All the caves and prehistoric shelter of the Sava Valley, French Heritage monument to Lespugue

The female Statuette of Lespugue (Haute-Garonne) By Rene of SAINT-PERIER.

The female statuette, of which I have the honor to offer a moulding to the Company, for his collections, was discovered on August 9, 1922, in the cave of the Curtains, has Lespugue (Haute-Garonne).

This cave of which I have here-same advertisement the discovery in 1911, was remaniee in its former part, or mixes it paleolithic objects with medieval instruments did not allow a rigorous stratigraphy.

But has some bills of quantities of the entry, the ground in place allowed a more precise observation. I recognized, by taking again the excavations, after the war, that a paleolithic hearth, not alters, a thickness of 0m60 0m80 has rested on a clay has Ursus speloeus and was covered with approximately 0m40 has 0m50 recent of-deposits.

It is in this hearth and has its completely surface part (0m15 approximately of depth) that I collected the statuette, that a blow of unfortunate pickaxe of one of my workmen raising a block of crumbling, has deterioree on its former face. I have give the original to the gallery of Paleontology of the Museum, and Mr. SWELL, by filling the losses of substance of the former part on a moulding of the statuette has restores, with an approximation extremely close to reality, the primitive aspect of the object. One will be able to realize it by comparing the figures opposite with the moulding restores, collections of the Company.

The statuette is sculptee in sculpture in the round in a defense of Mammoth. It measures 0m147 height; the head is small and ovalaire, the face does not carry distinct features. Parallel lines, appearing the hair, go down ahead on the three quarters from the face and behind up to the level from the scapulas. The neck is thin, the thin thorax, of enormous centres in the shape of goatskin bottles hang to the belly, small and bends, that they push back ahead. The arms, which rest on the centres, are detach from the trunk in their lower third, which supposes in the sculptor a great technical skill. The area fessiere is remarkable by its width: the buttocks are rejetees laterally and flattened; they present, has them, lower part, a support surmontee of a small eminence which appears me to correspond to the indication of a dent coccyigenne. The thighs also present a broad side projection, the legs are short and the feet hardly indicate. The former fracture interests the pubic region unfortunately, which does not enable us to know if the genitals had been figures. The presence should be noted, below the buttocks of a singular clothing, in the triangular shape of loincloth, which appears constitutes by bands tressees, terminees by a fringe.

This statuette is attached to the group of the human figurations aurignacians, known as steatopyges, which one knew already has Brassempouy, has Grimaldi, has Willendorf and has Laussel. It appears, by certain of its characters, to offer same a manner of synthesis of these curious figures. Thus it shows the hanging centres in form of in addition to, of the statuette of Brassempouy that Piette named '' the handle of dagger '', the globulous head and without, milked face of the statuettes of Grimaldi, the attitude of the arms of the figurine of Willendorf.

By, still the homogeneity of this paleolithic sculptural art continues whose inspiration is unknown for us. Is it about a purely ethnic representation, of a figuration of order symbolic system or monk? Up to what point do we have to attach these figures to, standard female of their, time?

I will limit myself has to point out that the study of the fauna and the tools of the cave of the Curtains, that I collected up to now, make it possible to fix the level of the statuette at the completely higher aurignacian, rather than has an old level magdalenien, as I had think it in 1911.

In addition, characters of these statuettes and the loincloth that only up to now, the statuette of Lespugue shows us, make it possible to think that the populations of our country had at the time aurignacian of the more or less close connections with Africa. It is known that the discovery has Grimaldi of skeletons of the negroide type had already made consider this assumption, that corroborates the similarity of the tools at the time aurignacian, on these two continents. If the discovery of the '' Venus from Lespugue '' does not make it possible to still solve all the complex problems which these paleolithic human representations raise, it brings an element moreover however has our connaissanee beginnings of the human sculpture and it is for this reason that it appears interesting to me to maintain the French prehistoric Company it.

