Castle said Castle Naillac, French Heritage monument to Le blanc

'' Naillac and the White, says Mr. Grillon of the Vaults, in its note on Philibert de Naillac, are two names if get mixed up, that they merge. It had side by side perhaps there a castle of Naillac and a castle of the White. ''

The simultaneous existence of these two castles is not any doubt. They have, in any time, summer so distinct, that one always carried the name of Castle of the High-Turns or the Keep and the other that of Castle of Naillac. The first always raised of the tower of Maubergeon, has Poitiers; the second of the barons de Chateauroux. Although they were locate on the same slope, side by side, separated by a simple throat, it would be difficult to say why, all the left bank of Hollow belonging to Poitou from which it was the limit, this small portion of the slope on which the castle of Naillac rose made exception.

The lords of Naillac and their successors always have carries the title of lords of the White. So it would not have any to be concluded that the two castles and same that of Bordes always belonged to the same owner, and that Naillac were only lords of the White. Far from, the castle of the High-Turns remained during centuries a property particuliere, independent of that of Naillac, and its owners carried at the same time as they titrates it lords of the White. Thus Guenant II, before 1350, had the castle of the High-Turns and was entitled lord of Bordes in Touraine, of the Keep of the White. Guy V of Trimouille, took the same title after his marriage with the girl of Guenant which brought to him in dowry the castle of the Keep and its dependences. It is only at the sixteenth century, has one time that we could not determine, that these two properties were joined together in only one.

The name of Naillac gives to the castle of the White comes from that which its founders carried. The Hugues had borrows theirs from the borough of Naillac, locates on the limits of Walk and the Limousin, or they had a residence seigneuriale. In the division of the general information of Bourges, in twenty-four districts, this borough belonged to that of the Underground one.

This castle consists today of three bodies of buildings, built reprocesses the ones of them on the others; two of them, in the form of square towers or houses, rise at the two ends of a construction central, today without character and built on old bases. The house was used a long time as prison and by nettings out of iron which are remainders seal in the stones of the openings, it still carries the seal of a similar destination. Protect from the dimension of the river by the slope, this castle was, of the three other dimensions, surrounds by high walls flanquees of turns which circumscribed, of the remainder, an enclosure enough bornee. It had of entry only close to the church of Saint-Cyran; because the current opening and the iron grid of the dimension of the Fairground hardly do not go back but to one forty years approximately. The visitor can easily have today an idea of what was formerly the castle of Naillac, because excludes some appendices with the castle, all the walls enclosing with their turns were respect.

The castle of Naillac is the only one which was preserves; but it is far from being arrives intact to us. The body of the central home contrasts singularly with the architecture of the two houses. The openings are very of our time; as for interior repairs and distributions, everyone knows that they were made by the last owners. The house east is intact remainder. As for that of the west, one sees clearly that it was taken again above the openings of the first stage and that those of the second stage have a very modern form. The windows cintrees of the first stage are symmetrically laid out as those of the house opposes. Though farms partly, the clotheshangers remain perfectly draw above the masonry established in the embrasure.

Remainder, here the description which makes of the castle of Naillac Nicolas de Nicolai, at the sixteenth century.

'' Into icelle chastellenie (of Naillac), has there chasteau and quite tenantable house, accompagnee of bassecourt, play of paulme, well, fuye, and a garden, plus a gross square tower, uniting in inside the walls and pits of the dict chasteau, appelee the Tower of Naillac, in which has there four rooms and a storeroom; the strong whole ruins and discovered. ''

It is seen, according to this description, that Nicolas had not seen the White. Or were these pits about which he speaks? Or was this gross square tower? Dimension of midday, in the interior of the enclosure, it presents two turns: one in the east, stronger, which seems to us to date from the construction of the castle; the other, smaller, and which appears to us one time more rapprochee us. In each one of them a winding staircase circulates which leads on the various floors. Although the castle was restores and made convenient and livable by the interior distributions, however there is not hardly but the central main building which underwent great modifications; the two houses have preserve their distribution primitive. Apart from the two houses, existed other constructions which disappeared.

In those of the east the audiences were held for a long time, and of the name of Place of the Audience which carried the current fairground; in that of the west was the vault of the castle. Have reflective with the existence simultaneous and independent of the castle of the High-Turns and that of Naillac, one is door naturally has to wonder which reasons could engage Naillac has to build theirs dimensions that of HautesTours concurrently to? But one cannot deliver oneself, in this respect, that has of the conjectures, because no document enables us to answer has this question.

