Tournan en brie

The town of Tournan, situee in a valley on the road of Paris has Sezanne, is crossed by a brook which comes from wood which is in north and finishes has a half mile approximately with the mill of Villeginare, commune of Presles, in a pit places under the wheel of the same mill.

It is claimed that this name of Tournan comes from the Celtic word turn or torn which one is unaware of the true significance, which would make suppose that the origin of this place goes back to highest antiquity, though nothing besides notes it, public wars and calamities having made perish all the authentic parts which could give some lights in this respect.

In the old acts, Tournan east indicates under the names of Turnihamus; later one wrote Turnomium, Turnoacum, Tornemium, and sometimes Tornomium, and in French Tornan, Tornen or Tornam, then Tournon and sometimes Tournehem.

If one must refer oneself some has an old tradition, the ground of Tournan would come from the ancestors from Holy-Fare, abbess of the diocese of Meaux. This one would have established a monastery in this place, colony of that of third Farmou; but the nuns abandonnerent it during the invasion of Norman in the IX E century.

The bishop of Paris having withdraws the goods of this convent whose hands etrangeres were emparees, became the first lord about it and establishes there canons, who do not resterent there a long time since we see that in 1088, Guy of Vitry and Havise his wife donnerent, of the assent of the canons to the monks of Saint-Maur the church of Saint-Denis de Tournan.

This church of Saint-Denis in the old castle in the occident of the city, is a building of the XIII E century or beginning of the XIV E which does not have anything remarkable; one sees there a tomb of the XII E century.

The prior of Saint-Denis enjoyed rather considerable prerogatives. In 1192, Anseau de Garlande, II E of the name, lord of Tournan, had recognized that the monks had any justice in its grounds, that those which remained on these same grounds did not owe him of drudgeries nor were not held to grind has its mill; finally that it could not be established any school in the parish of Tournan without the permission of the prior.

The church of Madelaine built before the XI E century was the only parish of Tournan, the church of Saint-Denis was used only to the monks as Saint-Maur to make the divine office; and, as Madelaine was subjected to them, they did not allow only one differently it regardat than like a vault.

This church was destroyed with the revolution, and the worship is exerted now in the Saint-Denis church.

The bishops of Paris always have preserves some rights on the seigniory of Tournan. It was them which gave the nomination to the new lord while putting to him at the finger a ring; right which was to them confirms by a charter of Philippe-Auguste given has Paris in March 1185, and the lord of Tournan had the singuliere prerogative to be one of those which carried the new bishop has his entry with the episcopal seat.

The most former lord of Tournan which one is informed is Guy or Guillaume of Vitry. He lived in 1088; his/her Manasses son succeeded to him, and Guy, his grandson, wanting to undertake the voyage from Palestine, sold, in 1147, the ground of Tournan has Guy de Garlande.

The house of Garlande had this ground under seven lords until 1293; it is:

  • Guy de Garlande who still lived in 1186;
  • Ansean de Garlande Ier of which one for no reason;
  • Anseau de Garlande II which lived in 1192;
  • Robert de Garlande.
  • Anseau de Garlande III of 1246 until 1255.
  • Jean de Garlande brother of this lord, having paid homage to the bishop of Paris for the portion which it had in the seigniory of Tournan, the prelate wanted to give him the nomination of it while putting to him between the hands a stick or a straw. But Jean did not want to accept it saying that he wanted to be put in possession by the reception of a gold ring, which the bishop refused to do then.
  • Anseau de Garlande IV, about 1257 until in 1287 or it died without posterity.
  • Jean de Garlande, his nephew, succeeded to him, and it was of him that Pierre Chambly, knight, acquired, in 1293, according to a covered act of the seal of the bishop of Paris and those of the abbots of Lagny and Saint-Maur, parties concerned, the chatellenie and town of Tournan and the seigniories of Marie, Fontenay, Favieres and Conches.

The ground of Tournan was then demembree, and the Lebeuf abbot thinks that Pierre de Chambly has it little by little transportee has Charles, count de Valois, third wire of Philippe-the-Bold and father of Philippe de Valois who gave it with the chatellenie in 1343 has Jean, his oldest son, duke of Normandy. This ground was successively possedee by several other lords.

