of the Atlantic, belongs to e., basin of the Vilaine, and the o., the basins of the river Blavet and the Auray, small coastal rivers that water the western part.

The Vilaine, which takes its source in the hills of the Mayenne Department Juvigné, crosses the Department to which it gave its name, separates a moment the bottom of Morbihan Loire, between in the latter by e. the arrondissement of Vannes, passes under the bridge of the Roche-Bernard, and flows into the Atlantic, Penestin, after a total course of 220 kilometers. During its 42 kilometres of routes in Morbihan, the main tributary of the Vilaine is Oust which takes its source in the hills alongside Gorley - North, enters it in the Morbihan region by the NW corner. Borough of Ploërmel, bathes Saint-Samson, merges with the Nantes to Brest canal, flows through Rohan, Josselin, Malestroit, and ends at 2 kilometres to the underside of Redon, after a course of 150 km, during which it absorbs the Larhon which ends at Saint-Samson, it have that comes from the Côtes-du-Nord, the Niniam which bathes the Trinity, Mohon, Groix-Helléan, and is grows from Leverin and the Livetthe Claye which comes from the canton of Saint-Jean-Brévelay and bathes Bohal, Aff coming from the canton of Plélan in the Department of Ille-et-Vilaine, passes near Guer, and finishes downstream of Glerac, and the art that comes from the Township of Granchamp, in the arrondissement of Vannes, and ends in Redon.

The Blavet, which takes its source in the pond of this name, located in the Department of Côtes-du-Nord, between that of Morbihan, by n. of the Borough of Napoleonville, watered Napoleonville, Hennebont, and will be thrown in the Ocean, forming the Bay of Lorient, after a total of 145 kilometres, including 95 in Morbihan; During this course, its main tributaries are:

  • the Sar coming from the municipality of silfiac (), to the n. of the Borough of Napoleonville;
  • The Evel being watered Baud and enlarges the Lignan and of Tarun;
  • the Scorff which takes its source in Côtes-du-Nord, by n. enters the Borough of Napoleonville, bath Langcelan, Guéménée, Pontscorff, and ends at Lorient which he formed the port, after a course of 70 kilometers, increased by the Dourdu and the Eerlustan.

The Auray, which was born in this Township of Grand-Champ, bathes Auray, and empties into the Morbihan, after having absorbed the Sale.

Ponds and marshes are enough on the maritime fringe of Morbihan.

Climate

The climate of Morbihan is mild and damp; the temperature varies frequently during spring and autumn; ponds and marshes on the sides give rise to unhealthy fumes, that make this part of the Department very unhealthy. The prevailing wind is from the S.W.., which blows from the sea.

Area Population

The Morbihan area is 679 781 hectares, and its population of 501 084; who makes about 80 inhabitants per square kilometre. This population increased by 99 869 souls since the beginning of the century, and since the last census of 1860, this increase was of 14 580 souls. Industrialists and traders make up almost half of this population; There are 172 000 farmers, 30 000 inhabitants engaged in the liberal professions, and 30 000 without profession.

The inhabitant of Morbihan has great domestic virtues, which are the extreme purity of morals, honesty, compassion for the misfortunes of others, and the resignation in his own misfortunes, pushed up the stoicism; his judgment is right, his common sense is recognized, but it has neither natural mind nor vivid imagination, and it shows an extreme indecision, when it comes to a party in its own affairs, and little confidence in the advice of others. These various comments apply especially to the inhabitants of the campaigns, because in cities, old Breton originality disappears from day to day.

The French language is most commonly used in the major centres of the Department; but the campaigns have retained the use of Bas-Breton, primitive language, which still remains in all its purity Celtic.

Agriculture

Agriculture of the Morbihan region breaks down as follows: 260 600 hectares of cropland, 63 500 of natural grasslands, vineyards, pastures, moors, heaths and patis 274 000 1700, and 73 500 wood-, forests and uncultivated land. The property is spread over 2 million parcels, owned by 120 000 owners.

