Ruins of the castle of brush, French Heritage monument to Chaillac

(etc) Without undertaking the separate history of each one of these strongholds, we will treat here only one of most famous and yet of the least known, of that of Brush. Brush, which is any more neither common, neither parish, nor section of one or other, Brosse, that one would vainly seek in the greatest number of our charts and our dictionaries, was city, and powerful city, having its monuments and its annals, and going at least of par with its equal, Chatelleraud, Aulnay and Thouars.

At the southern end of the district of the White (Indre), has approximately three kilometers small borough of Chaillac, far from the roads frayees, especially of the cross-pieces places by the railroads, high on a monticule escarpe the old woman tower of Brush. The worldwide is abrupt and severe, the accesses are difficult and tiring. A hamlet of a dozen houses hardly retained the name of Brush, and depends, in spite of its distance, of the parish of Chaillac. This hamlet is separated from the gross tower by a kind of probably artificial Retaliation, and forming a broad partly packed pit formerly. It is today the only practicable exit of the old castle.

The tower or keep, of a formidable aspect of the dimension of the houses, forms the head of the old enclosure. This one opens still rather well by an immense door conservee, surmontee of the recognizable armorial bearings of the house of Chauvigny-Brushes: seven rockets posees of fasce, surmontees of a lambel has six hanging.

The enclosure from which we come to speak, and who contains two roughly has three hectares encumber various remains, is about circular. The walls are intact and raised, partly surmount crenels and machicolation. The turns which supported them of distance in distance are, the ones visible, the others more or less ecroulees.

The keep which occupies north announces several stages superimpose and of surge lower considerable. Inside, it offers a broad open wound, by which it would be accessible, if the stairs were not entirely broken.

All this solid mass is of granite, as well as the base of the mountain on which the castle sat (It is remarkable that the granitic formation starts around Chaillac, and there too cease the dialect poitevin, which makes place with the language limousine. The limit of the two dialects is about that of two natures of ground).

Dimension of the enclosure opposed to the main entrance, reigns a new declivity; then the raised ground and presents a monticule higher than that or puts back the same castle. It is which an excavation recently pratiquee put has naked, under large blocks of stone, human bones undoubtedly come from the victims of the seat of 1369.

All this escarpment finishes a little further in chasms which go down in a throat, at the bottom of which curve two brooks whose junction bathes the headland of Brush. These was often indeed similar situations that the manufacturers of these military buildings former to the introduction of artillery sought.

With of the valleys, a sinuous and broken chain reproduces heights at least equal, if not higher than the hill of Brush. The ones are covered with thick undergrowth; others are formees naked rocks, or covered foams and lichens with the most picturesque colour. (The color grisatre of the cenomyces and the peltigeres dominates there with an extreme profusion.)

Some sections of wall external with the large enclosure indicate fortifications multiply, which bound like post offices advances to the principal citadel. The village was itself a populeux suburb, whose inhabitants found, in the event of attack, a refuge almost ensures in the citadel. Here what remains Brosse antique. Remainder, the castle itself has been entirely uninhabited for long years. The interior of the enclosure forms a park of cattle and a field of gardening and cultures. Some vineyards furnish also the sides with the slope. But the rocky part has preserve all its rusticity, its uncultivated and wild appearance.

Source: Bulletin of the Company of the antique dealers of the West in 1859.

Ruins of the castle of brush
Crédit photo : (Ruins of the castle of brush, chaillac)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Ruins of the castle of brush, « Ruins of the castle of brush » is a construction of the city of Chaillac (France, Indre). Ruins of the castle of brush, French Heritage monument to Chaillac chaillac, indre

Location and general information

  • identifier : 62940
  • item : Vestiges du château de Brosse
  • Location of the building :
    • Indre
    • Chaillac
  • Place name : Brosse ; le Château
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 36035
  • Zip code of the municipality : 36310
  • Order in the communal list : 2
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : castle
  • State :
    • current state of the monument : remains

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 3 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 10th century
    • 11th century
    • 12th century
  • Date of protection : 1935/03/11 : inscrit MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/09/14

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : property of a private person 1992
  • Details : Château de Brosse (vestiges) : inscription par arrêté du 11 mars 1935
  • Mérimée reference : PA00097290

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de Belcricri est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Ruins of the castle of brush, French Heritage monument to Chaillac. Picture of Belcricri
Vestiges du château de Brosse, chaillac
Ruins of the castle of brush, French Heritage monument to Chaillac. Picture of Belcricri
Vestiges du château de Brosse, chaillac
Ruins of the castle of brush, French Heritage monument to Chaillac. Picture of Belcricri
Vestiges du château de Brosse, chaillac

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Vestiges du château de Brosse à Chaillac

(...) Sans entreprendre l'histoire séparée de chacun de ces fiefs, nous ne traiterons ici que de l'un des plus illustres et pourtant des moins connus, de celui de Brosse. Brosse, qui n'est plus ni commune, ni paroisse, ni section de l'une ou de l'autre, Brosse, que l'on chercherait vainement dans le plus grand nombre de nos cartes et de nos dictionnaires, a été ville, et ville puissante, ayant ses monuments et ses annales, et marchant au moins de pair avec ses égales, Châtelleraud , Aulnay et Thouars.

