Castle and Dungeon of Gaston Phoebus, French Heritage monument to Mauvezin

The foundation of Mauvezin is lost in this darkness of the Middle Ages or the man, delivers entire to the prowesses of the brute force, raised and destroyed castles and dynasties without taking care to leave the date of his establishments or his disasters.

Some drafts of peace, some accounts of war contain the name of Mauvezin, as of the beginning of the XI E century, and its architecture proves enough that it does not go up beyond this time. Its massive style, its cyclopean heaviness worthy of the primitive fortifications of feudality, must make us seek his founder among the first lords of Bigorre, and to make it regard as one of the standard fortresses which were built out of stone, in the place of the campings of ground and of wood of which we have description gives while speaking about the count d' Astarac.

In the vast quadrilateral of Mauvezin, contemporary of the turns of Montaner and Doors, any east impresses of this nature exclusively quarrelsome and barbarian, adapts with the impregnable dens of the dominators of the XI E century. Contain in their keep, like the vultures on their rocks, these men, constantly in war, were not very anxious to get has their body robust and hardened the interior conveniences of an easy existence; the sword with the fist, and has horse, they preferred to seek with far from the wild beasts has to continue, of the travellers and of the populations has to hold to ransom. If we go up has these times move back, or the captains of lorry drivers entered their den by a raised window as the large-duke penetrates in his hole, the manor house of Mauvezin will not offer only one stone to us, not only one ornament on which art and industry have tries to carve a benevolent or gracious thought.

When the fortress is seen, one believes oneself transports in front of that of Montaner, so much the unit and the details of two constructions present points of resemblance. The keep squares, though less colossal, built out of small apparatus, and not out of brick, the same seal of antiquity offers; the same projection in the center of the curtain most easily contestable. The colossus storm-tossed which it faced so a long time, saw decouronne of its roof, and has preserve only the underground dungeon and arches or groaned so much of victims. It is hardly if one sees the trace of the floor of the higher room of weapons, or the knights made prowesses of fencing, accounts of adventures and galantery. The room has to sleep which surmounted it, and in which the companions extended on their campbeds, has half weapons, roll in a simple cover, has division the fate of the lower floor. It is not to the windows which were not deprived of their framings, like concealing us an invaluable means to dissipate the vagueness which reigns on the origin of the fortress. The only attic window which its extreme height has preservee this destruction is of form square and furnished with iron bars. However, in spite of mutilations reiterees which enleverent at the building the major part of its character, we do not hesitate has to give him for date the XII E or the XIII E century. It should be noticed, indeed, that if the enclosure of the walls forms a cross-section length, instead of imitating the circumference of the castles of Montaner and Gisors, it is not less consolidee by buttresses external of two bills of quantities of projection; the parapets lead in the tower by two access doors, alone average to penetrate in this impregnable refuge; the interior of the court, finally, presents only one central cistern, built out of stone of size. As one distinguishes no remains from tenantable buildings, it is obvious that the garrison lived under provisional shelters in the shape of hangar, while the chief placed in the high rooms of the keep.

By which exit did penetrate one at that time in the enclosure of Mauvezin? A formless opening, pratiquee in the curtain, in the south of the keep, would seem to indicate that one reached it using a scale, and it would not be impossible that the principal door, open a bill of quantities to the lower part, and provided with a drawbridge, had been pratiquee at the time of Gaston Phebus (XIV E century). We must add, in all the cases, that this door was reparee and completee by this famous Viscount, restorer of so much of strong castles; the ECU of the weapons of Bearn and Foix, encrusts in the stone, as has Montaner, the inscription Febus me Fe (Febus made me) similar has that of the keep of Pau, do not make it possible to question it.