It is certainly not in the intention to raise power against power, because never competition, which one knows, did not emerge between the close lords. It is almost certain that when the last east is built, the first was completely deposed of its size and its importance, and that it was nothing any more but one simple property with its dependences, and all the seigneuriaux rights which were fasteners there, properties from which the owners came hardly them same touch the incomes; that Naillac, considerable family of our countries, confinee hitherto in Naillac and Gargilesse, became, by alliances or acquisitions, owners in our locality; and that the beauties of the site engagerent them has to build a residence there on the slope of the White. By remembering ignorance in which the characters of these times lived, one would be mistaken coarsely if one induced of it an absolute lack of taste and a complete insensitivity to the beauty of the landscapes, with the magnificence in the prospects.

The choice of the sites makes by the first lords to sit their feudal residences, would be to attest that ignorance forever does not remove the feeling of beautiful to them. Naillac, of the remainder, were not ordinary men, a rather great number of the members of this family have occupies the most raised employment.

Philibert de Naillac is one of the beautiful figures of our history. We should not thus only astonish us, striking of the delicious table which is held under the eyes the top of the slope City-High of the White, one of them chose to establish its residence there. It is not more, indeed, as has Chateaubrun, of which they were the lords; it is not any more, say I, this rough nature, herissee of rocks and coupee of ravines, nor this countryside dechiree by the torrents; this imposing sight of naked mountains whose summits are lost in the horizon, nor this widespread colour grisatre from all point of view; here, nature softened: it is a river running peacefully in a small valley between two always green banks, in the shade of the ells and the poplars; they are covered wood slopes, vines, harvests; the eye rests everywhere on green carpets, on fields in culture, the colours gently moderate of the foliage of wood. Sometimes the sight is abruptly arretee by the hills which draw and limit the small valley, sometimes the glance will be lost with far in its sinuous contours. It is top of the slope which it is necessary to go to contemplate this laughing perspective that our feather could not describe.

As for the shape of fortress given has this simple residence seigneuriale, it is not either to oppose to the close castle turn against turn, wall against wall. Let us recall that at that time least construction than a lord raised for his own stay, it always covered it form which could impose some has its vassal or make recognize its superiority and its sovereignty in the place. When all the small quarrels of lord has small landed proprietor were about terminees, and that there did not need more harrow, drawbridge and turns to defend the entry of their manors, the lords conserverent a long time still the habits of similar constructions, and continuerent has to be locked up in an appearance of fortress. Well certainly the castle of Naillac rather has the aspect of a residence seigneuriale that of a true fortress.

The history of the castle of Naillac and that of the High-Turns could not be other than that of the lords who have them successively have; to make the history of these lords, it is thus to write that of the castles, city-same and the surroundings.

Source: History of the White and its surroundings Per Constantin Gaudon in 1868.

Castle said Castle Naillac
Crédit photo : (Castle said Castle Naillac, le blanc)


Reported to be remarkable heritage of quality.

Structural information

Castle said Castle Naillac, The two towers are covered pavilion roofs; they have two square floors served by stairs screw off-work; the West Tower has a basement vaulted cradle basket; (...) Castle said Castle Naillac, French Heritage monument to Le blanc le blanc, indre

Location and general information

  • identifier : 62878
  • item : château fort dit château Naillac
  • Location of the building :
    • Indre
    • Le Blanc
  • Place name : Ville-Haute
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 36018
  • Zip code of the municipality : 36300
  • Order in the communal list : 15
  • Name of the building : The building is designated by the following 3 names :
    • castle
    • strong
    • castle
  • State :
    • current state of the monument : restored

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 4 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 12th century
    • 15th century
    • 18th century
    • First half 18th century
  • Investigation : 1991
  • Date of protection : 1986/09/17 : inscrit MH
  • Date taken into account : 2003/11/26

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials: 4 elements are used in the main structure of the building.
    • limestone
    • rubble
    • coating
    • partial coating
  • Roofing : Coverage of this building is varied there are 6 different types :
    • roof with long tails
    • pavilion roof
    • shed
    • conical roof
    • lean massaged
    • roof
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • the main material of this building is flat tile
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • A mode of coverage listed 'barrel vault-handle-to-cart'
  • Floors : 2 type of floors in this manual :
    • basement
    • 2 storey square
  • Stairs : 5 types of stairs have been cataloged in this monument, stairs are of type :
    • spiral staircase
    • masonry
    • spiral staircase without a day
    • stairs in work-
    • staircase off-work
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas : 4 distinct parts in the constitution of this place :
    • well
    • pregnant
    • church
    • keep
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use : This building has been used in different ways over time. We know 2 successive uses. :
    • school
    • museum

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : public property
  • Author of the survey MH : Réau Marie-Thérèse
  • Mérimée reference : IA36000121

The complete official record is available at Conseil régional du Centre - Service chargé de l'inventaire6, rue de la Manufacture 45000 Orléans - 02.38.78.85.21

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de JOJO 4/9 est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description of this building by JOJO 4/9 :

Château-Naillac, vu depuis les bords de la Creuse, en ville basse du BLANC (Indre).

