Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise

Description of the church

(*) Here which are principal dimensions of the church of Saint-Maclou:
Overall length: 52 m 30
Length of the transept: 26 m 40
Total width: 32m 40
Width of the nave: 7 m 70
Width of the northern side: 10m
Width of the southern side: 5m 20
Width of the transept: 5m 70
Width of the deambulatoire: 3m 40 (**) At that time:
Length of the church 44 m ~
Width 17 m ~

The successive construction of the various parts of the church of Saint-Maclou can easily make include/understand why its current plan affects a provision enough singuliere. This plan includes/understands a nave flanquee in the north of a collateral double and in the south of only one side, a transept and a chorus surround by a deambulatoire which communicates with four radiating chapels. The southernmost side contains vaults of which the depth varies in consequence of the oblique direction of the external wall. The vaults which are in the northern side are less irregular, but that of Passion is vaster than the others; it high beside the frontage of the monument.

Three gates give access in the nave and the sides of the church; two other doors open in the pilot wheels of the transept and the bell-tower east leans at the central part of the frontage (*). The plan of the church was much simpler in XIIe century (**). It was composed then of a nave, two bascotes, a transept and a chorus whose deambulatoire contained five vault-radiant. One can easily restore the old provisions of the nave and the sanctuary, which underwent few important modifications since the time of their construction, by restoring the fifth radiating chapel and by cutting off the projections formees by the sacristy like by the small porch from the southern brace. The primitive plan of the other parts of the monument is more difficult has to discover. However, one can be certain that the nave contained at least five spans, because one sees five more formerets of XIIe century above the windows which light in north the central vessel.

The width of the primitive sides was to be in connection with that of the deambulatoire. The frontage, the pillars and the windows were undoubtedly designed in the style generally adopts by the architects of the area at that time. Thus we were conduit has to reconstitute the plan of the church of Saint-Maclou, such as it was to be in XIIe century. The building preserved, of the remainder, all the regularity of its proportions until XVIe century. The nave, divisee in seven spans, is covered with a series of intersecting ribs separate from/to each other by beams in tierce point. The veins of these vaults are furnished with fine mouldings and their keys are decorated stars and escutcheons, except those of the three last spans which represent holy Maclou, the moon and the sun. The style of the nave is not homogeneous and carries the two quite distinct times print; the two spans close to the frontage were built in XVe century and the five others belong to XVIe century. The first span has only preserve its vault of XVe century; it is supported by two heavy octagonal piles, flanquees of four thin posts.

These pillars were intend has to shoulder the bell-tower and the wall of the frontage. To realize of the provisions which the nave would have of to present, if it had been rebuilt all entiere in XVe century, it is necessary to examine the rise in the second span of north. It is composed of an arc in tierce point, flowering ash of throats and tori thinned, which rests of a dimension on the large octagonal pile and other on a column isolee whose capital is the shape of an up to date garland of foliages cuttings. Two small flattened posts were committed in was column; one of them was supprimee. Above the large arcade a long window in tierce point opens, completely stopped, whose central mullion supports two small trefoil arches, accompany by bellows and mouchettes. A cord of vineleaves reigns under the support of bay. This ordinance does not reproduce in the second southernmost span, lit by a broad window has blazing rubble filling, because it was modifiee at the time of the rebuilding of the nave.

All the other spans are designed in a quite different style, but the character of their architecture is enough has to prove that they were not high of only one jet. The spans of north belong to first half of XVIe century; those of the south are contemporary of the last period of the Rebirth, as one can note it by examining the sculptures of their capitals. They are formees of one, arc in clotheshanger flattens, furnished with a great number of mouldings and supported on columns isolees. Each one of these columns is flanquee of a pilaster intends has to receive the veins and the beams of the vaults. In the part rebuilt in XVIe century, the nave is lit by a series of bays in tierce point, rather low, furnished with two mullions and a oculus.

Dimension of the frontage opens a large rosette whose rubble filling is entirely modern. The capitals of the pilasters lean with the spans of north offer a great resemblance to those of the close side. They are spillplates of human figures and bouquets of very elegant foliages. One notices below their ring a sheet of acanthus placee in the middle of a triangle. The pilasters of the southernmost spans are crowns by heads of angels entourees of foliages and by composite rich person capitals of a rather heavy style. The third pillar is flowering ash of a low-relief which represents holy Eustace, upright in the middle of a river: on the right and on the left a lion and a wolf carry his/her children. The decoration of the nave was in the past completee by capitals which surmounted the columns isolees with the height of the repercussion of the large arcades. Indeed, it is established by a part of which we transcribed the text, that the factory made remove, in 1783, '' large cornices charged with ornaments which cut the pillars by half ''. One undertook at the same time to recut the pilasters of the southernmost spans to make them slip by to the higher entablature. We will also point out that the current tiling of the nave was installation to the end of the year 1783.

