Closes the hospital, former commandery of the Knights Templar, French Heritage monument to Coulommiers

Templiers were established has Coulommiers, at the beginning of XIIe century. Thibault, count de Champagne, gave them various goods, and inter alia the castle of Montbillard or Monlbaillard, locates at the top of the mountain in the north of the city. It is claimed that this fortress existed under the kings of the second race; that it was destroyed, and that a barn has it remplacee. When the order of Templiers was destroyed, it is known that the knights of Malta heriterent of a portion of their fields: this one took the name of hospital, which it always has preserves since. The commandery was then transferee with House-New which is only one firm today.

Before the revolution, Coulommiers was the seat of an election, a subdelegation, a baillage which ressortissait by no means at the Parliament of Paris, of a control particuliere of water and drills, and of a commandery of Malta (ndw: At the beginning of XIVe century (1311), the pope abolishes the order of Templiers and gave their goods to the hospital knights of Saint-Jean-of-Jerusalem. since call knights of Malta), one of the four who existed in the diocese of Meaux; it is today the chief town of a district of sub-prefecture, of a chief town of canton, the seat of a county court, a lieutenancy and a gendarmerie squad.

Source: Topographic, political, physical history and statistics of the department of etc per E H Felix Pascal 1936.

Decoration and ornamentation

Although it serf of barn has fodder since more than one century, the vault of the Hospital is in an excellent state of conservation. It was entirely painted, and this system of decoration, of which it is possible to still note elegant simplicity and the perfect harmony, seems to me excellent model has to offer for the restoration of our rural churches of XIIIe century. Better undoubtedly this sobriety is worth, harmonizes some with the weak resources of the factories, that ashamed multicoloured paintings inflict of all shares to the provincial churches by the hordes, unceasingly reappearing, of the plasterers Piedmontese and lombards.

All this decoration is made with softening, process which is equipped with a sufficient solidity when it is bracket under good conditions.

The districts of the vaults are painted in white with partitions of brown red (pl. v).

The veins, has their higher end close to the keystone, are decorees, over a width of 0m, 6o, of a ribbon rolls up or alternate eunuch flute, red and blue, and borders of a white net; the acute edge between the two tori of the vein is painted in green; the throat in red and the moulding in blue. From this ribbon to the console, the acute edge becomes red; it is the same of the edge of the arc beam, but this one does not have a ribbon at the top.

I have draw the most complete console, it preserves obvious traces of colouring in red, blue and yellow. I have remark no trace of gilding.

All the vertical walls are decorate with partitions. I have note two times.

Oldest is a kind of fresco on a mortar of lime and of clay bricks, which one finds on the same territory of the Hospital; it is of a yellow tone sinks a little made green, with partitions in white. These partitions are broad from 0m, 35 and tops of 0m, 13.

Most recent is a lime ocree paint with partitions in brown red. The partitions are much larger: 0m, 6o on 0m, 24.

The windows are bordered of a broad net of brown red of 0m, 2o broad, which forms archivolt and framing. the splaying of the windows preserves partitions in brown red on white zone.

Such is this ornamentation, allowed the smallest purses and easy in the places most deprived of intelligent workmen.

General sight of the site

The agricultural farm buildings are many and vast, and were not modify outside since the suppression about Malta. The northern pinion of the one of them is supported by two buttresses of XIIIe century. The building which was used for the dwelling of the knights occupies dimensions it Eastern of a large rectangular court; its construction dates from XVIe century. There is only one window with warhead in accodance, but one sees several bays with mullions in cross and mouldings of XVIe century. The screw of the staircase is pratiquee in a projecting tower on the Western frontage: this tower is square since the ground until the height of five bills of quantities and becomes octogonal has this height. The roof east supports by corbels or modillons without character; the base of the tower is out of sandstone; the upper part is built with cords of bricks and stony beds alternate meuliere, about unknown system of construction in this part of the Brie, or the brick, of an high price, is seldom employed. The interior of this building is deprived of any character of architecture.

Under a barn placee at the opposite end of the court, one still finds the beautiful caveaux one of a very-regular construction; one is barrel vault; the other, squares, has semi-circular vaults carried in the center by a column squat and without base, but equipped with a capital whose round basket is surmontee, for the angles of the trencher, of hooks in the shape of heads of imagination which go back obviously to the beginning of. XIIIe century.

