Castle of Gevrey chambertin

In 1275, the Abbot of Cluny, already owner of half of the seigneury of Gevrey, acquired the other half of the Duke of Burgundy Robert II, as well as high, middle and low justice, with the right of serfdom on three men that this prince is still had. This Abbot of the Vergy family, who named Yves de Chazan, and who had succeeded his uncle, of same name him, founder of the college of Cluny in Paris, had built the Castle and fortified House where the inhabitants of Gevrey had right to retirement at the approach of the enemy, in by them contributing to the Watchtower and the guard of the Castle said , under penalty of 65 fine soils, and by contributing, under the same penalty to certain repairs and menus emparements.

This castle, which was to have been built to protect officers and vassals of the Lord against the invasion and the attack of these bands of supporters who, under names and various heads, bore the grief and desolation in the province, guarantee of their violence. In 1356, the chevalier Louis de Neufchâteau or Neufchatel (de Novo Castro), in revenge for the Abbot of Cluny, which he regarded as the author of the judgment which banned it from the Kingdom of France, stood before the castle of Gevrey, at the head of one hundred twenty armed men. He did push the doors and take over the ammunition and provisions of any kind who were there.

The Castle

The Castle, built in the late 13th century by Yves de Chazan, thirtieth Abbot of Cluny, was closed by high and thick walls crenelated and banquetées, flanked at the four corners, as well as against the gatehouse of towers and turrets of different height, shape and dimension. All formed a parallelogram of 58 m 47 cent., length from East to West, and 29 metres 25 cent., North to South, surrounded by a ditch wide and deep, that water from sources that exist meet at will.

It penetrated into the Interior of the castle through a large door and a smaller or window defended by the drawbridges. Between these doors, and a second deep arcade which lowered arch supported the pavement of the Hall of pageantry or hearing, were spent on a flying bridge, a second ditch. The entrance to this arcade shut by a thick door double leaf doors behind which a massive portcullis was suspended. These fortifications and the four corner towers it remains more than the large and solid square Tower, whose imposing mass sits at the southeast corner. This tower, which the underground were used as prisons, joined by constructions without symmetry the gate, above which is still seen arrays in which undertook the arrows assembled in the rocker intended to raise the deck of the large drawbridge and lath of the window.

The lower part of the Tower of the Northeast, which is anything other than a solid whose surface is stone, barely above the level of the garden terrace. The other two, built in the Interior and touching to the fortifications, but without binding with the walls, have been destroyed or have fallen for a long time. neither one have been identified. There are still two lower towers, one outdoor and square, next to the window of the gatehouse, one cut panels, in the courtyard, serving cage to a staircase snail whose markets are carved stones. Above the windows cross according to the use of time, and part of the covered, can be seen a responsible shield coat of arms three quarters erased from the Abbey of Cluny.

The Gatehouse was preceded by a forecourt in which was a small house where is established the corps de garde. There is nothing in the archives of the municipality which has connection to events which this castle could be the theater since its construction. The minutes, which notes the damage made by the hoards of the prince of Zweibrücken in 1576, and the misfortunes experienced by the inhabitants, does not mention that none of these there have found a haven in these terrible circumstances, nor that the Castle has itself threatened by these ferocious enemies who certainly did neither property nor the church people; but in a burrow of 1578, deposited in the archives of the Department, it is said that the buildings on the side of sunset have been twice burned by the hoards, and it is to these barbarians that is due the destruction of the Northwest Tower, called the Mierlin tour.

The castle of Gevrey with its dependencies was sold as national property in 1790, and acquired by the municipality, which itself resold it shortly after in full, with the exception of the Western gap, in order to ensure the entire property of the source, which it could not have an inch under the Treaty made in 1773 with Monsignor Dominique of the Rochefoucaud Archbishop of Rouen, commendatory Abbot of Cluny, and this last quality time Lord of Gevrey. Its position, by the extent of the gardens and clos y adjacent, with the continued existence of water from another source which is located in the levant, the castle is likely to lend themselves to all embellishments, all constructions, all amenities good taste would inspire a rich individual. as it is, is it a beautiful ruin retaining the stamp of the feudal regime, under which it has been built.

Source: Gevrey-Chambertin historical, topographic and statistical record by Henri Vienna 1850.

