Château de Saint-Dizier

One does not find many information on the old castle of Saint-Dizier, some rare documents allow us however to have seen one of his history like that extracted the champagne chronicle:

Here three receipts which are useful has to make known to us the name of three governors of the castle of St-Dizier. '' Michel de Castelnau de Mauvissiere, knight, captain of fifty men-at-arms, and governor of the town of Saint-Dizier, reconnoit to have received the sum of 1200 liv. ts. in let us test, for the expenses of a voiage makes on post horses of Paris at the La Rochelle and in several places and seaports.
Fact on April 24, 1571. ''

'' Quittance of Jean de Ligouim, governor of the city and castle of Saint-Dizier, the sum of 300 ECUs, received of Emond Berthelin, general receiver of finances in the Champagne general information, ordered to us by monseigneur the duke of Own way.
Fact the i5 aoust 1594. ''

'' Benoist Roy, lieutenant for the king with the government of the city and castle of Saint-Dizier, under the sior of Besme, governor of the known as place, reconnoit to have received from Jean Cartwright, general thresorier of extraordinary of the wars, the sum of 45 liv. ts.
Fact on June 16, 1611. ''

The history of the city still gives us some information on the state of the castle at the end of the XIXe century but hardly here its history:

History of Saint-Dizier

Saint-Dizier owes his name has a saint bishop of Langres martyrise towards the end of IIIe century by the Vandals. In Ve century, the destruction of the town of Perthes by the barbarians made ebb the inhabitants has Saint-Dizier. The city accepted new additions in posterior times: the suburb of Gigny, forms village of the same name, is former to Xe century; the suburb the Valley depended on the parish of Hallignicourt and was joined together at the city in XVIe century.

The first lord of Saint-Dizier who is known for us is Hilderent de Dampierre. The Anselme father at the head puts his series of the lords of Saint-Dizier, Thibaut, lord of Dampierre, which lived in 1090. The inhabitants were freed in 1228, by Guillaume II of Dampierre-Bourbon and Marguerite, countess of Flanders, his wife. A complete charter, forming a body of laws, constituted the rights and the reciprocal duties of the lord and his vassal. Thirteen elected aldermen each year were loads of the police force and the judgement of the civil actions and criminal. The baillif of the lord had then other authority only that to represent his Master, to make carry out the judgements of the aldermen and to convene the whole crowd and of the seigniory.

In 1488, when Saint-Dizier was joined together with the crown, the baillif absorbed has his profit the rights of justice of the aldermen. We said that the first lord was Hilderent de Dampierre; this family had Saint-Dizier until the end of XIVe century, time to which a third of the ground was buys by Charles VII; the other thirds passerent has Jean de Vergy, heir by the women to the last owner, and were joined together with the crown in 1434.

In 1560, the douaire of Marie Stuart was established on the ground of Saint-Dizier. Sometimes this princess took the liter of lady of Saint-Dizier. During the wars of XVIe century, the members of a league occuperent Saint-Dizier of 1584 has 1594. Claude of Lorraine gave this city has Henri IV who visited it in 1603.

At the XVIIe century, the duke of Orleans was owner of Saint-Dizier and its descendants have it preserve until 1790. Saint-Dizier, while developing by the industry of his inhabitants, became, under the influence of the old municipal franknesses, an important fortifiee city. Moreri quotes us the memorable defense which made the count de Sancerre, locks up in this quotes, against the army of Charles-Quint, in 1544, bravely supported by the '' churls and inhabitants of Saint-Dizier, '' of or is remainder still today the nickname of '' Bragars de Saint-Dizier. '' Courage that in this circumstance the inhabitants of this city deployerent is above any praise. The count obtained by them a capitulation which enabled him to leave the city, signs deployees, '' with the sound of the tambourine, in mode of war. '' On this occasion, the Parliament of Paris ordered a solemn procession or one sang Te Deum the '' to return thanks to God of the virile resistance of the churls and inhabitants of Saint-Dizier ''.

When the peace of Crepy had returned this city to France, the king made raise his fortifications. Michel de Castelnau de Mauvissiere, knight, were governor of Saint-Dizier in 1571. Jean de Lingoin was it in 1574. Henri IV and Marie de Medicis made their solemn entry has Saint-Dizier on April 10, 1603.

In 1775, a violent one fire devoured more than two hundred houses has Saint-Dizier. The Notre-Dame church, founded in XIIe century by Guy II of Dampierre, and all the public edifices were envelopes in this sad destruction. Helps were bring to the inhabitants by the cities close and the bishop to Trawl-nets, Mr. de Juigne.

Today, Saint-Dizier is a pretty city, formee of right and well bored streets, bordered of well built houses. It is re-elected for the industry of irons, its forging mills and the exploitation of the timber structural for the use of the navy which beautiful the drills produce which border it. The prices of Saint-Dizier make authority on the steps of the pig iron and cast iron and irons in France.