The Hospital, as in the majority of the monuments of feudal times, the local tradition ensures that an underground conduit established a communication between the dwelling of Templiers and the place of the Walk of Coulommiers. The gloses do not miss, one thinks it well, but no trace comes to support the popular belief. Initially, the difference in level between the plate of the Hospital and ground of the east city of at least 80 bills of quantities; then, the distance is not less of two kilometers; at most could one admit that an exit emerged in the countryside with the first declivities of the hill. However the current owner of the farm has me affirms that it had penetrates rather front in this conduit, but that it had not been able to supplement the recognition, because the lights die out has certain depth without one being able to revive them. At the time of an epizooty which reigned in the farm, there is about thirty years, the corpses of the animals were thrown in great number in this vault, whose opening was immediately filled with ground.

Another tale, which hardly any more does not find the credulous ones, but which can like the collectors of legends, fact of this underground the theatre of dramas horripilants. According to the storytellers of the close hamlets, the door of this passage was stone, narrow, and opened in the church only second Sunday before Easter. Great indulgences were accordees with the daring one which, that day, dared to undertake the voyage, outward journey and return, of the Hospital at the city; but it was necessary that this voyage was accomplished throughout reading of the Gospel of Passion. If it were of return only after the completion of the holy text, the stone door turned on its hinges with the speed of the flash, and was closed again irrevocably on the imprudent one, which disappeared for always. Under wouldn't the absurdity of this tale, be there a memory of cruelties, etc, imputees in Templiers?

The vault of the Hospital is parallel to built the southernmost side of the principal residence; the apse is turned towards the East of equinox. This church presents an elegant specimen of the monastic architecture to XIIIe century: it is a right-angled of 21m, 20 length, of 6m, 72 of width, in work, and high parallelogram under the vault of 11 bills of quantities. The building is divided in four about equal spans and enlightened of each dimension by four high ogival windows; the apse square and is lit by three windows or ogival triplet.

The low parts of the walls and the buttresses, in all their height, are built out of sandstone, as are in this region almost all the religious buildings of the Middle Ages; the high parts are out of stone meuliere with chains of gressery and stones of size. The frame is beautiful and solid; in the center, one finds the fulcrums of an arrow destroyed after the revolution of 1789.

The arcs beams and the veins of the vaults are compose of two tori with acute edge and fall down on consoles having trenchers has four dimension (half of an octagone). The consoles of the four angles of the vault represent human heads; the others are terminees by sheets has hooks and of the indigenous flowers. These consoles, very firmly taillees, are out of stone of Vareddes, close to Meaux.

The main entrance of the vault, in the west, was precedee of a square room, with groined vaults in clotheshanger flattens, falling down on six columns and six consoles. The vault has 3m, 2o height. Two intact capitals and two others mutilate still exist: they belong at the beginning of XIIIe century. A turret, containing a staircase out of screw, flanks the northern angle of this room, become a cattle shed, and which one still names the chapter room.

The vault is completely brick carrelee of the country, but, has 4 bills of quantities approximately in front of the furnace bridge, which disappeared, at one time saw still two tomb stones of different times.

One represents a knight. Taken in exchange of a stone of sink, by a stone mason of Coulommiers, it was sciee into two and reduced a thickness of 0m, o5 has, and was to be employed has domestic uses. On my authorities, the workman wanted not to destroy it well; but it required for this conservation a sum of thirty francs, that the municipal council of Coulommiers refused clearly. I have to acquire it and to give it has one of my friends, Mr. Hermann-Leon, artist of the imperial theatre of the Op3era Comique, which preciously preserves it in its villa of Batignolles. This flagstone is very-rough, glaze of a crust hard and rough impossible has to remove.

The knight is registered in a trefoil ogival arcade, its hands are united on its chest and its feet rest on a dog seen of profile. It is vetu of a dress of meshs and a long coat; its sword hangs at the left side of its belt. Its hairstyle would deserve a study particuliere; it seems me to guess a kind of cap or barette monacale of or leave the hair roll and surrounding the nape of the neck. The field around the character east sows of eight flowers of lily, and in the higher corners of the warhead are two escutcheons carrying a cross. The inscription entiere escaped has my investigations; however I desperate step to supplement it. One only reads:

This tomb, which dates obviously from XIIIe century, carries following dimensions: length, 1m, 85; width with the head, 0m, 98; width with the feet, 0m, 82.