Castle of Gevrey
Crédit photo : (Castle of Gevrey, gevrey chambertin)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Castle of Gevrey, The Castle, built in the late 13th century by Yves de Chazan, thirtieth Abbot of Cluny, was closed by high and thick walls crenelated and banquetées, flanked at the four corners, as well as against the gatehouse of towers and turrets of different height, shape and dimension. All formed a parallelogram of 58 m 47 cent., length from East to West, and 29 metres 25 cent., North to South, surrounded by a ditch wide and deep, that water from sources that exist meet at will. gevrey chambertin, cote d'or

Location and general information

  • identifier : 26530
  • item : Château de Gevrey
  • Location of the building :
    • Bourgogne
    • Côte-d'Or
    • Gevrey-Chambertin
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 21295
  • Zip code of the municipality : 21220
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : castle
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • We have no information on the time of construction of this monument.
  • Date of protection : 1993/09/24 : inscrit MH
  • Date taken into account : 1995/07/12

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : Inscriptions 22 03 1993 et 25 05 1993 (arrêté) annulées.
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :2 parts of the building are subject to protection and are listed as follows :
    • keep
    • bridge
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : property of a private company 1993
  • Details : Château, pont dormant, sols et donjon (cad. AC 183, 185, 186, 343) : inscription par arrêté du 24 septembre 1993.
  • Mérimée reference : PA00125315

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de perrine est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Castle of  Gevrey chambertin. Picture of perrine
Château de Gevrey, gevrey chambertin
Castle of  Gevrey chambertin. Picture of perrine
Château de Gevrey, gevrey chambertin
Castle of  Gevrey chambertin. Picture of perrine
Château de Gevrey, gevrey chambertin

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Château de Gevrey à Gevrey chambertin

En 1275, l'abbé de Cluny, déjà propriétaire de la moitié de la seigneurie de Gevrey, acquit l'autre moitié du duc de Bourgogne Robert II, ainsi que la haute, moyenne et basse justice, avec le droit de servage sur trois hommes que ce prince y possédait encore. Cet abbé, de la famille des Vergy, qui se nommait Yves de Chazan, et qui avait succédé à son oncle, de même nom que lui, fondateur du collège de Cluny à Paris, fit bâtir le château et maison forte où les habitants de Gevrey avaient droit de retraite à l'approche de l'ennemi, en par eux concourant au guet et à la garde du dit château, à peine de 65 sols d'amende, et en contribuant, sous la même peine, à certaines réparations et menus emparements.

Ce château, qui ne devait avoir été construit que dans le but de protéger les agents et les vassaux du seigneur contre l'invasion et l'attaque de ces bandes de partisans qui, sous des noms et des chefs divers, portèrent le deuil et la désolation dans la province, ne les garantit pas de leurs violences. En 1356, le chevalier Louis de Neufchâteau ou Neufchâtel (de Novo Castro), pour se venger de l'abbé de Cluny, qu'il regardait comme l'auteur de l'arrêt qui le bannissait du royaume de France, se présenta devant le château de Gevrey, à la tête de cent vingt hommes armés. Il en fit enfoncer les portes et faire main basse sur les munitions et provisions de tout genre qui s'y trouvaient.

Le château

Le château, bâti vers la fin du treizième siècle par Yves de Chazan, trentième abbé de Cluny, était clos par de hautes et épaisses murailles crénelées et banquetées, flanquées aux quatre angles, ainsi que contre la porterie, de tours et tourelles de différentes hauteur, forme et dimension. L'ensemble formait un parallélogramme de 58 mètres 47 cent., de longueur de l'est à l'ouest, et de 29 mètres 25 cent., du nord au sud, entouré d'un fossé large et profond, que l'eau des sources qui y existent remplissait à volonté.

On pénétrait dans l'intérieur du château par une grande porte et une plus petite ou guichet défendues par des ponts-levis. Entre ces portes, et une seconde arcade profonde dont la voûte surbaissée supportait le pavé de la grande salle d'apparat ou d'audience, on passait, sur un pont volant, un second fossé. L'entrée de cette arcade se fermait par une porte épaisse à doubles vantaux derrière lesquels une herse massive était suspendue. De ces fortifications et des quatre tours angulaires il ne reste plus que la grande et solide tour carrée, dont la masse imposante est assise à l'angle sud-est. Cette tour, dont les souterrains servaient de prisons, est jointe par des constructions sans symétrie à la porterie, au-dessus de laquelle on aperçoit encore les baies dans lesquelles s'engageaient les flèches assemblées dans la bascule destinée à soulever le tablier du grand pont-levis et la planchette du guichet.

