Vendee

History

Before the Roman invasion, the currently occupied territory spoke of the Vendée Department, was inhabited, n., by the Ambiliates, and on the coast by the Agesinates who were part of the confederation of the Pictones. These various tribes saw point unfavourably the Romans entered Gaul, and even the Agesinates, bold and warlike seamen, helped César in his war against the Veneti. During the reign of Honorius, the country of the Pictones, which became the Poitou, was included in the second Aquitaine.

When the military anarchy led to the dissolution of the Roman empire, barbarian threw themselves on Gaul. In turn, Germans, Huns, the Visigoths invaded the country of Poitou. The Visigoths were in turn defeated by the Franks, and at the battle of Vouillé, who enlisted in the plains of Haut-Poitou, Clovis, King of the Franks, killed by his own hand King Alaric II. During the Merovingian period, Bas-Poitou, which especially formed the Department of Vendée remained linked to the fortune of the Duchy of Aquitaine, and it was given in sharing to Clotaire I. It is in 618, the reign of Clotaire II, he was for the first time together at the Crown.

Important facts, relating the story of Poitou, are missing from the period carlovingienne. This was near Poitiers, in Haut-Poitou, that Charles Martel defeated the Saracens, in the 8th century, and preserved Europe from Muslim invasion. Charlemagne erected this province into the County, in the middle of the 11th century. The marriage of Eleanor of Aquitaine the passed under the authority of Henri II, King of England. It was reconquered by Philippe-Auguste, in 1206; Re-transferred to the English by the Treaty of Brétigny, in 1360, it only was permanently attached to the royal domain by Duguesclin, who made the conquest under Charles v. Throughout this period of struggles, as well as at the time of the wars of religion, in the 16th century, and later, during the troubles of the Fronde, and League this province escaped pretty much the evils of all kinds which désolèrent the France. It was Louis XVIII, which divided in two by-tics distinct Poitou and Fontenay became the capital of lower Poitou.

The particular history of the Vendée had, however, have a considerable impact during the revolutionary period. One hundred-forty-three communes in the Department of Vendée sided under the flag of the counter-revolution. Nationwide was wonderfully prepared for this fight by supporters, and his brush, his thicket, his bushes soon hid the most formidable shooters in the country, whose address was so fatal to the Blues. There took place the famous battles of Luzon and Montaigu. Charette commanded the royalists of the Bas-Poitou, and always refused to attack the Republicans beyond the Loire. The pacification of party suspended a moment hostilities, but they began again soon. The Convention decreed that the "Vendée no longer exist." Mobile columns were launched across the country, and the most terrible reprisals were carried out by the generals of the Republic.

HOCHE, among its most beautiful titles, certainly has that of peacemaker of the Vendée. It was he who ended this war, and it is Brown who, under the Consulate, at the beginning of 1800, brought the complete pacification of the country. In 1815, the Larochejacquelein reappeared in the country, who, in 1832, was still troubled by the insurgency that caused the presence of the Duchess of Berry.

In 1790, when the National Assembly decreed the new departmental division of France, of the Vendée Department was formed from the old Bas-Poitou. Fontenay became the seat of the administration and the capital of the Department until 1804, time at which a decree carried it to la Roche sur Yon, who took the name of Napoléon-Vendée, she wears today, after traded it against the Bourbon-Vendée during the restoration.

Geography

The Department of Vendée participates both Armorica and Aquitania. The Armorican massif relate the high bocage, in Eastern countries, characterized by the high reliefs hills of Vendée formed of crystalline rocks incised valleys cylinder - of, and to the West, the low bocage, peneplain with more softened forms. The one and the other are almost forest by tall hedges encasing rich farming grasslands.

Aquitaine more visibly belongs the plain to the South, country flat and unobstructed, to the intense light spanning the secondary sedimentary deposits. Marshes, them, were recovered on the sea: the Poitevin, South, with its magnificent pastures, on the Gulf of Poitou; Breton, to the North, salines and Pisa houses, on the Bay of Bourgneuf.

Finally the coast aligns its dunes, its long beaches, its armorican primary rocks shredded by limestone cliffs and the ocean. It enjoys a particularly mild climate and low rainfall which makes it an ideal holiday region.