Other tomb stone, long of 1m, 8o, broad by the top from 1m, 05 and by the bottom of 0m, 7o, date of XVe century. A cross fleuronnee with its pole occupies all its length; it is gravee in relief with a remarkable precision. Under the arms of the cross two similar escutcheons are seen has those announce on the preceding flagstone; but here the districts of the ECU or cantons carry crawling lions, I believe. The inscription, in Gothic characters, is very readable, except for the line of the lower part, who is brisee and rough:

Cy gist humble monk as a God, Bold Simon brother co.mendor of ceans. of Bibertost and temple of Passi which lon time remained in Grind and was soubs prior of leglise conventual place which trespassa lan of gracc millet cccc. xx of the month of etc. Request God for etc. trespassez. Nud. revermr iluc.

I would not dare to certify the reading of these last three words. The name of the month and the day of the month day of this month were never serious. Biberlost, today Biberleult, of which it is question here, is a firm neighbor of the commandery of House-New and who depended on it. I hoped to save this tomb as easily as the first; but a new tenant of the farm of the Hospital has imagines to make the hearth of the chimney of it and to bury it half under a partition has.

Source: Bulletin of the Committee of the language, the history and arts of France in 1856.

Closes the hospital, former commandery of the Knights Templar
(Closes the hospital, former commandery of the Knights Templar, coulommiers)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Closes the hospital, former commandery of the Knights Templar, « Closes the hospital, former commandery of the Knights Templar » is a construction of the city of Coulommiers (France, Seine et marne). Closes the hospital, former commandery of the Knights Templar, French Heritage monument to Coulommiers coulommiers, seine et marne

Location and general information

  • identifier : 125381
  • item : Ferme de l' Hôpital, ancienne commanderie des Templiers
  • Location of the building :
    • Ile-de-France
    • Seine-et-Marne
    • Coulommiers
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 77131
  • Zip code of the municipality : 77120
  • Order in the communal list : 3
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : Commandery
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 2 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 13th century
    • 14th century
  • Date of protection : 1994/02/10 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/06/24

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • The decor consists of 'painting'
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : Inscription 15 01 1932 (arrêté) annulée. Instance de classement : 05 10 1949.
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :6 parts of the building are subject to protection and are listed as follows :
    • chapel
    • room
    • farm
    • barn
    • chapter house
    • tithe barn
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • This building has been assigned the following use : Paper Museum

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : owned by the 1992 municipality
  • Picture : 0a8ee11b0697ee8f6da9f68be9f5f86c.jpg
  • Details : Ferme de l' Hôpital (cad. AN 223) : classement par arrêté du 10 février 1994
  • Mérimée reference : PA00086906

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Closes the hospital, former commandery of the Knights Templar, French Heritage monument to Coulommiers. Picture of Daniel Pelletier
Ferme de l' Hôpital, ancienne commanderie des Templiers, coulommiers
Contact contributor with his mail for more information.


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Ferme de l'Hôpital, ancienne commanderie des Templiers à Coulommiers

Les Templiers s'établirent à Coulommiers, au commencement du XIIe siècle. Thibault, comte de Champagne, leur donna différents biens, et entre autres le château de Montbillard ou Monlbaillard, situé au sommet de la montagne au nord de la ville. On prétend que cette forteresse existait sous les rois de la seconde race; qu'elle a été détruite, et qu'une grange l'a remplacée. Lorsque l'ordre des Templiers fut anéanti, on sait que les chevaliers de Malte héritèrent d'une portion de leurs domaines : celui-ci prit le nom d'hôpital, qu'il a toujours conservé depuis. La commanderie fut ensuite transférée à la Maison-Neuve qui n'est plus aujourd'hui qu'une ferme.

Avant la révolution, Coulommiers était le siège d'une élection, d'une subdélégation, d'un baillage qui ressortissait nullement au parlement de Paris, d'une maîtrise particulière des eaux et forêts, et d'une commanderie de Malte (ndw : Au commencement du XIVe siècle (1311), le pape abolit l'ordre des Templiers et donna leurs biens aux chevaliers hospitaliers de Saint-Jean-de-Jérusalem. depuis appelés chevaliers de Malte), l'une des quatre qui existaient dans le diocèse de Meaux; il est aujourd'hui le chef-lieu d'un arrondissement de sous-préfecture, d'un chef-lieu de canton, le siège d'un tribunal de première instance, d'une lieutenance et d'une brigade de gendarmerie.

