Nievre

Before the Roman invasion, the country which was to be the province of the Resident of Nevers belonged to the territory of Eduens, except a small portion belonging to Senonais. To the VI E century, this country passed under the domination of the Francs, and the Resident of Nevers took shape on the chart of Gaules. Its first limits were those of the diocese of Nevers. but the addition of the baronnie of Donzy and part of the Resident of Auxerre increased the extent of the province, which was composed of five principal regions:

  • Amognes,
  • Bazois,
  • Donziais,
  • Morvan,
  • Puisaye.

and of four others less important:

  • country among the Loire and Allier,
  • be worth of Yonne,
  • be worth of Montenoison,
  • be worth of Nevers.

The table placee following this repertory giving a complete summary of the monuments and antiquities of the department. we will limit ourselves has to enter some ?general considerations, quickly reviewing the four districts of Nievre, and saying which is the quota of each one of them in the whole of the archaeological richnesses of the country.

Nievre offers a good small number of monuments of the times Gallic and Roman; but this department is, we believe capacity it to say, one of most interesting center of France from the point of view of the architecture of the Middle Ages. Without speaking about its large churches of Nevers, of the Charity-on-Loire, of Clameey, Varzy, its beautiful feudal ruins of Saint-Verain, Rosemont, of Chandiou, which would be admirees in all the provinces, its campaigns have preserve of many religious and civil constructions worthy to be signalees and studied with fruit. The Resident of Nevers was division between three dioceses:

  • the diocese of Nevers, which included/understood current Yarrondissement of Nevers formerly, most of that of Castle-Chinon, south?is of that of Cosne and the south of that of Clamecy;
  • the diocese of Auxerre, depended almost all arronclissement on Cosne and the north of that of Clamecy;
  • finally the diocese of Autun, which had the portion is of Farrondissement of Castle-Chinon.

The religious monuments of the Romance time dominate in the cantons which formed the old dioceses of Nevers and D `Autun. These parts of the province, epargnees by the wars of the XIV E and the XV E century and by the religious disorders of the XVI E, conserverent their primitive sanctuaries, sufficient for a population restee very few, and that the poverty of the country, remainder, would not have made it possible to rebuild. On the contrary, the north of the department, old the Resident of Auxerre, offers many churches whose Romance origin is still visible, but which in general was increased or same entirely rebuilt after the medium of the XV E century, either which they had been ruinees during the wars, or that they appeared insufficient. In this region, few intact Romance churches, but on the other hand a considerable number of these charming constructions by the smoothness and the elegance of their ornamentation which were the last expression of ogival architecture.

The all department campaigns are low in religious constructions of the XIII E and the XIV E century; at the end of the Romance period, almost all the parishes were erigees and had their recently built churches: it N `was not necessary thus to raise news of them. The ogival style seems to have had some sorrow has to be established in the province, or dorninait the architectural influence of Cluny. Let us note also the small number of monuments in the taste of the Rebirth. The known date of the construction of certain buildings proves that until the end of the XVI E century the Nevers-native architects almost conserverent the Gothic tradition without mixture with the forms and the ornamentation empruntees in Italy. L `civil architecture and military of each century is representee in the Resident of Nevers; however, we could not claim has a great richness under this report/ratio: the nobility of the country, relatively poor, could never build splendid comparable residences has these castles which make ornernent it campaigns of Berry, Touraine and Anjou.

It is the district of Nevers which contains the most monuments, especially of religious monuments of Romance style. On the 125 buildings devote to the worship remainders upright in the 93 communes of this district, 80 are, in entirety or for the greatest part, of the XI E century or the XII E, 10 belong at the time of transition from the novel to the Gothic or to the XIII E and XIV E centuries, 13 to the XV E and XVI E centuries, 22 are more modern or completely strip of architectonic natures. The same district offers, for the military architecture and civil, the curious towers of the ramparts of Decize, some remainders of the walls and one of the old doors of Nevers, the ducal castle of the same city, the important feudal fortress of Rosemont, the gross tower of Toury-on-Abron, and some castles and manors more or less well preserves.

