Former convent of the Ursulines or former college, French Heritage monument to Eymoutiers

In 1776, the Ursulines of Eymoutiers were thirty profess and of seven converse. The municipal college occupies their old convent today.

The college founds in 1777, is established in a house given to the city for this use.

In 1833, the college was transfers in the buildings which it occupies today, and which were built in 1683, for a convent of Ursulines.

A former student of the college of Eymoutiers in made gift at the city, in the condition that they would be only affect has a college, and would make return to the donee or has his heirs in the case or this assignment would come has to cease.

  • Total surface area 997 m ?
  • Built surface 342 m ?
  • Free surface 655 m ?

History with the revolution

It was a quite necessary work which was supported by several families of the parish, but which one owes the foundation has Mr. of Bachellerie-of-Theil, cure of this city and has Mr. Pierre of Bachellerie, priest of the Mission, former prior of Nontron, deceased has Limoges on November 17, 1780. The newspaper of the time says to us of this last: '' Mr. Bachellerie was born has Eymoutiers in 1700, of a honourable family. It was equipped early with a canonicat in its fatherland, and during approximately thirty years, it fills of them the duties with the most scrupulous regularity. Ignite noble desire to devote its talents to the instruction of these coarse men, but infinitely useful, who populate and fertilize our campaigns, it left its emolument to enter the community of the priests of the seminar of the Mission of Limoges. Admitted in this company of men modest, hard, only occupy has to spread the lights of the religion and the taste of the virtue, it was characterized soon by its zeal, its prudence and its tender piety. Charge with the temporal administration of the community, it announced its wisdom and its satisfying. The town of Eymoutiers did not have almost any resource for the education of his/her children, Mr. Bachellerie formed and carried out, two years ago, the project to establish a college there. It has contributes, more than nobody, with the equipment of this public school, which, with its successes, starts has to carry out its hopes. ''

First year, work confiee with the Richard abbot had every success. One reads indeed in the same newspaper: '' The schoolboys of the college of Eymoutiers gave publicly an account of their work on August 9 and 11, 1779 etc One was all the more surprised to find them however well prepare, that the college lately founds by the benevolence of some good patriots, was attends a little late. Moreover, the schoolboys are present only successively, and the excellent Masters, who are with the head of this establishment sonl only two, Misters Richard and Laserve. The success of raised makes their praise. ''

The college of Eymoutiers was always flourishing under its direction when the revolution and the persecution commencerent which were to destroy it. After the civil constitution of the clergy had been votee by Tassemhlee on July 12, 1790 and sanctionnee next on August 24, it rejected it as the other canons did it and refused the schismatic oath which she asked. The chapter was removes a little later and consequently Mr. Richard contained himself only in his functions of the main thing of the college.

On July 24, 1792, the directory of the department of High-Vienna published a decree of which here the article 1st:

'' All the priests or ecclesiastics above or public civils servant who do not have yet lends the oath prescribed by the decree of November 27, 1790, or which has retracts it, will be held to move away, three days after the publication of this decree, to know the insermentes and those which have retracts their oath, of eight miles of the place or they exerted or exert still their public office. ''

The registers of the departmental administration teach us that on August 10, 1792, Richard, load of the preceplorale of the town of Eymoutiers, according to the decree of July 27 he asks whether east obliges to move away from his residence; adding that he is not public servant, he is not remunerates by the nation. One answers him to remain there until his replacement.

A little later, on September 17, it still petitions saying that '' it fears to be included amongst the public civils servant because of the preceplorale of Eymoutiers. - It is answered him that not, that it is not obliges with the oath. ''

But all that were only atermoiments; one knew how much the inhabitants Eymoutiers and all region were to him fasteners, one knew that his departure would be the ruin of the college, one sought has to temporize. In October the faithful priests who were not expatriates started has to fill the prisons with Limoges, the persecutors could not suffer only one priest such as the canon Richard restat in freedom. He will say itself to us, in a poetry patoise, how much it was unhappy to leave Eymoutiers or it had all sympathies.

Imprison with the Rule, thanks to its old, it had then more than 60 years, it could avoid the maritime deportation, but it was condemns to the perpetual prison. While it underwent this unjust detention, it had the pain to learn that Mr. Esmoingt, cure of Eymoutiers, in the intimacy of which it had lived many years, had confession the faith on the scaffold of the place of Fraternity, on November 14, 1793, execution followed shortly after of that of seven other priests, its friends, and almost all the surroundings of Eymoutiers.

