Envermeu

The current commune is composed of the two old parishes of Notre-Dame and the St. Lawrence d' Envermeu and two small annexees communes. Envermeu become for a few years an archaeological place extremely has re-elected, was always a rather important historical point, especially at the franque period.

Roman epoch

The borough was cross-piece by the Roman way going from Dieppe has Beauvais, by Epinay, Holy-Beuve and the valley of Eaulne. About 1832, by making the secondary road n? 5, which goes from Dieppe has Beauvais, one found there a certain number of tiles and Roman potteries. Mr. Guilmeth tells that in 1836 one gave to him of the copper coins of Neron, Faustine, Anlonin and Convenient which had been trouvees with theDangerous one. Mr. Feret, of Dieppe, ensures to have recognized Roman walls out of small apparatus chains bricks on the site of old the prioress of the St. Lawrence, locates on the edge of Eaulne. In a pre place between Eaulne and the secondary road is a hillock calls Catel, which perhaps formed part of the old castle of Envermeu, whose lords have cheek a so great role at the time Norman.

Franque time

One of the seniors of the archidiacone of Have. Its name appears in VIIIe century. The Chronicle of Fontenelle calls it Edremou, into 374; this name is to him preserve, about 1030, in a charter of Robert Ier, with the cathedral of Rouen. In XIe ciecle in XIIe century, Vital Orderic said Ebremou and Ebretmou. The frank monument most important of Envermeu is its cemetery merovingien, discovered in 1850 in the Field of the tomb and explores by Mr. the Cochet abbot during nine consecutive years. This cemetery, which did not contain less than eight hundred pits or burials, provided for the museum of Rouen and the collections of Paris, of Caen, of Le Havre and Dieppe a considerable quantity of vases of ground, glass and bronze; iron weapons, in particular of the knives, daggers, sabres, francisques axes, lances, arrows, swords, let us angons and of the shields; Gallic, Roman and franques currencies, out of gold, money and bronze; stone coffins; objects of ornament and silver, bronze, iron ustensils and gold, out of glass, email, have amber or out of flint: among the ornaments, hairpins, of the styles has to write, of the earrings, the rings, the bracelets, the collars, the fibules, the loops, fasten, the needles, the scissors, the purses or aumonieres. Among the ustensils appeared of the boxes, of the paleres, the buckets or buckets, the stones has to sharpen or has to beat fire, of poelons, the keys, the chains, the gimlets, the shells, the spurs, the bits of horses with the skeletons of these animals. (See on these excavations and these discoveries a great number of works and collections, among which the Review of Rouen, monumental Rulletin, Memories of the Company det antique dealers of Normandy, the Review of the Christian art, the Precis of the Academy of Rouen, etc)!

The Middle Ages

Prioress of the St. Lawrence, founds in XIe century by the lords of the manor of Envermeu and joined together by them with the abbey of the Nozzle-Hellouin, of which there remain nothing any more but some remains, which form part of a farm today. The vault was demolished about 1816. It is ensured that in the foundations of the prioress, close to the river, one had recognized Roman constructions.

Church of Notre-Dame

Plan in cross, has troix naves; beautiful stone monument entirely built in XVIe century and in the ogival style blazing. The bell-tower, which forms a square tower placee with the northern angle of the gate, is built out of sandstone at the base, in piecre of size at the upper part; one notices there beautiful windows and the statues of Pierre saint, Paul saint, Jean saint and Andre saint. An arrow of elegant slate and fine crown this beautiful tower. The three naves have remarkable vaults by their keys. The chorus is admirably carves outwards; it ends in seven beautiful and elegant lancets. Under the transepts of this church one counts ten tumulary inscriptions or obituaires, in prose and worms, of XVIe century. Stoup hones sculptee of it: cross of cemetery of the Rebirth: tumulary flagstone of XVIe century representing a knight, encastree in the wall in 1856; this flagstone comes from the church supprimee of Inerville.

Old castle of Envermeu

The castle of the lords d' Envermeu, if powerful in XIe century, was locates at the edge of Eaulne, and there remains about it today only one mound appelee Catel.

Description

envermeu, French city Department of seine maritime with 1 historical site listed or simply studied for their remarkable character.
Our database currently includes 1 elements for heritage envermeu. You will find the menu and footer links leading you on the description sheets.

There are 0 localitie (Place called, location known as) in Envermeu :

listed building (classified and protected) in Envermeu

Monument in Envermeu, Envermeu has 1 building protected. Include :

  1. Eglise official reference : PA00100641
Please note this list is likely to evolve, the data presented are from 2013.

Statistics for Envermeu

Town or city :
Postcode of city : 76630
Insee code : 76235
Longitude : 1.318562
Latitude : 49.923664
Total population : 2194 people
path : 5
dead : 4
place : 2
st : 44

Church, French Heritage monument to Envermeu 1
« Church » is a construction of the city of Envermeu (France, Seine maritime). Church, French Heritage monument to Envermeu

Patrimoine historique de Envermeu

La commune actuelle se compose des deux anciennes paroisses de Notre-Dame et de Saint-Laurent d'Envermeu et de deux petites communes annexées. Envermeu devenu depuis quelques années un lieu archéologique fort renommé, fut toujours un point historique assez important, surtout à la période franque.