Morbihan is an agricultural Department, that the drying of the marshes, some valleys, drainage sanitation, make very-rich one day, turning, its sterile landes in productive grasslands; agriculture, long retarded, is, every year, further progress, under the influence of the tribal and agricultural societies. There is a farm school in Trécesson in commune of Campénéac in the Borough of Ploërmel.

The cereal production prevails over local consumption; buckwheat is grown on a large part of the territory and adapts well this particular schist soil; the diverse value of grain exceeds common year, 35 million francs. Other cultures are annually nearly 6 million francs; These are hemp, particularly cultivated in the boroughs of valves and Ploërmel on an area of 5,000 hectares, flax, potatoes which are harvested 1300 thousand hectolitres, Apple trees and pear trees, whose fruits are used in the manufacture of 441 000 hectolitres of cider for a value of 2 million francs, vines occupying only 1700 hectares approximately in the arrondissement of Vanneschestnut groves, forests, including the main tree species are oak, beech and pine, coastal marine plants, gorse and Broom of the landes. The value of pasture, native grasslands, is approximately 9 million francs.

Student of domestic animals form a sizeable branch of the agricultural industry, and fairly common species, generally, tend to improve. There are approximately 47 000 horses, mainly Breton race, 315 000 beasts with horns, race Breton also, 220 000 estimated sheep for their wool, 69 000 pigs, 84 000 hives of bees, 8000 goats, goats and kids, etc. Complaints and the Woods hold game in abundance, and aquatic birds are very numerous and very varied on the coast; the sides are frequented by fish-rich herring, sardines, soles, rays, etc.

The gross income of domestic animals is 27 million francs, and the total value of agricultural production annually exceeding 50 million.

Mines quarries

The Department of Morbihan is mainly formed of primitive land and transition; its metal deposits consist of oxidized iron and lead sulfide, which is found close to Band, in the Borough of Napoleonville, silver, pewter, etc. It operates shale, sandstone, granite, and slate quarries, rock crystal, from the Earth to Potter, sand, etc., on various points of the territory.

The main thermal sources of the Department are ferruginous; they are located at Napoleonville in Hennebont, Ploërmel, etc but are little active and little frequented.

Industry trade

The Department of Morbihan is less manufacturing and agricultural, and the industry is still poorly developed. There are a few manufactures linens and woolens, cotton mills, lace and chemicals factories, tanneries, paper mills, glassworks, of chapelleries, workshops of construction for ships, the blast furnaces of the forges producing iron wood, etc.; It operates 12 iron mining giving approximately 55 000 metric centners of ore, of slate quarries, mines Tin, and the salt marshes on the coast whose yield can be estimated at 66 000 metric quintals of salt.

Trade focuses on grain, horses, butter, salted meat, skins, flax, honey, wax, etc.

The movement of shipping occupies 27 ports, which are those of Lorient, Vannes, Auray, of Sarzeau, Palace, Belle-Croix, Port-Louis, etc. Sail and steam navigation employs annually 500 ships approximately 60 000 tonnes, and cabotage, 14 000 ships 375 000 tonnes; fishing of sardine also holds a number of boats.

Roads channels railways

Morbihan is served by 7 long Imperial roads of 576 kilometers, 14 departmental roads 306 kilometres in length, and various paths of great communication, common or vicinal interest, whose total development is 3140 kilometres. Rivers and canals are navigable on 313 km.

Morbihan is crossed by the Nantes to Brest canal, which starts on the Loire in Nantes, back the Vilaine up to its confluence with him Oust, on the border E. of the arrondissement of Vannes, enters the Borough of Ploërmel, past at Malestroit, Josselin, Rohan, enters the Borough of Napoleonville, dates back the Blavet and will finish on Alder which is navigable to Brest River(, after a total development of 35) kilometers, of which slopes are redeemed by 232 locks. The Blavet, channeled from Napoleonville, is navigable up to the Ocean.