  • In 1350, Odard de Renti engaged has to keep for the king the castle of Tourneham.
  • In 1446, Charles VI fact gift of the ground of Tournan has Andry de Cassai known as Lombard. In 1467, Louis XI assigns of it the harbour office and the income has Charles Dubuz, rider of ecuyrie of the king.
  • In 1029, Fran?ois Ier gives has Fran?ois d' Escars, lord of Vauguyon, Tournan and other grounds in ground place has belonging to him that it had cedees for the king with the emperor Charles-Quint. According to the draft of August 5, 1528.
  • In 1562, Nicolas Durand de Villegagnon, enjoyed the seigneuriaux rights of this ground.
  • In 1584, the ground of Tournan was committed to the count de Lignis, then has Nicolas Lesueur.
  • In 1639, it was sold has Jean-Louis of Valette, duke of Epernon.
  • In 1641, Michel Arhoult became owner about it.
  • In 1270, Tournan was a place considered for coal; the voyer of Paris then had the right to take two bags each walk in the number of those which one brought there.

The town of Tournan is rather well built; it consists, so to speak, only in one long street with large of houses around the church. The place of walk the only one of the not very roomy east city. The district of Madelaine is separated by the brook which one names glacis and which Your cross-piece on a bridge.

It is held has Tournan Monday and Thursday of each week a walk rather strong in food products, but in which one sells little corn. In 1669, Henry de Beringhen, first rider of the king, lord of Tournan, obtained letters patent for the establishment of this walk and two fairs per annum.

The remainders of the old castle do not consist any more that in two turrets in ruins, and one has builds on one of the doors of modern constructions. It is in this room that the municipal assemblies and the audiences are held of the Justice of the Peace.

There was also has Tournan a Hospital which remained of the time of Saint-Louis and a maladrery which was joined together thereafter has this Hospital. Maintaining the helps are manage has residence with the poor ones.

Tournan was before the revolution the seat of a royal justice, a prevote and a chatellenie; this city is today the chief town of a canton, the seat of a district court and the residence of a gendarmerie squad.

Tournan has several variations, it are:

  • Combreux, castle locates at the south-east of Tournan. It is claimed that this name comes from combos; it is known that Facere combros meant to cut down trees and to cover the way with it. XII E century there is one Gervais-of-Combreux: in 1268 Pierre-of-Combreux was chosen by Anseau de Garlande, lord of Tournan, it to replace in the honor to carry the new bishop of Paris, Etienne Tempier, has his first entry in the episcopal city. This seigniory concerned the lord of Haddocks, commune of Neufmoutier.
    The castle of Combreux was lately rebuilt; it dominates a pretty small valley; its park is cross-piece by the brook which separate the town of Tournan of the district of Madelaine.
  • Armainv1lliers who is also names Ermainvilliers, and Hermainvilliers, Hermani villare, countryside of Hermann, is a castle locates at the west of Tournan, with a park which contains a considerable pond.
    Left-handed person-of-Chatel was lord in 1380.
    In 1704, Jacques-Louis de Beringhen, first rider of the king, in which the family was originating in the duchy of Gueldre, obtained letters patent which set up in title of count under the name of Armainvilliers the grounds of Hermainvilliers, Tournan, Chatres, Marles, Gretz and others.
  • Bourgognerie, another stronghold in south-east.
  • Courcelles Mote in the east, on the roadside of Tournan to the Holly-plantation.
  • City, Mocquesouris in the North-East, etc etc

The population of Tournan is of 1,800 inhabitants.

This city is situee has seven miles in the north of Melun; its territory is out of arable lands, meadows and wood.

Source: Topographic, political, physical history and statistics of the department of the Seine and Marne per E.H. Felix Pascal 1836.

Description

tournan en brie, French city Department of seine et marne with 3 historical sites listed or simply studied for their remarkable character.
Our database currently includes 3 elements for heritage tournan en brie. You will find the menu and footer links leading you on the description sheets.

There are 9 localities (Place called, location known as) in Tournan en brie : la boulaye ; les jarrys ; champrose ; combreux ; la bourgognerie ; le closeau de courcelles ; les ecuries de la rosiere ; les justices de ville ; lycee clement ader.

listed building (classified and protected) in Tournan en brie

Monument in Tournan en brie, Tournan en brie has 1 building protected. Include :

  1. official reference : PA00087298
Please note this list is likely to evolve, the data presented are from 2013.