Source:

  • Titrate: Bulletin of the prehistoric Company of France
  • Author: French prehistoric company
  • Editor: Prehistoric company of France (Paris)
  • Go back to edition: 1904-1963

All the caves and prehistoric shelter of the Sava Valley
Crédit photo : (All the caves and prehistoric shelter of the Sava Valley, lespugue)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

All the caves and prehistoric shelter of the Sava Valley, « All the caves and prehistoric shelter of the Sava Valley » is a construction of the city of Lespugue (France, Haute garonne). All the caves and prehistoric shelter of the Sava Valley, French Heritage monument to Lespugue lespugue, haute garonne

Location and general information

  • identifier : 46924
  • item : Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save
  • Location of the building :
    • Midi-Pyrénées
    • Haute-garonne
    • Lespugue
  • Place name : Bois-de-Saint-Martin
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 31295
  • Zip code of the municipality : 31350
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building : The building is designated by the following 3 names :
    • cave
    • rockshelter
    • shelter
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 3 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • paleolithic
    • Upper Paleolithic
    • prehistory
  • Date of protection : 1972/12/28 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/08/30

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : Site archéologique : 31 295 1 à 5 AP
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : owned by the 1992 municipality
  • Details : Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save (cad. A 49) : classement par arrêté du 28 décembre 1972
  • Mérimée reference : PA00094369

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de mamynaute32 est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description of this building by mamynaute32 :

Vallée de la Save

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

All the caves and prehistoric shelter of the Sava Valley, French Heritage monument to Lespugue. Picture of mamynaute32
Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save, lespugue
Description of this building by mamynaute32 :

Vallée de la Save

All the caves and prehistoric shelter of the Sava Valley, French Heritage monument to Lespugue. Picture of mamynaute32
Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save, lespugue
Description of this building by mamynaute32 :

Reproduction de la "Vénus de Lespugue". Village de Lespugue (musée ouvert en Juillet et Août).

All the caves and prehistoric shelter of the Sava Valley, French Heritage monument to Lespugue. Picture of mamynaute32
Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save, lespugue

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save à Lespugue

La Statuette féminine de Lespugue (Haute-Garonne) Par René de SAINT-PÉRIER.

La statuette féminine, dont j'ai l'honneur d'offrir un moulage à la Société, pour ses collections, a été découverte le 9 août 1922, dans la grotte des Rideaux, à Lespugue (Haute-Garonne).

Cette grotte dont j'ai annoncé ici-même la découverte en 1911, a été remaniée dans sa partie antérieure, où le mélange d'objets paléolithiques avec des instruments médiévaux ne permettait pas une stratigraphie rigoureuse.

Mais à quelques mètres de l'entrée, le sol en place a permis une observation plus précise. J'ai reconnu là, en reprenant les fouilles, après la guerre, qu'un foyer paléolithique, non remanié, d'une épaisseur de 0m60 à 0m80 reposait sur une argile à Ursus speloeus et était recouvert d'environ 0m40 à 0m50 de-dépôts récents.

C'est dans ce foyer et à sa partie tout à fait superficielle (0m15 environ de profondeur) que j'ai recueilli la statuette, qu'un coup de pioche malencontreux d'un de mes ouvriers soulevant un bloc d'éboulement, a détériorée sur sa face antérieure. J'ai donné l'original à la galerie de Paléontologie du Muséum, et M. BOULE, en comblant les pertes de substance de la partie antérieure sur un moulage de la statuette a restitué, avec une approximation extrêmement voisine de la réalité, l'aspect primitif de l'objet. On pourra s'en rendre compte en comparant les figures ci-contre avec le moulage restitué des, collections de la Société.

La statuette est sculptée en ronde-bosse dans une défense de Mammouth. Elle mesure 0m147 de hauteur ; la tête est petite et ovalaire, le visage ne porte pas de traits distincts. Des lignes parallèles, figurant lès cheveux, descendent en avant sur les trois quarts de la face et en arrière jusqu'au niveau des omoplates. Le cou est mince, le thorax maigre, d'énormes seins en forme d'outres pendent jusqu'au ventre, petit et bombé, qu'ils repoussent en avant. Les bras, qui reposent sur les seins, sont détachés du tronc dans leur tiers inférieur, ce qui suppose chez le sculpteur une grande habileté technique. La région fessière est remarquable par son ampleur : les fesses sont rejetées latéralement et aplaties; elles présentent, à leur, partie inférieure, une bride surmontée d'une petite éminence qui me paraît correspondre à l'indication d'une fistule coccyigenne. Les cuisses présentent également une large saillie latérale, les jambes sont courtes et les pieds à peine indiqués. La fracture antérieure intéresse malheureusement la région pubienne, ce qui ne nous permet pas de savoir si les organes génitaux avaient été figurés. Il faut noter la présence, au-dessous des fesses d'un singulier vêtement, en forme de pagne triangulaire, qui paraît constitue par des bandes tressées, terminées par une frange.