The Department of Morbihan is served:

by the junction of Savemy in Chateaulin, which belongs to the network of Orléans, with stations in Saint-Jacut, Malansac, Questembert, Elven, Vannes, Sainte-Anne, Auray, Landevant, Hennebont, Lorient and Gestel. by the subphylum of Auray in Napoleonville, the same network, with stations in Pluvignier, Baud and Saint-Nicolas.

All of these various railways is 166 kilometres.

Famous men

The remarkable characters born in Morbihan, include: the Constable De Richemont. the Duke Henri De Rohan; Lesage; the captain's du Couedic; Bisson; the conventional Lequinio; Georges Cadoudal; the admirals Bouvet, AlleMant, etc.; the Trochu agronomist; the County of Kergorlay; Leperdit, Mayor of valves in 1793; etc.; and contemporary: the Brizeux poet; man from State Bharti; the Victoa mass composer; the Jules Simon publicist; Dr. Guépin; General TroChu and De Lourmel; etc.

latest Department notices

Monuments et patrimoine Morbihan

Histoire

Le territoire, actuellement occupé par le département du Morbihan, était habité avant l'invasion romaine, par la peuplade armoricaine des Vénètes; cette population se composait surtout d'audacieux marins, qui manœuvraient habilement leurs navires de guerre, et qui résistèrent courageusement aux troupes de César; mais vaincus par les galères romaines, ils durent payer de leur sang une héroïque résistance envers les envahisseurs.

Soumis à Rome, le pays des Venètes eut alors large part à ses adroites libéralités; de nombreuses et utiles voies le sillonnèrent, et c'est peut-être de tous les départements de la France, celui qui a conservé le plus de témoignages de l'époque druidique et de l'occupation romaine; on peut même dire que le nombre en est infini. Sous la nouvelle administration, le pays redevint commerçant, et les habitants reprirent leurs habitudes maritimes.

Le christianisme fit son apparition au IVe siècle, et vers 465, Vannes, siège d'un évêché, vit un concile se réunir dans ses murs. A partir du VIe siècle, les comtes de Vannes se firent indépendants, et restés barbares, ils devinrent la terreur des pays environnants; l'autorité des Carlovingiens fut reconnue par eux, mais depuis Charlemagne jusqu'au XIe siècle, ils furent perpétuellement en guerre avec les comtes de Rennes. A cette époque, Henri II, roi d'Angleterre, envahit la contrée et s'empara de Vannes; vers le milieu du XIVe siècle, après diverses alternatives, les Anglais étaient encore maîtres de cette ville, et en furent chassés par Olivier de Clisson et Beaumanoir.

Après avoir tant excité l'envie des rois d'Angleterre, cette province fut convoitée par les ducs de Bretagne, et le dernier d'entre eux, François II, y établit la résidence du parlement. Pendant toute la période qui suivit, Vannes, en qui se concentre l'histoire du département, devint florissante; mais pendant le règne de Charles VIII, elle dut passer avec toute la Bretagne entre les mains du roi de France, et c'est même dans cette ville que fut votée la réunion définitive de la Bretagne à la France, en 1532. Depuis cette époque, le pays fut peu éprouvé par les guerres religieuses ou les dissensions politiques qui troublèrent le royaume. Pendant la Révolution, les paysans se soulevèrent à la voix de leurs curés, et ils échouèrent dans leurs tentatives contre Vannes; mais la ville, surprise par Cadoudal, en l'an VIII de la République, fut reprise par les républicains. Après la funeste affaire de Quiberon, les émigrés furent fusillés à Vannes, en 1795.

En 1790, à l'époque où la France fut divisée en départements, le Morbihan se forma d'une partie de la Basse-Bretagne.