Places of Culture

Librarie tournan en brie, tournan en brie has 1 Librarie :

  • bibliotheque municipale (15 place edmond de rothschild 77220 tournan en brie)

Statistics for Tournan en brie

Town or city :
Postcode of city : 77220
Insee code : 77470
Longitude : 2.756537
Latitude : 48.746149
Total population : 7644 people
place called : 9
alley : 7
avenue : 3
boulevard : 2
path : 6
hamlet : 3
dead : 5
place : 4
roundabout : 1
route : 6
st : 80
lane : 1
path : 1
square : 1

Park of the castle of Combreux, French Heritage monument to Tournan en brie 2
« Park of the castle of Combreux » is a construction of the city of Tournan en brie (France, Seine et marne). Park of the castle of Combreux, French Heritage monument to Tournan en brie

City Hall, French Heritage monument to Tournan en brie 1
« City Hall » is a construction of the city of Tournan en brie (France, Seine et marne). City Hall, French Heritage monument to Tournan en brie

Park and Castle of Armainvilliers hunting park, French Heritage monument to Tournan en brie 3
« Park and Castle of Armainvilliers hunting park » is a construction of the city of Tournan en brie (France, Seine et marne). Park and Castle of Armainvilliers hunting park, French Heritage monument to Tournan en brie

Patrimoine historique de Tournan en brie

La ville de Tournan, située dans une vallée sur la route de Paris à Sezanne, est traversée par un ruisseau qui vient des bois qui sont au nord et se termine à une demi lieue environ au moulin de Villeginare, commune de Presles, dans un gouffre placé sous la roue du moulin même.

On prétend que ce nom de Tournan vient du mot celtique turn ou torn dont on ignore la véritable signification, ce qui ferait présumer que l'origine de ce lieu remonte à la plus haute antiquité , quoique rien d'ailleurs ne le constate, les guerres et les calamités publiques ayant fait périr toutes les pièces authentiques qui pouvaient donner quelques lumières à cet égard.

Dans les anciens actes, Tournan est désigné sous les noms de Turnihamus; plus tard on a écrit Turnomium, Turnoacum, Tornemium, et quelquefois Tornomium, et en français Tornan, Tornen ou Tornam, puis Tournon et quelquefois Tournehem.

Si l'on doit s'en rapporter à une ancienne tradition, la terre de Tournan viendrait des ancêtres de Sainte-Fare, abbesse du diocèse de Meaux. Celle-ci aurait établi un monastère dans cet endroit, colonie de celui de Farmou tiers; mais les religieuses l'abandonnèrent durant l'invasion des Normands dans le IXe siècle.

L'évêque de Paris ayant retiré les biens de ce couvent dont des mains étrangères s'étaient emparées, en devint le premier seigneur et y établit des chanoines, qui n'y restèrent pas longtemps puisque nous voyons qu'en 1088, Guy de Vitry et Havise sa femme donnèrent, du consentement des chanoines aux moines de Saint-Maur l'église de Saint-Denis de Tournan.

Cette église de Saint-Denis dans le vieux château à l'occident de la ville, est un édifice du XIIIe siècle ou du commencement du XIVe qui n'a rien de remarquable; on y voit une tombe du XIIe siècle.

Le prieur de Saint-Denis jouissait de prérogatives assez considérables.En 1192, Anseau de Garlande,IIe du nom, seigneur de Tournan, avait reconnu que les moines avaient toute justice dans ses terres, que ceux qui demeuraient sur ces mêmes terres ne lui devaient pas de corvées ni n'étaient tenus de moudre à son moulin; enfin qu'il ne pouvait s'établir aucune école dans la paroisse de Tournan sans la permission du prieur.

L'église de la Madelaine construite avant le XIe siècle était la seule paroisse de Tournan, l'église de Saint-Denis ne servait qu'aux moines de Saint-Maur pour faire l'office divin; et, comme la Madelaine leur était soumise, ils ne permettaient pas qu'on la regardât autrement que comme une chapelle.

Cette église a été détruite à la révolution, et le culte s'exerce maintenant dans l'église Saint-Denis.

Les évêques de Paris ont toujours conservé quelques droits sur la seigneurie de Tournan. C'étaient eux qui donnaient l'investiture au nouveau seigneur en lui mettant au doigt un anneau; droit qui leur fut confirmé par une charte de Philippe-Auguste donnée à Paris au mois de mars 1185, et le seigneur de Tournan avait la singulière prérogative d'être un de ceux qui portaient le nouvel évêque à son entrée au siège épiscopal.