Source : Histoire topographique, politique, physique et statistique du département de ... par E H Félix Pascal 1936.

Décoration et ornementation

Bien qu'elle serve de grange à fourrages depuis plus d'un siècle, la chapelle de l'Hôpital est dans un excellent état de conservation. Elle était entièrement peinte, et ce système de décoration, dont il est possible de constater encore l'élégante simplicité et la parfaite harmonie, me semble un excellent modèle à offrir pour la restauration de nos églises rurales du XIIIe siècle. Mieux vaut assurément cette sobriété , en harmonie avec les chétives ressources des fabriques, que les honteux peinturages multicolores infligés de toutes parts aux églises provinciales par les hordes, sans cesse renaissantes, des plâtriers piémontais et lombards.

Toute cette décoration est faite à la détrempe, procédé qui est pourvu d'une suffisante solidité quand il est appliqué dans de bonnes conditions.

Les quartiers des voûtes sont peints en blanc avec des refends de brun rouge (pl. v).

Les nervures, à leur extrémité supérieure près de la clef de voûte, sónt décorées, sur une largeur de 0m,6o, d'un ruban enroulé ou mirliton, rouge et bleu alternés, et bordé d'un filet blanc; l'arête aiguë entre les deux tores de la nervure est peinte en vert; la gorge en rouge et la moulure en bleu. A partir de ce ruban jusqu'à la console, l'arête aiguë devient rouge; il en est de même de l'arête de l'arc doubleau, mais celui-ci n'a pas de ruban au sommet.

J'ai dessiné la console la plus complète, elle conserve des traces évidentes de coloration en rouge, bleu et jaune. Je n'ai remarqué aucune trace de dorure.

Tous les murs verticaux sont décorés de refends. J'ai constaté deux époques.

La plus ancienne est une sorte de fresque sur un mortier de chaux et de terre à briques, qu'on trouve sur le territoire même de l'Hôpital; elle est d'un ton jaune foncé un peu verdi, avec refends en blanc. Ces refends sont larges de 0m,35 et hauts de 0m,13.

La plus récente est un badigeon de chaux ocrée avec refends en brun rouge. Les refends sont beaucoup plus grands : 0m,6o sur 0m,24.

Les fenêtres sont bordées d'un large filet de brun rouge de 0m,2o de large, qui forme archivolte et encadrement. l'ébrasement des fenêtres conserve des refends en brun rouge sur fond blanc.

Telle est cette ornementation, permise aux plus petites bourses et facile dans les lieux les plus dépourvus d'ouvriers intelligents.

Vue générale du site

Les bâtiments d'exploitation agricole sont nombreux et vastes, et n'ont point été modifiés extérieurement depuis la suppression de l'ordre de Malte. Le pignon nord de l'un d'eux est soutenu par deux contre-forts du XIIIe siècle. Le bâtiment qui servait à l'habitation des chevaliers occupe le côté oriental d'une grande cour rectangulaire; sa construction date du XVIe siècle. Il n'y a qu'une fenêtre avec ogive en accolade, mais on voit plusieurs baies avec des meneaux en croix et des moulures du XVIe siècle. La vis de l'escalier est pratiquée dans une tour en saillie sur la façade occidentale : cette tour est carrée depuis le sol jusqu'à la hauteur de cinq mètres et devient octogone à cette hauteur. Le toit est supporté par des corbeaux ou modillons sans caractère; la base de la tour est en grès; la partie supérieure est bâtie avec des cordons de briques et des lits de pierre meulière alternés, système de construction à peu près inconnu dans cette partie de la Brie, où la brique, d'un prix élevé, est rarement employée. L'intérieur de ce bâtiment est dépourvu de tout caractère d'architecture.

Sous une grange placée à l'extrémité opposée de la cour, on trouve encore de beaux caveaux d'une construction très-régulière; l'un est voûté en berceau; l'autre, carré, a des voûtes en plein cintre portées au centre par une colonne trapue et sans base, mais pourvue d'un chapiteau dont la corbeille ronde est surmontée, aux angles du tailloir, de crochets en forme de têtes de fantaisie qui remontent évidemment au commencement du. XIIIe siècle.