Géographie

Orographie Hydrographie

Le principal relief du Morbihan est indiqué, dans sa partie septentrionale, par des contreforts détachés des Montagnes-Noires,qui se dessinent à travers les arrondissements de Ploërmel et de Napoléonville,et dont le point culminant ne dépasse pas 180 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer.

Le département du Morbihan, situé sur le versant de l'Atlantique, appartient à l'E., au bassin de la Vilaine, et à l'O., aux bassins du Blavet et de l'Auray, petits fleuves côtiers qui arrosent sa partie occidentale.

La Vilaine, qui prend sa source dans les collines de Juvigné du département de la Mayenne, traverse le département auquel elle a donné son nom, sépare un instant la Loire Inférieure du Morbihan, entre dans ce dernier par l'E. de l'arrondissement de Vannes, passe sous le pont suspendu de la Roche-Bernard, et se jette dans l'Atlantique, à Pénestin, après un cours total de 220 kilomètres. Pendant ses 42 kilomètres de parcours dans le Morbihan, le principal affluent de la Vilaine est l'Oust qui prend sa source dans les collines de Gorley des Côtes-du-Nord, entre dans le Morbihan par l'angle N.-O. de l'arrondissement de Ploërmel, baigne Saint-Samson, se confond avec le canal de Nantes-à-Brest, arrose Rohan, Josselin, Malestroit, et finit à 2 kilomètres au dessous de Redon, après un cours de 150 kilomètres, pendant lequel il absorbe le Larhon qui finit à Saint-Samson, le Aie qui vient des Côtes-du-Nord, le Niniam qui baigne la Trinité, Mohon, la Groix-Helléan, et se grossit du Leverin et du Livet, la Claye qui vient du canton de Saint-Jean-Brévelay et baigne Bohal, l'Aff qui vient du canton de Plélan dans le département d'Ille-et-Vilaine, passe près de Guer, et finit en aval de Glérac, et l'Arts qui vient du canton de Granchamp, dans l'arrondissement de Vannes, et finit à Redon.

Le Blavet, qui prend sa source dans l'étang de ce nom, situé dans le département des Côtes-du-Nord, entre dans celui du Morbihan, par le N. de l'arrondissement de Napoléonville, arrose Napoléonville, Hennebont, et va se jeter dans l'Océan, en formant la baie de Lorient, après un cours total de 145 kilomètres, dont 95 dans le Morbihan; pendant ce parcours, ses principaux affluents sont :

  • la Sar qui vient de la commune de Silfiac, au N. de l'arrondissement de Napoléonville;
  • L'Evel qui arrose Baud et se grossit du Lignan et du Tarun;
  • le Scorff qui prend sa source dans les Côtes-du-Nord, entre par le N. dans l'arrondissement de Napoléonville, baigne Langcëlan, Guéménée, Pontscorff, et finit à Lorient dont il forme le port, après un cours de 70 kilomètres, accru du Dourdu et du Eerlustan.

L'Auray, qui naît dans ce canton de Grand-Champ, baigne Auray, et se jette dans le Morbihan, après avoir absorbé la Sale.

Les étangs et les marais sont assez nombreux sur la lisière maritime du Morbihan.

Climat

Le climat du Morbihan est doux et humide ; la température y varie fréquemment pendant le printemps et l'automne ; les étangs et les marais des côtes donnent naissance à des exhalaisons malsaines, qui rendent cette partie du département fort insalubre. Le vent dominant est celui du S.-O., qui souffle de la mer.

Superficie Population

La superficie du Morbihan est 679 781 hectares, et sa population de 501 084 habitants ; de qui donne environ 80 habitants par kilomètre carré. Cette population s'est accrue de 99 869 âmes depuis le commencement du siècle, et depuis le dernier recensement de 1860, cette augmentation a été de 14 580 âmes. Les industriels et commerçants composent presque la moitié de cette population ; on y compte 172 000 agriculteurs, 30 000 habitants qui exercent des professions libérales, et 30 000 sans profession.