Le plus ancien seigneur de Tournan dont on ait connaissance est Guy ou Guillaume de Vitry. Il vivait en 1088; son fils Manassès lui succéda, et Guy, son petit-fils, voulant entreprendre le voyage de Palestine, vendit, en 1147, la terre de Tournan à Guy de Garlande.

La maison de Garlande posséda cette terre sous sept seigneurs jusqu'en 1293; ce sont:

  • Guy de Garlande qui vivait encore en 1186;
  • Ansean de Garlande Ier dont on n'a aucun titre;
  • Anseau de Garlande II qui vivait en 1192;
  • Robert de Garlande.
  • Anseau de Garlande III de 1246 jusqu'en 1255.
  • Jean de Garlande frère de ce seigneur, ayant rendu hommage à l'évêque de Paris pour la portion qu'il avait dans la seigneurie de Tournan, le prélat voulut lui en donner l'investiture en lui mettant entre les mains un bâton ou un fétu. Mais Jean ne voulut point l'accepter disant qu'il voulait être mis en possession par la réception d'un anneau d'or, ce que l'évêque refusa de faire alors.
  • Anseau de Garlande IV, vers 1257 jusqu'en 1287 où il mourut sans postérité.
  • Jean de Garlande, son neveu, lui succéda, et ce fut de lui que Pierre Chambly, chevalier, acquit, en 1293, suivant un acte revêtu du sceau de l'évêque de Paris et de ceux des abbés de Lagny et de Saint-Maur, parties intéressées, les châtellenie et ville de Tournan et les seigneuries de Marie, Fontenay, Favières et Conches.

La terre de Tournan fut ensuite démembrée, et l'abbé Lebeuf pense que Pierre de Chambly l'a peu à peu transportée à Charles, comte de Valois, troisième fils de Philippe-le-Hardi et père de Philippe de Valois qui la donna avec la châtellenie en 1343 à Jean, son fils aîné, duc de Normandie. Cette terre fut successivement possédée par plusieurs autres seigneurs.

  • En 1350, Odard de Renti s'engagea à garder pour le roi le château de Tourneham.
  • En 1446, Charles VI fait don de la terre de Tournan à Andry de Cassai dit le Lombard. En 1467, Louis XI en assigne la capitainerie et le revenu à Charles Dubuz, écuyer d'écuyrie du roi.
  • En 1029, François Ier donne à François d'Escars, seigneur de la Vauguyon, Tournan et d'autres terres en place de terres à lui appartenant qu'il avait cédées pour le roi à l'empereur Charles-Quint. D'après le traité du 5 août 1528.
  • En 1562, Nicolas Durand de Villegagnon, jouissait des droits seigneuriaux de cette terre.
  • En 1584, la terre de Tournan fut engagée au comte de Lignis, puis à Nicolas Lesueur.
  • En 1639, elle fut vendue à Jean-Louis de la Valette, duc d'Epernon.
  • En 1641, Michel Arhoult en devint possesseur.
  • En 1270, Tournan était un lieu réputé pour le charbon; le voyer de Paris avait alors le droit de prendre deux sacs chaque marché dans le nombre de ceux qu'on y apportait.

La ville de Tournan est assez bien bâtie; elle ne consiste, pour ainsi dire, qu'en une longue rue avec un gros de maisons aux environs de l'église. La place du marché la seule de la ville est peu spacieuse. Le quartier de la Madelaine est séparé par le ruisseau que l'on nomme glacis et que Ton traverse sur un pont.

Il se tient à Tournan le lundi et le jeudi de chaque semaine un marché assez fort en denrées, mais dans lequel on vend peu de blé. En 1669, Henry de Beringhen, premier écuyer du roi, seigneur de Tournan, obtint des lettres patentes pour l'établissement de ce marché et pour deux foires par an.

Les restes de l'ancien château ne consistent plus qu'en deux tourelles en ruines, et l'on a édifié sur l'une des portes des constructions modernes. C'est dans ce local que se tiennent les assemblées municipales et les audiences du juge de paix.

Il y avait aussi à Tournan un Hôtel-Dieu qui subsistait du temps de Saint-Louis et une maladrerie qui fut par la suite réunie à cet Hôtel-Dieu. Maintenant les secours sont administrés à domicile aux indigents.

