Quéribus Castle (ruins), French Heritage monument to Cucugnan

The castle of Queribus (Quiribus, according to the Geological Survey map of 1899) east locates in the commune of Cucugnan, canton of Tuchan (Aude). It is sometimes associates with the territories call Peyrepertuses

Peyrepertuses is a territory which the documents sometimes indicate like a distinct pagus (ndw: pagus, translated by '' country '', indicates a Gallo-Roman territorial unit), sometimes like a suburbium of Razes or Narbonnese. It included/understood in particular the strong castles of Peyrepertuse, Aguilar and Queribus. It was terminal in the East, by the Narbonnese, in the South by Fenouilledes, North by Termenes.

Since the 11th century, the castle of Queribus dominates the plain of Roussillon and the solid mass of Corbieres.

Other names for the castle with the passing of years: Queribus, Quiribus, querbuz, querbus, cuerbus (lo castelan of cuerbus)

History

Note: the orthography of certain extracts was preserves such as preserving at the documents quote their original character.

The Tallaferro period

Queribus (rock of the boxwood) east quotes (further I could find) in 1840-1846 in general history of Languedoc ? in connection with the will of Bernard Ier Tallaferro, count de Besalu deceased on September 26, 1020. On this date, the castrum belongs to the Viscount of Fenouilledes.

Comprendre Bernat (Bernard) obliges us has to lean us on the church Martin saint, locates at the top of one of the buttresses of Canigou. It rose at the ninth century a church dediee has holy Martin and who was to be the object of many pilgrimages (one is informed rich person donations made since 977 has this solitary temple). The founder of Saint Martin's day (monastery creates by Guiffred) was wire of Oliva calls Cabreta and of Ermengarda. In addition to Guiffred, Oliva still had Bernat, calls Tallaferro, which inherited the count de Besalu.

Thereafter it is of these of Bernat which informs us about becoming to it queribus.

Died of Bernard count de Besalu and Fenouilledes. Share its fields Guillaume his son succeeds to him in his comtez.

The part of the province bordering on Spain, made a considerable loss the year 1020. in the person of Bernard count de Besalu de Fenouilledes and of Valespir, has which its excellent qualitez meriterent the glorious title of prince and father of the fatherland. It avoit L undertaken a voyage in Provence to negotiate the marriage of Guillaume there his son, when his return has, having wanted to try the 26 of September of this year, to pass the Rhone to the stroke on its horse, it was unfortunately involves by the speed of the floods which submergerent it. It however was withdrawn river, and one transported his body to the abbey of Riupoll to Catalonia, or it was buries.

A few days after Oliba bishop of Ausonne, and Guifred count de Cerdagne his brothers, the countess Tote surnommee Adelaide his widow, and several of principal of feed, as well ecclesiastics as secular, made proceed to the opening of its will, in which it avoit has the fields in the following way that it possedoit in decaf and in of the Pyrenees.

It makes initially considerable legacies with the majority of the churches of the Walk of Spain, with the abbey of saint Martin de Lez in his count de Fenouilledes, and has that of the Fatty one.

It then lays out of the eveche of Besalu in favour of Henri his son to have it after the death of Guifred its other sons which it occupoit then, provided that when the first auroit reaches the old one 25 years, and embraces clericature, it recevroit this eveche in stronghold of Guillaume his older brother as one has it elsewhere remark.

It gives in division has his various Hugues son alleus and villages of the same count de Fenouilledes, and substitutes them has that of its sons which seroit count de Besalu. It also does not bequeath that some alleus for any heritage has another of its sons names Berenger who etoit then in old bottom.

It gives another freehold of the count de Fenouilledes, with Adelaide his daughter, at the monastery of saint Paul locates in the valley of Ansoli, and some other goods has Constance his/her other daughter, then strong young person.

II leaves has Tote his wife the pleasure of the count de Valespir, of which it lays out after death of this countess in favour of Guillaume his oldest son, or that of wire of this last which seroit count de Besalu.