A l'Hôpital, comme dans la plupart des monuments des temps féodaux, la tradition locale assure qu'un conduit souterrain établissait une communication entre l'habitation des Templiers et la place du Marché de Coulommiers. Les gloses ne manquent pas, on le pense bien, mais aucune trace ne vient appuyer la croyance populaire. D'abord, la différence de niveau entre le plateau de l'Hôpital et le sol de la ville est d'au moins 80 mètres; puis, la distance n'est pas moindre de deux kilomètres; tout au plus pourrait-on admettre qu'une sortie débouchait dans la campagne aux premières déclivités de la colline. Toutefois le propriétaire actuel de la ferme m'a affirmé qu'il avait pénétré assez avant dans ce conduit, mais qu'il n'avait pu compléter la reconnaissance, parce que les lumières s'éteignent à certaine profondeur sans qu'on puisse les ranimer. Lors d'une épizootie qui régna dans la ferme, il y a une trentaine d'années, les cadavres des animaux furent jetés en grand nombre dans ce caveau, dont l'orifice fut immédiatement rempli de terre.

Un autre conte, qui ne trouve plus guère de crédules, mais qui peut plaire aux collectionneurs de légendes, fait de ce souterrain le théâtre de drames horripilants. Selon les conteurs des hameaux voisins, la porte de ce passage était de pierre, étroite, et ne s'ouvrait dans l'église que le deuxième dimanche avant Pâques. De grandes indulgences étaient accordées à l'audacieux qui, ce jour-la, osait entreprendre le voyage, aller et retour, de l'Hôpital à la ville; mais il fallait que ce voyage fût accompli pendant la durée de la lecture de l'évangile de la Passion. S'il n'était de retour qu'après l'achèvement du texte saint, la porte de pierre tournait sur ses gonds avec la rapidité de l'éclair, et se refermait irrévocablement sur l'imprudent, qui disparaissait pour toujours. Sous l'absurde de ce conte, n'y aurait-il pas un souvenir des cruautés, etc., imputées aux Templiers ?

La chapelle de l'Hôpital est construite parallèlement au flanc méridional de l'habitation principale ; l'abside est tournée vers l'orient d'équinoxe. Cette église présente un élégant spécimen de l'architecture monastique au XIIIe siècle : c'est un parallélogramme rectangle de 21m,20 de longueur, de 6m,72 de largeur, dans œuvre, et élevé sous la voûte de 11 mètres. L'édifice est divisé en quatre travées à peu près égales et éclairé de chaque côté par quatre hautes fenêtres ogivales; l'abside est carrée et éclairée par trois fenêtres ou triplet ogival.

Les parties basses des murs et les contre-forts, dans toute leur hauteur, sont bâtis en grès, comme sont en cette contrée presque tous les édifices religieux du moyen âge; les parties élevées sont en pierre meulière avec des chaînes de gresserie et de pierres de taille. La charpente est belle et solide; au centre, on retrouve les points d'appui d'une flèche détruite après la révolution de 1789.

Les arcs doubleaux et les nervures des voûtes sont composés de deux tores avec arête aiguë et retombent sur des consoles ayant des tailloirs à quatre côté (moitié d'un octogone). Les consoles des quatre angles de la chapelle représentent des têtes humaines; les autres sont terminées par des feuilles a crochets et des fleurs indigènes. Ces consoles, très fermement taillées, sont en pierre de Vareddes, près de Meaux.

L'entrée principale de la chapelle, à l'ouest, était précédée d'une salle carrée, avec voûtes d'arête en cintre surbaissé, retombant sur six colonnes et six consoles. La voûte a 3m,2o de hauteur. Deux chapiteaux intacts et deux autres mutilés existent encore : ils appartiennent au commencement du XIIIe siècle. Une tourelle, contenant un escalier en vis, flanque l'angle nord de cette salle, devenue une étable, et qu'on nomme encore la salle du chapitre.

La chapelle est complètement carrelée en briques du pays, mais, à 4 mètres environ en avant de l'autel, qui a disparu, se voyaient naguère encore deux pierres tombales d'époques différentes.

L'une représente un chevalier. Prise en échange d'une pierre d'évier, par un tailleur de pierres de Coulommiers, elle fut sciée en deux et réduite à une épaisseur de 0m,o5, et devait être employée à des usages domestiques. Sur mes instances, l'ouvrier voulut bien ne pas la détruire; mais il exigeait pour cette conservation une somme de trente francs, que le conseil municipal de Coulommiers refusa nettement. J'ai dû l'acquérir et la donner à un de mes amis, M. Hermann-Léon, artiste du théâtre impérial de l'Opéra-Comique, qui la conserve précieusement dans sa villa de Batignolles. Cette dalle est très-fruste, couverte d'une croûte dure et raboteuse impossible à enlever.

