Park of the Manor of Scotland-button, French Heritage monument to Chevreuse

Chevreuse, chief town of canton, locate on left bank of the Yvette, with the foot of the raised slopes of 80 bills of quantities which carry the imposing ruins of the old castle; cross by the secondary road n? 8 and the ways of great communication n?13 and 58; the way of shared interest n? 46 limit the commune in the east; 32 km have. from Paris, 17 S. - S. - O. of Versailles, 19 NR. - E. of Rambouillet, 2 of the station of Saint-Remy-the-Chevreuse, and 9Km4 of that of the Canopy; 1,989 inhabitants; the telegraphic office. The hospital-old people's home! , transfers in 1858 in the buildings built at the expense of Mr. the duke of Luynes, contains 48 beds, and has an income from approximately 13,000 FR. the welfare office distributes for more than 3,000 FR. of help each year. Mutual aid association. Library of Saint Martin's day more than cash 700 volumes, and school library. Boarding school of boys directs by the teacher; boarding school of young girls held by the nuns of the Providence of Portieux. - Culture maraichere, seeds, cereals, hays, wood; stone meulieres and sandstone careers; mills has flour, a tannery, a tilery. - Walk saturdays. Fairs last Saturday of April, on July 22 (the Madeleine), on September 14 (Samt-Lubin) and on November 12 (Saint Martin's day). Celebrates of Saint Martin's day of summer second Sunday of July.

End of the tenth century there has Chevreuse (Caprosia) a small abbey under the title of Saint-Saturnin. The first dominant lords of Chevreuse were those of Montlhery. The grounds which have form the chatellenies of Chevreuse and Maurepas were held in stronghold of the bishops of Paris, the abbots of Saint-Denis and the counts de Montfort-l' Amaury. The strongholds and sub-fiefs of these chatellenies extended:

  • on the parishes of Chevreuse, Holes, Choisel, Saint-Remy-the-Chevreuse, Milon-the-Vault, Saint-Lambert, Saint-Forget, Maincourt, Bush hammers, Dampierre and Senlisse;
  • on the parishes of Maurepas, Coignieres, Tremblay, and partly on those of Bazoches, Mareil-le-Guyon, Saint-Remy-the Honours, Jouars-Pontchartrain, Elancourt and the Canopy.

The whole of these strongholds formed at the fifteenth century the baronnie of Chevreuse and Maurepas. There was, moreover, of the strongholds and the sub-fiefs, locate outwards and sometimes has rather large distances from this baronnie.

The elder branch of the lords lords of the manor of Chevreuse had as an author Milon I er, attaches to the court of king Robert in 1024. Under Milon III, about 1108, the castle of Chevreuse resisted the efforts of the troops of king Louis the Large one. Milon became one of the illustrations of the court of France and was sent by Louis VII has Constantinople, towards the emperor Manuel Comnene, in order to facilitate the passage of the cross army (1146). GUI III followed Philippe-Auguste to the third crusade (1189). His/her son, GUI IV, took also the cross, in 1239 and shared the captivity of the constable Amaury de Montfort. It was a rich, powerful lord and honours. He made following Louis saint the glorious countryside which ended in the battle of Taillebourg (1242). The White queen of Castille, during her second regency, charged it, with Herve, her brother, to collect the heritage of the count de Toulouse, in the name of Alphonse of Poitiers and Jeanne, his wife. GUI IV died in 1263.

With Herve, his/her son, died out the elder branch of the first lords of Chevreuse.

The branch junior had as a chief Herve de Chevreuse, lord of Maincourt and brother of GUI IV. The son of Herve, Anseau, names in 1272 marshal of the kingdom of Sicily, in reward of the services which it had rendered has Charles of Anjou, acquired, under the terms of the withdrawal lignager, the chatellenies of Chevreuse and Maurepas (1297). On many occasion it announced to the service of king Philippe the Beautiful one, and it was names large hone of France. In spite of its old advances, it was responsibility of carry the streamer, honor which was never grants to the but most valiant knights of the army. He died in the battle of Mons-in-Puelle, chokes in his armour by excessive heat (1304).