La partie inférieure de la tour du nord-est, qui n'est autre chose qu'un massif dont le revêtement est en pierres de taille, dépasse à peine le niveau de la terrasse du jardin. Les deux autres, construites dans l'intérieur et touchant aux fortifications, mais sans liaison avec les murailles, ont été détruites ou sont tombées depuis longtemps ; ni l'une ni l'autre n'ont été relevées. Il existe encore deux moindres tours, l'une extérieure et carrée, à côté du guichet de la porterie, l'autre à pans coupés, dans la cour, servant de cage à un escalier en escargot dont les marches sont en pierres taillées. Au-dessus des fenêtres croisées selon l'usage du temps, et faisant partie de la couverte, on aperçoit un écusson chargé des armoiries aux trois quarts effacées de l'abbaye de Cluny.

La porterie était précédée d'une avant-cour dans laquelle se trouvait une petite maison où l'on établissait le corps de garde. On ne trouve rien dans les archives de la commune qui ait rapport aux événements dont ce château a pu être le théâtre depuis sa construction. Le procès-verbal qui constate les dégâts faits par les reîtres du prince de Deux-Ponts en 1576, et les malheurs éprouvés par les habitants, ne fait pas mention qu'aucun de ceux-ci y aient trouvé un asile dans ces terribles circonstances, ni que le château ait été lui-même menacé par ces ennemis féroces qui certes ne respectaient ni les biens, ni les gens d'église ; mais dans un terrier de 1578, déposé aux archives du département, il est dit que les bâtiments du côté du couchant ont été deux fois incendiés par les reîtres, et que c'est à ces barbares qu'est due la destruction de la tour nord-ouest, que l'on appelait la tour Mierlin.

Le château de Gevrey avec ses dépendances a été vendu comme bien national en 1790, et acquis par la commune, qui elle-même l'a revendu peu après en totalité, à l'exception du fossé occidental, afin de s'assurer l'entière propriété de la source, dont elle ne pouvait disposer que d'un pouce en vertu du traité fait en 1773 avec monseigneur Dominique de la Rochefoucaud, archevêque de Rouen, abbé commendataire de Cluny, et en cette dernière qualité seigneur temporel de Gevrey. Par sa position, par l'étendue des jardins et clos y attenant, par la pérennité des eaux d'une autre source qui se trouve au levant, le château est susceptible de se prêter à tous les embellissements, à toutes les constructions, à tous les agréments que le bon goût inspirerait à un riche particulier; tel qu'il est, c'est une belle ruine conservant le cachet du régime féodal, sous lequel il a été bâti.

Source : Gevrey-Chambertin notice historique, topographique et statistique par Henri Vienne 1850.

Château de Gevrey à Gevrey chambertin
Crédit photo : perrine (Château de Gevrey, gevrey chambertin)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Château de Gevrey, Le château, bâti vers la fin du treizième siècle par Yves de Chazan, trentième abbé de Cluny, était clos par de hautes et épaisses murailles crénelées et banquetées, flanquées aux quatre angles, ainsi que contre la porterie, de tours et tourelles de différentes hauteur, forme et dimension. L'ensemble formait un parallélogramme de 58 mètres 47 cent., de longueur de l'est à l'ouest, et de 29 mètres 25 cent., du nord au sud, entouré d'un fossé large et profond, que l'eau des sources qui y existent remplissait à volonté. gevrey chambertin, cote d'or

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 26530
  • item : Château de Gevrey
  • Localisation :
    • Bourgogne
    • Côte-d'Or
    • Gevrey-Chambertin
  • Code INSEE commune : 21295
  • Code postal de la commune : 21220
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : château
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • Nous n'avons aucune informlation sur les périodes de constructions de cet édifice.
  • Date de protection : 1993/09/24 : inscrit MH
  • Date de versement : 1995/07/12

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : Inscriptions 22 03 1993 et 25 05 1993 (arrêté) annulées.
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :2 éléments font l'objet d'une protection dans cette construction :
    • donjon
    • pont
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété d'une société privée 1993
  • Détails : Château, pont dormant, sols et donjon (cad. AC 183, 185, 186, 343) : inscription par arrêté du 24 septembre 1993.
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00125315

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de perrine est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Château de Gevrey à Gevrey chambertin. par perrine
Château de Gevrey, gevrey chambertin
Château de Gevrey à Gevrey chambertin. par perrine
Château de Gevrey, gevrey chambertin
Château de Gevrey à Gevrey chambertin. par perrine
Château de Gevrey, gevrey chambertin

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.