He as saw leaving for Rochefort the many faithful priests as their old did not exempt deportation with seas, and who since many month shared with him all the sufferings of their detention to the Rule.

For him, the persecutors stripped it of all. According to the spirit of the law, he had died civilly and the Nation seized all that he had. On May 1, 1793, she wants to sell a house that it had has Limoges. Then Mr. Baignol, contractor comes to claim the price of repairs that it made there in 1787. The citizen Leonard Cadet claims also the price of the supplies which it made with the college of Eymoutiers while Mr. Richard was principal. Finally the departmental records say to us that the house that it had street of Combes, has Limoges, was sold with the profit of the Nation, the 16 pluviose year III (February 4, 1795).

After the death of Robespierre, lorque the survivors of the maritime deportation returned has Limoges, in the first months of 1795, the priests who had been condemn to the perpetual prison were also temporarily freed. The Richard abbot says to us, in a poetry patoise, which it found then a place, or it spent these a few months of freedom has to teach Latin. Moreover here a letter which he addressed, on March 20, 1795, has an old nun, '' the Gonaud citizen, of present has Feuillade, close Gorre '', which gives precise details on this part of its life:

'' I was so much obsesses by ten or twelve houses which have had me greenhouse of near for two months, to engage me has to go on their premises, that I have think of turning the head of it. In Eymoutiers sharp authorities, fair promisess; Saint-Leonard havehas, has Saint-Jouvent, has Limoges, seven or eight houses. Lastly, there is of them one which has speaks to me so much or made speak that it was necessary to succumb. I then not to go up have horse because of my infirmity. I pass to be what I am not. And I bet that one will be annoys in little time; yes one will be annoys to be load of a patraque old woman who is completely rouillee in reclusion.

The house or I go rendered secret services; those which are interests for them also returned me from there. I could not release me from so many nets. I am taken; but they will be well traps in their hope, because I do not know anything any more

As one allots has your state the quality of curious, I teach you that the house or I go is at the Guibert citizen of Beausserie. One gives me 600 pounds and the table, more than I am not worth now. Large God, that I am annoy to be able to answer does not have your desires, has those of the sizeable house which wanted to have kindness for me, like to the invitations of honest and virtuous Misters of Saint-Hood! Excuse me, plead my cause, and believe me your faithful old man ''

'' On March 20, 1795.

It has been five days that I had my freedom of Paris, but I did not leave yet, because I wanted to hold company has a poor crippled old man.

I will remain about fifteen in a cousin names Larue, merchant close Saint-Domnolet. ''

This freedom returned to the catholic priests was not long life; persecution started again before the end of the year. Under the terms of a decree of the department of High-Vienna, of the 8 brumaire year IV (October 30, 1795) they were again lock up, and this time it was with the Visitation. The Richard abbot was ecroue there the 15 brumaire (November 6, 1795). He accepted for any help a rye bread book there and half per day. It has this mode that all these sizeable old men were reduced, that one had skins of all, and who had suffered already so much.

During this new detention which was prolonged until the middle of February 1797, it still corresponded, when it on the occasion of it, with Mrs. Gonnaud, old nun of the Girls of Notre-Dame, who remained then has Rochechouart etc

source:

  • Titrate:?Bulletin of the archaeological and historical Company of the Limousin
  • Author:?Ducourtieux, Paul (1846-1925)
  • Author:?Archaeological and historical company of the Limousin
  • Editor:?Archaeological and historical company of the Limousin (Limoges)
  • Go back to edition:?1846

Former convent of the Ursulines or former college
Crédit photo : (Former convent of the Ursulines or former college, eymoutiers)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Former convent of the Ursulines or former college, « Former convent of the Ursulines or former college » is a construction of the city of Eymoutiers (France, Haute vienne). Former convent of the Ursulines or former college, French Heritage monument to Eymoutiers eymoutiers, haute vienne

Location and general information

  • identifier : 142517
  • item : Ancien couvent des Ursulines ou ancien collège
  • Location of the building :
    • Limousin
    • Haute-Vienne
    • Eymoutiers
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 87064
  • Zip code of the municipality : 87120
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : college
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • The building dates mainly from the period : 17th century
  • Date of protection : 1984/12/28 : inscrit MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/09/15