Two years later, Philippe the Beautiful one placed has Chevreuse with all the Court. After death D Anseau, the chatellenies of Chevreuse and Maurepas passerent, by the marriage of Jeanne, her single heiress, in the family of Amboise, then in that of Sorts, and resterent there until 1366, time to which the ground of Chevreuse was sold to pay part of the ransom of Ingerger d' Amboise, which had been made prisoner with the disastrous battle of Poitiers.

The second family of the lords of Chevreuse had as an author Pierre de Chevreuse, foreigner with the preceding family, and had the baronnie of 1366 has 1543. Pierre de Chevreuse, one of the considerable men of his time, was load of important employment in the public purses, under the reigns of Jean If, Charles V and Charles VI, 1362 has 1393. He was fastener as officer at the house of these the last two kings and has those of the princes of royal blood. He was lord of the manor and captain of Corbeil, governor of the count de Dreux, adviser of the king and general of all finances in Languedoc.

Chevreuse fell to the capacity from the duke from Burgundy and of sound combines, the king of England. Tannegui of Chatel and Barbasan, with the head of the royal troops, took again the city in 1417, but renoncerent has to make the seat of the castle. It was only into 1438 that the city and the castle went definitively has Charles VII. The region had been so much ravagee and afflicted, that the town of Chevreuse did not count any more in 1458 but 28 parishioners, while formerly it had had 300 of it. The baronnie of Chevreuse and Maurepas was acquired in 1543 per Jean de Brosse, husband of Anne de Pisseleu, duchess of Stamps. Fran?ois Ier set up the baronnie in duchy.

Charles of Lorraine, cardinal and archbishop of Rheims, become owner of the ground of Chevreuse, obtained in 1555 the confirmation of the letters of erection accordees has Jean de Brosse. During the wars of religion, the town of Chevreuse, occupied by the partisans of princes de Lorraine, was attaquee by the royal troops, when Henri III, linking his forces has those of Henri de Navarre, put the seat in front of Paris. The city was invested and assiegee; the assassination made on the king preserved it rigours of which it had been menacee in the event of resistance, 1589. The following year, Henri IV, moving of Mantes Corbeil has, passed by Chevreuse; it favorably accomodated Anne de Cleves, widow of the duke of Own way, which was then in its castle of Dampierre. He wanted that the city and the castle of Chevreuse were respect as if they had never been rebellious. He left some garrison there, and the region was delivree undisciplined troops of the League.

In 1612 the duchy of Chevreuse was sets up in peerage in favour of Claude of Lorraine, wire puine of Henri de Guise the Gash. Claude married in 1622 the widow of the constable of Luynes, Marie de Rohan. This lady, well-known under the name of duchess of Chevreuse, is famous for its beauty, its attachment with the Anne queen of Austria, and by its spirit intrigant and adventurous, which did one of the adversaries of them more fear of Richelieu and Mazarin. Claude of Lorraine died in 1657 without leaving male children, and with him the title of peerage died out. Marie de Rohan gave up the duchy of Chevreuse has Louis-Charles of Albert, duke of Luynes, wire of the constable, its first husband. This lord, after having made homage for his duchy, gave it has his son Charles-Honours with Albert. It has this duke, son-in-law of Colbert, friend of Beauvillers and Fenelon, that Racine dedicated in 1669 its beautiful tragedy of Britannicus. This large poet had master key some time with the castle of Chevreuse in 1661. Louis XIV, wishing to increase the park of Versailles, proposed an exchange with the duke of Chevreuse in 1692. At this point in time was sets up the duchy of Chevreuse-Montfort, and that the news baronnie of Chevreuse, less wide than the first, was given by the king to the established community of the Ladies of Saint-Louis Saint-Cyr military school has.

Give up consequently, the castle of Chevreuse did not delay has to fall in ruins. Towards 1823 its various buildings were adapt with the needs for a farm. Since 1853 it belongs has Mr. the duke of Luynes and Chevreuse.