The district of Castle-Chinon (old dioceses of Nevers and Autun) is the part of the department which has the most ancient vestiges; it includes/understands half of the Beuvray mount, celebrates it oppidum of Eduens, whose important work of Mr. Bulliot made known the curious provisions. In much of localities of this district, the Roman occupation is attestee by substructions. Fortifications and many medals.

This district contains also many Romance constructions, but one should not seek in the poor churches of Morvan the elegance and the richness of the contemporary monuments of the district of Nevers. The nature of materials of the country lent itself little to the work of the chisel and, except one or two exceptions, the ornamentation of these churches is null.

In the 62 communes of the district of Castle-Chinon, on 67 religious buildings, 41 is Romance, several admittedly extremely alter; 4 are first Gothic period, 9 of the second and 13 modern or completely unimportant. Worthy military constructions to draw the attention are rare in Morvan, which was however lives with the Middle Ages by a powerful aristocracy; but as of the XIV E century the feudal big families had disappeared, and it is hardly if there remain formless remains of their strong castles. Let us make however an exception for the imposing ruins of Chandiou, which still give an exact idea of what was this fortress of the first years of the XIV E century.

Let us pass to the north of the department, or the proportion between the Romance monuments and the Gothic monuments is quite different. We count in the 65 communes of the district of Cosne 84 churches or vaults; 17 of these buildings belong to the XI E and XII E centuries, 7 to the XIII E century, 36 to the XV E and XVI E centuries, 24 are modern or without characters of precise time.

The district of Clamecy finally offers D `also many monuments of the last Gothic period; its 93 communes have preserve 99 religious buildings, of which 23 are Romance, while 14 date from the XIII E and XIV E centuries and 45 of the XV E and XVI E centuries, 17 others being unimportant. More than one quarter of the churches of these the last two districts deserve to draw the attention of the archaeologists, and laic architecture is almost as well representee there as L `architecture ecclesiastical. In short, in Nievre, 366 churches or vaults: 161 of the Romance time, 35 of the XIII E and XIV E centuries, 103 of the XV E and XVI E centuries, 67 modern or without characters. In this number, approximately 80 buildings interesting for various reasons. For the military architecture and civil, more than 100 raised monuments of the XII E to the XVIII E century.

The works of art which contribute to architectural decoration: the stained glasses, paintings, the tombs and the tombstones gravees, clothing and liturgical vases of the Middle Ages are rare in the department. However the treasure of old collegial of Varzy has preserve some beautiful reliquaries; then the museums of Nevers and Varzy and various cabinets of private individuals contain antiquities, objets d'art and interesting collections.

Source: Archaeological repertory of the department of Nievre writes under the auspices of the Nevers-native Company of the Letters, sciences and arts by Mr. the count de Soultrait in 1875.

latest Department notices

Monuments et patrimoine Nievre

Histoire

Avant l’invasion romaine, le pays qui devait être la province du Nivernais faisait partie du territoire des Éduens, sauf une petite portion appartenant aux Sénonais. Au VIe siècle, ce pays passa sous la domination des Francs, et le Nivernais se dessina sur la carte des Gaules. Ses premières limites furent celles du diocèse de Nevers. mais l'adjonction de la baronnie de Donzy et d’une partie de l'Auxerrois augmenta l’étendue de la province, qui se composa de cinq contrées principales :

  • les Amognes,
  • le Bazois,
  • le Donziais,
  • le Morvan,
  • la Puisaye.

et de quatre autres moins importantes :

  • le Pays d’entre Loire et Allier,
  • les Vaux d'Yonne,
  • les Vaux de Montenoison,
  • les Vaux de Nevers.

