Church of Fromentas, French Heritage monument to Aignan

The small church of Fromentas, dediee has holy Jacques, is currently an appendix of the parish of Aignan (Gers). It is Gothic and has two equal naves, i.e. partagee by the medium in the direction length by a gantry of pillars.

There exists of this strange provision two quite distinct types:

  • the first east characterizes by a flat bedside; such was the church of the Jacobins of Paris, which does not exist any more; such is still the church of the Jacobins of Agen, that Mr. Tholin described in his excellent work on the religious architecture of the Resident of Agen.
  • The second type is distinguished from the first by a circular bedside or polygon, provision which involves great differences in the construction industry of the vault of the sanctuary. The most remarkable monument in this kind is the church of the Jacobins of Toulouse.

The church of Fromentas belongs has this second type. However it does not have anything the splendour of this vault of the Jacobins of Toulouse, high on the pillar of the chorus like a beautiful foliage with the top of a gigantic tree. The building which occupies us is only one small rural church, and the imitation of the model is rather rustic.

In Toulouse the pillar of the chorus east locates at the center of a roundabout crowns of seven vaults and receives from all the dimensions of the of the same veins length. In Fromentas the pillar is place on the line of the beams, and the bedside pentagon is built so that the angles are not has equal distance from this pillar. This provision completely made miss the vault of the sanctuary.

However the architect of the small church well at the head had this splendid stone star which slightly in the airs this beautiful pillar of the chorus of the large church supports. The catch has tests to him also something in this kind. Of the four bases which support with the bedside the principal veins it made leave will plough for the third time: two of each base places of each dimension of the central section of wall against which the furnace bridge rests, one of each close base on the right and on the left. These will plough for the third time meet two has two by a keystone and are attached to the pillar by an inter-tie. This process applies by a genious architect has product has Toulouse the marvellous stone star about which I spoke presently; while the architect of Fromentas did not succeed which an good intention has to express. He also wanted to put above the gate vault a beautiful network of veins; but after the test that we see, it was shocks as we irregularity who comes from what the pillar of the chorus is not place has equal distance from the angles of the bedside; after thus having made two points and two half-time of a star manquee, it has gives up its intention. Let us rent its quite obvious good intention, and God wants to hold account of it to him.

I do not have that some words has to add to complete the description of this church. The arcs in third not are well accentuate. - The two naves are voutees in great intersecting ribs. - These two naves are separated by two cylindrical pillars, of which largest is that which is more brings closer to the pinion wall; however it does not support the heaviest vault. I am explained Celtic anomaly by thinking that the architect would have had originally the project to make him support part of the weight of the bell-tower which would have been built on the intersecting ribs of the South-western corner of the church. I am confirm in this opinion by the presence of enormous unfinished pillars engage one in the pinion wall, the other in the southernmost wall. - The current bell-tower built outwards against the Western wall is without character and obviously posterior at the building.

All crossings were remaniees. - Two doors give access in the church: smallest, situee in north, is deprived of ornamentation; largest, opening in the wall of midday, is on the contrary decorated with taste. - Outside, of robust buttresses the walls and the push of the vault ridge.

My main concern by writing the lines which preceding was to determine well the family of the monument which makes the subject of it. This point is capital. The monographs of our old large and small churches multiply every day. But will be only when the archaeologists take for rule to especially highlight the essential components of construction, to classify the monuments in natural groups, that it will be possible to make the geography of the schools and the styles, and to determine the family, filiation, the original of each type.

In this order of ideas it is always necessary to quote the beautiful work of Mr. Tholin on the religious architecture of the Resident of Agen. This book, written with clearness and precision, is the best of all those which were done on the religious architecture in our South-west

It would be has to wish that a work composes according to the same method, animates same principles, was made not on a department of which the limits do not have anything has to see with the history and archaeology, but on the old ecclesiastical province of Auch, quite distinct area which had since the origin of times until the Revolution its life particuliere well caracterisee. The history of the influences which acted on the architecture and the art in this country would be as curious as that of the influences which have contributes has to form its temperament, its manners and its language.