This castle, in spite of the mutilations and the transformations which it underwent, is still one of most interesting and most complete of the surroundings of Paris. It was composed of three parts:

  • A rectangular keep of 17 bills of quantities out of 12 bills of quantities, appuye on 14 buttresses, bores dimension of the west of narrow windows in semicircular arch, which authorize has to make go up the date of its construction about the eleventh century. The openings of the east were increased at the fifteenth century. Old drawings prove that the walls of the keep rose all at least at the level of the current pinions, and that the roof in house was surmontee of a slim lantern.
  • An irregular enclosure of 65 bills of quantities length on 45 of width, furnished with five round towers, three square towers and many buttresses. The face of north is beautiful and solid construction of the end of the fourteenth century, time of Pierre de Chevreuse.
  • In the farmyard, formerly entouree of pits, one still notices the main door, and the vestiges of the antique vault of Holy-Marie-Magdeleine, opposite the large door, of the castle.

The walls and the turrets which protected the city remain partly, and make it possible to note successive enlargings. Dimension of the west, one finds, over a length of 100 bills of quantities, a wall of 2 bills of quantities thickness, built at the end of the fourteenth century with the help which the king Charles VI had grants to the inhabitants of Chevreuse.

The abbey of Saint-Saturnin, depend on the abbey of Bourgueil, occupied dimensions it southernmost court of the church. It was converted into simple prioress with the twelfth century. It had been so much ruinee by the wars of religion, which one reduced towards 1507 his vault has two spans taken in one of collateral of the old building, which included/understood six spans, and measured inside 35 bills of quantities on 15m, 60. The external door presents the characters and the ornaments of the architecture of transition from the twelfth century. One also notices with interest some of the vigorous capitals carve in the stone meuliere and crowning the columns has eight dimensions which separated the nave from the collateral ones.

The parish church, under the invocation of Martin saint, is contemporary of the prioress. She had much has to suffer from a violent one hurricane, who reversed the arrow of the bell-tower in 1308. The oldest parts are the bell-tower and the nave. The vaults of collateral and the chorus were rebuilt about 1614. Since ten years, important work of cleansing and interior restoration was made, thanks to the zeal and with the generosity of Mr. Delanoue, cure of the parish, Mr. Brouty, architect, and of Mr. de Coubertin, who has carries out paintings of the chorus.

The vault of Saint-Lubin, on the road of Paris, was rebuilt in 1845 on the site of an old vault close to the Leper-house.

The most remarkable house of the Chevreuse old man is the house of the Banners, street of Versailles, 14, close to the old door Grip-Wolf.

Among the outstanding characters born has Chevreuse, one must quote:

  • Sailor Roy, sior of Gomberville, 1600-1674, member of the French Academy, poet and novelist.
  • Antoine Pruneau, lawyer and writer of the eighteenth century.
  • Pierre Prudhomme, surgeon, died in 1708.
  • Montardier, 1747-1802, member of the legislative Body and the Council of the Five hundreds.
  • Ambroise Gautier, lawyer, 1776-1829.

The variations are: Hautvilliers, Trottigny, Jagny, Breuil, Talou, the Mill of Scotland-Button (Escorche-Botun, in 1237), Poinpierre, Doinvilliers, Cross-of-Saint-Lubin.

Source: The canton of Chevreuse (twenty communes) by L. Morize 1869.

Park of the Manor of Scotland-button
Crédit photo : (Park of the Manor of Scotland-button, chevreuse)


Reported to be remarkable heritage of quality.

Structural information

Park of the Manor of Scotland-button, « Park of the Manor of Scotland-button » is a construction of the city of Chevreuse (France, Yvelines). Park of the Manor of Scotland-button, French Heritage monument to Chevreuse chevreuse, yvelines

Location and general information

  • identifier : 126470
  • item : parc du manoir d'Ecosse-Bouton
  • Location of the building :
    • Ile-de-France
    • Yvelines
    • Chevreuse
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 78160
  • Zip code of the municipality : 78460
  • Order in the communal list : 47
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : park
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 2 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 20th century
    • 2nd quarter 20th century
  • Investigation : 1996
  • Date taken into account : 2003/07/31

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : Cote boîte Environnement : 126D ; dossier de jardin repéré.
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas : 2 distinct parts in the constitution of this place :
    • basin
    • driveway
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : property of a private person
  • Mérimée reference : IA78000666

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de S.Mobayen est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description of this building by S.Mobayen :

ancien moulin du 18eme siecle,modifie en 1932.avec son parc greco-romain.