La table placée à la suite de ce répertoire donnant un résumé complet des monuments et des antiquités du département. nous nous bornerons à entrer dans quelques ·considérations générales, passant rapidement en revue les quatre arrondissements de la Nievre, et disant quel est le contingent de chacun d’eux dans l’ensemble des richesses archéologiques du pays.

La Nièvre offre un bien petit nombre de monuments des époques gauloise et romaine; mais ce département est, nous croyons pouvoir le dire, l’un des plus intéressants du centre de la France au point de vue de l’architecture du moyen-âge. Sans parler de ses grandes églises de Nevers, de la Charité-sur-Loire, de Clameey, de Varzy, de ses belles ruines féodales de Saint—Verain, de Rosemont, de Chandiou, qui seraient admirées dans toutes les provinces, ses campagnes ont conservé de nombreuses constructions religieuses et civiles dignes d'être signalées et étudiées avec fruit. Le Nivernais était partagé entre trois diocèses :

  • le diocèse de Nevers, qui comprenait autrefois Yarrondissement actuel de Nevers, la plus grande partie de celui de Château-Chinon, le sud·est de celui de Cosne et le sud de celui de Clamecy;
  • le diocèse d'Auxerre, duquel dépendaient presque tout l'arronclissement de Cosne et le nord de celui de Clamecy;
  • enfin le diocèse d'Autun, qui possédait la portion est de Farrondissement de Château-Chinon.

Les monuments religieux de l'époque romane dominent dans les cantons qui formaient les anciens diocèses de Nevers et d`Autun. Ces parties de la province, épargnées par les guerres du XIVe et du XVe siècle et par les troubles religieux du XVIe, conservèrent leurs sanctuaires primitifs, suffisants pour une population restée peu nombreuse, et que la pauvreté du pays, du reste, n’aurait pas permis de réédifier. Au contraire, le nord du département, l'ancien Auxerrois, offre beaucoup d'églises dont l’origine romane est encore visible, mais qui furent en général agrandies ou même entièrement reconstruites après le milieu du XVe siècle, soit qu’elles eussent été ruinées pendant les guerres, soit qu’elles aient paru insuffisantes. Dans cette contrée, peu d'églises romanes intactes, mais en revanche un nombre considérable de ces constructions charmantes par la finesse et l'élégance de leur ornementation qui furent la dernière expression de l'architecture ogivale.

Les campagnes de tout le département sont pauvres en constructions religieuses du XIIIe et du XIVe siècle; à la fin de la période romane, presque toutes les paroisses étaient érigées et avaient leurs églises récemment bâties : il n`y avait donc pas lieu d'en élever de nouvelles. Le style ogival semble avoir eu quelque peine à s’implanter dans la province, où dorninait l’influence architecturale de Cluny. Constatons aussi le petit nombre de monuments dans le goût de la Renaissance. La date connue de la construction de certains édifices prouve que jusqu'à la fin du XVIe siècle les architectes nivernais conservèrent la tradition gothique presque sans mélange avec les formes et l'ornementation empruntées à l'Italie. L`architecture civile et militaire de chaque siècle est représentée dans le Nivernais; toutefois, nous ne saurions prétendre à une grande richesse sous ce rapport: la noblesse du pays, relativement pauvre, ne put jamais construire de splendides demeures comparables à ces châteaux qui font l'ornernent des campagnes du Berry, de la Touraine et de l’Anjou.

C'est l’arrondissement de Nevers qui renferme le plus de monuments, surtout de monuments religieux de style roman. Sur les 125 édifices consacrés au culte restés debout dans les 93 communes de cette circonscription, 80 sont, en entier ou pour la plus grande partie, du XIe siècle ou du XIIe, 10 appartiennent à l'époque de transition du roman au gothique ou aux XIIIe et XIVe siècles, 13 aux XVe et XVIe siècles, 22 sont plus modernes ou tout à fait dénués de caractères architectoniques. Le même arrondissement offre, pour l'architecture militaire et civile, les curieuses tours des remparts de Decize, quelques restes des murailles et l’une des portes anciennes de Nevers, le château ducal de la même ville, l'importante forteresse féodale de Rosemont, la grosse tour de Toury-sur-Abron, et quelques châteaux et manoirs plus ou moins bien conservés.