Tournan était avant la révolution le siège d'une justice royale, d'un prévôté et d'une châtellenie; cette ville est aujourd'hui le chef-lieu d'un canton, le siège d'une justice de paix et la résidence d'une brigade de gendarmerie.

Tournan a plusieurs écarts, ce sont :

  • Combreux, château situé au sud-est de Tournan. On prétend que ce nom vient de combos ; on sait que Facere combros signifiait abattre des arbres et en couvrir le chemin. Dès le XIIe siècle il y a un Gervais-de-Combreux : en 1268 Pierre-de-Combreux fut choisi par Anseau de Garlande, seigneur de Tournan, pour le remplacer dans l'honneur de porter le nouvel évêque de Paris, Etienne Tempier, à sa première entrée dans la ville épiscopale. Cette seigneurie relevait du seigneur des Egrefins, commune de Neufmoutier.
    Le château de Combreux a été nouvellement reconstruit; il domine un joli vallon; son parc est traversé par le ruisseau qui sépare la ville de Tournan du quartier de la Madelaine.
  • Armainv1lliers qui est aussi nommé Ermainvilliers, et Hermainvilliers, Hermani villare, campagne d'Herman, est un château situé à l'ouest de Tournan, avec un parc qui renferme un étang considérable.
    Gaucher-du-Châtel en était seigneur en 1380.
    En 1704, Jacques-Louis de Beringhen, premier écuyer du roi, dont la famille était originaire du duché de Gueldre, obtint des lettres patentes qui érigeaient en titre de comté sous le nom d'Armainvilliers les terres d'Hermainvilliers, Tournan, Châtres, Marles, Gretz et autres.
  • La Bourgognerie, autre fief au sud-est.
  • Courcelles la Mote à l'est, sur le bord de la route de Tournan à la Houssaie.
  • Villé, Mocquesouris au nord-est, etc. etc.

La population de Tournan est de 1,800 habitants.

Cette ville est située à sept lieues au nord de Melun; son territoire est en terres labourables, en prairies et en bois.

Source : Histoire topographique, politique, physique et statistique du département de Seine et Marne par E. H. Félix Pascal 1836.

Description de Tournan en brie

Tournan en brie, commune Française du département seine et marne avec 3 sites répertoriés ou simplement présentés pour leur caractère remarquable.

Vous trouverez dans le menu et en bas de page les liens vous menant sur les fiches de description.

On compte 9 lieux-dits à Tournan en brie : la boulaye ; les jarrys ; champrose ; combreux ; la bourgognerie ; le closeau de courcelles ; les ecuries de la rosiere ; les justices de ville ; lycee clement ader.

Edifice, monument classé à Tournan en brie

Bâtiment classé de Tournan en brie (Source open data), Tournan en brie possède 1 bâtiment ou espace classé. On peu citer :

  1. référence officielle : PA00087298
Attention cette liste est suceptible d'évoluer, les données présentées sont de 2013.

Lieux de culture à Tournan en brie

Bibliothèque de Tournan en brie, Tournan en brie possède 1 bibliothèque à proximité :

  • bibliotheque municipale (15 place edmond de rothschild 77220 Tournan-en-Brie)

Statistique Tournan en brie

Commune ou ville de :
Code postal de la ville : 77220
Code Insee : 77470
Longitude : 2.756537
Latitude : 48.746149
Population totale : 7644 habitants
lieu dit : 9
allee : 7
avenue : 3
boulevard : 2
chemin : 6
hameau : 3
impasse : 5
place : 4
rond point : 1
route : 6
rue : 80
ruelle : 1
sentier : 1
square : 1

Répertoire du patrimoine

proposer un site web dans l'annuaire Promotion du patrimoine Proposez un site, blog, en rapport avec Tournan en brie
La fiche descriptive de votre site sera directement accessible dans cette rubrique.
 
Parc et parc de chasse du château d'Armainvilliers
Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Parc et parc de chasse du château d'Armainvilliers' à tournan en brie (seine et marne 77220).

Parc du château de Combreux
Le château de Combreux, qui appartient à M. le marquis de Jaucourt, ministre d'Etat, pair de France , a été nouvellement reconstruit; il est simple, mais vaste, et a des aspects charmans : d'un côté il domine sur le parc qui contient environ 160 arpens; et de l'autre sur un joli vallon.

Hôtel de Ville
Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Hôtel de Ville' à tournan en brie (seine et marne 77220).