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Park of the Manor of Scotland-button, French Heritage monument to Chevreuse. Picture of S.Mobayen
parc du manoir d'Ecosse-Bouton, chevreuse

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

parc du manoir d'Ecosse-Bouton à Chevreuse

Chevreuse, chef-lieu de canton, situé sur la rive gauche de l'Yvette, au pied des coteaux élevés de 80 mètres qui portent les ruines imposantes de l'ancien château; traversé par la route départementale n° 8 et par les chemins de grande communication n°13 et 58 ; le chemin d'intérêt commun n° 46 limite la commune à l'est; à 32 Km. de Paris, 17 S.-S.-O. de Versailles, 19 N.-E. de Rambouillet, 2 de la station de Saint-Remy-les-Chevreuse, et 9Km4 de celle de la Verrière; 1,989 habitants; la bureau télégraphique. L'hôpital-hospice!, transféré en 1858 dans les bâtiments construits aux dépens de M. le duc de Luynes, contient 48 lits, et possède un revenu d'environ 13,000 fr. Le bureau de bienfaisance distribue pour plus de 3,000 fr. de secours chaque année. Société de secours mutuels. Bibliothèque de Saint-Martin comptant plus de 700 volumes, et bibliothèque scolaire. Pensionnat de garçons dirigé par l'instituteur ; pensionnat de jeunes filles tenu par les religieuses de la Providence de Portieux. — Culture maraîchère, graines, céréales, foins, bois; carrières de grès et de pierres meulières; moulins à farine, une tannerie, une tuilerie.—Marché le samedi. Foires le dernier samedi d'avril, le 22 juillet (la Madeleine), le 14 septembre (Samt-Lubin) et le 12 novembre (Saint-Martin). Fête de Saint-Martin d'été le deuxième dimanche de juillet.

Dès la fin du dixième siècle il y avait à Chevreuse (Caprosia) une petite abbaye sous le titre de Saint-Saturnin. Les premiers seigneurs dominants de Chevreuse furent ceux de Montlhéry. Les terres qui ont formé les châtellenies de Chevreuse et de Maurepas étaient tenues en fief des évêques de Paris, des abbés de Saint-Denis et des comtes de Montfort-l'Amaury. Les fiefs et arrière-fiefs de ces châtellenies s'étendaient :

  • sur les paroisses de Chevreuse, des Trous, Choisel, Saint-Remy-les-Chevreuse, Milon-la-Chapelle, Saint-Lambert, Saint-Forget, Maincourt, les Layes, Dampierre et Senlisse;
  • sur les paroisses de Maurepas, Coignières, le Tremblay, et en partie sur celles de Bazoches, Mareil-le-Guyon, Saint-Remy-l'Honoré, Jouars-Pontchartrain, Élancourt et la Verrière.

L'ensemble de ces fiefs forma au quinzième siècle la baronnie de Chevreuse et de Maurepas. Il y avait, en outre, des fiefs et des arrière-fiefs, situés en dehors et quelquefois à des distances assez grandes de cette baronnie.

La branche aînée des seigneurs châtelains de Chevreuse a eu pour auteur Milon Ier, attaché à la cour du roi Robert en 1024. Sous Milon III, vers 1108, le château de Chevreuse résista aux efforts des troupes du roi Louis le Gros. Milon devint une des illustrations de la cour de France et fut envoyé par Louis VII à Constantinople, vers l'empereur Manuel Comnène, afin de faciliter le passage de l'armée croisée (1146). Gui III suivit Philippe-Auguste à la troisième croisade (1189). Son fils, Gui IV, prit aussi la croix, en 1239 et partagea la captivité du connétable Amaury de Montfort. Ce fut un seigneur riche, puissant et honoré. Il fit à la suite de saint Louis la glorieuse campagne qui se termina par la bataille de Taillebourg (1242). La reine Blanche de Castille, pendant sa seconde régence, le chargea, avec Hervé, son frère, de recueillir l'héritage du comte de Toulouse, au nom d'Alphonse de Poitiers et de Jeanne, sa femme. Gui IV mourut en 1263.