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • A staircase has been cataloged in this monument is of type : spiral staircase
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :6 parts of the building are subject to protection and are listed as follows :
    • stairs
    • elevation
    • roofing
    • interior
    • gallery
    • kitchen
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : property of a private person 1992
  • Detail :
    • Les parties suivantes de l' ancien collège délimité au Sud par la rue des Ursulines et à l' Ouest par la ruelle menant de la rue des Ursulines à la rue de la Collégiale : les façades, les toitures et les galeries
    • l' escalier principal avec sa cage et l' escalier à vis desservant la cuisine
    • la cuisine au rez-de-chaussée et les plafonds actuellement coffrés des autres pièces du rez-de-chaussée (cad. AH 273, 280, 561, 564, 565) : inscription par arrêté du 28 décembre 1984
  • Mérimée reference : PA00100305

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de Lumière du matin est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Ancien couvent des Ursulines ou ancien collège à Eymoutiers

En 1776, les Ursulines d'Eymoutiers étaient au nombre de trente professes et de sept converses. Le collège municipal occupe aujourd'hui leur ancien couvent.

Le collège fondé en 1777, est établi dans une maison donnée à la ville pour cet usage.

En 1833, le collège a été transféré dans les bâtiments qu'il occupe aujourd'hui, et qui ont été construits en 1683, pour un couvent d'Ursulines.

Un ancien élève du collège d'Eymoutiers en a fait don à la ville, à la condition qu'ils seraient uniquement affectés à un collège, et feraient retour au donataire ou à ses héritiers dans le cas où cette affectation viendrait à cesser.

  • Superficie totale 997 m²
  • Superficie bâtie 342 m²
  • Superficie libre 655 m²

Histoire à la révolution

C'était une oeuvre bien nécessaire qui fut soutenue par plusieurs familles de la paroisse, mais dont on doit la fondation à M. de La Bachellerie-du-Theil, curé de cette ville et à M. Pierre de La Bachellerie, prêtre de la Mission, ancien prieur de Nontron, décédé à Limoges le 17 novembre 1780. Le journal de l'époque nous dit de ce dernier : « M. Bachellerie naquit à Eymoutiers en 1700, d'une famille honorable. Il fut de bonne heure pourvu d'un canonicat dans sa patrie, et pendant environ trente ans, il en remplit les devoirs avec la plus scrupuleuse régularité. Enflammé du noble désir de consacrer ses talents à l'instruction de ces hommes grossiers, mais infiniment utiles, qui peuplent et fécondent nos campagnes, il quitta sa prébende pour entrer dans la communauté des prêtres du séminaire de la Mission de Limoges. Admis dans cette société d'hommes modestes, laborieux, uniquement occupés à répandre les lumières de la religion et le goût de la vertu, il se distingua bientôt par son zèle, sa prudence et sa tendre piété. Chargé de l'administration temporelle de là communauté, il signala sa sagesse et son désintéressement. La ville d'Eymoutiers n'avait presque aucune ressource pour l'éducation de ses enfants, M. Bachellerie forma et exécuta, il y a deux ans, le projet d'y établir un collège. Il a contribué, plus que personne, à la dotation de cette école publique, qui, par ses succès, commence à réaliser ses espérances. »

Dès la première année, l'oeuvre confiée à l'abbé Richard eut un plein succès. On lit en effet dans le même journal : « MM. les écoliers du collège d'Eymoutiers ont rendu publiquement compte de leurs travaux les 9, 10 et 11 août 1779... On a été d'autant plus surpris de les trouver si bien préparés, que le collège nouvellement fondé par la bienfaisance de quelques bons patriotes, a été fréquenté un peu tard. D'ailleurs, les écoliers ne se sont présentés que successivement, et les excellents maîtres, qui sont à la tête de cet établissement ne sonl que deux, MM. Richard et Laserve. Le succès des élèves fait leur éloge. »

Le collège d'Eymoutiers était toujours florissant sous sa direction lorsque commencèrent la révolution et la persécution qui devaient le détruire. Après que la constitution civile du clergé eut été votée par Tassemhlée le 12 juillet 1790 et sanctionnée le 24 août suivant, il la rejeta ainsi que le firent les autres chanoines et refusa le serment schismatique qu'elle demandait. Le chapitre fut supprimé peu après, et dès lors M. Richard se renferma uniquement dans ses fonctions de principal du collège.