It gives to the same Guillaume this last count, differens fields of the Walk of Spain which dependoient some, and finally the castle and the count de Fenoutlledes, with his dependences, to scavoir the castle and feed it of Pierre-Per-tuse, the abbey of holy Marie de Cubieres the castle of Trencavel, and several other castles or villages which formerly swage belongs to the count de Rasez the grounds that it avoit acquired of the Pierre bishop on the borders of Narbonnois and Roussillon until Puy d' Aguilar those which it possedoit in this last feeds between others the abbey of Etienne saint close to the river of Small fireclay cup, etc

It substitutes its others wire Hugues, Berenger and Henri, has Guillaume their groin, and has their defect it calls has his substitution that of its nephews who trouveroit count de Cerdagne.

It leaves his wife and her enfans in the guard and under the protection of his brothers, and its sons juniors under the supervision by Guillaume their groin. It gives moreover has Tote his wife the pleasure of all the goods that it avoit bequeaths has its Hugues sons and Berenger and all the women of condition serf of her house.

It gives freedom to the men of the same condition as has several other serfs who servoient with the outside, between others has Adalbert de Cases, that it charges with giving in reconnoissance to the abbey of Cubieres, five ounces of gold to make a Bernard cross.

To no mention in this will of Garsinde his married daughter but it makes avoit some tems before with Berenger Viscount of Narbonne undoubtedly because it avoit already dolee. It avoit gives him probably the useful field of the castles of Pierre-Pertuse and of Queribus because according to an oath of ready fidelity by the same Berenger has Guillaume count de Besalu, wire of the Tote countess, for these two castles locate on the border of Roussillon, it obliges to keep them exactly, and to make of it homage to the successors of this count.

Guillaume thus succeeded September of the year 1020. in comtez of Besalu and of Fenouilledes Bernard his father has who in avoit same lays out, has what it paroit, in its favour as of the year 1014.

The Cathare period

Place strong Cathare, the Castle of Queribus east engages in the Albigensian Crusade (1208-1249). This crusade is proclamee by the Catholic church against the heresy (catharism). It will lead the castle in the sphere of influence of king de France (like all the area in addition). Queribus falls in 1245.

The names associate has this period of the history are that of the Trencavel Viscount dimensions Albigensian and Simon de Montfort for all the conquest part of this military action.

Once passes under the influence of bets, it is probable that reduced garrisons station in the castle. various sources mention as the successive rebuildings as the castle with the wire of various combat undergoes to which it faced.

Policy change

The policy of this end of 14th century also evolved/moved and the town of Narbonne seem to undergo the decisions of their new Masters with like support the garrisons of the castle. The following extract gives you one seen of certain facts of this time:

Jacme, chatelin of Queribus, were little likes Narbonneses which had seen it coming on their premises in October 1380 and February 1381 like garnisaire (ndw: Guard whom one established in the house of a seized debtor, that which one establishes among late taxpayers, to oblige them has to pay) to make return the fallen terms of a tax of three francs by fire votes has Paris, in 1380, by the deputies of the province who had obtained the recall of the duke of Anjou.

The king had then returned an ordinance, which, undoubtedly, rectified some their objections. The clavaires of 1379-81 speak about it in extremely significant terms. It is of this subsidy that the advisers of the king order for the government of the country demanderent anticipation at the assembly of Carcassonne of August 11. (They were master keys has Narbonne on June 30, according to an indication of the clavaire of 1379-80, the assembly of Beziers would have taken place of the 25 at June 30). This anticipation to which Narbonne was opposite was not votee that in one second assembly also held Carcassonne on August 29 has.

Narbonne could supplement only on September 22 the payment of the first term of this subsidy fallen in June. On October 1, the consuls learned death from Charles V occurred on September 16 and the noise was spread that before dying the king had made given of all the taxes. Under the terms of the vote of the assembly of Carcassonne which had decides that the second term of payable subsidy originally on January 1, 1381 would be exigible as of September 1, 1380, the governors claimed the payment of this second term.

