Church Saint-Campbell to Donzy

This building constructed at the foot of the ramparts of the vanished Castle fits in the middle of a fabric of old houses that it dominates its mass. The choir of the 15th century retains its elevation, its slender bays and a sexpartite Vault surmounted of a frame also from the 15th century. In the 16th and 17th centuries, the degradation of the nave ceased to escalate to the point that the building was decommissioned at the beginning of the 19th century for reasons of security.

The reconstruction undertaken by the architect Paillard between 1839 and 1842 is perfectly documented in the departmental Archives of the Nièvre. It extends the Gothic choir and bears witness to the revival of interest in medieval architecture in the 19th century. The building is built on sloping ground, which explains its eventful architectural history; It is flanked by houses as well as a large step on the North-west facade. It obeys a relatively irregular plan, found on the reconstruction plans led by the architect Paillard from 1839 to 1842: a central nave completed by two collateral on which open chapels to the Northwest and Southeast. The nave is extended by a chorus close, he also supported by chapels.

The Southwest facade, opposite of the choir, is dominated by a square-storey Bell Tower. In the lower register, a big gate in third point provides access to the porch under the Bell Tower. The Bell Tower is flanked by buttresses. Moulded cornices delimit levels. 3-sided bays in third point with tracery neo-rayonnant at louvered light inside. The arrow under the Paillard architect on his drawings of 1839 and 1842 was not built. A balustrade crowns all. The Northwest façade is very irregular: from left to right, elevation of the Gothic choir flanked by two chapels and a small Board style house with a flat facade decorated with pilasters and capitals light 4 builds on the side of the Church. At the top of a large step, a large Gothic portal with side walls, pinnacles, arching, shapely and blind tympanum opens on the inside then right a chapel almost to the right of the Bell Tower, in beautiful device, presents in painted letters the Republican motto.

Southeast, the facade is also irregular but recoilless. Foothills and abutments are drowned in the roof of the chapels which open onto southeastern collateral. The aisle has an elevation much lower than that of the nave and the choir. The interior volume presents legible irregularities outside: Bell tower porch off work; three naves forming 5 spans and rounded choir. The choir and the nave are vaulted edges with a warhead Ridge. On the first floor of the topped Bell Tower of a hole of tower houses a forum which opens onto the central nave. It should be noted in a square plan, northwest-side chapel, warheads falling on beautiful carved bases symbol of the 4 evangelists.

The choir is very slender. It is lighted by 3 high lancets. The nave has the same elevation. Of arches in third point onto the aisles and are separated by large pilasters posed on with high bases underpinning prismatic bases. The ensemble is particularly homogenous. Only, unlike stone allows you to see the juxtaposition between the 1500 and the work of the departmental architect Paillard between 1839 and 1842. The elevation of the nave has a level of large arches, a blind level and a level of high windows under the formeret arches. Beautiful frame of the choir with herringbone closed is probably original. Reading of the building, outdoor, indoor and plans of Paillard, 1839-1842, to very easily locate the parts of the 15th century and the extension of the 19th century.

Source: Ministry of culture.

Church Saint-Campbell
Crédit photo : (Church Saint-Campbell, donzy)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Church Saint-Campbell, This building constructed at the foot of the ramparts of the vanished Castle fits in the middle of a fabric of old houses that it dominates its mass. The choir of the 15th century retains its elevation, its slender bays and a sexpartite Vault surmounted of a frame also from the 15th century. In the 16th and 17th centuries, the degradation of the nave ceased to escalate to the point that the building was decommissioned at the beginning of the 19th century for reasons of security. donzy, nievre

Location and general information

  • identifier : 95710
  • item : Eglise Saint-Caradeuc
  • Location of the building :
    • Bourgogne
    • Donzy
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 58102
  • Zip code of the municipality : 58220
  • Order in the communal list : 2
  • Name of the building : The building is designated by the following 2 names :
    • church
    • parish church
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 4 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 15th century
    • 16th century
    • 19th century
    • 2nd quarter 19th century
  • Investigation : 1998
  • Date of protection : 1998/08/13 : inscrit MH
  • Date taken into account : 2001/03/13

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : property of the municipality 1998
  • Details : Eglise, en totalité (cad. AP 221, 527) : inscription par arrêté du 13 août 1998
  • Mérimée reference : PA58000009

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de pierre bastien est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Church Saint-Campbell to Donzy. Picture of pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Church Saint-Campbell to Donzy. Picture of pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Church Saint-Campbell to Donzy. Picture of pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Church Saint-Campbell to Donzy. Picture of pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Church Saint-Campbell to Donzy. Picture of pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Church Saint-Campbell to Donzy. Picture of pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Church Saint-Campbell to Donzy. Picture of pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Church Saint-Campbell to Donzy. Picture of pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Church Saint-Campbell to Donzy. Picture of pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Church Saint-Campbell to Donzy. Picture of pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy

Cet édifice construit au pied des remparts du château disparu s'intègre au milieu d'un tissu de maisons anciennes qu'il domine de sa masse. Le choeur du XVe siècle conserve son élévation, ses baies élancées et une voûte sexpartite surmontée d'une charpente également du XVe siècle. Aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles, la dégradation de la nef ne cessa de s'accentuer au point que l'édifice fut désaffecté au début du XIXe siècle pour des raisons de sécurité.