The fortifications of this quotes entirely disappeared, and there remain nothing any more but some traces of its old castle. On the site occupies formerly by one of the most considerable turns, Extremely-Squares, one has just built an elementary school.

Source: Industrial historical geography and statistics of the department of the High Marne by Jean-Baptiste Carnandet in 1860

Castle of Saint-Dizier
Crédit photo : (Castle of Saint-Dizier, st dizier)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Castle of Saint-Dizier, Patrimoine classé ou inscrit dit 'Château de Saint-Dizier' à st dizier (haute marne 52100). Les fortifications de cette cité ont entièrement disparu, et il ne reste plus que quelques traces de son ancien château. st dizier, haute marne

Location and general information

  • identifier : 82795
  • item : Château de Saint-Dizier
  • Location of the building :
    • Champagne-Ardenne
    • Haute-Marne
    • Saint-Dizier
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 52448
  • Zip code of the municipality : 52100
  • Order in the communal list : 3
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : castle
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 2 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 13th century
    • 16th century
  • Date of protection : 1994/03/02 : inscrit MH partiellement
  • Date taken into account : 1996/04/16

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :8 parts of the building are subject to protection and are listed as follows :
    • turn
    • fortified
    • curtain
    • door
    • court
    • bastion
    • port
    • battery
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • This building has been assigned the following use : sub-prefecture

Other

  • Other : 3 various other information are available
    • property of a private person
    • property of the Department
    • property of a private company 1994
  • Detail :
    • Vestiges du château et de son enceinte (tours d' entrée, ancienne porte, tours de la terrasse, du moulin, de la batterie et du Saint-Esprit avec leurs courtines)
    • bastion en terre dit le Cavalier (cad. CP 63, 121, 123) : inscription par arrêté du 2 mars 1994
  • Mérimée reference : PA00132595

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de Lomyre est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Château de Saint-Dizier à St dizier

On ne trouve pas beaucoup d'informations sur le vieux château de Saint-Dizier, quelques rares documents nous permettent toutefois d'avoir un aperçu de son histoire comme celui extrait de la chronique de champagne :

Voici trois quittances qui servent à nous faire connaître le nom de trois gouverneurs du château de St-Dizier. « Michel de Castelnau de Mauvissière, chevalier, capitaine de cinquante hommes d'armes, et gouverneur de la ville de Saint-Dizier, reconnoît avoir reçu la somme de 1200 liv. ts. en testons, pour les frais d'un voiage fait sur chevaux de poste de Paris à La Rochelle et en plusieurs lieux et ports de mer.
Fait le 24 avril 1571.»

« Quittance de Jean de Ligouim, gouverneur de la ville et château de Saint-Dizier, de la somme de 300 écus, reçu d'Emond Berthelin, receveur général des finances en la généralité de Champagne, à nous ordonnée par monseigneur le duc de Guise.
Fait le i5 aoust 1594.»

« Benoist le Roy, lieutenant pour le roi au gouvernement de la ville et château de Saint-Dizier, sous le sieur de Besme, gouverneur dudit lieu, reconnoît avoir reçu de Jean Charron, thresorier général de l'extraordinaire des guerres, la somme de 45 liv. ts.
Fait le 16 juin 1611.»

L'histoire de la ville nous donne encore quelques information sur l'état du château à la fin du XIXe siècle mais guère plus voici son histoire :

Histoire de Saint-Dizier

Saint-Dizier doit son nom à un saint évêque de Langres martyrisé vers la fin du IIIe siècle par les Vandales. Au Ve siècle, la destruction de la ville de Perthes par les barbares fit refluer les habitants à Saint-Dizier. La ville reçut de nouvelles adjonctions dans les temps postérieurs : le faubourg de Gigny, formé du village du même nom, est antérieur au Xe siècle ; le faubourg la Noue dépendait de la paroisse d'Hallignicourt et se trouva réuni à la ville au XVIe siècle.

Le premier seigneur de Saint-Dizier qui nous soit connu est un Hildérent de Dampierre. Le père Anselme met en tête de sa série des seigneurs de Saint-Dizier, Thibaut, seigneur de Dampierre, qui vivait en 1090. Les habitants furent affranchis en 1228, par Guillaume II de Dampierre-Bourbon et Marguerite, comtesse de Flandre, sa femme. Une charte complète, formant un corps de lois, constitua les droits et les devoirs réciproques du seigneur et de ses vassaux. Treize échevins élus chaque année étaient chargés de la police et du jugement des causes civiles et criminelles. Le bailli du seigneur n'avait alors d'autre autorité que celle de représenter son maître, de faire exécuter les jugements des échevins et de convoquer le ban et l'arrière-ban de la seigneurie.