The consuls of Narbonne wanted to see coming the events and refuserent anything to pour. At this point in time the governors envoyerent to them like garnisaire the lord of the manor of Queribus.

The consuls protesterent, demanderent with the governors if they intended to make fun of the royal will, but finally deciderent themselves has to pay an installment of 200 pounds on October 12. The 21 they was also warn that the letters of abolition of the fouages were going to be to them expediees, was necessary it to send new a garnisaire to them to tear off to them a second installment of 200 pounds on December 9. Next on February 1, the lord of the manor of Queribus still returned like garnisaire to claim the 100 pounds remaining due on this second term, but this time did not obtain anything.

Sit diversion in 1473

After the catch of Laittoure on the count D Armagnac the king ordered with the army which avoit employed with the seat of this city, and which etoit composed, for the majority, of the militia of the province, to go to Roussillon to take again the town of Perpignan.

Jean king d' Aragon the surprised avoit; but it avoit been able to make itself main of the castle. The cardinal of Albi which commandoit the army, follow-up of the seneshals of Toulouse, Beaucaire and Agenois took the devans with the head neufcens lances and of ten thousand archers and arrived has Narbonne in mid-April. He put soon after the seat in front of the town of Perpignan with a strong army of thirty thousand men, king d' Aragon, though old of soixanteseize years, took defense of it.

The place was defended with much rigour, and the seat was long. The king sent to it a reinforcement of four taxable quotas lances to June under the orders of Louis de Saintrailles, with a large train of artillery and this new help was still taken among the nobility of the province gift one drew the vivres for the subsistence from the army. The lord de Charlus lieutenant of the king in Languedoc, which convened the whole crowd and of all this province, so much for this forwarding, that to make sure of the fields of fire count d' Armagnac part of these troops sent to be used the king against the duke as Burgundy.

The king D Aragon, to make diversion, detached a body of troops, which ran feed them of Sault and Fenouilledes, and entirely afflicted them. They surprised, between others, the castle of Queribus of which they are emparerent.

Finally the king of Sicily having assisted from king d' Aragon his father Fran?ois were oblige to raise the seat of Perpignan and Philippe de Savoye, lieutenant of the king in Roussillon and Cerdagne, agreed on a truce the 14 of July, to 1st of next October, with the count de Prades, general captain in these feed for the king D Aragon. Fran?ois broke this truce, and again assiegerent Perpignan before the end of July but they were still oblige to raise the seat so that the army was congediee.

(source: General history of Languedoc edition: 1840-1846)

Thereafter

Captain-governors indicate by the king will come to replace, thereafter, the lords of the manor from second half of the 18th century. As for much of fortress the castle is not rained seen like a family good, but like a tool or one exerts a service. Thus not residing on the spot the captain-governors will be can be the first person in charge of the degradation of the place which will start at that time. One also speaks about armed robbery for this period.

Chronology

Some information glanees of various sources giving a chronological sight of the life of the castle. As far as possible, the names and dates are proposed.