It should not be been unaware of, moreover! the first feudal castles were a more or less sophisticated imitation of the Roman oppida; those almost always took the square form and contained a castellum (or strong castle), leans have part of the rampart, and intend has to serve as last refuge with the garrison. In accordance with these military principles, the enclosures of all the castles of the Pyrenees, except for that of Montaner, adopterent, as much as the localities allowed it, the quadrangular form, and the keep rose in the center of the most exposed curtain. It was only to the XIV E and to the XV E centuries that it was built some distance from the walls has, so as to insulate it by an interior covered way. Those of Beaucens, Doors, St-Happy and Montespan belong has this second class.

We must remark also that the castle of Mauvezin was not, at least to the XII E century, the fortress of simple vassal; it always had the title of castle comtal, like those of Doors, Orthez and Montaner. The counts de Bigorre or the Viscounts of Bearn maintained a captain with his company there, in order to supervise this part of the border. However, the men of war of this time did not point out themselves by the justice of the processes, and the severity of the discipline; also, the memory of a den of plunderers, bad neighbors; in turn, Gascons, English and Bigordans, he survived the fortress half destroyed. When the manor house was not any more the refuge of these men in the middle of iron, the legend has it people of wizard and ghosts; it has place there the Sabbath of the hantaoumos; the infernal tales have replace or, for better saying, supplement the feudal chronicles; and the manor house, doubly cursed, saw the inhabitant of the borough being avenged for these secular terrors while coming to sap his thick walls, and to conceal his materials. But let us neglect the vulgar traditions, and return to the history.

Which were the principal events, the most memorable seats whose these ramparts were the witnesses?

Esquivat, count de Bigorre, threaten by Gaston de Bearn, want to put themselves under the patronage of king d' Angleterre, Henri III; the protection of this vindicatory prince, irresolute, cannot intimidate the Viscount of Bearn. Gaston invades the count de Bigorre; several lords embrace his party; others remain faithful has Esquivat, in particular the inhabitants of Tarbes, Maubourguet and Mauvezin. However, Esquivat, press vigorously by its enemy, made donation of his fields has Simon de Monfort, his relative; but Roger, count de Foix, calls has to judge the disagreement, spared a transaction following which Esquivat had to give several hostages has Gaston; Mauvezin appeared among the castles yield in this circumstance etc One was in 1254. The count de Foix, who did not want to lose his sorrows, paid, itself, his vacations of referee, by granting his daughter to the count de Bigorre, after had mortgage its dowry of 25000 grounds, and its douaire of 20000, gives by her husband, on the castle which occupies us.

Little time after, weak Esquivat sanctioned the imprudently made donation has his/her uncle, Simon de Monfort, while obliging has to give this fortress and that of Doors to him. He hoped that its relationship would put it safe from the achievement of this expensive condition; but generosity seldom triumphs over the requirements of the ambition; and the large uncle hastened to take possession of the guarantees promised by his nephew.

Soon Philippe-the-Beautiful, benefitting from the dissensions of Bigorre, whose Constancy of Bearn, the viscountess de Turenne, Mathilde de Thiet, Guilhaume de Teisons and Mate, countess of Armagnac, disputed the possession, asserted the count, and made it seize by Jean of Length-Perrier, lieutenant d' Eustache de Beaumarchais, who raised the banner of France on the castles of Vic, of Tarbes, Bagneres and Mauvezin. However the king of France, whose life agitee appauvissement put finances into large, saw himself obliges to yield this manor house to the Viscount of Castelbon, to uncle de Phebus, Viscount of Bigorre, in hypothecation of a poor wretch summons of 500 pounds It is from this date that Mauvezin, highlighted by this business of wear, plays a rather important historical role, thanks to the disastrous domination of the English, in midday etc His strong position naturally ensured to him an active share in this fight of two nationalities. In turn taken and begun again, it was used as goal with the most heroic efforts, of theatre to the bloodiest exploits.