Adrien Lavergne.

  • Titrate: Review of Gascogne, monthly bulletin of the Committee of history and archaeology of the ecclesiastical province of Auch.
  • Author: Historical company of Gascogne
  • Go back to edition: 1864-1939

Church of Fromentas
Crédit photo : (Church of Fromentas, aignan)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Church of Fromentas, « Church of Fromentas » is a construction of the city of Aignan (France, Gers). Church of Fromentas, French Heritage monument to Aignan aignan, gers

Location and general information

  • identifier : 47330
  • item : Eglise de Fromentas
  • Location of the building :
    • Midi-Pyrénées
    • Aignan
  • Place name : Fromentas
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 32001
  • Zip code of the municipality : 32290
  • Order in the communal list : 2
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : church
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • The building dates mainly from the period : 15th century
  • Date of protection : 1979/09/27 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/08/30

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • This element of the building is the subject of protection : nave
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : owned by the 1992 municipality
  • Details : Eglise de Fromentas (cad. C 235) : classement par arrêté du 27 septembre 1979
  • Mérimée reference : PA00094697

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de Johannes est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description of this building by Johannes :

Eglise de Fromentas, Aignan

11-10-2011

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Eglise de Fromentas à Aignan

La petite église de Fromentas, dédiée à saint Jacques, est actuellement une annexe de la paroisse d'Aignan (Gers). Elle est gothique et à deux nefs égales, c'est-à-dire partagée par le milieu dans le sens de la longueur par un portique de piliers.

Il existe de cette disposition étrange deux types bien distincts :

  • le premier est caractérisé par un chevet plat; telle était l'église des Jacobins de Paris, qui n'existe plus; telle est encore l'église des Jacobins d'Agen, que M. Tholin a décrite dans son excellent ouvrage sur l'architecture religieuse de l'Agenais.
  • Le second type se distingue du premier par un chevet circulaire ou polygone, disposition qui entraîne de grandes différences dans la construction de la voûte du sanctuaire. Le monument le plus remarquable dans ce genre est l'église des Jacobins de Toulouse.

L'église de Fromentas appartient à ce second type. Cependant elle n'a rien de la splendeur de cette voûte des Jacobins de Toulouse, élevée sur le pilier du choeur comme une belle ramure au haut d'un arbre gigantesque. L'édifice qui nous occupe n'est qu'une petite église rurale, et l'imitation du modèle est assez rustique.

A Toulouse le pilier du choeur est situé au centre d'un rond-point couronné de sept chapelles et reçoit de tous les côtés des nervures de même longueur. A Fromentas le pilier est placé sur la ligne des doubleaux, et le chevet pentagone est construit de telle sorte que les angles ne sont pas à égale distance de ce pilier. Cette disposition a fait complètement manquer la voûte du sanctuaire.

Cependant l'architecte de la petite église avait bien en tête cette magnifique étoile de pierre que supporte légèrement dans les airs ce beau pilier du choeur de la grande église. Le bonhomme a essayé lui aussi quelque chose dans ce genre. Des quatre culots qui supportent au chevet les nervures principales il a fait partir des tiercerons : deux de chacun des culots placés de chaque côté du pan de mur central contre lequel s'appuie l'autel, un de chacun des culots voisins à droite et à gauche. Ces tiercerons se réunissent deux à deux par une clef de voûte et se rattachent au pilier par une lierne. Ce procédé appliqué par un architecte de génie a produit à Toulouse la merveilleuse étoile de pierre dont je parlais tout à l'heure; tandis que l'architecte de Fromentas n'a réussi qu'à manifester une bonne intention. Lui aussi a voulu mettre au-dessus du tabernacle un beau réseau de nervures; mais après l'essai que nous voyons, il a été choqué comme nous de l'irrégularité qui provient de ce que le pilier du choeur n'est pas placé à égale distance des angles du chevet; après donc avoir fait deux pointes et deux demi-pointes d'une étoile manquée, il a abandonné son dessein. Louons sa bonne intention bien évidente, et Dieu veuille lui en tenir compte.