  • The following year, the castle of Monsegur capitulated and its defenders were exterminate, the eyrie of Queribus did not delay has to also succumb (1245). It did not remain any more with the cathares only one refuge strengthens. Finally Raimond Trencavel renonca has any claim on the grounds of its ancestors (1247). Thus the Viscount disappeared from Albi.
  • Queribus (1255-1697), whose garrison also included/understood a lord of the manor and nine being used as weapons.
  • name Castrum de Querbus, De Querbutio, De Quierb?s, 1255
  • Querbucum name, 1258.
  • the seneshal of Carcassonne designates Nicolas de Navarre like lord of the manor in 1259.
  • the draft of Corbeil signs in 1258 fixes the border between France and Aragon at the south of Corbieres very close to the castle. It then becomes a main fortified town of the French defense force.
  • name Querbussm 1277
  • name Castellania de Querbusio 1360
  • 1380 Jacme, chatelin of Queribus.
  • In 1473, the fortress is assiegee and taken by the troops of king d' Aragon.
  • 1538 Noble lord Fran?ois de Bellissen, coseignor the Rustic ones, captain of the castle of Queribus.
  • name Queribus, Querybus 1538
  • Louis de Casteras lords of the manor of Queribus in 1584 and 1585
  • The lord of Sornia, lords of the manor of Queribus of the 1641.
  • name Castle of Quiribus 1639
  • At the date of October 16, 1673 the castle of Queribus was lives from one end to another of the year by the family of Etienne Finestre, who grouped around him, in addition to, his wife, two wire of which a Marie and three grandchildren.
  • NR. of Casteras, lord of Lapalme, lords of the manor of Queribus in 1697.

Quéribus Castle (ruins)
Crédit photo : (Quéribus Castle (ruins), cucugnan)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Quéribus Castle (ruins), « Quéribus Castle (ruins) » is a construction of the city of Cucugnan (France, Aude). Quéribus Castle (ruins), French Heritage monument to Cucugnan cucugnan, aude

Location and general information

  • identifier : 9664
  • item : Château de Quéribus (ruines)
  • Location of the building :
    • Languedoc-Roussillon
    • Cucugnan
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 11113
  • Zip code of the municipality : 11350
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : castle
  • State :
    • current state of the monument : remains

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • The building dates mainly from the period : 13th century
  • Date of protection : 1907/10/11 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/10/21

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : Château cathare
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : owned by the 1992 municipality
  • Details : Château de Quéribus (ruines) : classement par arrêté du 11 octobre 1907
  • Mérimée reference : PA00102667

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de Promenades photographiques est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description of this building by Promenades photographiques :

Licence Creative Commons. Origine: Châteaux de Queribus sur all-free-photos.com

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Quéribus Castle (ruins), French Heritage monument to Cucugnan. Picture of Promenades photographiques
Château de Quéribus (ruines), cucugnan
Description of this building by Promenades photographiques :

Licence Creative Commons. Origine: Châteaux de Queribus sur all-free-photos.com

Quéribus Castle (ruins), French Heritage monument to Cucugnan. Picture of Promenades photographiques
Château de Quéribus (ruines), cucugnan
Description of this building by Promenades photographiques :

Licence Creative Commons. Origine: Châteaux de Queribus sur all-free-photos.com


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Château de Quéribus à Cucugnan

Le château de Quéribus (Quiribus, d'après la carte de l'état-major de 1899) est situé dans la commune de Cucugnan, canton de Tuchan (Aude). Il est parfois associé aux territoires appelés "Le Peyrepertusès"

Le Peyrepertusès est un territoire que les documents désignent tantôt comme un "pagus" distinct (ndw : pagus, traduit par « pays », désigne une unité territoriale gallo-romaine), tantôt comme un "suburbium" du Razès ou du Narbonnais. Il comprenait notamment les châteaux forts de Peyrepertuse, d'Aguilar et de Quéribus. Il était borné à l'Est, par le Narbonnais, au Sud par le Fenouillèdes, au  Nord par le Termenès.

Depuis le 11ème siècle, le château de Quéribus domine la plaine du Roussillon et le massif des Corbières.

Autres appellations pour le château au fil des années : Quéribus, Quiribus, querbuz, querbus, cuerbus (lo castelan de cuerbus)

Histoire

Note : l'orthographe de certains extraits a été conservé "tel que" pour conserver aux documents cités leur caractère original.

La période Tallaferro

Quéribus (rocher des buis) est cité (le plus loin que j'ai pu trouver) en 1840-1846 dans "histoire générale de Languedoc"  à propos du testament de Bernard Ier Tallaferro, comte de Bésalu décédé le 26 septembre 1020. À cette date, le castrum fait partie de la vicomté de Fenouillèdes.