Avec Hervé, son fils, s'éteignit la branche aînée des premiers seigneurs de Chevreuse.

La branche cadette eut pour chef Hervé de Chevreuse, seigneur de Maincourt et frère de Gui IV. Le fils d'Hervé, Anseau, nommé en 1272 maréchal du royaume de Sicile, en récompense des services qu'il avait rendus à Charles d'Anjou, acquit, en vertu du retrait lignager, les châtellenies de Chevreuse et de Maurepas (1297). En mainte occasion il se signala au service du roi Philippe le Bel, et il fut nommé grand queux de France. Malgré son âge avancé, il fut chargé de porter l'oriflamme, honneur qui n'était jamais accordé qu'aux plus vaillants chevaliers de l'armée. Il mourut à la bataille de Mons-en-Puelle, étouffé dans son armure par l'excessive chaleur (1304).

Deux ans plus tard, Philippe le Bel vint loger à Chevreuse avec toute la Cour. Après la mort d Anseau, les châtellenies de Chevreuse et de Maurepas passèrent, par le mariage de Jeanne, son unique héritière, dans la famille d'Amboise, puis dans celle de Trie, et y restèrent jusqu'en 1366, époque à laquelle la terre de Chevreuse fut vendue pour payer une partie de la rançon d'Ingerger d'Amboise, qui avait été fait prisonnier à la désastreuse bataille de Poitiers.

La deuxième famille des seigneurs de Chevreuse eut pour auteur Pierre de Chevreuse, étranger à la famille précédente, et posséda la baronnie de 1366 à 1543. Pierre de Chevreuse, l'un des hommes considérables de son temps, fut chargé d'emplois importants dans les finances de l'Etat, sous les règnes de Jean If, de Charles V et de Charles VI, de 1362 à 1393. Il était attaché comme officier à la maison de ces deux derniers rois et à celles des princes du sang royal. Il fut châtelain et capitaine de Corbeil, gouverneur du comté de Dreux, conseiller du roi et général de toutes les finances en Languedoc.

Chevreuse tomba au pouvoir du duc de Bourgogne et de son allié, le roi d'Angleterre. Tannegui du Châtel et Barbasan, à la tête des troupes royales, reprirent la ville en 1417, mais renoncèrent à faire le siège du château. Ce ne fut qu'en 1438 que la ville et le château se rendirent définitivement à Charles VII. La contrée avait été tellement ravagée et désolée, que la ville de Chevreuse ne comptait plus en 1458 que 28 paroissiens, tandis qu'autrefois elle en avait eu 300. La baronnie de Chevreuse et de Maurepas fut acquise en 1543 par Jean de Brosse, mari d'Anne de Pisseleu, duchesse d'Etampes. François Ier érigea la baronnie en duché.

Charles de Lorraine, cardinal et archevêque de Reims, devenu possesseur de la terre de Chevreuse, obtint en 1555 la confirmation des lettres d'érection accordées à Jean de Brosse. Pendant les guerres de religion, la ville de Chevreuse, occupée par les partisans des princes de Lorraine, fut attaquée par les troupes royales, lorsque Henri III, unissant ses forces à celles de Henri de Navarre, vint mettre le siège devant Paris. La ville était investie et assiégée; l'assassinat commis sur le roi la préserva des rigueurs dont elle avait été menacée en cas de résistance, 1589. L'année suivante, Henri IV, se dirigeant de Mantes à Corbeil, passa par Chevreuse; il accueillit favorablement Anne de Clèves, veuve du duc de Guise, qui était alors en son château de Dampierre. Il voulut que la ville et le château de Chevreuse fussent respectés comme s'ils n'avaient jamais été rebelles. Il y laissa quelque garnison, et la contrée fut délivrée des troupes indisciplinées de la Ligue.

