Villa Nordic to Ste Adresse

The Norwegian House 15, rue Charles-Alexandre-Lesueur

Contrary to what could be written or told about the origin of this House "of Nordic inspiration", even sometimes wrongly described as 'Pagoda', this solid wood dwelling comes well Norway and particularly the region of Telemark to West of Oslo. All elements of the structure having been numbered, the House was imported in le Havre early 1900, to be presented at an exhibition on trade of wood.

No doubt seduced by the originality of its architectural elements, Albert Dubosc buys it and makes it back to Sainte-Adresse, on land facing the sea, sold by Georges Dufayel by deed dated June 12, 1908, which States: "Mr Dubosc will be required to build a building or flag any whose construction must be started within two years from this date.» This construction must present an elegant façade, with a studied architectural character, the acquirer shall endeavour to avoid the facade of uniform tone. "IRAP kept by Albert Dubosc, since 1911 the Norwegian House stands next to the sugar loaf, at the top of the resort 'Le Nice' wanted by Georges Dufayel.

To adapt to the ground in steep, wooden house, which has for the moment as a vestibule, a large room with two balconies, a health and a staircase to access the garden, relies on a masonry work not closed, formed mainly by two arches and buttresses. This masonry basement is made of brick and Flint in the pure style cauchoise tradition.

Charles-Alexandre-Lesueur Street, on the northern front, part wood is protected by a wall which the profile form two full brick arches, intersected by rows alternating brick and shingle. A third arc, open and smaller draws gateway arched House, a grid ornate protecting the glass part.

The imported original structure consists of horizontal planks fitted by grooving and crossed to rabbet at the ends. The two balconies wooden columns are curved barrel, separated by openwork railings with hearts. The ridge of the roof two pans is crowned by a linear hoops wooden finished at the ends by chimeras, rappelling from the fabulous bestiary of the medieval "stavekirke" wooden churches standing adorning also bow and stern of the Viking ships. Inside, all the parts on street have a height of 3.75 meters and are dressed in varnished wood, walls as ceilings.

At the level of the garden space under the House is left free. A path with steps in cement imitating the log, joined the street of the low cliffs (now rue Jean-Devilder). Halfway through of this hillside road, Albert Dubosc is also digging an artificial cave for rest and cool, who wants to access directly, through the garden, the lively centre of 'Le Nice' and the sea.

On June 29, 1922 Emile Baudoin redeems the property to Albert Dubosc and done on the House of the important transformations. It adds a West Wing to a large living room in the extension of the original part. The southern corner of the latter, he creates a bow window to have a full view and panoramic over the entrance to the Harbour and the harbour. It landscape in housing remained free space at the level of the garden, which the large room with alcove.

In 1936, Pierre Boilève, then young purser on the ocean liner Normandie, and his wife Simone, notice this surprising House clings to the cliff and that is for rent. Become tenants, they soon manage to buy it at Emile Baudoin on July 18, 1936. They will live soon, war bursting on 1 September 1939. Mobilized, Pierre Boilève is taken prisoner in June 1940 and will spend five years in captivity in many oflags.

That same month of June the family home is requisitioned by the Kriegsmarine, having regard to the strategic position of the site. Left alone with her children, Simone Boilève manages to meet German Naval Commander, who now occupies the premises to try to recover some pieces of furniture and personal belongings. By dint of persuasion she obtains this officer, may be him as father of the family but can also be on behalf of a certain solidarity between (even enemies) sailors "permission to take an armchair, a crib, a few toys, linens and dishes..." ». Subsequently the SS occupy the House and there is no longer question of negotiating with them. The imposing stove Norwegian earthenware and copper of the large room is even disassembled and shipped in Germany...

The summer 1943, under the Todt organisation and the strengthening of the "Atlantic wall" a blockhouse is built to the right of the facade is the House, ideal location with stunning views for artillery controlling port and sky, vegetation that perfectly conceal the work.

Shortly after the allied landings on 6 June 1944, on the beaches of "the other side of the water", the bombing of the Royal Air Force 14 and 15 on Harbour, the Harbour and the surrounding area, are unprecedented damage. No doubt to the blockhouse, a bomb falls at the foot of the House, the blast blowing partly masonry garden, upstairs remaining almost cantilevered wooden on the vacuum.