Arts

Despite the destruction of 1793, the Vendée was too rich for it was nothing. And if, often, Ies structures have burned, walls, which were solid, allowed the rescue of buildings once the turmoil past.

Habitat has to stroke as his typically Aquitaine aspect: long round and pink tile roofs hérisées of the Roman empire styling with small windows, named boulites, that open below the cornice. In the marais breton, private stone building, you will love the humble bourrines built of pisé, whitewashed and covered with thatch.

Medieval times has left to Vendee a prestigious collection of Romanesque churches; to name a few: La Chaize-le-Vicomte, St-Nicolas-de-Brem, Benet, Vouvant: abbeys: the Grainetiere, Nieul-sur-the Autize, the admirable ruins Maillezais Cathedral; castles like Tiffauges, Pouzauges, Noirmoutier...

With the Renaissance, admire Apremont, Puy-du-Fou coming out now its lethargy with its magnificent night show, Newfoundland, wood-Tissandeau and its french gardens, so many others yet! 18th century: Pierre — lift to exquisite proportions, Parc-Soubise, burned down before even its full completion testify to the sustainability of the taste of the manufacturers.

latest Department notices

Monuments et patrimoine Vendee

Histoire

Avant l'invasion romaine, le territoire, actuellement occupé parle département de la Vendée, était habité, au N., par les Ambiliates, et sur le littoral par les Agésinates qui faisaient partie de la confédération des Pictones. Ces diverses tribus ne virent point d'un mauvais oeil l'entrée des Romains dans les Gaules, et même les Agésinates, marins hardis et belliqueux, aidèrent César dans sa guerre contre les Vénètes. Pendant le règne d'Honorius, le pays des Pictones, qui est devenu le Poitou, fut compris dans la seconde Aquitaine.

Lorsque l'anarchie militaire amena la dissolution de l'empire romain, les barbares se jetèrent sur la Gaule. Les Allemands, les Huns, les Visigoths envahirent tour à tour le pays du Poitou. Les Visigoths y furent à leur tour vaincus par les Francs, et à la bataille de Vouillé, qui s'engagea dans les plaines du Haut-Poitou, Clovis, roi des Francs, tua de sa propre main le roi Alaric II. Pendant toute la période mérovingienne, le Bas-Poitou, qui a plus spécialement formé le département de la Vendée resta lié à la fortune du duché d'Aquitaine, et il échut en partage à Clotaire Ier. C'est en 618, sous le règne de Clotaire II, qu'il fut pour la première fois réuni à la couronne.

Les faits importants, touchant l'histoire du Poitou, manquent à la période carlovingienne. Ce fut près de Poitiers, dans le Haut-Poitou, que Charles-Martel vainquit les Sarrasins, au VIIIe siècle, et préserva l'Europe de l'invasion musulmane. Charlemagne érigea cette province en comté, au milieu du XIe siècle. Le mariage d'Éléonore d'Aquitaine la fit passer sous l'autorité d'Henri II, roi d'Angleterre. Elle fut reconquise par Philippe-Auguste, en 1206 ; recédée aux Anglais par le traité de Brétigny, en 1360, elle ne fut définitivement rattachée au domaine royal que par Duguesclin, qui en fit la conquête sous Charles V. Pendant toute cette période de luttes, de même qu'à l'époque des guerres de religion, au XVIe siècle, et plus tard, pendant les troubles de la Ligue et de la Fronde, cette province échappa à peu près aux maux de toutes sortes qui désolèrent la France. Ce fut Louis XVIII qui divisa le Poitou en deux par-tics distinctes, et Fontenay devint alors la capitale du Bas-Poitou.

L'histoire particulière de la Vendée devait toutefois avoir un retentissement considérable pendant la période révolutionnaire. Cent-quarante-trois communes du département de la Vendée se rangèrent sous le drapeau de la contre-révolution. Tout le pays était merveilleusement disposé pour cette lutte de partisans, et ses halliers, ses taillis, ses buissons cachèrent bientôt les plus redoutables tireurs du pays, dont l'adresse fut si fatale aux Bleus. Là eurent lieu les fameuses batailles de Luçon et de Montaigu. Charette commandait les royalistes du Bas-Poitou, et refusa toujours d'attaquer les Républicains au delà de la Loire. La pacification de Jaunais suspendit un instant les hostilités, mais elles recommencèrent bientôt. La Convention décréta que la « Vendée n'existerait plus. » Des colonnes mobiles furent lancées à travers le pays, et les plus terribles représailles y furent exercées par les généraux de la république.