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Castle said Castle Naillac, French Heritage monument to Le blanc. Picture of JOJO 4 9
château fort dit château Naillac, le blanc
Description of this building by JOJO 4 9 :

Le Château-Naillac et l'église St-Cyran, en ville haute, au BLANC (Indre).

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

château fort dit château Naillac à Le blanc

« Naillac et Le Blanc, dit M. Grillon des Chapelles, dans sa notice sur Philibert de Naillac, sont deux noms si emmêlés, qu'ils se confondent. Peut-être y a-t-il eu côte à côte un château de Naillac et un château du Blanc. »

L'existence simultanée de ces deux châteaux ne fait aucun doute. Ils ont, en tout temps, été si distincts, que l'un porta toujours le nom de Château des Hautes-Tours ou du Donjon et l'autre celui de Château de Naillac. Le premier releva toujours de la tour de Maubergeon, à Poitiers; le second des barons de Châteauroux. Bien qu'ils fussent situés sur le même coteau, côte à côte, séparés par une simple gorge, il serait difficile de dire pourquoi, toute la rive gauche de la Creuse appartenant au Poitou dont elle était la limite, cette petite partie du coteau sur laquelle s'élevait le château de Naillac faisait exception.

Les seigneurs de Naillac et leurs successeurs ont toujours porté le titre de seigneurs du Blanc. De ce fait, il n'en faudrait pas conclure que les deux châteaux et même celui des Bordes aient toujours appartenu au même propriétaire, et que les Naillac aient été seuls seigneurs du Blanc. Loin de là, le château des Hautes-Tours resta pendant des siècles une propriété particulière, indépendante de celle des Naillac, et ses possesseurs portaient en même temps qu'eux le titre de seigneurs du Blanc. Ainsi Guenant II, avant 1350, possédait le château des Hautes-Tours et s'intitulait seigneur des Bordes en Touraine, du Donjon du Blanc. Guy V de La Trimouille, prit le même titre après son mariage avec la fille de Guenant qui lui apporta en dot le château du Donjon et ses dépendances. Ce n'est qu'au seizième siècle, à une époque que nous ne pourrions déterminer, que ces deux propriétés ont été réunies en une seule.

Le nom de Naillac donné au château du Blanc vient de celui que portaient ses fondateurs. Les Hugues avaient emprunté le leur au bourg de Naillac, situé sur les limites de la Marche et du Limousin, où ils avaient une résidence seigneuriale. Dans la division de la généralité de Bourges, en vingt-quatre arrondissements, ce bourg faisait partie de celui de la Souterraine.

Ce château consiste aujourd'hui en trois corps de bâtiments, bâtis en retraite les uns sur les autres; deux d'entre eux, sous forme de tours carrées ou pavillons, s'élèvent aux deux extrémités d'une construction centrale, aujourd'hui sans caractère et bâtie sur d'anciens fondements. Le pavillon est a longtemps servi de prison et par les grillages en fer qui sont restés scellés dans les pierres des ouvertures, il porte encore le cachet d'une pareille destination. Protégé du côté de la rivière par le coteau, ce château était, des trois autres côtés, entouré de hautes murailles flanquées de tours qui circonscrivaient, du reste, une enceinte assez bornée. Il n'avait d'entrée que près de l'église de Saint-Cyran; car l'ouverture actuelle et la grille en fer du côté du Champ de Foire ne datent guère que d'une quarantaine d'années environ. Le visiteur peut facilement se faire aujourd'hui une idée de ce qu'était jadis le château de Naillac, car excepté quelques annexes au château, tous les murs d'enceinte avec leurs tours ont été respectés.