Comprendre Bernat (Bernard) nous oblige à nous pencher sur l'église saint Martin, situé au sommet d'un des contreforts du Canigou. Il s'élevait au neuvième siècle une église dédiée à saint Martin et qui devait être l'objet de nombreux pèlerinages (on a connaissance de riches donations faites depuis 977 à ce temple solitaire). Le fondateur de Saint-Martin (monastère créé par Guiffred) était fils d'Oliva surnommé Cabreta et de Ermengarda. Outre Guiffred, Oliva eut encore Bernat, surnommé Tallaferro, qui hérita du comté de Besalu.

Par la suite c'est le décès de Bernat qui nous renseigne sur le devenir de queribus.

"Mort de Bernard comte de Besalu et de Fenouilledes. Partage de ses domaines Guillaume son fils lui succède dans ses comtez.

La partie de la province limitrophe de l'Espagne, fit une perte considérable l'an 1020. en la personne de Bernard comte de Besalu de Fenouilledes et de Valespir, à qui ses excellentes qualitez méritèrent le glorieux titre de prince et de père de la patrie. Il avoit l entrepris un voyage en Provence pour y négocier le mariage de Guillaume son fils, lorsqu'à son retour, ayant voulu tenter le 26 de Septembre de cette année, de passer le Rhône à la nage sur son cheval, il fut malheureusement entraîné par la rapidité des flots qui le submergèrent. On le retira cependant du fleuve, et on transporta son corps à l'abbaye de Riupoll en Catalogne, où il fut inhumé.

Quelques jours après Oliba évêque d'Ausonne, et Guifred comte de Cerdagne ses frères, la comtesse Tote surnommée Adelaide sa veuve, et plusieurs des principaux du païs, tant ecclésiastiques que séculiers, firent proceder à l'ouverture de son testament, dans lequel il avoit disposé de la manière suivante des domaines qu'il possedoit en deça et en dela des Pyrenées.

Il fait d'abord des legs considerables à la plûpart des églises de la Marche d'Espagne, à l'abbaye de saint Martin de Lez dans son comté de Fenouilledes, et à celle de la Grasse.

Il dispose ensuite de l'évêché de Besalu en faveur d'Henri son fils pour le posseder après la mort de Guifred son autre fils qui l'occupoit alors, à condition que lorsque le premier auroit atteint l'âge de 25 ans, et embrassé la clericature, il recevroit cet évêché en fief de Guillaume son frère aîné ainsi qu'on l'a remarqué ailleurs.

Il donne en partage à son fils Hugues divers alleus et villages du même comté de Fenouilledes, et les substitue à celui de ses fils qui seroit comte de Besalu. Il ne legue aussi que quelques alleus pour tout héritage à un autre de ses fils nommé Berenger qui étoit alors en bas âge.

Il donne un autre alleu du comté de Fenouilledes, avec Adélaïde sa fille, au monastere de saint Paul situé dans la vallée d'Ansoli, et quelques autres biens à Constance son autre fille, alors fort jeune.

II laisse à Tote sa femme la jouissance du comté de Valespir, dont il dispose après la mort de cette comtesse en faveur de Guillaume son fils aine, ou de celui des fils de ce dernier qui seroit comte de Besalu.

Il donne au même Guillaume ce dernier comté, differens domaines de la Marche d'Espagne qui en dépendoient, et enfin le château et le comté de Fenoutlledes, avec ses dépendances, sçavoir le château et le pais de Pierre-Per-tuse, l'abbaye de sainte Marie de Cubieres le château de Trencavel, et plusieurs autres châteaux ou villages qui autrefois avoient fait partie du comté de Rasez les terres qu'il avoit acquises de l'évêque Pierre sur les frontieres du Narbonnois et du Roussillon jusqu'au Puy d'Aguilar celles qu'il possedoit dans ce dernier pais entr'autres l'abbaye de saint Etienne près de la riviere de Tet, etc.