Le chevalier est inscrit dans une arcade ogivale trilobée, ses mains sont jointes sur sa poitrine et ses pieds reposent sur un chien vu de profil. Il est vêtu d'un habit de mailles et d'une cotte longue; son épée pend au côté gauche de sa ceinture. Sa coiffure mériterait une étude particulière; il me semble deviner une sorte de calotte ou barette monacale d'où sortent les cheveux roulés et entourant la nuque. Le champ autour du personnage est semé de huit fleurs de lis, et dans les coins supérieurs de l'ogive sont deux écussons portant une croix. L'inscription entière échappe à mes investigations; cependant je ne désespère pas de la compléter. On lit seulement :

Cette tombe, qui date évidemment du XIIIe siècle, porte les dimensions suivantes : longueur, 1m,85; largeur à la tête, 0m,98; largeur aux pieds, 0m,82.

L'autre pierre tombale, longue de 1m,8o, large par le haut de 1m,05 et par le bas de 0m,7o, date du XVe siècle. Une croix fleuronnée avec sa hampe occupe toute sa longueur; elle est gravée en relief avec une remarquable précision. Sous les bras de la croix se voient deux écussons semblables à ceux signalés sur la dalle précédente; mais ici les quartiers de l'écu ou cantons portent des lions rampants, je crois. L'inscription, en caractères gothiques, est très lisible, à l'exception de la ligne de la partie inférieure, qui est brisée et fruste :

"Cy gist humble religieux en Dieu, frère Simon Hardi co.mendeur de céans. de Bibertost et du temple de Passi qui lon temps demeura en Rodes et fut soubs prieur de leglise conventual du lieu lequel trespassa lan de gracc mil cccc. xx le du mois de ..... Priez Dieu pour ..... trespassez. Nud.. revermr iluc."

Je n'oserais certifier la lecture de ces trois derniers mots. Le nom du mois et le quantième jour de ce mois n'ont jamais été gravés. Biberlost, aujourd'hui Biberleult, dont il est ici question, est une ferme voisine de la commanderie de Maison-Neuve et qui en dépendait. J'espérais sauver cette tombe aussi facilement que la première; mais un locataire nouveau de la ferme de l'Hôpital a imaginé d'en faire le foyer de la cheminée et de l'ensevelir à moitié sous une cloison.

Source : Bulletin du Comité de la langue, de l'histoire et des arts de la France en 1856.

Ferme de l'Hôpital, ancienne commanderie des Templiers à Coulommiers
(Ferme de l' Hôpital, ancienne commanderie des Templiers, coulommiers)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Ferme de l' Hôpital, ancienne commanderie des Templiers, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Ferme de l' Hôpital, ancienne commanderie des Templiers' à coulommiers (seine et marne 77120). Hôpital fondé en 1128 par les Templiers, occupé ensuite par les Hospitaliers de Saint-Jean-de-Jerusalem. coulommiers, seine et marne

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 125381
  • item : Ferme de l' Hôpital, ancienne commanderie des Templiers
  • Localisation :
    • Ile-de-France
    • Seine-et-Marne
    • Coulommiers
  • Code INSEE commune : 77131
  • Code postal de la commune : 77120
  • Ordre dans la liste : 3
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : commanderie
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 2 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 13e siècle
    • 14e siècle
  • Date de protection : 1994/02/10 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/06/24

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • Le décor est composé de : 'peinture'
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : Inscription 15 01 1932 (arrêté) annulée. Instance de classement : 05 10 1949.
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :6 éléments font l'objet d'une protection dans cette construction :
    • chapelle
    • salle
    • ferme
    • grange
    • salle capitulaire
    • grange aux dîmes
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • Cette construction a été affectée a l'usage de : musée du papier

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune 1992
  • Photo : 0a8ee11b0697ee8f6da9f68be9f5f86c.jpg
  • Détails : Ferme de l' Hôpital (cad. AN 223) : classement par arrêté du 10 février 1994
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00086906

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Ferme de l'Hôpital, ancienne commanderie des Templiers à Coulommiers. par Daniel Pelletier
Ferme de l' Hôpital, ancienne commanderie des Templiers, coulommiers
Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.