Je n'ai que quelques mots à ajouter pour achever la description de cette église. Les arcs en tiers point sont bien accentués. — Les deux nefs sont voûtées en grandes croisées d'ogives. — Ces deux nefs sont séparées par deux piliers cylindriques, dont le plus gros est celui qui se trouve le plus rapproché du mur pignon; cependant il ne supporte pas la voûte la plus lourde. Je m'explique celte anomalie en pensant que l'architecte aurait eu primitivement le projet de lui faire supporter une partie du poids du clocher qui aurait été bâti sur la croisée d'ogive du coin Sud-Ouest de l'église. Je suis confirmé dans cette opinion par la présence d'énormes piliers inachevés engagés l'un dans le mur pignon, l'autre dans le mur méridional. — Le clocher actuel bâti en dehors contre le mur occidental est sans caractère et évidemment postérieur à l'édifice.

Toutes les croisées ont été remaniées. — Deux portes donnent accès dans l'église : la plus petite, située au nord, est dépourvue d'ornementation; la plus grande, percée dans le mur du midi, est au contraire ornée avec goût. — A l'extérieur, de robustes contreforts buttent les murs et la poussée de la voûte.

Ma principale préoccupation en écrivant les lignes qui précèdent a été de bien déterminer la famille du monument qui en fait le sujet. Ce point est capital. Les monographies de nos vieilles églises grandes et petites se multiplient tous les jours. Mais ce sera seulement lorsque les archéologues auront pris pour règle de mettre surtout en relief les éléments essentiels de la construction, pour classer les monuments en groupes naturels, qu'il sera possible de faire la géographie des écoles et des styles, et de déterminer la famille, la filiation, l'original de chaque type.

Dans cet ordre d'idées il faut toujours citer le bel ouvrage de M. Tholin sur l'architecture religieuse de l'Agenais. Ce livre, écrit avec netteté et précision, est le meilleur de tous ceux qui ont été faits sur l'architecture religieuse dans notre Sud-Ouest

Il serait à désirer qu'un ouvrage composé suivant la même méthode, animé des mêmes principes, fût fait non sur un département dont les limites n'ont rien à voir avec l'histoire et l'archéologie, mais sur l'ancienne province ecclésiastique d'Auch, région bien distincte qui a eu depuis l'origine des temps jusqu'à la Révolution sa vie particulière bien caractérisée. L'histoire des influences qui ont agi sur l'architecture et sur l'art dans ce pays serait aussi curieuse que celle des influences qui ont contribué à former son tempérament, ses moeurs et son langage.

Adrien Lavergne.

  • Titre : Revue de Gascogne, bulletin mensuel du Comité d'histoire et d'archéologie de la province ecclésiastique d'Auch.
  • Auteur : Société historique de Gascogne
  • Date d'édition : 1864-1939

Eglise de Fromentas à Aignan
Crédit photo : Johannes (Eglise de Fromentas, aignan)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Eglise de Fromentas, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Eglise de Fromentas' à aignan (gers 32290). La petite église de Fromentas, dédiée à saint Jacques, est actuellement une annexe de la paroisse d'Aignan. Elle est gothique et à deux nefs égales, c'est-à-dire partagée par le milieu dans le sens de la longueur. aignan, gers

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 47330
  • item : Eglise de Fromentas
  • Localisation :
    • Midi-Pyrénées
    • Aignan
  • Lieu dit : Fromentas
  • Code INSEE commune : 32001
  • Code postal de la commune : 32290
  • Ordre dans la liste : 2
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : église
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • La construction date principalement de la période : 15e siècle
  • Date de protection : 1979/09/27 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/08/30

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Un élément répertorié fait l'objet d'une protection : nef
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune 1992
  • Détails : Eglise de Fromentas (cad. C 235) : classement par arrêté du 27 septembre 1979
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00094697

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de Johannes est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description par Johannes :

Eglise de Fromentas, Aignan

11-10-2011

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.