A l'extrémité sud de l'arrondissement du Blanc (Indre), à trois kilomètres environ du petit bourg de Chaillac, loin des routes frayées, surtout des lieux traversés par les chemins de fer, s'élève sur un monticule escarpé la vieille tour de Brosse. L'ensemble du pays est abrupt et sévère, les abords sont difficiles et fatigants. Un hameau d'une douzaine de maisons à peine a retenu le nom de Brosse, et dépend, malgré son éloignement, de la paroisse de Chaillac. Ce hameau est séparé de la grosse tour par une sorte de Talion probablement artificiel, et formant autrefois un large fossé en partie comblé. C'est aujourd'hui la seule issue praticable de l'ancien château.

La tour ou donjon, d'un aspect formidable du côté des maisons, forme la tête de l'ancienne enceinte. Celle-ci s'ouvre par une immense porte encore assez bien conservée , surmontée des armoiries reconnaissables de la maison de Chauvigny-Brosse : sept fusées posées de fasce, surmontées d'un lambel à six pendants.

L'enceinte dont nous venons de parler, et qui renferme approximativement deux à trois hectares encombrés de débris divers, est à peu près circulaire. Les murs en sont intacts et élevés, surmontés en partie de créneaux et de mâchicoulis. Les tours qui les soutenaient de distance en distance sont, les unes visibles, les autres plus ou moins écroulées.

Le donjon qui occupe le nord annonce plusieurs étages superposés et des cavités inférieures considérables. A l'intérieur, il offre une large plaie béante, par laquelle il serait abordable, si les marches de l'escalier n'étaient entièrement rompues.

Tout ce massif est de granit, ainsi que la base de la montagne sur laquelle le château est assis (Il est remarquable que la formation granitique commence aux environs de Chaillac, et là aussi cesse le dialecte poitevin, qui fait place à la langue limousine. La limite des deux dialectes est à peu près celle des deux natures de sol).

Du côté de l'enceinte opposée à l'entrée principale, règne une nouvelle déclivité ; puis le terrain se relève et présente un monticule plus élevé que celui où repose le château même. C'est là qu'une excavation récemment pratiquée a mis à nu, sous de gros blocs de pierre, des ossements humains provenus sans doute des victimes du siége de 1369.

Tout cet escarpement se termine un peu plus loin en des précipices qui descendent dans une gorge, au fond de laquelle serpentent deux ruisseaux dont la jonction baigne le promontoire de Brosse. C'étaient souvent en effet des situations semblables que recherchaient les constructeurs de ces édifices militaires antérieurs à l'introduction de l'artillerie.

Au delà des vallées, une chaine sinueuse et accidentée reproduit des hauteurs au moins égales, sinon supérieures à la colline de Brosse. Les unes sont couvertes d'épaisses broussailles; d'autres sont formées de rochers nus, ou recouvertes de mousses et de lichens du coloris le plus pittoresque. (La couleur grisâtre des cénomycés et des peltigérés y domine avec une profusion extrême.)

Quelques pans de murs extérieurs à la grande enceinte dénotent des ouvrages de défense multipliés, qui se liaient comme postes avancés à la citadelle principale. Le village était lui-même un faubourg populeux, dont les habitants trouvaient, en cas d'attaque, un refuge presque assuré dans la citadelle. Voilà ce qui reste de l'antique Brosse. Du reste, le château proprement dit est entièrement inhabité depuis longues années. L'intérieur de l'enceinte forme un parc de bestiaux et un champ de jardinage et de cultures. Quelques vignobles garnissent aussi les flancs du coteau. Mais la partie rocailleuse a conservé toute sa rusticité, son apparence inculte et sauvage.

Source : Bulletin de la Société des antiquaires de l'Ouest en 1859.

Vestiges du château de Brosse à Chaillac
Crédit photo : Belcricri (Vestiges du château de Brosse, chaillac)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Vestiges du château de Brosse, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Vestiges du château de Brosse' à chaillac (indre 36310). Quelques pans de murs extérieurs à la grande enceinte dénotent des ouvrages de défense multipliés, qui se liaient comme postes avancés à la citadelle principale. chaillac, indre

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 62940
  • item : Vestiges du château de Brosse
  • Localisation :
    • Indre
    • Chaillac
  • Lieu dit : Brosse ; le Château
  • Code INSEE commune : 36035
  • Code postal de la commune : 36310
  • Ordre dans la liste : 2
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : château
  • Etat :
    • Etat courrant du monument : vestiges (suceptible à changement)

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 3 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 10e siècle
    • 11e siècle
    • 12e siècle
  • Date de protection : 1935/03/11 : inscrit MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/09/14

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété d'une personne privée 1992
  • Détails : Château de Brosse (vestiges) : inscription par arrêté du 11 mars 1935
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00097290

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de Belcricri est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Vestiges du château de Brosse à Chaillac. par Belcricri
Vestiges du château de Brosse, chaillac
Vestiges du château de Brosse à Chaillac. par Belcricri
Vestiges du château de Brosse, chaillac
Vestiges du château de Brosse à Chaillac. par Belcricri
Vestiges du château de Brosse, chaillac

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.