Remove with the Viscount of Castelbon by the English, as of the first times of their invasion, it was the first of those which the duke of Anjou vigorously attacked in his forwarding of Bigorre. The duke having entrusts has Duguesclin the care to make the seat of Doors, reserved the honor to attack in person the castle of Mauvezin, defended on behalf of the English by the honest Raymond captain of the Sword. The duke of Anjou, understanding that it could not carry the place from the start, sat his camp on the edges of Arros, close to the secular trees which ombrageaient fat pastures, and let his knights, impatient measure themselves with the English, make, like known as Froissard: skirmishes and feats of arms to the barriers of the manor house, invaded races and, apperties and beautiful blows of lances. Garcis Duchatel, one of its captains, pushed its prowesses to the fort of Trigalet, locates at the south-west of Mauvezin. Five consecutive attacks could shake neither its walls, nor the resolution of intrepid Bastol de Mauleon, knight Gascon, who kept them in the name of the lord of Labarthe.

In spite of the distress to which the garrison was reduced, Garcis had some sorrow has to make authorize Bastol, has to accept a honourable capitulation. This last finishes, however, by returning the castle provided that one would let his troops be withdrawn with weapons and luggage with the castle of Castelcueiller, on the borders of Languedoc. But while forgiving the men-at-arms, one renonca not does not have to be avenged for the castle of Trigalet; this accomplice of Mauvezin was book to the inhabitants of the canton, who empresserent themselves to destroy it basic in roof.

In spite of this failure of the English party, Raymond of the Sword would have continues has to defend the impregnable walls of Mauvezin, if, in saying of Froissard, '' soft water had not failed to them '' the French being itself seize an external well which fed the place; the horrors of thirst tourmenterent the garrison under a sky sets ablaze. It was necessary to think has to pose the weapons. Raymond of the sword obtained a safe conduct to go in the camp of the duke; and the latter had generosity to enable him to carry all that his/her companions could place on them and on their beasts of burden. Raymond, as a true chief of frank company, wanted nothing to lose of what it had gains honourably, the sword with the hand, by facing the greatest dangers. However, the word honourably could be translated into this circumstance, by that of violently, using touts the massacres, plunders, fires, treasons, only right of the war of this time; and not to let question the nature of his interested bravery, Raymond stuck immediately to the duke of Anjou, and continued under the French flowers of lily the plundering which it had a long time exerts under the English leopard.

It was an extremely ordinary means, then, to conceal by St-Georges what one did not have completes to take by St-Denis, and to fill to the throat the two pockets of the double sack

However, the duke of Anjou did not want to entrust the guard of the castle has that whose conversion appeared a little abrupt to him; he gave the guard from there to the knight bigordan Chicar de Luperiere; in removed the property with the Viscount of Castelbon, in order to punish it of its attachment to the English party, and transmitted it, according to Froissard, to the Viscount of Bearn, and according to the files of the castle of Foix to the count d' Armagnac.

Bigorre and the castle of Mauvezin did not have exhausts the adventures of these changes of Master. Sequestrations by Philippe-the-Beautiful, they were returned has Gaston de Foix by Charles VII, about 1425, in reward of the eagerness that the valorous knight had put has to come has Issoudun, to the orders of king de France, to order the intended army has to fight the English. It was not the only place besides only the count possedat in this region; Froissard tells us '' that emmy landesbourg, sied the chatel of Lannemezan which is to the count de Foix; '' but all disappeared since many years; the site alone is rather easy has to recognize. The small Romance vault of Lannemezan of which we have already speaks rose has fifty steps with raising drawbridge.

Later, when the house of Bearn was confused with that of Navarre, the castle of Mauvezin was occupies by the captain of Known (1584). The impetuous huguenot share to make it its ashamed forwarding of St-Bertrand. Treason, plundering, cruelty go has its continuation. It seizes the capital of Comminge by the trick and the lie; he extorts from the inhabitants one crushing contribution and pays has Mauvezin produces it of his plundering.

Five years later, the religionnaires still leave Mauvezin, and direct a new attack against St-Bertrand. They there penetrate by treason, exert the massacre and the depredation on a vaster scale, and go back has Mauvezin to divide the fruit of a dyed armed robbery of the blood of the priests and the middle-class men.