Cette statuette se rattache au groupe des figurations humaines aurignaciennes, dites stéatopyges, que l'on connaissait déjà à Brassempouy, à Grimaldi, à Willendorf et à Laussel. Elle paraît, par certains de ses caractères, offrir même une manière de synthèse de ces curieuses figures. C'est ainsi qu'elle montre les seins pendants en forme d'outre, de la statuette de Brassempouy que Piette nommait « le manche de poignard », la tête globuleuse et sans, traits du visage des statuettes de Grimaldi, l'attitude des bras de la figurine de Willendorf.

Par là, s'affirme encore l'homogénéité de cet art sculptural paléolithique dont l'inspiration nous est inconnue. S'agit-il d'une représentation purement ethnique, d'une figuration d'ordre symbolique ou religieux ? Dans quelle mesure devons-nous rattacher ces figures au, type féminin de leur,époque ?

Je me bornerai à faire observer que l'étude de la faune et de l'outillage de la grotte des Rideaux, que j'ai recueillis jusqu'ici, permettent de fixer le niveau de la statuette à l'aurignacien tout à fait supérieur, plutôt qu'à un niveau magdalénien ancien, comme je l'avais pensé en 1911.

D'autre part, les caractères de ces statuettes et le pagne que seule jusqu'ici, nous montre la statuette de Lespugue, permettent de penser que les populations de notre pays avaient à l'époque aurignacienne des rapports plus ou moins étroits avec l'Afrique. On sait que la découverte à Grimaldi de squelettes du type négroïde avait déjà fait envisager cette hypothèse, que corrobore la similitude des outillages à l'époque aurignacienne, sur ces deux continents. Si la découverte de la « Vénus de Lespugue » ne permet pas de résoudre encore tous les problèmes complexes que soulèvent ces représentations humaines paléolithiques, elle apporte cependant un élément de plus à notre connaissanee des débuts de la sculpture humaine et c'est à ce titre qu'il me paraît intéressant d'en entretenir la Société préhistorique française.

Source :

  • Titre : Bulletin de la Société préhistorique de France
  • Auteur : Société préhistorique française
  • Éditeur : Société préhistorique de France (Paris)
  • Date d'édition : 1904-1963

Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save à Lespugue
Crédit photo : mamynaute32 (Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save, lespugue)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save' à lespugue (haute garonne 31350). La statuette féminine, dont j'ai l'honneur d'offrir un moulage à la Société, pour ses collections, a été découverte le 9 août 1922, dans la grotte des Rideaux, à Lespugue. lespugue, haute garonne

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 46924
  • item : Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save
  • Localisation :
    • Midi-Pyrénées
    • Haute-garonne
    • Lespugue
  • Lieu dit : Bois-de-Saint-Martin
  • Code INSEE commune : 31295
  • Code postal de la commune : 31350
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction : 3 dénomiations sont utilisées pour définir cette construction :
    • grotte
    • abri sous roche
    • abri
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 3 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • paléolithique
    • paléolithique supérieur
    • préhistoire
  • Date de protection : 1972/12/28 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/08/30

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : Site archéologique : 31 295 1 à 5 AP
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune 1992
  • Détails : Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save (cad. A 49) : classement par arrêté du 28 décembre 1972
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00094369

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de mamynaute32 est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description par mamynaute32 :

Vallée de la Save

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save à Lespugue. par mamynaute32
Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save, lespugue
Description par mamynaute32 :

Vallée de la Save

Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save à Lespugue. par mamynaute32
Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save, lespugue
Description par mamynaute32 :

Reproduction de la "Vénus de Lespugue". Village de Lespugue (musée ouvert en Juillet et Août).

Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save à Lespugue. par mamynaute32
Ensemble des grottes et abris préhistoriques de la vallée de la Save, lespugue

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.