Essonne

The Essonne is a French department locates at the south of Paris, in the area Ile-de-France, completely just with the Paris and its suburbs, which draws its name from the river the Essonne whose course crosses the territory according to an axis south-north until the junction with the Seine.

Officially creates on January 1, 1968 by dismemberment of old the Seine-et-Oise, it carries code INSEE and postal 91, covers a territory of thousand eight hundred and four square kilometers occupies in 2007 by 1 201 994 inhabitants, its chief town east installs has Evry and its general advice east chairs by the Socialist Michel Berson.

Its inhabitants are call Essonniens?

History

The territory of the current department of the Essonne was occupies in an unquestionable way as of the Neolithic era, as testify some the discoveries in various points to the flint sizes department and the rise in menhirs as in the drill of Senart Brunoy has. At the time Gallic, the territory was at the border between the fields of Parisii in north, Carnutes in south-west and Senons in south-east. First cities commencerent then has to be dissociated, of which Dourdan, famous for its activity of pottery. The Roman invasion allowed the construction of a multitude of villa rustica on the plates dominating the rich person valleys, as the results testify some to archaeological excavations has Orsay. Other villages are transformerent in oppidum with cross roads, such Arpajon.

Came then the time from the disparate kingdoms, Milly-the-Drill becoming by the will of Dryus a center druidic to the II E front century J. - C., the area of Dourdan undergoing the authority of pagan king Dordanus to the IV E century. To the VI E century was completed the evangelization of the territory, with the construction as of year 600 of a first church Corbeil-Essonnes has and the development has Palaiseau of an abbey under the impulse of holy Bathilde and holy Wandrille. In year 604 was held the first battle of Stamps between Clotaire II, king de Neustrie and Thierry II, king de Bourgogne combines of Theodebert II, king d' Austrasie. From the VIII E century, the majority of the territory were just with the French royal field, the kings having the places and distributing the grounds has their vassal. With X E century the construction of strong castles started then controlling trade route, as has Montlhery, or to stop the raids Vikings has Corbeil-Essonnes and Ferte-Went It. From the XI E century, the basilica Our-Lady-of-Good-Guard has Longpont-on-Barley became the first stage of the pilgrimage of Saint-Jacques-of-Compostelle from Paris.

The revolts of the noble buildings entrainerent the complete integration of the territory in the royal field, Robert II of France building the castle of Stamps, Louis VI of France dismantling the castle of Montlhery to the XII E century and reducing nothing the powerful family of Montlhery has, Philippe II of France building the castle of Dourdan to the XIII E century. In 1131 was held the council of Stamps which decided in favour of the future pope Innocent II. In 1258 was seals treats it of Corbeil, fixing the territorial limits between the kingdom of France and the kingdom of Aragon. The field of Stamps was sets up as a count in 1298, creating the line of the counts then dukes of Stamps. From this time the two principal components of the local economy are fixerent, agriculture to feed the capital and industry using the driving force of the many rivers. To the XII E century, the Large mills of Corbeil became '' mills of the King ''.

From the XIV E century installerent themselves in the area of important commanderies templieres has Etampes, Longjumeau, Chalou-Moulineux, Auvernaux, organizing vast prosperous agricultural domains. In 1305 treats it Athis-on-Barley was sign which integrated into the kingdom of France the towns of Lille, Douai and Bethune. In 1326 the second draft of Corbeil intervened, renewing Auld Alliance. In 1346, Philippe VI of France signed the ordinance of Brunoy, consideree like the first legal French document having milked with sustainable development. The One hundred Year old occurred then war, causing devastations and massacres on the territory, as the fire in 1360 of the church Saint-Clement d' Arpajon by the troops of Edouard III of England, burning sharp eight hundred inhabitants. In 1371, it was with the turn of Milly-the-Drill to be ravagee by the '' black prince '' Edouard de Woodstock. Between 1353 and 1355, Paris strikes by the Black Death used the stage coaches of the boatmen of Corbeil, the corbeillards to evacuate the corpses, thus giving rise to the word hearse. In 1465 take place the battle of Montlhery between Louis XI of France and Charles the Bold one.

The beginning of the Rebirth saw the commercial development of the area, with the construction of markets has Milly-the-Drill to the XV E century then Dourdan, Arpajon and Mereville to the XVI E century. In same time, the fixing of the royal capacity has Paris then Versailles, two cities close and the prerogatives which the towns of Dourdan constituted and Etampes, offered in present to favorite Anne de Pisseleu and Gabrielle d' Estrees, entrainerent the establishment of castles, built by the Parisian courtiers and magistrates. In 1568 the Peace of Longjumeau was signee, concluding the second war of religion. In 1590, at the time of the seat of Paris, it was still Corbeil, taken by Alexandre Farnese who allowed the supply of Paris, blocks by the troops of Henri IV of France. In 1628, the town of Essonnes was ravagee by a fire, causes by a new explosion of the mill has powder. In 1652, in full Sling, the second battle of Stamps led to the victory of Turenne which had stations its troops has Arpajon.