Le château de Naillac est le seul qui ait été conservé; mais il est loin d'être arrivé intact jusqu'à nous. Le corps du logis central contraste singulièrement avec l'architecture des deux pavillons. Les ouvertures sont toutes de notre temps; quant aux réparations et distributions intérieures, tout le monde sait qu'elles ont été faites par les derniers possesseurs. Le pavillon est est resté intact. Quant à celui de l'ouest, on voit clairement qu'il a été repris au-dessus des ouvertures du premier étage et que celles du deuxième étage ont une forme toute moderne. Les fenêtres cintrées du premier étage sont symétriquement disposées comme celles du pavillon opposé. Quoique fermés en partie, les cintres restent parfaitement dessinés au-dessus de la maçonnerie établie dans l'embrasure.

Du reste, voici la description que fait du château de Naillac Nicolas de Nicolaï, au seizième siècle.

«En icelle chastellenie (de Naillac), y a chasteau et maison bien logeable, accompagnée de bassecourt, jeu de paulme, puits, fuye, et un jardin, plus une grosse tour carrée, joignant en dedans les murailles et fossés du dict chasteau, appelée la Tour de Naillac, en laquelle y a quatre chambres et un cellier; le tout fort ruiné et découvert. »

On voit, d'après cette description, que Nicolas n'avait pas vu Le Blanc. Où étaient ces fossés dont il parle ? Où était cette grosse tour carrée ? Du côté du midi, dans l'intérieur de l'enclos, il présente deux tours : l'une à l'est, plus forte, qui nous semble dater de la construction du château ; l'autre, plus petite, et qui nous paraît d'une époque plus rapprochée de nous. Dans chacune d'elles circule un escalier tournant qui conduit aux différents étages. Bien que le château ait été restauré et rendu commode et habitable par les distributions intérieures, cependant il n'y a guère que le corps de logis central qui ait subi de grandes modifications; les deux pavillons ont conservé leur distribution primitive. En dehors des deux pavillons, existaient d'autres constructions qui ont disparu.

Dans celles de l'est se sont tenues pendant longtemps les audiences, et de là le nom de Place de l'Auditoire que portait le champ de Foire actuel; dans celle de l'ouest était la chapelle du château. Eu réfléchissant à l'existence simultanée et indépendante du château des Hautes-Tours et de celui de Naillac, on est porté naturellement à se demander quels motifs ont pu engager les Naillac à construire le leur côte à côte de celui des HautesTours ? Mais on ne peut se livrer, à cet égard, qu'à des conjectures, car aucun document ne nous permet de répondre à cette question.

Ce n'est certes pas dans l'intention d'élever puissance contre puissance, car jamais rivalité, que l'on sache, n'a surgi entre les seigneurs voisins. Il est presque certain que lorsque le dernier s'est édifié, le premier était complétement déchu de sa grandeur et de son importance, et qu'il n'était plus qu'une simple propriété avec ses dépendances, et tous les droits seigneuriaux qui y étaient attachés, propriétés dont les possesseurs venaient à peine eux mêmes toucher les revenus; que les Naillac, famille considérable de nos pays, confinée jusqu'alors dans Naillac et Gargilesse, devinrent, par des alliances ou des acquisitions, propriétaires dans notre localité; et que les beautés du site les engagèrent à s'y construire une résidence sur le coteau du Blanc. En se rappelant l'ignorance dans laquelle vivaient les personnages de ces temps, on se tromperait grossièrement si l'on en induisait un manque absolu de goût et une insensibilité complète à la beauté des paysages, à la magnificence des perspectives.

Le choix des sites fait par les premiers seigneurs pour asseoir leurs féodales demeures, seraient là pour attester que l'ignorance ne leur a jamais enlevé le sentiment du beau. Les Naillac, du reste, n'étaient pas des hommes ordinaires, un assez grand nombre des membres de cette famille ont occupé les emplois les plus élevés.

Philibert de Naillac est une des belles figures de notre histoire. Nous ne devons donc pas nous étonner que, frappé du délicieux tableau qui se déroule sous les yeux du haut du coteau de la Ville-Haute du Blanc, l'un d'eux l'ait choisi pour y établir sa résidence. Ce n'est plus, en effet, comme à Châteaubrun, dont ils étaient les seigneurs; ce n'est plus, dis-je, cette nature âpre, hérissée de rochers et coupée de ravins, ni cette campagne déchirée par les torrents ; cette vue grandiose de montagnes nues dont les cimes se perdent dans l'horizon, ni cette teinte grisâtre répandue dans toute la perspective; ici, la nature s'est adoucie : c'est une rivière coulant paisiblement dans un vallon entre deux rives toujours vertes, à l'ombre des aunes et des peupliers; ce sont des coteaux couverts de bois, de vignes, de moissons; l'œil repose partout sur des tapis verts, sur des champs en culture, sur les teintes doucement nuancées du feuillage des bois. Tantôt la vue se trouve brusquement arrêtée par les collines qui dessinent et limitent le vallon, tantôt le regard va se perdre au loin dans ses sinueux contours. C'est du haut du coteau qu'il faut aller contempler cette riante perspective que notre plume ne saurait décrire.