After this last forwarding, the frightening fortress disappears from the scene, and its name, falls into the lapse of memory, is not more pronounces.

For what is necessary it to allot this silence? With the progress of the French domination which was pressed on the abbeys and the communes, in order to carry the last blow to the feudal parcelling out.

Monarchy and the church, liguees against feudality and the sects nuns, acheverent under Henri IV and Louis XIII to destroy the influence of the chatellenies; they substituerent there that of the cities, true centers of the news, administrative and political franknesses.

All old the boulevarts of a barbarian despotism, taken successively by the armies of the first Bourbons, was books with the peasants and the middle-class men who traiterent them as they had milked that of Trigalet. More respect were deprive of garrisons and became the field of the sea eagles, of the foxes and of the bats Such was the punishment of the keep of Mauvezin; we are pleased that it was preserves like a striking testimony of the violence and the coarseness of manners of the Germanic element.

Source: Archaeological and historical voyage in the former count de Bigorre By Justin Edouard Mr. Cenac-Moncaut in 1856.

Castle and Dungeon of Gaston Phoebus
(Castle and Dungeon of Gaston Phoebus, mauvezin)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Castle and Dungeon of Gaston Phoebus, « Castle and Dungeon of Gaston Phoebus » is a construction of the city of Mauvezin (France, Hautes pyrenees). Castle and Dungeon of Gaston Phoebus, French Heritage monument to Mauvezin mauvezin, hautes pyrenees

Location and general information

  • identifier : 105934
  • item : Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus
  • Location of the building :
    • Midi-Pyrénées
    • Hautes-Pyrénées
    • Mauvezin
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 65306
  • Zip code of the municipality : 65130
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building : The building is designated by the following 3 names :
    • castle
    • strong
    • castle
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 3 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 13th century
    • 14th century
    • 15th century
  • Date of protection : 1941/12/22 : inscrit MH

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • This element of the building is the subject of protection : keep
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : property of a private company Castle and Dungeon of gaston phoebus type registration by order of 22 December 1941, 1992
  • Picture : af8e0a9739ccac7ac7a7bc2fb788ebb2.jpg
  • Mérimée reference : PA00095398

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Castle and Dungeon of Gaston Phoebus, French Heritage monument to Mauvezin. Picture of Monique c
Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus, mauvezin
Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Castle and Dungeon of Gaston Phoebus, French Heritage monument to Mauvezin. Picture of Monique c
Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus, mauvezin

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus à Mauvezin

La fondation de Mauvezin se perd dans cette obscurité du moyen-âge où l'homme, livré tout entier aux prouesses de la force brutale, élevait et détruisait châteaux et dynasties sans prendre soin de laisser la date de ses établissements ou de ses désastres.

Quelques traités de paix, quelques récits de guerre renferment le nom de Mauvezin, dès le commencement du XIe siècle, et son architecture prouve assez qu'il ne remonte pas au-delà de cette époque. Son style massif, sa lourdeur cyclopéenne digne des fortifications primitives de la féodalité, doivent nous faire chercher son fondateur parmi les premiers seigneurs du Bigorre, et le faire considérer comme une des forteresses types qui furent construites en pierre, à la place des campements de terre et de bois dont nous avons donné la description en parlant du comté d'Astarac.

Dans le vaste quadrilatère de Mauvezin, contemporain des tours de Montaner et de Lourdes, tout est empreint de ce caractère exclusivement belliqueux et barbare, approprié aux repaires inexpugnables des dominateurs du XIe siècle. Renfermés dans leur donjon, comme les vautours sur leurs rochers, ces hommes, constamment en guerre, étaient peu soucieux de procurer à leur corps robuste et endurci les commodités intérieures d'une existence facile ; l'épée au poing, et à cheval, ils préféraient chercher au loin des bêtes fauves à poursuivre, des voyageurs et des populations à rançonner. Si nous remontons à ces temps reculés, où les capitaines de routiers entraient dans leur repaire par une fenêtre élevée comme le grand-duc pénètre dans son trou, le castel de Mauvezin ne nous offrira pas une seule pierre, pas un seul ornement sur lesquels l'art et l'industrie aient essayé de sculpter une pensée bienveillante ou gracieuse.