After the war there will be little Norwegian House is demolished. Thanks to the determination of the owners and the intervention of Mr Terrillon, architect in le Havre, it is finally removed from the interim consolidated list of demolition and then rectified with cylinders, operation made possible because of the flexibility of its structure wood. Used for some time by American soldiers, it is subsequently squatted and undergoes again extensive damage. Pannelling and parquet flooring torn, breeding of rabbits in the lounge, goat in the great room... It takes a bike theft for these occupants, disrespectful of the premises, be convicted and leave...

Totally released home, the work of rehabilitation can start with subsidies by the Ministry of Reconstruction, for war damage. The blockhouse, him, is demolished, except the foundations that become a terrace. After three years of efforts and work, under the direction of Robert Royon, Le architect, the owners finally re-enter their homes. From the bow, gateway and immobile vigie, they can again, after the turmoil, follow the wake of large ships...

Maintained and restored with care, the Norwegian House with bright red of its woodwork and its five chimeras drawn up toward the sky, is still, after so many tests, the homeport of the same family. She is also memory maritime location long ships, ship models and souvenirs from trips to a purser with criss-crossed most of the seas of the globe and of course the sea of Norway.

Source: Roland BOILÈVE, Honorary architect, March 27, 2015

House (Villa) Villa Nordic
Crédit photo : (House (Villa) Villa Nordic, ste adresse)


Reported to be remarkable heritage of quality.

Structural information

House (Villa) Villa Nordic, Contrary to what could be written or told about the origin of this House "of Nordic inspiration", even sometimes wrongly described as 'Pagoda', this solid wood dwelling comes well Norway and particularly the region of Telemark to West of Oslo. All elements of the structure having been numbered, the House was imported in le Havre early 1900, to be presented at an exhibition on trade of wood. ste adresse, seine maritime

Location and general information

  • identifier : 124602
  • item : Maison (Villa) dite Villa Nordique
  • Location of the building :
    • Haute-Normandie
    • Seine-Maritime
    • Sainte-Adresse
  • Address : 15 rue Charles Lesueur
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 76552
  • Zip code of the municipality : 76310
  • Order in the communal list : 35
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : home
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 4 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 19th century
    • 4th quarter 19th century
    • 20th century
    • 1st quarter 20th century
  • Investigation : 1990
  • Date taken into account : 1997/09/12

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials: 4 elements are used in the main structure of the building.
    • limestone
    • brick
    • shingler boards
    • shingler
  • Roofing : Coverage of this building is varied there are 4 different types :
    • roof with long tails
    • sprocket cover
    • pinion
    • roof
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • the main material of this building is flat tile
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors : 3 type of floors in this manual :
    • stage base
    • ground floor
    • rez-de-chaussee
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • The decor consists of 'sculpture'
  • Representation :
    • the only ornament listed is 'volute'
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • a constituent part in this construction : garden
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : support type Ridge private property
  • Author of the survey MH : Etienne Claire
  • Mérimée reference : IA76000365

The complete official record is available at Conseil régional de Haute-Normandie - Service chargé de l'inventaire2, rue Maladrerie 76000 Rouen - 02.32.08.18.80

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de Utilisateur anonyme est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Villa Nordic to Ste Adresse. Picture of Utilisateur anonyme
Maison (Villa) dite Villa Nordique, ste adresse
Villa Nordic to Ste Adresse. Picture of Boileve
Maison (Villa) dite Villa Nordique, ste adresse
Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Villa Nordic to Ste Adresse. Picture of Boileve
Maison (Villa) dite Villa Nordique, ste adresse

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Villa Nordique à Ste adresse

La maison Norvégienne 15, rue Charles-Alexandre-Lesueur

Contrairement à ce qui a pu être écrit ou raconté sur l'origine de cette maison dite « d'inspiration nordique », parfois même aussi qualifiée abusivement de « pagode », cette habitation en bois massif vient bien de Norvège et plus particulièrement de la région du Télémark à l'ouest d'Oslo. Tous les éléments de la structure ayant été numérotés, la maison a été importée au Havre début 1900, pour être présentée à l'occasion d'une exposition sur le commerce du bois.

Sans doute séduit par l'originalité de ses éléments architecturaux, Albert Dubosc l'achète et la fait remonter à Sainte-Adresse, sur un terrain face à la mer, vendu par Georges Dufayel par acte notarié daté du 12 juin 1908, lequel précise : « Monsieur Dubosc sera tenu de faire édifier un bâtiment ou pavillon quelconque dont la construction devra être commencée dans le délai de deux ans à compter de ce jour. Cette construction devra présenter une façade élégante, ayant un caractère architectural étudié, l'acquéreur devra s'attacher à éviter la façade de tonalité uniforme. » Pari tenu par Albert Dubosc, puisque en 1911 la maison norvégienne se dresse, à coté du Pain de Sucre, au dessus du complexe touristique du « Nice havrais » voulu par Georges Dufayel.