L'arrondissement de Château-Chinon (anciens diocèses de Nevers et d'Autun) est la partie du département qui possède le plus de vestiges antiques; il comprend la moitié du mont Beuvray, le célèbre oppidum des Eduens, dont les importants travaux de M. Bulliot ont fait connaître les curieuses dispositions. Dans beaucoup de localités de cet arrondissement, l'occupation romaine est attestée par des substructions. Des ouvrages de défense et de nombreuses médailles.

Cette circonscription renferme aussi beaucoup de constructions romanes, mais il ne faut pas chercher dans les pauvres églises du Morvan l'élégance et la richesse des monuments contemporains de l'arrondissement de Nevers. La nature des matériaux du pays se prêtait peu au travail du ciseau et, sauf une ou deux exceptions, l'ornementation de ces églises est nulle.

Dans les 62 communes de l'arrondissement de Château-Chinon, sur 67 édifices religieux, 41 sont romans, plusieurs, il est vrai, fort remaniés; 4 sont de la première période gothique, 9 de la seconde et 13 modernes ou tout à fait insignifiants. Les constructions militaires dignes d'attirer l'attention sont rares dans le Morvan, qui fut cependant habité au moyen âge par une aristocratie puissante; mais dès le XIVe siècle les grandes Familles féodales avaient disparu, et c’est à peine s'il reste d'informes débris de leurs châteaux forts. Faisons toutefois une exception pour les ruines imposantes de Chandiou, qui donnent encore une idée exacte de ce qu’était cette forteresse des premières années du XIVe siècle.

Passons au nord du département, où la proportion entre les monuments romans et les monuments gothiques est bien différente. Nous comptons dans les 65 communes de l'arrondissement de Cosne 84 églises ou chapelles; 17 de ces édifices appartiennent aux XIe et XIIe siècles, 7 au XIIIe siècle, 36 aux XVe et XVIe siècles, 24 sont modernes ou sans caractères d'époque précis.

L’arrondissement de Clamecy enfin offre d`aussi nombreux monuments de la dernière période gothique; ses 93 communes ont conservé 99 édifices religieux, dont 23 sont romans, tandis que 14 datent des XIIIe et XIVe siècles et 45 des XVe et XVIe siècles, les 17 autres étant insignifiants. Plus d'un quart des églises de ces deux derniers arrondissements méritent d’attirer l'attention des archéologues, et l'architecture laïque y est presque aussi bien représentée que l`architecture ecclésiastique. En résumé, dans la Nièvre, 366 églises ou chapelles: 161 de l’époque romane, 35 des XIIIe et XIVe siècles, 103 des XVe et XVIe siècles, 67 modernes ou sans caractères. Dans ce nombre, environ 80 édifices intéressants à divers titres. Pour l’architecture militaire et civile, plus de 100 monuments élevés du XIIe au XVIIIe siècle.

Les œuvres d'art qui concourent à la décoration architecturale : les vitraux, les peintures, les tombeaux et les dalles funéraires gravées, les vêtements et vases liturgiques du moyen âge sont rares dans le département. Toutefois le trésor de l'ancienne collégiale de Varzy a conservé quelques beaux reliquaires; puis les musées de Nevers et de Varzy et divers cabinets de particuliers renferment des antiquités, des objets d'art et des collections intéressantes.

les dernières fiches patrimoine du département

Répertoire du patrimoine

proposer un site web dans l'annuaire Promotion du patrimoine Proposez un site, blog, en rapport avec le département Nievre
La fiche descriptive de votre site sera directement accessible dans cette rubrique.