Il substitue ses autres fils Hugues, Berenger et Henri, à Guillaume leur ainé, et à leur défaut il appelle à sa substitution celui de ses neveux qui se trouveroit comte de Cerdagne.

Il laisse sa femme et ses enfans en la garde et sous la protection de ses freres, et ses fils cadets sous la tutelle de Guillaume leur aîné. Il donne de plus à Tote sa femme la jouissance de tous les biens qu'il avoit leguez à ses fils Hugues et Berenger et toutes les femmes de condition serve de sa maison.

Il donne la liberté aux hommes de la même condition ainsi qu'à plusieurs autres serfs qui servoient au dehors, entr'autres à Adalbert de Cases, qu'il charge de donner en reconnoissance à l'abbaye de Cubieres, cinq onces d'or pour faire une croix Bernard.

Ne fait aucune mention dans ce testament de Garsinde sa fille qu'il avoit mariée quelque tems auparavant avec Berenger vicomte de Narbonne sans doute parce qu'il l'avoit déjà dolee. Il lui avoit donné vraisemblablement le domaine utile des châteaux de Pierre-Pertuse et de Queribus car suivant un serment de fidelité prêté par le même Berenger à Guillaume comte de Besalu, fils de la comtesse Tote, pour ces deux châteaux situez sur la frontière de Roussillon, il s'oblige de les garder exactement, et d'en faire hommage aux successeurs de ce comte.

Guillaume succeda donc le mois de Septembre de l'an 1020. dans les comtez de Besalu et de Fenouilledes à Bernard son père qui en avoit même disposé, à ce qu'il paroit, en sa faveur dès l'an 1014."

La période Cathare

Place forte Cathare, le Château de Quéribus est engagé dans la croisade des Albigeois (1208-1249). Cette croisade est proclamée par l'Église catholique contre l'hérésie (le catharisme). Elle conduira le château dans la sphère d'influence du roi de France (comme toute la région par ailleurs). Quéribus tombe en 1245.

Les noms associés à cette période de l'histoire sont celui du vicomte Trencavel côté albigeois et Simon de Montfort pour toute la partie conquête de cette action militaire.

Une fois passé sous l'influence de paris, il est vraisemblable que des garnisons réduites stationnent dans le château. différentes sources mentionnent aussi les reconstructions successives que subit le château au fil de différents combats auquel il a fait face.

Changement de politique

La politique de cette fin de 14e siècle évolue aussi et la ville de Narbonne semble subir les décisions de leur nouveaux maîtres avec comme support les garnisons du château. L'extrait suivant vous donne un aperçu de certains faits de cette époque :

"Jacme, châtelin de Queribus, était peu aimé des Narbonnais qui l'avaient vu venir chez eux en octobre 1380 et en février 1381 comme garnisaire (ndw : Gardien qu'on établissait dans la maison d'un débiteur saisi, celui qu'on établit chez les contribuables en retard, pour les obliger à payer) pour faire rentrer les termes échus d'un impôt de trois francs par feu voté à Paris, en 1380, par les députés de la province qui avaient obtenu le rappel du duc d'Anjou.

Le roi avait alors rendu une ordonnance, qui, sans doute, redressait quelques-uns de leurs griefs. Les clavaires de 1379-81 en parlent en termes fort significatifs. C'est de ce subside que  les conseillers du roi ordonnés pour le gouvernement du pays demandèrent l'anticipation à l'assemblée de Carcassonne du 11 août. (Ils étaient passés à Narbonne le 30 juin, d'après une indication du clavaire de 1379-80, l'assemblée de Béziers aurait eu lieu du 25 au 30 juin). Cette anticipation à laquelle Narbonne était opposée ne fut votée que dans une seconde assemblée tenue aussi à Carcassonne le 29 août.