It can appear utite to seek the old provision of the central vessel of the church in XIIe century, because one should not question the existence of a nave raised at the same time as the transept and the sanctuary. If one judges some by the five primitive formeret arcs which still frame the vaults of the northern dimension, it certain that the nave was covered, in XIIe century, of a series of is intersecting ribs. Its pillars were to be forms of a beam of twelve columns, like those of the churches of Bury and Saint-To germinate, of Villetertre (Oise), Poissy and Tanks (Seine-et-Oise). It is quite probable that the large arcades followed a curve in tierce point and that the windows were in semicircular arch. This primitive nave was preserved intact until the moment or the frontage was rebuilt during the course of XVe century; its spans of north disappeared in first half of XVIe century, but its southernmost vaults and its spans were demolished only about 1570.

?

Source:

  • Titrate: Monograph of the Saint-Maclou church of Pontoise
  • Author: Lefevre-Pontalis, Eugene (1862-1923)
  • Editor: Impr. of A. Paris (Pontoise)
  • Go back to edition: 1888

Cathedral Saint-Maclou
(Cathedral Saint-Maclou, pontoise)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Cathedral Saint-Maclou, « Cathedral Saint-Maclou » is a construction of the city of Pontoise (France, Val d'oise). Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise pontoise, val d'oise

Location and general information

  • identifier : 152577
  • item : Cathédrale Saint-Maclou
  • Location of the building :
    • Ile-de-France
    • Val-d'Oise
    • Pontoise
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 95500
  • Zip code of the municipality : 95000
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building : The building is designated by the following 2 names :
    • church
    • cathedral
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • We have no information on the time of construction of this monument.
  • Date of protection : 1840 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/05/14

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : Ancienne église Saint Maclou. Dans l'agglomération nouvelle de Cergy Pontoise. 18 04 1914 (J.O.)
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : owned by the 1992 municipality
  • Picture : 6d7d91ee0d88e68ae61bcd6fb169abb3.jpg
  • Details : Cathédrale Saint-Maclou : classement par liste de 1840
  • Mérimée reference : PA00080163

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of webmaster
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Description of this building by webmaster :

Pontoise : Eglise St Maclou du 12 au 16.e S. cle. N ° Atget : 6339. 1902. Photographie positive sur papier albuminé d'après négatif sur verre au gélatinobromure ; 17,1 x 21,7 cm (épr.). [Cote : BNF - Est. Eo 109b bte 28 ; n ° micr. T041942] Op

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of webmaster
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Description of this building by webmaster :

Pontoise : Eglise St Maclou XVI.e S.cle. N ° Atget : 6340. 1902. Photographie positive sur papier albuminé d'après négatif sur verre au gélatinobromure ; 21 x 17,3 cm (épr.). [Cote : BNF - Est. Eo 109b bte 28 ; n ° micr. T041943] Opaline 0206

Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of webmaster
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Description of this building by webmaster :

Pontoise : Eglise St Maclou du 12 au 16.e S. cle. N ° Atget : 6355. 1902. Photographie positive sur papier albuminé d'après négatif sur verre au gélatinobromure ; 17,1 x 21,5 cm (épr.). [Cote : BNF - Est. Eo 109b bte 28 ; n ° micr. T041945] Op

Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of webmaster
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Description of this building by webmaster :

Pontoise : Eglise St Maclou XVI.e S.cle. N ° Atget : 6337. 1902. Photographie positive sur papier albuminé d'après négatif sur verre au gélatinobromure ; 21,3 x 17,3 cm (épr.). [Cote : BNF - Est. Eo 109b bte 28 ; n ° micr. T041947] Opaline 02

Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathedral Saint-Maclou, French Heritage monument to Pontoise. Picture of Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise

Description de l'église

(*) Voici quelles sont les principales dimensions de l'église de Saint-Maclou :
Longueur totale : 52 m 30
Longueur du transept : 26 m 40
Largeur totale : 32m 40
Largeur de la nef : 7 m 70
Largeur du bas-côté nord : 10m
Largeur du bas-côté sud : 5m 20
Largeur du transept : 5m 70
Largeur du déambulatoire : 3m 40
(**) A cette époque :
Longueur de l'église 44 m ~
Largeur 17 m ~

La construction successive des diverses parties de l'église de Saint-Maclou peut faire aisément comprendre pourquoi son plan actuel affecte une disposition assez singulière. Ce plan comprend une nef flanquée au nord d'un double collatéral et au sud d'un seul bas-côté, un transept et un choeur entouré d'un déambulatoire qui communique avec quatre chapelles rayonnantes. Le bas-côté méridional renferme des chapelles dont la profondeur varie par suite de la direction oblique du mur extérieur. Les chapelles qui se trouvent dans le bas-côté nord sont moins irrégulières, mais celle de la Passion est plus vaste que les autres ; elle s'élève à côté de la façade du monument.