Pour s'adapter au terrain en forte pente, la maison en bois, qui ne comporte pour le moment qu'un vestibule, une grande pièce avec deux balcons, un sanitaire et une cage d'escalier pour accéder au jardin, s'appuie sur un ouvrage maçonné non fermé, formé principalement par deux arcs et des contreforts. Cette maçonnerie en soubassement est réalisée en briques et silex dans le pur style de la tradition cauchoise.

Sur la rue Charles-Alexandre-Lesueur, en façade nord, la partie bois est protégée par un mur dont la modénature forme deux arcs pleins en briques, recoupés par des rangées alternées de briques et de galets. Un troisième arc, ouvert et plus petit, dessine la porte d'entrée cintrée de la maison, une grille ouvragée protégeant la partie vitrée.

La structure initiale importée se compose de madriers horizontaux emboîtés par rainurage et croisés à mi-bois aux extrémités. Les colonnes en bois des deux balcons sont à fût galbé, séparées par des garde-corps avec coeurs ajourés. Le faîtage des toitures à deux pans est couronné d'un linéaire d'arceaux en bois terminé aux extrémités par des chimères, en rappel du fabuleux bestiaire des « stavekirke » médiévales, églises en bois debout, qui ornait aussi proue et poupe des bateaux vikings. A l'intérieur, toutes les pièces sur rue ont une hauteur de 3,75 mètres et sont habillées de planches en bois vernis, murs comme plafonds.

Au niveau du jardin l'espace sous la maison est laissé libre. Un sentier avec marches en ciment imitant le rondin, rejoint la rue des Basses-Falaises (actuellement rue Jean-Devilder). A mi-parcours de ce chemin à flan de colline, Albert Dubosc fait aussi creuser une grotte artificielle pour offrir repos et fraîcheur, à qui veut accéder directement, par le jardin, au centre animé du « Nice havrais » et à la mer.

Le 29 juin 1922 Emile Baudoin rachète la propriété à Albert Dubosc et fait sur la maison des transformations importantes. Il rajoute une aile ouest pour faire un grand salon dans le prolongement de la pièce d'origine. A l'angle sud de cette dernière, il crée un bow-window pour avoir une vue totale et panoramique sur l'entrée du port et la rade. Il aménage également en habitation l'espace resté libre au niveau du jardin, dont la grande chambre avec alcôve.

En 1936, Pierre Boilève, alors jeune commissaire de bord sur le paquebot Normandie, et son épouse Simone, remarquent cette maison surprenante accrochée à la falaise et qui est à louer. Devenus locataires, ils parviennent peu après à l'acheter à Emile Baudoin le 18 juillet 1936. Ils y vivront peu de temps, la guerre éclatant le 1er septembre 1939. Mobilisé, Pierre Boilève est fait prisonnier en juin 1940 et passera cinq ans de captivité dans de nombreux oflags.

Ce même mois de juin la maison familiale est réquisitionnée par la Kriegsmarine, vu la position stratégique du site. Restée seule avec ses enfants, Simone Boilève parvient à rencontrer le commandant de marine allemand, qui occupe désormais les lieux, pour tenter de récupérer quelques meubles et objets personnels. A force de persuasion elle obtient de cet officier, peut être lui aussi père de famille mais peut être aussi au nom d'une certaine solidarité entre marins (même ennemis), la « permission d'emporter un fauteuil, un lit d'enfant, quelques jouets, du linge et de la vaisselle… ». Par la suite les SS occupent la maison et il n'est plus question de négocier avec eux. L'imposant poêle norvégien en faïence et cuivre de la grande pièce est même démonté et expédié en Allemagne ...

A l'été 1943, dans le cadre de l'organisation Todt et du renforcement du « Mur de l'Atlantique » un blockhaus est construit au droit de la façade est de la maison, endroit idéal avec vue imprenable pour de l'artillerie contrôlant port et ciel, de la végétation permettant de dissimuler parfaitement l'ouvrage.

Peu après le débarquement des alliés le 6 juin 1944 sur les plages de « l'autre coté de l'eau », les bombardements de la Royal Air Force les 14 et 15 sur le Havre, le port et les environs, font des dégâts sans précédents. Sans doute destinée au blockhaus, une bombe tombe au pied de la maison, la déflagration soufflant en partie la maçonnerie sur jardin, l'étage en bois restant quasiment en porte-à-faux sur le vide.

