Castle of Semur-en-Auxois

Semur, Semurium, Senemurium, Sinemurium, sur Armançon, 70 kilometres West-South-West of Dijon, formerly capital of the Auxois is a nice and picturesque small town whose origin is certainly very old, even though authenticity missing claims most of his historians. We are not talking about those who ascribe its foundation to Hercules before the Christian era, when the hero crossed the saplings on his return from Spain; but the same, widespread, tradition which gives it to first inhabitants the Mandubiens escaped to the bag of Alise, is based on probabilities rather than on positive evidence.

After its historically recorded existence, dating much earlier than the 5th century, the first part of his Annals is still full of uncertainty and darkness. We know only that Semur, either by the advantage of its location, either by the number of its inhabitants and the strength of its walls, became the capital of a canton, Pagus Alesensis and the residence of a county as early as the 8th century during the wars, asylum of the neighbouring peoples,. The domination of Bozon, King of Arles, is reported there, in 879, by the gift that made this prince to the Bishop of Autun to the Church of St. Maurice with the mountain of Semur and two mills. This theft had occurred while Louis and Carloman were busy repelling the Normans; returned victorious, the two princes returned to possession of Semur, as well as all their rights on other cities in Burgundy. From the 10th to the 13th century, we, according to Brunet, a list of thirteen counties of Semur, of which the first is Arlebaud, died circa 950, and the latest Jean de Broye, Lord of Châteauvillain, heir to his cousin Héloïse, to which he succeeded in 1262, and leaving himself, due to lack of posterity, Semur and the Auxois blend after him in the Duchy of Burgundy. It is then only, in 1276, that the inhabitants of Semur obtained a Charter of commune, modelled on that of Soissons, as almost all those granted to other Burgundian towns.

Semur almost always was the venue chosen for the meeting of the nobility when there were deliberate on measures of defence or general salute; so it was during the English invasions and devastation caused by the large companies. Semur was also, thanks to the opulence of its inhabitants, a city of resources in times of shortage of the ducal Treasury; several loans were contracted. His loyalty to the Dukes, in the quarrels of Armagnac and Burgundy and in the war of succession, which followed the death of Charles the bold, exhibited it harsh and cruel tests. But it is especially during the religious wars of the 16th century that the town became highly shatter the feelings of loyalty that it had deferred its Dukes to the Kings of France. Although a plot would have delivered the castle to a lieutenant of Mayenne, residents persisted no less in their devotion to the Royal cause. Semur welcomed the Outlaws of major cities who refused to join the revolts of the League; also, when fortune returned to the arms of Henri IV, it is at Semur that was transferred, in 1592, the headquarters of the royalist Parliament of Burgundy, as well as that of the Chamber of counties and the Finance Office. When the victory of Fontaine-française had pacified the country, the return of these faithful servants in the capital of the province was a real triumphal.

The latest events that remain to quote are: a raging fire, which consumed two hundred and fifty houses in the city, laying the stay of the Parliament; exile in Semur, in 1637, the judges who had refused to register thirteen edits offices presented by the Governor, Henri de Condé, and finally, in 1672, a visit of the King of Poland, Casimir V, which passed through the city by going take the waters of Sainte-Reine.

The town, picturesquely situated on a granitic rock, is washed on three sides by the Armançon, we spend on two beautiful bridges, including one, a single arch, is remarkable for its boldness. It is generally well built, well drilled, and divided into three parts, the village, the donjon and the Castle. There are four public squares and three walks, some of the towers that flanked the ancient walls, and the imposing masses of the old donjon, which defied the ravages more of ten centuries. The most remarkable monument is the parish church, classified as historical monuments of France, and built in 1065 by Duke Robert Ier for atone, said, the murder of his father-in-law, Dalmatius, whom he was assassinated by his own hand.

Source: The France is illustrated by Victor-Adolphe Malte-Brun.

Castle
Crédit photo : (Castle, semur en auxois)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Castle, The town, picturesquely situated on a granitic rock, is washed on three sides by the Armançon, we spend on two beautiful bridges, including one, a single arch, is remarkable for its boldness. It is generally well built, well drilled, and divided into three parts, the village, the donjon and the Castle. semur en auxois, cote d'or

Location and general information

  • identifier : 28373
  • item : Château
  • Location of the building :
    • Bourgogne
    • Côte-d'Or
    • Semur-en-Auxois
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 21603
  • Zip code of the municipality : 21140
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : castle
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • The building dates mainly from the period : 13th century
  • Date of protection : 1862 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/11/26

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : 18 04 1914 (J.O.)
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : owned by the 1992 municipality
  • Details : Château (cad. NON CADASTRE) : classement par liste de 1862
  • Mérimée reference : PA00112666

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de olivierp54 est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Castle of Semur-en-Auxois. Picture of olivierp54
Château, semur en auxois
Castle of Semur-en-Auxois. Picture of olivierp54
Château, semur en auxois

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Château à Semur en auxois

Semur-en-Auxois, Semurium, Senemurium, Sinemurium, sur l'Armançon, à 70 kilomètres ouest-sud-ouest de Dijon, autrefois capitale de l'Auxois, est une jolie et pittoresque petite ville dont l'origine est à coup sûr fort ancienne, quoique l'authenticité manque aux prétentions de la plupart de ses historiens. Nous ne parlons pas de ceux qui attribuent sa fondation à Hercule avant l'ère chrétienne, lorsque le héros traversait les Gaules à son retour d'Espagne ; mais la tradition même, fort répandue, qui lui donne pour premiers habitants les Mandubiens échappés au sac d'Alise, s'appuie sur des probabilités plutôt que sur des preuves positives.