Quant à la forme de forteresse donnée à cette simple résidence seigneuriale, ce n'est pas non plus pour opposer au château voisin tour contre tour, muraille contre muraille. Rappelons nous qu'à cette époque la moindre construction qu'un seigneur élevait pour son propre séjour, il la revêtait toujours d'une forme qui pût en imposer à ses vassaux ou faire reconnaître sa supériorité et sa souveraineté dans le lieu. Lorsque toutes les petites querelles de seigneur à hobereau furent à peu près terminées, et qu'il n'y eut plus besoin de herse, de pont-levis et de tours pour défendre l'entrée de leurs manoirs, les seigneurs conservèrent longtemps encore les coutumes de semblables constructions, et continuèrent à s'enfermer dans une apparence de forteresse. Bien certainement le château de Naillac a plutôt l'aspect d'une demeure seigneuriale que d'une véritable forteresse.

L'histoire du château de Naillac et de celui des Hautes-Tours ne saurait être autre que celle des seigneurs qui les ont successivement possédés; faire l'histoire de ces seigneurs, c'est donc écrire celle des châteaux, de la ville-même et des environs.

Source : Histoire du Blanc et de ses environs Par Constantin Gaudon en 1868.

château fort dit château Naillac à Le blanc
Crédit photo : JOJO 4/9 (château fort dit château Naillac, le blanc)

bâtiment remarquable.

Informations structurelles

château fort dit château Naillac, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'château fort dit château Naillac' à le blanc (indre 36300). Ce château consiste aujourd'hui en trois corps de bâtiments, bâtis en retraite les uns sur les autres; deux d'entre eux, sous forme de tours carrées ou pavillons, s'élèvent aux deux extrémités d'une construction centrale. le blanc, indre

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 62878
  • item : château fort dit château Naillac
  • Localisation :
    • Indre
    • Le Blanc
  • Lieu dit : Ville-Haute
  • Code INSEE commune : 36018
  • Code postal de la commune : 36300
  • Ordre dans la liste : 15
  • Nom commun de la construction : 3 dénomiations sont utilisées pour définir cette construction :
    • château
    • fort
    • château fort
  • Etat :
    • Etat courrant du monument : restauré (suceptible à changement)

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 4 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 12e siècle
    • 15e siècle
    • 18e siècle
    • 1ère moitié 18e siècle
  • Enquête : 1991
  • Date de protection : 1986/09/17 : inscrit MH
  • Date de versement : 2003/11/26

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux: 4 types de matériaux composent le gros oeuvre.
    • calcaire
    • moellon
    • enduit
    • enduit partiel
  • Couverture : On remarque 6 types de couverture différents :
    • toit à longs pans
    • toit en pavillon
    • appentis
    • toit conique
    • appentis massé
    • toit
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • L'élément de couverture principal est tuile plate
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • Un mode de couvrement relevé : 'voûte en berceau en anse-de-panier'
  • Etages : 2 types d'étages mentionés :
    • sous-sol
    • 2 étages carrés
  • Escaliers : 5 types d'escaliers différents sont présent sur le site :
    • escalier en vis
    • en maçonnerie
    • escalier en vis sans jour
    • escalier dans-oeuvre
    • escalier hors-oeuvre
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes : 4 parties constituantes distinctes relevées :
    • puits
    • enceinte
    • église
    • donjon
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives : Cette construction a été affectée a différents usages au fil du temps. Nous lui connaissons 2 usages successifs :
    • école
    • écomusée

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété publique
  • Auteur de l'enquête MH : Réau Marie-Thérèse
  • Référence Mérimée : IA36000121

Le dossier complet est disponible : Conseil régional du Centre - Service chargé de l'inventaire6, rue de la Manufacture 45000 Orléans - 02.38.78.85.21

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de JOJO 4/9 est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description par JOJO 4/9 :

Château-Naillac, vu depuis les bords de la Creuse, en ville basse du BLANC (Indre).

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
château fort dit château Naillac à Le blanc. par JOJO 4 9
château fort dit château Naillac, le blanc
Description par JOJO 4 9 :

Le Château-Naillac et l'église St-Cyran, en ville haute, au BLANC (Indre).

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.