La reconstruction entreprise par l'architecte Paillard entre 1839 et 1842 est parfaitement documentée aux Archives Départementales de la Nièvre. Elle prolonge le choeur gothique et témoigne du renouveau d'intérêt pour l'architecture médiévale au XIXe siècle. L'édifice est construit sur un terrain en pente, ce qui explique son histoire architecturale mouvementée ; il est flanqué de maisons ainsi que d'un grand emmarchement sur la façade Nord-Ouest. Il obéit à un plan relativement irrégulier, que l'on retrouve sur les plans de la reconstruction menée par l'architecte Paillard de 1839 à 1842 : une nef centrale complétée par deux collatéraux sur lesquels ouvrent des chapelles au Nord-Ouest et au Sud-Est. La nef est prolongée par un choeur étroit, lui aussi épaulé par des chapelles.

La façade Sud-Ouest, à l'opposé du choeur, est dominée par un haut clocher carré à étages. Au registre inférieur, un grand portail en tiers point donne accès au porche sous le clocher. Le clocher est flanqué de contreforts. Des corniches moulurées délimitent des niveaux. Sur 3 côtés, des baies en tiers point avec remplage néo-rayonnant at abats-sons éclairent l'intérieur. La flèche prévue par l'architecte Paillard sur ses dessins de 1839 et 1842 n'a pas été construite. Une balustrade couronne l'ensemble. La façade Nord-Ouest est très irrégulière : de gauche à droite, élévation du choeur gothique flanqué de deux chapelles puis une petite maison de style Directoire avec une façade plate décorée de 4 légers pilastres et chapiteaux s'appuie sur le flanc de l'église. En haut d'un grand emmarchement, un grand portail gothique avec piédroits, pinacles, voussures, galbe et tympan aveugle ouvre sur l'intérieur puis à droite une chapelle presque au droit du clocher, en bel appareil, présente en lettres peintes la devise républicaine.

Côté Sud-Est, la façade est aussi irrégulière mais sans recul. Des contreforts et culées sont noyés dans la toiture des chapelles qui ouvrent sur le collatéral Sud-Est. Le bas-côté présente une élévation beaucoup plus basse que celle de la nef et du choeur. Le volume intérieur présente les irrégularités lisibles à l'extérieur : clocher porche hors oeuvre ; trois nefs formant 5 travées et choeur arrondi. Le choeur et la nef sont voûtés d'arêtes avec une ogive faitière. Au premier étage du clocher surmonté d'un trou de clocher loge une tribune qui ouvre sur la nef centrale. Il faut noter dans une chapelle de plan carré, côté Nord-Ouest, des ogives retombant sur des beaux culots sculptés symbole des 4 évangélistes.

Le choeur est très élancé. Il est éclairé par 3 hautes lançettes. La nef possède la même élévation. De grands arcs en tiers point ouvrent sur les bas-côtés et sont séparés par de gros pilastres posés sur des hauts soubassements sur lesquels reposent des bases prismatiques. L'ensemble est particulièrement homogène. Seule, la différence de taille de pierre permet de voir la juxtaposition entre l'époque 1500 et l'oeuvre de l'architecte départemental Paillard entre 1839 et 1842. L'élévation de la nef centrale comporte un niveau de grandes arcades, un niveau aveugle et un niveau de fenêtres hautes sous les arcs formeret. La belle charpente du choeur à chevrons portant ferme est probablement d'origine. La lecture de l'édifice, extérieur, intérieur et plans de Paillard, 1839-1842, permet de façon très aisée de localiser les parties du XVe siècle et l'extension du XIXe siècle.

Source : Ministère de la culture.

Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy
Crédit photo : pierre bastien (Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, Cet édifice construit au pied des remparts du château disparu s'intègre au milieu d'un tissu de maisons anciennes qu'il domine de sa masse. Le choeur du 15e siècle conserve son élévation, ses baies élancées et une voûte sexpartite surmontée d'une charpente également du 15e siècle. Aux 16e et 17e siècles, la dégradation de la nef ne cessa de s'accentuer au point que l'édifice fut désaffecté au début du 19e siècle pour des raisons de sécurité. donzy, nievre

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 95710
  • item : Eglise Saint-Caradeuc
  • Localisation :
    • Bourgogne
    • Donzy
  • Code INSEE commune : 58102
  • Code postal de la commune : 58220
  • Ordre dans la liste : 2
  • Nom commun de la construction : 2 dénomiations sont utilisées pour définir cette construction :
    • église
    • église paroissiale
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 4 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 15e siècle
    • 16e siècle
    • 19e siècle
    • 2e quart 19e siècle
  • Enquête : 1998
  • Date de protection : 1998/08/13 : inscrit MH
  • Date de versement : 2001/03/13

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune 1998
  • Détails : Eglise, en totalité (cad. AP 221, 527) : inscription par arrêté du 13 août 1998
  • Référence Mérimée : PA58000009

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de pierre bastien est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy. par pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy. par pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy. par pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy. par pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy. par pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy. par pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy. par pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy. par pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy. par pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc à Donzy. par pierre bastien
Eglise Saint-Caradeuc, donzy

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.