Quand on aperçoit la forteresse, on se croit transporté devant celle de Montaner, tant l'ensemble et les détails des deux constructions présentent de points de ressemblance. Le donjon carré, quoique moins colossal, construit en petit appareil, et non en brique, offre le même cachet d'antiquité; la même saillie au centre de la courtine la plus facilement attaquable. Le colosse battu par la tempête qu'il brava si longtemps, s'est vu découronné de sa toiture, et n'a conservé que le cachot souterrain et voûte où gémirent tant de victimes. C'est à peine si l'on aperçoit la trace du plancher de la salle d'armes supérieure, où les chevaliers faisaient prouesses d'escrime, récits d'aventures et de galanterie. La salle à coucher qui la surmontait, et dans laquelle les compagnons s'étendaient sur leurs lits de camp, à demi armés, roulés dans une simple couverture, a partagé le sort du plancher inférieur. Il n'est pas jusqu'aux fenêtres qui n'aient été privées de leurs encadrements, comme pour nous dérober un moyen précieux de dissiper le vague qui règne sur l'origine de la forteresse. La seule lucarne que son extrême hauteur a préservée de cette destruction est de forme carrée et garnie de barres de fer. Cependant, malgré des mutilations réitérées qui enlevèrent à l'édifice la majeure partie de son caractère, nous n'hésitons pas à lui donner pour date le XIIe ou le XIIIe siècle. Il faut remarquer, en effet, que si l'enceinte des murailles forme un carré long, au lieu d'imiter la circonférence des châteaux de Montaner et de Gisors, elle n'en est pas moins consolidée par des contreforts extérieurs de deux mètres de saillie; les parapets conduisent dans la tour par deux portes d'accès, seul moyen de pénétrer dans ce refuge inexpugnable; l'intérieur de la cour, enfin, ne présente qu'une citerne centrale, construite en pierre de taille. Comme on ne distingue aucun débris de bâtiments logeables, il est évident que la garnison habitait sous des abris provisoires en forme de hangar, pendant que le chef logeait dans les salles hautes du donjon.

Par quelle issue pénétrait-on à cette époque dans l'enceinte de Mauvezin ? Une ouverture informe, pratiquée dans la courtine, au sud du donjon, semblerait indiquer qu'on y accédait à l'aide d'une échelle, et il ne serait pas impossible que la porte principale, ouverte un mètre au dessous, et munie d'un pont-levis, eût été pratiquée à l'époque de Gaston Phébus (XIVe siècle). Nous devons ajouter, dans tous les cas, que cette porte fût réparée et complétée par cette illustre vicomte, restaurateur de tant de châteaux forts; l'écu des armes de Béarn et de Foix, incrusté dans la pierre, comme à Montâner, l'inscription "Fébus mé fé" (Fébus me fit) semblable à celle du donjon de Pau, ne permettent pas de le mettre en doute.

Il ne faut pas l'ignorer, d'ailleurs ! les premiers châteaux féodaux furent une imitation plus ou moins perfectionnée des oppida romaines; celles-ci prenaient presque toujours la forme carrée et renfermaient un castellum (ou château fort), adossé à une partie du rampart, et destiné à servir de dernier refuge à la garnison. Conformément à ces principes militaires, les enceintes de tous les châteaux des Pyrénées, à l'exception de celle de Montaner, adoptèrent, autant que les localités le permirent, la forme quadrangulaire, et le donjon s'éleva au centre de la courtine la plus exposée. Ce ne fut qu'au XIVe et au XVe siècles qu'on le construisit à quelque distance des murailles, de manière à l'isoler par un chemin de ronde intérieur. Ceux de Beaucens, de Lourdes, de St-Béat et de Montespan appartiennent à cette seconde classe.