Après la guerre il s'en faut de peu que la maison norvégienne ne soit démolie. Grâce à la détermination des propriétaires et sur l'intervention de Monsieur Terrillon, architecte au Havre, elle est finalement rayée de la liste des démolisseurs, provisoirement consolidée, puis redressée par vérins, opération rendue possible du fait de la souplesse de sa structure bois. Utilisée quelque temps par des soldats américains, elle est par la suite squattée et subit à nouveau d'importants dommages. Lambris et parquets arrachés, élevage de lapins dans le salon, chèvre dans la grande chambre… Il faut le vol d'un vélo pour que ces occupants, peu respectueux des lieux, soient condamnés et partent ...

La maison totalement libérée, les travaux de remise en état peuvent commencer avec les subventions allouées par le ministère de la Reconstruction, dans le cadre des dommages de guerre. Le blockhaus, lui, est démoli, sauf les fondations qui deviennent une terrasse. Après trois ans de démarches et de travaux, sous la direction de Robert Royon, architecte havrais, les propriétaires réintègrent enfin leur habitation. Depuis le bow-window, passerelle et vigie immobile, ils peuvent de nouveau, après la tourmente, suivre le sillage des grands navires ...

Entretenue et restaurée avec soins, la maison norvégienne avec le rouge vif de ses boiseries et ses cinq chimères dressées vers le ciel, est toujours, après tant d'épreuves, le port d'attache de la même famille. Elle est aussi lieu de mémoire maritime où se côtoient maquettes de drakkars, de paquebots et souvenirs de voyages d'un commissaire de bord ayant sillonné la plupart des mers du globe et bien sûr la mer de Norvège.

Source : Roland BOILÈVE, architecte honoraire, le 27 mars 2015

Villa Nordique à Ste adresse
Crédit photo : Contributeur anonyme (Maison (Villa) dite Villa Nordique, ste adresse)

bâtiment remarquable.

Informations structurelles

Maison (Villa) dite Villa Nordique, Contrairement à ce qui a pu être écrit ou raconté sur l'origine de cette maison dite « d'inspiration nordique », parfois même aussi qualifiée abusivement de « pagode », cette habitation en bois massif vient bien de Norvège et plus particulièrement de la région du Télémark à l'ouest d'Oslo. Tous les éléments de la structure ayant été numérotés, la maison a été importée au Havre début 1900, pour être présentée à l'occasion d'une exposition sur le commerce du bois. ste adresse, seine maritime

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 124602
  • item : Maison (Villa) dite Villa Nordique
  • Localisation :
    • Haute-Normandie
    • Seine-Maritime
    • Sainte-Adresse
  • Adresse : 15 rue Charles Lesueur
  • Code INSEE commune : 76552
  • Code postal de la commune : 76310
  • Ordre dans la liste : 35
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : maison
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 4 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 19e siècle
    • 4e quart 19e siècle
    • 20e siècle
    • 1er quart 20e siècle
  • Enquête : 1990
  • Date de versement : 1997/09/12

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux: 4 types de matériaux composent le gros oeuvre.
    • calcaire
    • brique
    • essentage de planches
    • essentage
  • Couverture : On remarque 4 types de couverture différents :
    • toit à longs pans
    • pignon couvert
    • pignon
    • toit
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • L'élément de couverture principal est tuile plate
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages : 3 types d'étages mentionés :
    • étage de soubassement
    • en rez-de-chaussée
    • rez-de-chaussée
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • Le décor est composé de : 'sculpture'
  • Ornementation :
    • La seule ornementation connue est 'volute'
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • PArtie constituante relevée : jardin
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : support type faîtage propriété privée
  • Auteur de l'enquête MH : Etienne Claire
  • Référence Mérimée : IA76000365

Le dossier complet est disponible : Conseil régional de Haute-Normandie - Service chargé de l'inventaire2, rue Maladrerie 76000 Rouen - 02.32.08.18.80

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de Utilisateur anonyme est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Villa Nordique à Ste adresse. par Utilisateur anonyme
Maison (Villa) dite Villa Nordique, ste adresse
Villa Nordique à Ste adresse. par Boileve
Maison (Villa) dite Villa Nordique, ste adresse
Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Villa Nordique à Ste adresse. par Boileve
Maison (Villa) dite Villa Nordique, ste adresse

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.