Trois portails donnent accès dans la nef et les bas-côtés de l'église ; deux autres portes s'ouvrent dans les croisillons du transept et le clocher est adossé à la partie centrale de la façade (*). Le plan de l'église était beaucoup plus simple au XIIe siècle (**). Il se composait alors d'une nef, de deux bascôtés , d'un transept et d'un choeur dont le déambulatoire renfermait cinq chapelles-rayonnantes. On peut aisément restituer les anciennes dispositions de la nef et du sanctuaire, qui ont subi peu de modifications importantes depuis l'époque de leur construction, en rétablissant la cinquième chapelle rayonnante et en retranchant les saillies formées par la sacristie ainsi que par le petit porche du croisillon sud. Le plan primitif des autres parties du monument est plus difficile à découvrir. Toutefois, on peut être certain que la nef renfermait au moins cinq travées, car on voit encore cinq formerets du XIIe siècle au-dessus des fenêtres qui éclairent au nord le vaisseau central.

La largeur des bas-côtés primitifs devait être en rapport avec celle du déambulatoire. La façade, les piliers et les fenêtres étaient sans doute conçus dans le style généralement adopté par les architectes de la région à cette époque. C'est ainsi que nous avons été conduit à reconstituer le plan de l'église de Saint-Maclou, tel qu'il devait être au XIIe siècle. L'édifice conserva, du reste, toute la régularité de ses proportions jusqu'au XVIe siècle. La nef, divisée en sept travées, est recouverte d'une série de croisées d'ogive séparées les unes des autres par des doubleaux en tiers-point. Les nervures de ces voûtes sont garnies de fines moulures et leurs clefs sont ornées d'étoiles et d'écussons, sauf celles des trois dernières travées qui représentent saint Maclou, la lune et le soleil. Le style de la nef n'est pas homogène et porte l'empreinte de deux époques bien distinctes ; les deux travées voisines de la façade ont été construites au XVe siècle et les cinq autres appartiennent au XVIe siècle. La première travée a seule conservé sa voûte du XVe siècle ; elle est soutenue par deux lourdes piles octogonales, flanquées de quatre minces colonnettes.

Ces piliers étaient destinés à épauler le clocher et le mur de la façade. Pour se rendre compte des dispositions que la nef aurait dû présenter, si elle avait été rebâtie tout entière au XVe siècle, il faut examiner l'élévation de la seconde travée du nord. Elle se compose d'un arc en tiers-point, orné de gorges et de tores amincis, qui repose d'un côté sur la grosse pile octogonale et de l'autre sur une colonne isolée dont le chapiteau est formé d'une guirlande de feuillages découpés à jour. Deux petites colonnettes aplaties étaient engagées dans le fût de la colonne ; l'une d'elles a été supprimée. Au-dessus de la grande arcade s'ouvre une longue fenêtre en tiers-point, complètement bouchée, dont le meneau central soutient deux petits arcs trilobés, accompagnés de soufflets et de mouchettes. Un cordon de feuilles de vigne règne sous l'appui de la baie. Cette ordonnance ne se reproduit pas dans la seconde travée méridionale, éclairée par une large fenêtre à remplage flamboyant, parce qu'elle a été modifiée à l'époque de la reconstruction de la nef.

Toutes les autres travées sont conçues dans un style bien différent, mais le caractère de leur architecture suffit à prouver qu'elles n'ont pas été élevées d'un seul jet. Les travées du nord appartiennent à la première moitié du XVIe siècle ; celles du sud sont contemporaines de la dernière période de la Renaissance, comme on peut le constater en examinant les sculptures de leurs chapiteaux. Elles sont formées d'un, arc en cintre surbaissé, garni d'un grand nombre de moulures et soutenu sur des colonnes isolées. Chacune de ces colonnes est flanquée d'un pilastre destiné à recevoir les nervures et les doubleaux des voûtes. Dans la partie reconstruite au XVIe siècle, la nef est éclairée par une série de baies en tiers-point, assez basses, garnies de deux meneaux et d'un oculus.