Nous devons faire observer aussi que le château de Mauvezin ne fut pas, du moins au XIIe siècle, la forteresse d'un simple vassal; il eut toujours le titre de château comtal, comme ceux de Lourdes, d'Orthez et de Montaner. Les comtes de Bigorre ou les vicomtes de Béarn y entretenaient un capitaine avec sa compagnie, afin de surveiller cette partie de la frontière. Or, les hommes de guerre de cette époque ne se faisaient pas remarquer par la justice des procédés, et la sévérité de la discipline; aussi, le souvenir d'un repaire de pillards, de mauvais voisins ; tour à tour, Gascons, Anglais et Bigordans, a-t-il survécu à la forteresse à demi détruite. Quand le castel n'a plus été le refuge de ces hommes au cœur de fer, la légende l'a peuplé de sorciers et de revenants; elle y a placé le sabbat des hantaoumos; les contes infernaux ont remplacé ou, pour mieux dire, complété les chroniques féodales; et le castel, doublement maudit, a vu l'habitant du bourg se venger de ces terreurs séculaires en venant saper ses épaisses murailles, et dérober ses matériaux. Mais négligeons les traditions vulgaires, et revenons à l'histoire.

Quels furent les événements principaux, les siéges les plus mémorables dont ces remparts furent les témoins?

Esquivat, comte de Bigorre, menacé par Gaston de Béarn, veut se mettre sous le patronage du roi d'Angleterre, Henri III; la protection de ce prince vindicatif, irrésolu, ne peut intimider le vicomte de Béarn. Gaston envahit le comté de Bigorre; plusieurs seigneurs embrassent son parti; d'autres demeurent fidèles à Esquivat, notamment les habitants de Tarbes, de Maubourguet et de Mauvezin. Cependant, Esquivat, pressé vigoureusement par son ennemi, fit donation de ses domaines à Simon de Monfort, son parent; mais Roger, comte de Foix, appelé à juger le différend, ménagea une transaction à la suite de laquelle Esquivat dut donner plusieurs otages à Gaston; Mauvezin figura parmi les châteaux cédés en cette circonstance ... On était en 1254. Le comte de Foix, qui ne voulait pas perdre ses peines, paya, lui-même, ses vacations d'arbitre, en accordant sa fille au comte de Bigorre, après avait hypothéqué sa dot de 25000 sols, et son douaire de 20000, donné par son mari, sur le château qui nous occupe.

Peu de temps après, le faible Esquivat sanctionnait la donation faîte imprudemment à son oncle, Simon de Monfort, en s'obligeant à lui remettre cette forteresse et celle de Lourdes. Il espérait que sa parenté le mettrait à l'abri de l'accomplissement de cette condition onéreuse; mais la générosité triomphe rarement des exigences de l'ambition; et le grand oncle se hâta de prendre possession des garanties promises par son neveu.

Bientôt Philippe-le-Bel, profitant des dissensions du Bigorre, dont Constance de Béarn, la vicomtesse de Turenne, Mathilde de Thiet, Guilhaume de Teisons et Mate, comtesse d'Armagnac, se disputaient la possession, revendiqua le comté, et le fit saisir par Jean de Long-Perrier, lieutenant d'Eustache de Beaumarchais, qui arbora la bannière de France sur les châteaux de Vic, de Tarbes, de Bagnères et de Mauvezin. Cependant le roi de France, dont la vie agitée mettait les finances en grand appauvissement, se vit obligé de céder ce castel au vicomte de Castelbon, oncle de Phébus, vicomte de Bigorre, en nantissement d'une misérable somme de 500 livres C'est à partir de cette date que Mauvezin, mis en relief par cette affaire d'usure, joue un rôle historique assez important, grâce à la désastreuse domination des Anglais, dans le midi ... Sa forte position lui assurait naturellement une part active dans cette lutte des deux nationalités. Tour à tour pris et repris, il servit de but aux efforts les plus héroïques, de théâtre aux exploits les plus sanglants.