Hoche, parmi ses plus beaux titres, compte assurément celui de pacificateur de la Vendée. Ce fut lui qui termina cette première guerre, et c'est Brune qui, sous le Consulat, au commencement de 1800, amena la pacification complète du pays. En 1815, les Larochejacquelein reparurent dans le pays, qui, en 1832, fut encore troublé par l'insurrection que provoqua la présence de la duchesse de Berry.

Én 1790, lorsque l'Assemblée nationale décréta la nouvelle division départementale de la France, le département de la Vendée fut formé de l'ancien Bas-Poitou. Fontenay-le-Comte devint le siége de l'administration et le chef-lieu du département jusqu'en 1804, époque à laquelle un décret le transporta à la Roche-sur-Yon, qui prit le nom de Napoléon-Vendée, qu'elle porte encore aujourd'hui, après l'avoir échangé contre celui de Bourbon-Vendée pendant la Restauration.

Géographie

Le département de la Vendée participe à la fois de l'Armorique et de l'Aquitaine. Au massif Armoricain se rattachent les pays de haut bocage, à l'est, caractérisés par les hauts reliefs des collines de Vendée formés de roches cristallines entaillées de vallées profon-des, et vers l'ouest, le bas bocage, pénéplaine aux formes plus amollies. L'un et l'autre présentent un aspect presque forestier par ses hautes haies enserrant des prairies de riche élevage.

A l'Aquitaine appartient plus visiblement la plaine, au sud, pays plat et dégagé, à l'intense lumière, s'étendant sur des dépôts sédimentaires du secondaire. Les marais, eux, furent reconquis sur la mer : le Poitevin, au sud, avec ses somptueux herbages, sur le golfe de Poitou; le Breton, au nord, aux salines et maisons de pisé, sur la baie de Bourgneuf.

Enfin le littoral aligne ses dunes, ses longues plages, ses roches primaires armoricaines déchiquetées par l'océan et ses falaises calcaires. Il bénéficie d'un climat particulièrement doux, et à faibles précipitations qui en fait une région idéale de vacances.

Les arts

Malgré les destructions de 1793, la Vendée était trop riche pour qu'il n'en restât rien. Et si, souvent, Ies charpentes ont brûlé, les murs, qui étaient solides, permirent le sauvetage des édifices une fois la tourmente passée.

L'habitat a pour trait comme son aspect typiquement aquitain : longs toits de tuiles rondes et roses hérisées de l'empire romain coiffant de petites fenêtres, nommées boulites, qui s'ouvrent sous la corniche. Dans le marais breton, privé de pierre à bâtir, on aimera les humbles bourrines construites en pisé, blanchies à la chaux et recouvertes de chaume.

L'époque médiévale a laissé à la Vendée une prestigieuse collection d'églises romanes; pour n'en citer que quelques-unes : La Chaize-le-Vicomte, St-Nicolas-de-Brem, Benet, Vouvant : des abbayes : la Grainetière, Nieul-sur-l'Autize, la cathédrale de Maillezais aux admirables ruines; des châteaux comme Tiffauges, Pouzauges, Noirmoutier...

Avec la Renaissance, admirons Apremont, le Puy-du-Fou qui sort présentement de sa léthargie grâce à son magnifique spectacle nocturne, Terre-Neuve, le Bois-Tissandeau et ses jardins français, tant d'autres encore! Du 18ème : Pierre-Levée aux proportions exquises, le Parc-Soubise, incendié avant même son complet achèvement témoignent de la pérennité du goût des constructeurs.

les dernières fiches patrimoine du département

Répertoire du patrimoine

proposer un site web dans l'annuaire Promotion du patrimoine Proposez un site, blog, en rapport avec le département Vendee
La fiche descriptive de votre site sera directement accessible dans cette rubrique.