En 1488, lorsque Saint-Dizier fut réuni à la couronne, le bailli absorba à son profit les droits de justice des échevins. Nous avons dit que le premier seigneur était Hilderent de Dampierre ; cette famille posséda Saint-Dizier jusqu'à la fin du XIVe siècle, époque à laquelle un tiers de la terre fut acheté par Charles VII; les autres tiers passèrent à Jean de Vergy, héritier par les femmes du dernier possesseur, et furent réunis à la couronne en 1434.

En 1560, le douaire de Marie Stuart fut établi sur la terre de Saint-Dizier. Cette princesse prit quelquefois le litre de dame de Saint-Dizier. Pendant les guerres du XVIe siècle, les ligueurs occupèrent Saint-Dizier de 1584 à 1594. Claude de Lorraine remit cette ville à Henri IV qui la visita en 1603.

Au XVIIe siècle, le duc d'Orléans était possesseur de Saint-Dizier et ses descendants l'ont conservé jusqu'en 1790. Saint-Dizier, en se développant par l'industrie de ses habitants, devint, sous l'influence des anciennes franchises municipales, une importante ville fortifiée. Moreri nous cite la mémorable défense que fit le comte de Sancerre, enfermé dans cette cité, contre l'armée de Charles-Quint, en 1544, bravement soutenu par les « manants et habitants de Saint-Dizier, » d'où est resté encore aujourd'hui le sobriquet de « Bragars de Saint-Dizier. » Le courage que déployèrent en cette circonstance les habitants de cette ville est au-dessus de tout éloge. Le comte obtint par eux une capitulation qui lui permit de sortir de la ville, enseignes déployées, « au son du tambourin, en mode de guerre. » A cette occasion, le parlement de Paris ordonna une procession solennelle où l'on chanta le Te Deum « pour rendre grâce à Dieu de la virile résistance des manants et habitants de Saint-Dizier ».

Lorsque la paix de Crépy eut rendu cette ville à la France, le roi fit relever ses fortifications. Michel de Castelnau de Mauvissière, chevalier, était gouverneur de Saint-Dizier en 1571. Jean de Lingoin l'était en 1574. Henri IV et Marie de Médicis firent leur entrée solennelle à Saint-Dizier le 10 avril 1603.

En 1775, un violent incendie dévora plus de deux cents maisons à Saint-Dizier. L'église Notre-Dame, fondée au XIIe siècle par Guy II de Dampierre, et tous les édifices publics furent enveloppés dans cette triste destruction. Des secours furent apportés aux habitants par les villes voisines et l'évêque de Châlons, M. de Juigné.

Aujourd'hui, Saint-Dizier est une jolie ville, formée de rues droites et bien percées, bordées de maisons bien bâties. Elle est renommée pour l'industrie des fers, pour ses forges et pour l'exploitation des bois de construction à l'usage de la marine que produisent les belles forêts qui l'avoisinent. Les prix de Saint-Dizier font autorité sur les marchés des fontes et des fers en France.

Les fortifications de cette cité ont entièrement disparu, et il ne reste plus que quelques traces de son ancien château. Sur l'emplacement occupé autrefois par l'une des tours les plus considérables, le Fort-Carré, on vient de construire une école communale.

Source : Géographie historique industrielle et statistique du département de la Haute Marne par Jean-Baptiste Carnandet en 1860

Château de Saint-Dizier à St dizier
Crédit photo : Lomyre (Château de Saint-Dizier, st dizier)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Château de Saint-Dizier, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Château de Saint-Dizier' à st dizier (haute marne 52100). Les fortifications de cette cité ont entièrement disparu, et il ne reste plus que quelques traces de son ancien château. st dizier, haute marne

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 82795
  • item : Château de Saint-Dizier
  • Localisation :
    • Champagne-Ardenne
    • Haute-Marne
    • Saint-Dizier
  • Code INSEE commune : 52448
  • Code postal de la commune : 52100
  • Ordre dans la liste : 3
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : château
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 2 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 13e siècle
    • 16e siècle
  • Date de protection : 1994/03/02 : inscrit MH partiellement
  • Date de versement : 1996/04/16

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :8 éléments font l'objet d'une protection dans cette construction :
    • tour
    • enceinte
    • courtine
    • porte
    • cour
    • bastion
    • port
    • batterie
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • Cette construction a été affectée a l'usage de : sous-préfecture

Autre

  • Divers : 3 informations diverses sont disponibles :
    • propriété d'une personne privée
    • propriété du département
    • propriété d'une société privée 1994
  • Détail :
    • Vestiges du château et de son enceinte (tours d' entrée, ancienne porte, tours de la terrasse, du moulin, de la batterie et du Saint-Esprit avec leurs courtines)
    • bastion en terre dit le Cavalier (cad. CP 63, 121, 123) : inscription par arrêté du 2 mars 1994
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00132595

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de Lomyre est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.