L'habitant du Morbihan a de grandes vertus domestiques, qui sont l'extrême pureté des mœurs, la probité, la compassion pour les malheurs d'autrui, et la résignation dans ses propres infortunes, poussée jusqu'au stoïcisme ; son jugement est droit, son bon sens est reconnu, mais il n'a ni esprit naturel, ni imagination vive, et il montre une extrême indécision, quand il s'agit de prendre un parti dans ses propres affaires, et peu de confiance dans les conseils d'autrui. Ces diverses observations s'appliquent surtout aux habitants des campagnes, car, dans les villes, l'ancienne originalité bretonne s'efface de jour en jour.

La langue française est généralement employée dans les grands centres du département ; mais les campagnes ont conservé l'usage du Bas-Breton, langue primitive, qui s'est encore conservée dans toute sa pureté celtique.

Agriculture

Le domaine agricole du Morbihan se décompose comme suit : 260 600 hectares de terres labourables, 63 500 de prairies naturelles, 1700 de vignes, 274 000 de pâturages, landes, bruyères et pâtis, et 73 500 de bois-, forêts et terres incultes. La propriété y est morcelée en 2 millions de parcelles, possédées par 120 000 propriétaires.

Le Morbihan est un département agricole, que le dessèchement des marais, l'assainissement de certaines vallées, le drainage, rendront très-riche un jour, en transformant, ses landes stériles en prairies productives ; l'agriculture, longtemps arriérée, y fait, chaque année, de nouveaux progrès, sous l'influence des comices et des sociétés agricoles. Il existe une ferme-école à Trécesson dans la commune de Campénéac, située dans l'arrondissement de Ploërmel.

La production des céréales l'emporte sur la consommation locale ; le sarrasin est cultivé sur une grande partie du territoire et s'accommode bien de ce sol particulièrement schisteux ; la valeur diverse des céréales dépasse, année commune, 35 millions de francs. Les autres cultures rapportent annuellement près de 6 millions de francs; ce sont le chanvre, particulièrement cultivé dans les arrondissements de Vannes et de Ploërmel sur une superficie de 5000 hectares, le lin, les pommes de terre dont on récolte 1300 mille hectolitres, les pommiers et les poiriers, dont les fruits servent à la fabrication de 441 000 hectolitres de cidre pour une valeur de 2 millions de francs, les vignes qui n'occupent que 1700 hectares environ dans l'arrondissement de Vannes, les châtaigneraies, les forêts, dont les principales essences sont le chêne, le hêtre et le pin, les plantes marines du littoral, les ajoncs et les genêts des landes. La valeur des pâturages, des prairies naturelles, est environ de 9 millions de francs.

L'élève des animaux domestiques forme une branche assez importante de l'industrie agricole, et les espèces, assez communes généralement, tendent à s'améliorer; on compte environ 47 000 chevaux, principalement de race bretonne, 315 000 bêtes à cornes, de race bretonne également, 220 000 moutons estimés pour leur laine, 69 000 porcs, 84 000 ruches d'abeilles,8000 boucs, chèvres et chevreaux,etc. Les plaints et les bois recèlent du gibier en abondance, et les oiseaux aquatiques sont très nombreux et très-variés sur le littoral; les côtes sont poissonneuses et riches en harengs, sardines, soles, raies, etc.

Le revenu brut des animaux domestiques est de 27 millions de francs, et la valeur totale de la production agricole dépasse annuellement 50 millions.

Mines Carrières

Le département du Morbihan est principalement formé de terrains primitifs et de transition ; ses gisements métalliques consistent en fer oxydé et plomb sulfuré, qui se rencontre près de Band, dans l'arrondissement de Napoléonville, en argent, en étain, etc. On exploite du schiste, du grès, du granit, des ardoisières, du cristal de roche, de la terre à potier, du sable, etc., sur divers, points du territoire.