Après son existence historiquement constatée, ce qui ne remonte guère plus haut que le Ve siècle, la première partie de ses annales est encore pleine d'incertitude et d'obscurité. On sait seulement que Semur, soit par l'avantage de sa situation, soit par le nombre de ses habitants et la force de ses murailles, devint, durant les guerres, l'asile des peuples voisins, le chef-lieu d'un canton, Pagus Âlesensis, et la résidence d'un comte dès le VIIIe siècle. La domination de Bozon, roi d'Arles, y est signalée, en 879, par la donation que fait ce prince à l'évèque d'Autun de l'église de Saint-Maurice avec la montagne de Semur et deux moulins. Cette usurpation avait eu lieu pendant que Louis et Carloman étaient occupés à repousser les Normands ; revenus victorieux, les deux princes rentrèrent en possession de Semur, ainsi que de tous leurs droits sur les autres villes de Bourgogne. Du Xe au XIIIe siècle, nous avons, d'après Brunet, une liste de treize comtes particuliers de Semur, dont le premier est Arlebaud, mort vers 950, et le dernier Jean de Broyé, seigneur de Châteauvillain, héritier de sa cousine Héloïse, à laquelle il succéda en 1262, et laissant lui-même, faute de postérité, Semur et l'Auxois se fondre après lui dans le duché de Bourgogne. C'est alors seulement, en 1276, que les habitants de Semur obtinrent une charte de commune, calquée sur celle de Soissons, comme presque toutes celles accordées aux autres cités bourguignonnes.

Semur fut presque toujours le rendez-vous choisi pour la réunion de la noblesse lorsqu'il y avait à délibérer sur des mesures de défense ou de salut général ; il en fut ainsi lors des invasions des Anglais et des ravages causés par les grandes compagnies. Semur était aussi, grâce a l'opulence de ses habitants, une ville de ressources dans les moments de pénurie du trésor ducal ; plusieurs emprunts y furent contractés. Sa fidélité aux ducs, dans les querelles d'Armagnac et Bourgogne et dans la guerre de succession, qui suivit la mort de Charles le Téméraire, l'exposa à de rudes et cruelles épreuves. Mais c'est surtout pendant les guerres religieuses du XVIe siècle que la ville fit hautement éclater les sentiments de fidélité qu'elle avait reportés de ses ducs aux rois de France. Quoique une intrigue eût livré le château à un lieutenant de Mayenne, les habitants n'en persistèrent pas moins dans leur dévouement à la cause royale. Semur accueillit les proscrits des principales villes qui refusaient de s'associer aux révoltes de la Ligue ; aussi, quand la fortune revint aux armes de Henri IV, c'est à Semur que fut transféré, en 1592, le siège du parlement royaliste de Bourgogne, ainsi que celui de la chambre des comtes et le bureau des finances. Lorsque la victoire de Fontaine-Française eut pacifié le pays, le retour de ces fidèles fonctionnaires dans la capitale de la province fut une véritable marche triomphale.

Les derniers événements qui nous restent à citer sont : un violent incendie, qui consuma deux cent cinquante maisons de la ville, pondant le séjour du parlement ; l'exil à Semur, en 1637, des magistrats qui avaient refusé d'enregistrer treize édits bureaux présentés par le gouverneur, Henri de Condé, et enfin, en 1672, une visite du roi de Pologne, Casimir V, qui traversa la ville en allant prendre les eaux de Sainte-Reine.

La ville, pittoresquement située sur un rocher granitique, est baignée de trois côtés par l'Armançon, que l'on passe sur deux beaux ponts, dont un, d'une seule arche, est remarquable par sa hardiesse. Elle est généralement bien bâtie, bien percée, et divisée en trois parties, le bourg, le donjon et le château. On y voit quatre places publiques et trois promenades, quelques-unes des tours qui flanquaient les anciennes murailles, et les masses imposantes de l'ancien donjon, qui ont défié les outrages de plus de dix siècles. Le monument le plus remarquable est l'église paroissiale, classée parmi les monuments historiques de France, et bâtie en 1065 par le duc Robert Ier pour expier, dit-on, le meurtre de son beau-père, Dalmace, qu'il avait assassiné de sa propre main.

Source : La France illustrée par Victor-Adolphe Malte-Brun.

Château à Semur en auxois
Crédit photo : olivierp54 (Château, semur en auxois)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Château, La ville, pittoresquement située sur un rocher granitique, est baignée de trois côtés par l'Armançon, que l'on passe sur deux beaux ponts, dont un, d'une seule arche, est remarquable par sa hardiesse. Elle est généralement bien bâtie, bien percée, et divisée en trois parties, le bourg, le donjon et le château. semur en auxois, cote d'or

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 28373
  • item : Château
  • Localisation :
    • Bourgogne
    • Côte-d'Or
    • Semur-en-Auxois
  • Code INSEE commune : 21603
  • Code postal de la commune : 21140
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : château
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • La construction date principalement de la période : 13e siècle
  • Date de protection : 1862 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/11/26

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : 18 04 1914 (J.O.)
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune 1992
  • Détails : Château (cad. NON CADASTRE) : classement par liste de 1862
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00112666

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de olivierp54 est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Château à Semur en auxois. par olivierp54
Château, semur en auxois
Château à Semur en auxois. par olivierp54
Château, semur en auxois

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.