The XVIII E century saw the area being equipped with several hospitals has Milly-the-Drill, Dourdan and Arpajon, of relay of station on the roads of Fontainebleau and Orleans. It was completed by the French Revolution, modifying relatively little the daily newspaper of the inhabitants. A news item marked however this period troublee, the assassination has Etampes of the mayor Jacques Guillaume Simonneau, involving creation by the legislative Assembly of a '' Fete of the Law '' on all the territory. Relatively little touches by the conflicts apart from the Prussian occupation in 1870, the territory benefitted from the XIX E century to profit from an important modernization, with the creation of several railway lines, the line of Seals in 1854, the Bretigny line - Turns in 1867, the line of Large Belt in 1882, several villages then becoming a vacation resort for the Parisian middle-class rich person and the artists. The opening of the tram line of Arpajonnais in 1894 allowed a new rise to power of the agricultural outlets of the area, offering an direct access and rapid with the markets of Paris. Heavy industry made also its appearance with the opening of the Decauville factories has Evry-Small-Borough and of the paper mills Darblay has Essonnes, inserting this rich person essonnienne family in the circle of the '' two hundred '' families.

The beginning of the XX E century saw a new revolution for the department, which became one of the cradle of aviation, accessible Viry-Chatillon in 1909 the first airport organizes world has Port-Aviation, in 1910 Louis Bleriot and Maurice Farman opened schools on the airport of Stamps-Mondesir, Bretigny-sur-Orge had the 1938 of air base 217, place of many records. Another site emblematic of the race at the speed, the motor-racing track of Linas-Montlhery creates in 1924 remained the place of the most famous automobile races until in the years 1960. Relatively saving by the two world wars, in spite of the presence of the concentration camp of Linas-Montlhery built in 1940 by the Nazis for enfermement of the Tziganes, the future known department as of the years 1950 a strong population increase, touches like these neighbors by the construction of shantytowns to the doors of Paris, situation later aggravee by the need for lodging the many ones repatriate Algeria come to settle in the area. These demographic upheavals were going to involve administrative recutting.

Source: wikipedia.

latest Department notices

Monuments et patrimoine Essonne

Histoire

Le territoire de l’actuel département de l’Essonne fut occupé de façon certaine dès le Néolithique, comme en témoignent les découvertes en divers points du département de silex taillés et l’élévation de menhirs comme dans la forêt de Sénart à Brunoy. À l’époque gauloise, le territoire était à la frontière entre les domaines des Parisii au nord, des Carnutes au sud-ouest et des Sénons au sud-est. Des premières villes commencèrent alors à se démarquer, dont Dourdan, réputée pour son activité de poterie. L’invasion romaine permit l’édification d’une multitude de villa rustica sur les plateaux dominant les riches vallées, comme en témoignent les résultats de fouilles archéologiques à Orsay. D’autres villages se transformèrent en oppidum à la croisée des routes, tel Arpajon.

Vint ensuite l’époque des royaumes disparates, Milly-la-Forêt devenant par la volonté de Dryus un centre druidique au IIe siècle av. J.-C., la région de Dourdan subissant l’autorité du roi païen Dordanus au IVe siècle. Au VIe siècle s’acheva l’évangélisation du territoire, avec l’édification dès l’an 600 d’une première église à Corbeil-Essonnes et le développement à Palaiseau d’un abbaye sous l’impulsion de sainte Bathilde et saint Wandrille. En l’an 604 se déroula la première bataille d’Étampes entre Clotaire II, roi de Neustrie et Thierry II, roi de Bourgogne allié de Théodebert II, roi d’Austrasie. À partir du VIIIe siècle, la plupart du territoire était intégré au domaine royal français, les rois disposant des lieux et distribuant les terres à leurs vassaux. Commença alors au Xe siècle l’édification de châteaux forts contrôlant les routes commerciales, comme à Montlhéry, ou pour arrêter les raids Vikings à Corbeil-Essonnes et La Ferté-Alais. À partir du XIe siècle, la basilique Notre-Dame-de-Bonne-Garde à Longpont-sur-Orge devint la première étape du pèlerinage de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle depuis Paris.

Les révoltes des nobles locaux entraînèrent l’intégration complète du territoire dans le domaine royal, Robert II de France construisant le château d'Étampes, Louis VI de France démantelant le château de Montlhéry au XIIe siècle et réduisant à néant la puissante famille de Montlhéry, Philippe II de France construisant le château de Dourdan au XIIIe siècle. En 1131 se déroula le concile d’Étampes qui se prononça en faveur du futur pape Innocent II. En 1258 fut scellé le traité de Corbeil, fixant les limites territoriales entre le royaume de France et le royaume d'Aragon. Le domaine d’Étampes fut érigé en comté en 1298, créant alors la lignée des comtes puis ducs d’Étampes. De cette époque se fixèrent les deux composantes principales de l’économie locale, l’agriculture pour alimenter la capitale et l’industrie utilisant la force motrice des nombreux cours d’eau. Au XIIe siècle, les Grands moulins de Corbeil devinrent « moulins du Roi ».