Les principales sources thermales du département sont ferrugineuses ; elles se trouvent à Napoléonville, à Hennebont, à Ploërmel, etc , mais sont peu actives et peu fréquentées.

Industrie Commerce

Le département du Morbihan est moins manufacturier qu'agricole, et l'industrie y est encore médiocrement développée; il existe quelques manufactures de draps et de lainages, des filatures de coton, des fabriques de dentelles et de produits chimiques, des tanneries, des papeteries, des verreries, des chapelleries, des ateliers de construction pour les navires, des hauts-fourneaux des forges produisant du fer au bois, etc.; on y exploite 12 minières de fer qui donnent environ 55 000 quintaux métriques de minerai, des ardoisières, des mines d'étain, et des marais salants sur le littoral dont le rendement peut être évalué à 66 000 quintaux métriques de sel.

Le commerce porte principalement sur les céréales, les chevaux, le beurre, les salaisons, le miel, les peaux, le lin, la cire, etc.

Le mouvement de la navigation occupe 27 ports, dont les principaux sont ceux de Lorient, de Vannes, d'Auray, de Sarzeau, du Palais, de Belle-Croix, de Port-Louis, etc. La navigation à voile et à vapeur y emploie annuellement 500 navires jaugeant environ 60 000 tonnes, et le cabotage, 14 000 navires jaugeant 375 000 tonnes ; la pêche de la sardine occupe aussi un certain nombre de bateaux.

Routes Canaux Chemins de fer

Le Morbihan est desservi par 7 routes impériales longues de 576 kilomètres, 14 routes départementales d'une longueur de 306 kilomètres, et divers chemins de grande communication, d'intérêt commun ou vicinaux, dont le développement total est de 3140 kilomètres. Ses rivières et ses canaux sont navigables sur un parcours de 313 kilomètres.

Le Morbihan est traversé par le canal de Nantes-à-Brest, qui commence sur la Loire, à Nantes, remonte la Vilaine jusqu'à son confluent avec l'Oust, sur la frontière E. de l'arrondissement de Vannes, pénètre dans l'arrondissement de Ploërmel, passe à Malestroit, à Josselin, à Rohan, entre dans l'arrondissement de Napoléonville, remonte le Blavet et va finir sur la rivière de l'Aulne qui est navigable jusqu'à Brest, après un développement total de 35 ) kilomètres, dont les pentes sont rachetées par 232 écluses. Le Blavet, canalisé depuis Napoléonville, est navigable jusqu'à l'Océan.

Le département du Morbihan est desservi:

  • par l'embranchement de Savemy à Châteaulin, qui appartient au réseau d'Orléans, avec stations à Saint-Jacut, Malansac, Questembert, Elven, Vannes, Sainte-Anne, Auray, Landevant, Hennebont, Lorient et Gestel;
  • par le sous-embranchement d'Auray à Napoléonville, du même réseau, avec stations à Pluvignier, Baud et Saint-Nicolas.

L'ensemble de ces diverses voies ferrées est de 166 kilomètres.

Hommes célèbres

Parmi les personnages remarquables nés dans le Morbihan, on peut citer : le connétable De Richemont; le duc Henri De Rohan; Lesage; le capitaine Du Couédic; Bisson; le conventionnel Lequinio; Georges Cadoudal; les amiraux Bouvet, AlleMant, etc.; l'agronome Trochu; le comte de Kergorlay; Leperdit, maire de Vannes en 1793 ; etc.; et parmi les contemporains : le poète Brizeux; l'homme d'État Billault; le compositeur Victoa Massé ; le publiciste Jules Simon; le docteur Guépin; les généraux TroChu et De Lourmel; etc.

les dernières fiches patrimoine du département

Répertoire du patrimoine

proposer un site web dans l'annuaire Promotion du patrimoine Proposez un site, blog, en rapport avec le département Morbihan
La fiche descriptive de votre site sera directement accessible dans cette rubrique.