Le 24 juillet 1792, le directoire du département de la Haute-Vienne publiait un arrêté dont voici l'article 1er:

« Tous les prêtres ou ecclésiastiques ci-devant ou encore fonctionnaires publics qui n'ont pas encore prêté le serment prescrit par le décret du 27 novembre 1790, ou qui l'ont rétracté, seront tenus de s'éloigner, trois jours après la publication de cet arrêté, savoir les insermentés et ceux qui ont rétracté leur serment, de huit lieues de l'endroit où ils exerçaient ou exercent encore leurs fonctions publiques. »

Les registres de l'administration départementale nous apprennent que le 10 août 1792, Richard, chargé de la préceplorale de la ville d'Eymoutiers, demande si d'après l'arrêté du 27 juillet il est obligé de s'éloigner de son domicile; ajoutant qu'il n'est pas fonctionnaire public, il n'est pas rétribué par la nation. On lui répond d'y rester jusqu'à son remplacement.

Un peu plus tard, le 17 septembre, il pétitionne encore disant qu' «il craint d'être compris parmi les fonctionnaires publics à cause de la préceplorale d'Eymoutiers. — On lui repond que non, qu'il n'est pas obligé au serment. »

Mais tout cela n'étaient que des atermoiments ; on savait combien les habitants d'Eymoutiers et de toute la contrée lui étaient attachés, on savait que son départ serait la ruine du collège, on cherchait à temporiser. Au mois d'octobre les prêtres fidèles qui ne s'étaient pas expatriés commençaient à remplir les prisons de Limoges, les persécuteurs ne pouvaient pas souffrir qu'un prêtre tel que le chanoine Richard restât en liberté. Il nous dira lui-même, dans une poésie patoise, combien il fut malheureux de quitter Eymoutiers où il avait toutes les sympathies.

Emprisonné à la Règle, grâce à son âge, il avait alors plus de 60 ans, il put éviter la déportation maritime, mais il fut condamné à la prison perpétuelle. Pendant qu'il subissait cette injuste détention, il eut la douleur d'apprendre que M. Esmoingt, curé d'Eymoutiers, dans l'intimité duquel il avait vécu bien des années, avait confessé la foi sur l'échafaud de la place de la Fraternité, le 14 novembre 1793, exécution suivie peu après de celle de sept autres prêtres, ses amis, et presque tous des environs d'Eymoutiers.

Il vit aussi partir pour Rochefort les nombreux prêtres fidèles que leur âge n'exemptait pas de la déportation au delà des mers, et qui depuis bien des mois partageaient avec lui toutes les souffrances de leur détention à la Règle.

Pour lui, les persécuteurs le dépouillaient de tout. Selon l'esprit de la loi, il était mort civilement et la Nation s'emparait de tout ce qu'il possédait. Le 1er mai 1793, elle veut vendre une maison qu'il possédait à Limoges. Alors M. Baignol, entrepreneur vient réclamer le prix des réparations qu'il y a faites en 1787. Le citoyen Léonard Cadet réclame aussi le prix des fournitures qu'il a faites au collège d'Eymoutiers pendant que M. Richard était principal. Enfin les archives départementales nous disent que la maison qu'il possédait rue des Combes, à Limoges, fut vendue au profit de la Nation, le 16 pluviôse an III (4 février 1795).

Après la mort de Robespierre, lorque les survivants de la déportation maritime revinrent à Limoges, dans les premiers mois de 1795, les prêtres qui avaient été condamnés à la prison perpétuelle furent aussi provisoirement mis en liberté. L'abbé Richard nous dit, dans une poésie patoise, qu'il trouva alors une place, où il passa ces quelques mois de liberté à enseigner le latin. D'ailleurs voici une lettre qu'il adressait, le 20 mars 1795, à une ancienne religieuse, « la citoyenne Gonaud, de présent à Feuillade, près Gorre », qui donne des détails précis sur cette partie de sa vie :

« J'ai été tellement obsédé par dix ou douze maisons qui m'ont serré de près depuis deux mois, pour m'engager à aller chez eux, que j'ai pensé en tourner la tête. A Eymoutiers vives instances, belles promesses ; à Saint-Léonard, à Saint-Jouvent, à Limoges, sept ou huit maisons. Enfin, il y en a une qui m'a tellement parlé ou fait parler qu'il a fallu succomber. Je ne puis pas monter à cheval à cause de mon infirmité. Je passe pour être ce que je ne suis pas. Et je parie qu'on sera fâché dans peu de temps ; oui on sera fâché de s'être chargé d'une vieille patraque qui s'est tout à fait rouillée en réclusion.