À partir du XIVe siècle s’installèrent dans la région d’importantes commanderies templières à Étampes, Longjumeau, Chalou-Moulineux, Auvernaux, organisant de vaste domaines agricoles prospères. En 1305 fut signé le traité d'Athis-sur-Orge qui intégrait au royaume de France les villes de Lille, Douai et Béthune. En 1326 intervint le second traité de Corbeil, renouvelant l’Auld Alliance. En 1346, Philippe VI de France signa l’ordonnance de Brunoy, considérée comme le premier acte juridique en français ayant trait au développement durable. Survint alors la guerre de Cent Ans, causant des ravages et des massacres sur le territoire, comme l’incendie en 1360 de l’église Saint-Clément d’Arpajon par les troupes d’Édouard III d'Angleterre, brûlant vifs huit cent habitants. En 1371, ce fut au tour de Milly-la-Forêt d’être ravagée par le « prince noir » Édouard de Woodstock. Entre 1353 et 1355, Paris frappé par la peste noire utilisa les coches des bateliers de Corbeil, les corbeillards pour évacuer les cadavres, donnant ainsi naissance au mot corbillard. En 1465 eu lieu la bataille de Montlhéry entre Louis XI de France et Charles le Téméraire.

Le début de la Renaissance vit le développement commercial de la région, avec l’édification de halles à Milly-la-Forêt au XVe siècle puis Dourdan, Arpajon et Méréville au XVIe siècle. Dans le même temps, la fixation du pouvoir royal à Paris puis Versailles, deux villes proches et les apanages que constituaient les villes de Dourdan et Étampes, offertes en présents aux favorites Anne de Pisseleu et Gabrielle d'Estrées, entraînèrent l’établissement de châteaux, construits par les courtisans et les magistrats parisiens. En 1568 fut signée la Paix de Longjumeau, concluant la deuxième guerre de religion. En 1590, lors du siège de Paris, ce fut encore Corbeil, prise par Alexandre Farnèse qui permit le ravitaillement de Paris, bloqué par les troupes d’Henri IV de France. En 1628, la ville d’Essonnes fut ravagée par un incendie, provoqué par une nouvelle explosion du moulin à poudre. En 1652, en pleine Fronde, la seconde bataille d’Étampes mena à la victoire de Turenne qui avait stationné ses troupes à Arpajon.

Le XVIIIe siècle vit la région s’équiper de plusieurs hôtels-Dieu à Milly-la-Forêt, Dourdan et Arpajon, de relais de poste sur les routes de Fontainebleau et Orléans. Il s’acheva par la Révolution française, modifiant relativement peu le quotidien des habitants. Un fait-divers marqua cependant cette période troublée, l’assassinat à Étampes du maire Jacques Guillaume Simoneau, entraînant la création par l’Assemblée législative d’une « Fête de la Loi » sur tout le territoire. Relativement peu touché par les conflits en dehors de l’occupation prussienne en 1870, le territoire profita du XIXe siècle pour bénéficier d’une modernisation importante, avec la création de plusieurs lignes de chemin de fer, la ligne de Sceaux en 1854, la ligne Brétigny - Tours en 1867, la ligne de Grande Ceinture en 1882, plusieurs villages devenant alors un lieu de villégiature pour les riches bourgeois parisiens et les artistes. L’ouverture de la ligne de tramway de l’Arpajonnais en 1894 permit une nouvelle montée en puissance des débouchés agricoles de la région, offrant un accès direct et rapide aux halles de Paris. L’industrie lourde fit aussi son apparition avec l’ouverture des usines Decauville à Évry-Petit-Bourg et des papeteries Darblay à Essonnes, faisant entrer cette riche famille essonnienne dans le cercle des « deux cents familles ».

Le début du XXe siècle vit une nouvelle révolution pour le département, qui devint un des berceau de l’aviation, Viry-Châtillon accueillant en 1909 le premier aéroport organisé du monde à Port-Aviation, en 1910 Louis Blériot et Maurice Farman ouvraient des écoles sur l’aéroport d'Étampes-Mondésir, Brétigny-sur-Orge disposait dès 1938 de la base aérienne 217, lieu de nombreux records. Autre site emblématique de la course à la vitesse, l’autodrome de Linas-Montlhéry créé en 1924 resta le lieu des plus célèbres courses automobiles jusque dans les années 1960. Relativement épargné par les deux conflits mondiaux, malgré la présence du camp de concentration de Linas-Montlhéry construit en 1940 par les nazis pour l’enfermement des Tsiganes, le futur département connu dès les années 1950 une forte poussée démographique, touché comme ces voisins par l’édification de bidonvilles aux portes de Paris, situation plus tard aggravée par la nécessité d’héberger les nombreux rapatriés d’Algérie venus s’installer dans la région. Ces bouleversements démographiques allaient entraîner le redécoupage administratif.

les dernières fiches patrimoine du département

Répertoire du patrimoine

proposer un site web dans l'annuaire Promotion du patrimoine Proposez un site, blog, en rapport avec le département Essonne
La fiche descriptive de votre site sera directement accessible dans cette rubrique.