Enlevé au vicomte de Castelbon par les Anglais, dès les premiers temps de leur invasion, il fut le premier de ceux que le duc d'Anjou attaqua vigoureusement dans son expédition du Bigorre. Le duc ayant confié à Duguesclin le soin de faire le siège de Lourdes, se réserva l'honneur d'attaquer en personne le château de Mauvezin, défendu pour le compte des Anglais par le brave capitaine Raymond de l'Épée. Le duc d'Anjou, comprenant qu'il ne pouvait emporter la place d'emblée, assit son camp sur les bords de l'Arros, près des arbres séculaires qui ombrageaient de gras pâturages, et laissa ses chevaliers, impatients de se mesurer avec les Anglais, faire, comme dit Froissard : "escarmouches et faits d'armes aux barrières du castel, courses et envahies, apperties et beaux coups de lances". Garcis Duchâtel, un de ses capitaines, poussa ses prouesses jusqu'au fort de Trigalet, situé au sud-ouest de Mauvezin. Cinq assauts consécutifs ne purent ébranler ni ses murailles, ni la résolution de l'intrépide Bastol de Mauléon, chevalier gascon, qui les gardait au nom du seigneur de Labarthe.

Malgré la détresse à laquelle la garnison était réduite, Garcis eut quelque peine à faire consentir Bastol, à accepter une capitulation honorable. Ce dernier finit, cependant, par rendre le château à condition qu'on laisserait ses troupes se retirer avec armes et bagages au château de Castelcueiller, sur les frontières du Languedoc. Mais en pardonnant aux hommes d'armes, on ne renonça pas à se venger du château de Trigalet ; ce complice de Mauvezin fut livré aux habitants du canton, qui s'empressèrent de le détruire de fond en comble.

Malgré cet échec du parti anglais, Raymond de l'Épée aurait continué à défendre les imprenables murailles de Mauvezin, si, au dire de Froissard, « la douce eau ne leur eût failli » les Français s'étant emparés d'un puits extérieur qui alimentait la place ; les horreurs de la soif tourmentèrent la garnison sous un ciel embrasé. Il fallut songer à poser les armes. Raymond de l'épée obtint un sauf-conduit pour se rendre dans le camp du duc; et ce dernier eut la générosité de lui permettre d'emporter tout ce que ses compagnons pourraient placer sur eux et sur leurs bêtes de somme. Raymond, en véritable chef de compagnie franche, ne voulait rien perdre de ce qu'il avait gagné honorablement, l'épée à la main, en affrontant les plus grands dangers. Or, le mot honorablement pouvait se traduire en cette circonstance, par celui de violemment, à l'aide de touts les massacres, rapines, incendies, trahisons, seul droit de la guerre de cette époque; et pour ne pas laisser mettre en doute la nature de sa bravoure intéressée, Raymond s'attacha immédiatement au duc d'Anjou, et continua sous les fleurs de lys françaises le pillage qu'il avait longtemps exercé sous le léopard anglais.

C'était un moyen fort ordinaire, alors, de dérober par St-Georges ce qu'on n'avait pas achevé de prendre par St-Denis, et de remplir jusqu'à la gorge les deux poches de la besace

Cependant, le duc d'Anjou ne voulut pas confier la garde du château à celui dont la conversion lui paraissait un peu brusque ; il en remit la garde au chevalier bigordan Chicar de Lupériëre; en enleva la propriété au vicomte de Castelbon, afin de le punir de son attachement au parti anglais, et la transmit, selon Froissard, au vicomte de Béarn, et d'après les archives du château de Foix au comte d'Armagnac.