La maison où je vais m'a rendu des services secrets ; ceux qui se sont intéressé pour eux m'en ont aussi rendu. Je n'ai pu me dégager de tant de filets. Je suis pris ; mais ils seront bien attrapés dans leur espérance, car je ne sais plus rien

Comme on attribue à votre état la qualité de curieux, je vous apprends que la maison où je vais est chez le citoyen Guibert de la Beausserie. On me donne 600 livres et la table, plus que je ne vaux à présent. Grand Dieu, que je suis fâché de ne pouvoir répondre à vos désirs, à ceux de la respectable maison qui voulait avoir des bontés pour moi, ainsi qu'aux invitations des honnêtes et vertueux MM. de Saint-Auvent ! Excusez-moi, plaidez ma cause, et me croyez votre fidèle vieux »

« Le 20 mars 1795.

Il y a cinq jours que j'ai eu ma liberté de Paris, mais je ne suis pas sorti encore, parce que je voulais tenir compagnie à un pauvre vieux infirme.

Je vais demeurer une quinzaine chez un cousin nommé Larue, marchand près Saint-Domnolet. »

Cette liberté rendue aux prêtres catholiques ne fut pas de longue durée ; la persécution recommença avant la fin de l'année. En vertu d'un arrêté du département de la Haute-Vienne, du 8 brumaire an IV (30 octobre 1795) ils furent de nouveau enfermés, et cette fois ce fut à la Visitation. L'abbé Richard y fut écroué le 15 brumaire (6 novembre 1795). Il y reçut pour tout secours une livre et demie de pain de seigle par jour. C'est à ce régime que furent réduits tous ces vieillards respectables, qu'on avait dépouillés de tout, et qui avaient déjà tant souffert.

Pendant cette nouvelle détention qui se prolongea jusqu'au milieu du mois de février 1797, il correspondait encore, quand il en avait l'occasion, avec Mme Gonnaud, ancienne religieuse des Filles de Notre-Dame, qui demeurait alors à Rochechouart ...

source :

  • Titre : Bulletin de la Société archéologique et historique du Limousin
  • Auteur : Ducourtieux, Paul (1846-1925)
  • Auteur : Société archéologique et historique du Limousin
  • Éditeur : Société archéologique et historique du Limousin (Limoges)
  • Date d'édition : 1846

Ancien couvent des Ursulines ou ancien collège à Eymoutiers
Crédit photo : Lumière du matin (Ancien couvent des Ursulines ou ancien collège, eymoutiers)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Ancien couvent des Ursulines ou ancien collège, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Ancien couvent des Ursulines ou ancien collège' à eymoutiers (haute vienne 87120). eymoutiers, haute vienne

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 142517
  • item : Ancien couvent des Ursulines ou ancien collège
  • Localisation :
    • Limousin
    • Haute-Vienne
    • Eymoutiers
  • Code INSEE commune : 87064
  • Code postal de la commune : 87120
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : collège
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • La construction date principalement de la période : 17e siècle
  • Date de protection : 1984/12/28 : inscrit MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/09/15

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • Un escalier a été répertorié dans notre base, il est de type : escalier en vis
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :6 éléments font l'objet d'une protection dans cette construction :
    • escalier
    • élévation
    • toiture
    • décor intérieur
    • galerie
    • cuisine
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété d'une personne privée 1992
  • Détail :
    • Les parties suivantes de l' ancien collège délimité au Sud par la rue des Ursulines et à l' Ouest par la ruelle menant de la rue des Ursulines à la rue de la Collégiale : les façades, les toitures et les galeries
    • l' escalier principal avec sa cage et l' escalier à vis desservant la cuisine
    • la cuisine au rez-de-chaussée et les plafonds actuellement coffrés des autres pièces du rez-de-chaussée (cad. AH 273, 280, 561, 564, 565) : inscription par arrêté du 28 décembre 1984
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00100305

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de Lumière du matin est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.