Epoque romaine

Le bourg était traversé par la voie romaine allant de Dieppe à Beauvais, par Épinay, Sainte-Beuve et la vallée de l'Eaulne. Vers 1832 , en faisant la route départementale n° 5, qui va de Dieppe à Beauvais, on y trouva un certain nombre de tuiles et de poteries romaines. M. Guilmeth raconte qu'en 1836 on lui a remis des monnaies de bronze de Néron, de Faustine, d'Anlonin et de Commode qui avaient été trouvées au Bois-Dangereux. M. Féret, de Dieppe, assure avoir reconnu des murailles romaines en petit appareil chaîné de briques sur l'emplacement de l'ancien prieuré de Saint-Laurent, situé sur le bord de l'Eaulne. Dans un pré placé entre l'Eaulne et la route départementale est un tertre appelé le Câtel, qui fit peut-être partie du vieux château d'Envermeu, dont les seigneurs ont joué un si grand rôle à l'époque normande.

Epoque franque

Un des doyennés de l'archidiaconé d'Eu. Son nom apparaît au VIIIe siècle. La Chronique de Fontenelle l'appelle Edremou, en 374; ce nom lui est conservé, vers 1030, dans une charte de Robert Ier, à la cathédrale de Rouen. Au XIe ciècle au XIIe siècle, Orderic Vital dit Ebremou et Ebretmou. Le monument franc le plus important d'Envermeu est son cimetière mérovingien, découvert en 1850 dans le Champ de la tombe et exploré par M. l'abbé Cochet pendant neuf années consécutives. Ce cimetière, qui ne contenait pas moins de huit cents fosses ou sépultures, a fourni pour le musée de Rouen et les collections de Paris, de Caen, du Havre et de Dieppe une quantité considérable de vases de terre, de verre et de bronze; des armes en fer, notamment des couteaux, des poignards, des sabres, des haches francisques, des lances, des flèches, des épées, des angons et des boucliers; des monnaies gauloises, romaines et franques, en or, en argent et en bronze; des cercueils de pierre; des objets d'ornement et des ustensiles en fer, en bronze, en argent et or, en verre, en émail, eu ambre ou en silex: parmi les ornements, des épingles à cheveux, des styles à écrire, des boucles d'oreilles, des bagues, des bracelets, des colliers, des fibules, des boucles, des agrafes, des aiguilles, des ciseaux, des bourses ou aumônières. Parmi les ustensiles figuraient des coffrets, des palères, des seaux ou baquets, des pierres à affiler ou à battre le feu, des poêlons, des clefs, des chaînettes, des vrilles, des coquillages, des éperons, des mors de chevaux avec les squelettes de ces animaux. ( Voir sur ces fouilles et ces découvertes un grand nombre d'ouvrages et de recueils, parmi lesquels la Revue de Rouen, le Rulletin monumental, les Mémoires de la Société det antiquaires de Normandie, la Revue de l'art chrétien, le Précis de l'Académie de Rouen, etc.) !

Moyen âge

Prieuré de Saint-Laurent, fondé au XIe siècle par les châtelains d'Envermeu et réuni par eux à l'abbaye du Bec-Hellouin, dont il ne reste plus que quelques débris, qui font aujourd'hui partie d'une ferme. La chapelle fut démolie vers 1816. On assure que dans les fondations du prieuré, voisines de la rivière, on avait reconnu des constructions romaines.

Église de Notre-Dame

Plan en croix, à troix nefs; beau monument de pierre entièrement construit au XVIe siècle et dans le style ogival flamboyant. Le clocher, qui forme une tour carrée placée à l'angle nord du portail, est construit en grés â la base, en piecre de taille à la partie supérieure; on y remarque de belles fenêtres et les statues de saint Pierre, de saint Paul, de saint Jean et de saint André. Une flèche d'ardoise élégante et fine couronne cette belle tour. Les trois nefs ont des voûtes remarquables par leurs clefs. Le chœur est admirablement sculpté en dehors; il se termine par sept belles et élégantes lancettes. Sous les transepts de cette église on compte dix inscriptions tumulaires ou obituaires, en prose et en vers, du XVIe siècle. Bénitier en pierre sculptée : croix de cimetière de la Renaissance : dalle tumulaire du XVIe siècle représentant un chevalier, encastrée dans le mur en 1856; cette dalle provient de l'église supprimée d'Inerville.

Ancien château d'Envermeu

Le château des sires d'Envermeu, si puissants au XIe siècle, était situé au bord de l'Eaulne, et il n'en reste plus aujourd'hui qu'une motte appelée le Câtel.

Description de Envermeu

Envermeu, commune Française du département seine maritime avec 1 site répertorié ou simplement présenté pour leur caractère remarquable.

Vous trouverez dans le menu et en bas de page les liens vous menant sur les fiches de description.

On compte 0 lieu-dit à Envermeu :

Edifice, monument classé à Envermeu

Bâtiment classé de Envermeu (Source open data), Envermeu possède 1 bâtiment ou espace classé. On peu citer :

  1. Eglise référence officielle : PA00100641
Attention cette liste est suceptible d'évoluer, les données présentées sont de 2013.

Statistique Envermeu

Commune ou ville de :
Code postal de la ville : 76630
Code Insee : 76235
Longitude : 1.318562
Latitude : 49.923664
Population totale : 2194 habitants
chemin : 5
impasse : 4
place : 2
rue : 44

Répertoire du patrimoine

proposer un site web dans l'annuaire Promotion du patrimoine Proposez un site, blog, en rapport avec Envermeu
La fiche descriptive de votre site sera directement accessible dans cette rubrique.
 
Eglise
Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Eglise' à envermeu (seine maritime 76630). Beau monument de pierre entièrement construit au XVIe siècle et dans le style ogival flamboyant.