Narbonne ne put compléter que le 22 septembre le paiement du premier terme de ce subside échu en juin. Le 1er octobre, les consuls apprenaient la mort de Charles V survenue le 16 septembre et le bruit se répandait qu'avant de mourir le roi avait fait remise de tous les impôts. En vertu du vote de l'assemblée de Carcasssonne qui avait décidé que le second terme du subside payable primitivement le 1er janvier 1381 serait exigible dès le 1er septembre 1380, les gouverneurs réclamaient le paiement de ce second terme.

Les consuls de Narbonne voulurent voir venir les évènements et refusèrent de rien verser. C'est alors que les gouverneurs leur envoyèrent comme garnisaire le châtelain de Quéribus.

Les consuls protestèrent, demandèrent aux gouverneurs s'ils avaient l'intention de se moquer de la volonté royale, mais finalement se décidèrent à verser un acompte de 200 livres le 12 octobre. Le 21 ils étaient avisés que les lettres d'abolition des fouages allaient leur être expédiées, aussi fallait-il leur envoyer un nouveau garnisaire pour leur arracher un second acompte de 200 livres le 9 décembre. Le 1er février suivant, le châtelain de Quéribus revenait encore comme garnisaire réclamer les 100 livres restant dues sur ce second terme, mais cette fois-ci n'obtenait rien."

Siège diversion en 1473

Après la prise de Laittoure sur le comte d Armagnac le roi ordonna à l'armée qui avoit été employée au siège de cette ville, et qui étoit composée, pour la plupart, des milices de la province, de marcher en Roussillon pour reprendre la ville de Perpignan.

Jean roi d'Aragon l'avoit surprise; mais il n'avoit pû se rendre maitre du château. Le cardinal d'Albi qui commandoit l'armée, suivi des sénéchaux de Toulouse, Beaucaire et Agenois prit les devans à la tête de neufcens lances et de dix mille archers et arriva a Narbonne à la mi-Avril. Il mit bientôt après le siège devant la ville de Perpignan avec une armée forte de trente mille hommes, le roi d'Aragon, quoiqu'agé de soixanteseize ans, en prit la défense.

La place fut défendue avec beaucoup de rigueur, et le siège fut long. Le roi y envoya un renfort de quatre cens lances au mois de Juin sous les ordres de Louis de Saintrailles, avec un grand train d'artillerie et ce nouveau secours fut encore pris parmi la noblesse de la province don on tira les vivres pour la subsistance de l'armée. Le sire de Charlus lieutenant du roi en Languedoc, qui convoqua le ban et l'arriere-ban de toute cette province, tant pour cette expédition, que pour s'assurer des domaines du feu comte d'Armagnac envoya une partie de ces troupes pour servir le roi contre le duc de Bourgogne.

Le roi d Aragon, pour faire diversion, détacha un corps de troupes, qui courut les païs de Sault et de Fenouilledes, et les désola entièrement. Elles surprirent, entr'autres, le château de Queribus dont elles s'emparerent.

Enfin le roi de Sicile étant venu au secours du roi d'Aragon son pere les François furent obligés de lever le siege de Perpignan et Philippe de Savoye, lieutenant du roi en Roussillon et Cerdagne, convint d'une trêve le 14 de Juillet, jusqu'au 1er d'Octobre suivant, avec le comte de Prades, capitaine général dans ces païs pour le roi d Aragon. Les François rompirent cette trêve, et assiégèrent de nouveau Perpignan avant la fin du mois de Juillet mais ils furent encore obligés de lever le siège en sorte que l'armée fut congédiée.

(source : Histoire générale de Languedoc édition : 1840-1846)

Par la suite

Des capitaines-gouverneurs désignés par le roi viendront remplacer, par la suite, les châtelains à partir de la seconde moitie du 18e siècle. Comme pour beaucoup de forteresse le château n'est plu vue comme un "bien familial", mais comme un "outil" où l'on exerce un service. Ne résidant donc pas sur place les capitaines-gouverneurs seront peut être les premiers responsable de la dégradation des lieu qui va commencer à cette époque. On parle aussi de brigandage pour cette période.