Le Bigorre et le château de Mauvezin n'avaient pas épuisé les péripéties de ces changements de maître. Séquestrés par Philippe-le-Bel, ils furent rendus à Gaston de Foix par Charles VII, vers 1425, en récompense de l'empressement que le valeureux chevalier avait mis à venir à Issoudun, aux ordres du roi de France, commander l'armée destinée à combattre les Anglais. Ce n'était pas d'ailleurs la seule place que le comte possédât dans cette contrée; Froissard nous dit « qu'emmy landesbourg, sied le chatel de Lannemezan qui est au comte de Foix; » mais tout a disparu depuis bien des années; l'emplacement seul est assez facile à reconnaître. La petite chapelle romane de Lannemezan dont nous avons déjà parlé s'élevait à cinquante pas au levant du pont-levis.

Plus tard, lorsque la maison de Béarn se trouva confondue avec celle de Navarre, le château de Mauvezin fut occupé par le capitaine de Sus (1584). Le fougueux huguenot part de là pour faire sa honteuse expédition de St-Bertrand. La trahison, le pillage, la cruauté marchent à sa suite. Il s'empare de la capitale du Comminge par la ruse et le mensonge; il extorque aux habitants une écrasante contribution et rapporte à Mauvezin le produit de son pillage.

Cinq ans plus tard, les religionnaires sortent encore de Mauvezin, et dirigent une nouvelle attaque contre St-Bertrand. Ils y pénètrent par la trahison, exercent le massacre et la déprédation sur une plus vaste échelle, et retournent à Mauvezin se partager le fruit d'un brigandage teint du sang des prêtres et des bourgeois.

Après cette dernière expédition, la redoutable forteresse disparaît de la scène, et son nom, tombé dans l'oubli, n'est plus prononcé.

A quoi faut-il attribuer ce silence ? Au progrès de la domination française qui s'appuya sur les abbayes et sur les communes, afin de porter le dernier coup au morcellement féodal.

La monarchie et l'église, liguées contre la féodalité et les sectes religieuses, achevèrent sous Henri IV et Louis XIII de détruire l'influence des châtellenies ; elles y substituèrent celle des villes, véritables centres des nouvelles, franchises administratives et politiques.

Tous les anciens boulevarts d'un despotisme barbare, pris successivement par les armées des premiers Bourbons, furent livrés aux paysans et aux bourgeois qui les traitèrent comme ils avaient traité celui de Trigalet. Les plus respectés furent privés de garnisons et devinrent le domaine des orfraies, des renards et des chauves-souris Tel fut le châtiment du donjon de Mauvezin; nous nous félicitons qu'il ait été conservé comme un témoignage frappant de la violence et de la grossièreté des mœurs de l'élément germanique.

Source : Voyage archéologique et historique dans l'ancien comté de Bigorre Par Justin Édouard M. Cénac-Moncaut en 1856.

Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus à Mauvezin
(Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus, mauvezin)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus' à mauvezin (hautes pyrenees 65130). La fondation de Mauvezin se perd dans cette obscurité du moyen-âge où l'homme, livré tout entier aux prouesses de la force brutale, élevait et détruisait châteaux et dynasties sans prendre soin de laisser la date de ses établissements ou de ses désastres. mauvezin, hautes pyrenees

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 105934
  • item : Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus
  • Localisation :
    • Midi-Pyrénées
    • Hautes-Pyrénées
    • Mauvezin
  • Code INSEE commune : 65306
  • Code postal de la commune : 65130
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction : 3 dénomiations sont utilisées pour définir cette construction :
    • château
    • fort
    • château fort
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 3 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 13e siècle
    • 14e siècle
    • 15e siècle
  • Date de protection : 1941/12/22 : inscrit MH

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Un élément répertorié fait l'objet d'une protection : donjon
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété d'une société privée château et donjon de gaston phoebus type inscription par arrêté du 22 décembre 1941 1992
  • Photo : af8e0a9739ccac7ac7a7bc2fb788ebb2.jpg
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00095398

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus à Mauvezin. par Monique c
Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus, mauvezin
Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus à Mauvezin. par Monique c
Château et donjon de Gaston Phoebus, mauvezin

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.