Du côté de la façade s'ouvre une grande rosace dont le remplage est entièrement moderne. Les chapiteaux des pilastres adossés aux travées du nord offrent une grande ressemblance avec ceux du bas-côté voisin. Ils sont rehaussés de figures humaines et de bouquets de feuillages très élégants. On remarque au-dessous de leur bague une feuille d'acanthe placée au milieu d'un triangle. Les pilastres des travées méridionales sont couronnés par des têtes d'anges entourées de feuillages et par de riches chapiteaux composites d'un style assez lourd. Le troisième pilier est orné d'un bas-relief qui représente saint Eustache, debout au milieu d'une rivière : à droite et à gauche un lion et un loup emportent ses enfants. La décoration de la nef était anciennement complétée par des chapiteaux qui surmontaient les colonnes isolées à la hauteur de la retombée des grandes arcades. En effet, il est établi par une pièce dont nous avons transcrit le texte, que la fabrique fit supprimer, en 1783, « les grosses corniches chargées d'ornements qui coupaient les piliers par la moitié ». On entreprit à la même époque de retailler les pilastres des travées méridionales pour les faire filer jusqu'à l'entablement supérieur. Nous rappellerons également que le carrelage actuel de la nef fut posé à la fin de l'année 1783.

Il peut paraître utite de rechercher l'ancienne disposition du vaisseau central de l'église au XIIe siècle, car on ne doit pas mettre en doute l'existence d'une nef élevée en même temps que le transept et le sanctuaire. Si l'on en juge par les cinq arcs formerets primitifs qui encadrent encore les voûtes du côté nord, il est certain que la nef était recouverte, au XIIe siècle, d'une série de croisées d'ogive. Ses piliers devaient être formés d'un faisceau de douze colonnes, comme ceux des églises de Bury et de Saint-Germer, de la Villetertre (Oise), de Poissy et de Chars (Seine-et-Oise). Il est bien probable que les grandes arcades décrivaient une courbe en tiers-point et que les fenêtres étaient en plein cintre. Cette nef primitive se conserva intacte jusqu'au moment où la façade fut rebâtie pendant le cours du XVe siècle ; ses travées du nord disparurent dans la première moitié du XVIe siècle, mais ses voûtes et ses travées méridionales ne furent démolies que vers 1570.

 

Source :

  • Titre : Monographie de l'église Saint-Maclou de Pontoise
  • Auteur : Lefèvre-Pontalis, Eugène (1862-1923)
  • Éditeur : Impr. de A. Paris (Pontoise)
  • Date d'édition : 1888

Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise
(Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Cathédrale Saint-Maclou' à pontoise (val d'oise 95000). pontoise, val d'oise

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 152577
  • item : Cathédrale Saint-Maclou
  • Localisation :
    • Ile-de-France
    • Val-d'Oise
    • Pontoise
  • Code INSEE commune : 95500
  • Code postal de la commune : 95000
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction : 2 dénomiations sont utilisées pour définir cette construction :
    • église
    • cathédrale
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • Nous n'avons aucune informlation sur les périodes de constructions de cet édifice.
  • Date de protection : 1840 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/05/14

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : Ancienne église Saint Maclou. Dans l'agglomération nouvelle de Cergy Pontoise. 18 04 1914 (J.O.)
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune 1992
  • Photo : 6d7d91ee0d88e68ae61bcd6fb169abb3.jpg
  • Détails : Cathédrale Saint-Maclou : classement par liste de 1840
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00080163

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par webmaster
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Description par webmaster :

Pontoise : Eglise St Maclou du 12 au 16.e S. cle. N ° Atget : 6339. 1902. Photographie positive sur papier albuminé d'après négatif sur verre au gélatinobromure ; 17,1 x 21,7 cm (épr.). [Cote : BNF - Est. Eo 109b bte 28 ; n ° micr. T041942] Op

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par webmaster
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Description par webmaster :

Pontoise : Eglise St Maclou XVI.e S.cle. N ° Atget : 6340. 1902. Photographie positive sur papier albuminé d'après négatif sur verre au gélatinobromure ; 21 x 17,3 cm (épr.). [Cote : BNF - Est. Eo 109b bte 28 ; n ° micr. T041943] Opaline 0206

Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par webmaster
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Description par webmaster :

Pontoise : Eglise St Maclou du 12 au 16.e S. cle. N ° Atget : 6355. 1902. Photographie positive sur papier albuminé d'après négatif sur verre au gélatinobromure ; 17,1 x 21,5 cm (épr.). [Cote : BNF - Est. Eo 109b bte 28 ; n ° micr. T041945] Op

Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par webmaster
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Description par webmaster :

Pontoise : Eglise St Maclou XVI.e S.cle. N ° Atget : 6337. 1902. Photographie positive sur papier albuminé d'après négatif sur verre au gélatinobromure ; 21,3 x 17,3 cm (épr.). [Cote : BNF - Est. Eo 109b bte 28 ; n ° micr. T041947] Opaline 02

Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou à Pontoise. par Lumière du matin
Cathédrale Saint-Maclou, pontoise

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.