Chronologie

Quelques informations glanées de différentes sources donnant une vue chronologique de la vie du château. Dans la mesure du possible, les noms et dates sont mise en avant.

  • L'année suivante, le château de Monségur capitulait et ses défenseurs étaient exterminés, le nid d'aigle de Quéribus ne tarda pas à succomber aussi (1245). Il ne resta plus aux cathares un seul refuge fortifié. Finalement Raimond Trencavel renonça à toute prétention sur les terres de ses ancêtres (1247). Ainsi disparut la vicomté d'Albi.
  • Quéribus (1255-1697), dont la garnison comprenait également un châtelain et neuf servants d'armes.
  • appellation Castrum de Querbus, De Querbutio, De Quierbüs, 1255
  • appellation Querbucum, 1258.
  • le sénéchal de Carcassonne désigne Nicolas de Navarre comme châtelain en 1259.
  • le traité de Corbeil signé en 1258 fixe la frontière entre la France et l'Aragon au sud des Corbières tout près du château. Il devient alors une place forte maîtresse du dispositif défensif français.
  • appellation Querbussm 1277
  • appellation Castellania de Querbusio 1360
  • 1380 Jacme, châtelin de Queribus.
  • En 1473, la forteresse est assiégée et prise par les troupes du roi d'Aragon.
  • 1538 Noble seigneur François de Bellissen, coseigneur de Rustiques, capitaine du château de Quéribus.
  • appellation Queribus, Querybus 1538
  • Louis de Castéras châtelains de Quéribus en 1584 et 1585
  • Le seigneur de Sornia, châtelains de Quéribus dès 1641.
  • appellation Château de Quiribus 1639
  • A la date du 16 octobre 1673 Le château de Quéribus était habité d'un bout à l'autre de l'année par la famille d'Etienne Finestre, qui groupait autour de lui, outre, sa femme, deux fils dont un marié et trois petits-enfants.
  • N. de Castéras, seigneur de Lapalme, châtelains de Quéribus en 1697.

Château de Quéribus à Cucugnan
Crédit photo : Promenades photographiques (Château de Quéribus (ruines), cucugnan)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Château de Quéribus (ruines), Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Château de Quéribus (ruines)' à cucugnan (aude 11350). Le château de Quéribus, Quiribus d'après la carte de l'état-major de 1899, est situé dans la commune de Cucugnan, canton de Tuchan. Il est parfois associé aux territoires appelés Le Peyrepertusès. cucugnan, aude

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 9664
  • item : Château de Quéribus (ruines)
  • Localisation :
    • Languedoc-Roussillon
    • Cucugnan
  • Code INSEE commune : 11113
  • Code postal de la commune : 11350
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : château
  • Etat :
    • Etat courrant du monument : vestiges (suceptible à changement)

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • La construction date principalement de la période : 13e siècle
  • Date de protection : 1907/10/11 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/10/21

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : Château cathare
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune 1992
  • Détails : Château de Quéribus (ruines) : classement par arrêté du 11 octobre 1907
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00102667

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de Promenades photographiques est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description par Promenades photographiques :

Licence Creative Commons. Origine: Châteaux de Queribus sur all-free-photos.com

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Château de Quéribus à Cucugnan. par Promenades photographiques
Château de Quéribus (ruines), cucugnan
Description par Promenades photographiques :

Licence Creative Commons. Origine: Châteaux de Queribus sur all-free-photos.com

Château de Quéribus à Cucugnan. par Promenades photographiques
Château de Quéribus (ruines), cucugnan
Description par Promenades photographiques :

Licence Creative Commons. Origine: Châteaux de Queribus sur all-free-photos.com


Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.