En 1612 le duché de Chevreuse fut érigé en pairie en faveur de Claude de Lorraine, fils puîné d'Henri de Guise le Balafré. Claude épousa en 1622 la veuve du connétable de Luynes, Marie de Rohan. Cette dame, bien connue sous le nom de duchesse de Chevreuse, est célèbre par sa beauté, par son attachement à la reine Anne d'Autriche, et par son esprit intrigant et aventureux, qui en fit un des adversaires les plus redoutés de Richelieu et de Mazarin. Claude de Lorraine mourut en 1657 sans laisser d'enfants mâles, et avec lui s'éteignit le titre de pairie. Marie de Rohan abandonna le duché de Chevreuse à Louis-Charles d'Albert, duc de Luynes, fils du connétable, son premier mari. Ce seigneur, après avoir fait hommage pour son duché, le donna à son fils Charles-Honoré d'Albert. C'est à ce duc, gendre de Colbert, ami de Beauvillers et de Fénelon, que Racine dédia en 1669 sa belle tragédie de Britannicus. Ce grand poëte avait passé quelque temps au château de Chevreuse en 1661. Louis XIV, désirant agrandir le parc de Versailles, proposa un échange au duc de Chevreuse en 1692. C'est alors que fut érigé le duché de Chevreuse-Montfort, et que la nouvelle baronnie de Chevreuse, moins étendue que la première, fut donnée par le roi à la communauté des Dames de Saint-Louis établie à Saint-Cyr.

Abandonné dès lors, le château de Chevreuse ne tarda pas à tomber en ruines. Vers 1823 ses divers bâtiments furent appropriés aux besoins d'une exploitation agricole. Depuis 1853 il appartient à M. le duc de Luynes et de Chevreuse.

Ce château, malgré les mutilations et les transformations qu'il a subies, est encore l'un des plus intéressants et des plus complets des environs de Paris. Il se composait de trois parties:

  • Un donjon rectangulaire de 17 mètres sur 12 mètres, appuyé sur 14 contre-forts, percé du côté de l'ouest d'étroites fenêtres en plein cintre, qui autorisent à faire remonter la date de sa construction vers le onzième siècle. Les ouvertures de l'est ont été agrandies au quinzième siècle. D'anciens dessins prouvent que les murs du donjon s'élevaient tous au moins à la hauteur des pignons actuels, et que la toiture en pavillon était surmontée d'une lanterne élancée.
  • Une enceinte irrégulière de 65 mètres de longueur sur 45 de largeur, garnie de cinq tours rondes, de trois tours carrées et de nombreux contre-forts. Le front du nord est une belle et solide construction de la fin du quatorzième siècle, du temps de Pierre de Chevreuse.
  • Dans la basse-cour, autrefois entourée de fossés, on remarque encore la porte d'entrée, et les vestiges de l'antique chapelle de Sainte-Marie-Magdeleine, vis-à-vis la grande porte, du château.

Les murailles et les tourelles qui protégeaient la ville subsistent en partie, et permettent de constater des agrandissements successifs. Du côté de l'ouest, on retrouve, sur une longueur de 100 mètres, un mur de 2 mètres d'épaisseur, construit à la fin du quatorzième siècle avec le secours que le roi Charles VI avait accordé aux habitants de Chevreuse.

L'abbaye de Saint-Saturnin, dépendant de l'abbaye de Bourgueil, occupait le côté méridional de la cour de l'église. Elle fut convertie en simple prieuré au douzième siècle. Elle avait été tellement ruinée par les guerres de religion, qu'on réduisit vers 1507 sa chapelle à deux travées prises dans l'un des collatéraux de l'ancien édifice, qui comprenait six travées, et mesurait à l'intérieur 35 mètres sur 15m,60. La porte extérieure présente les caractères et les ornements de l'architecture de transition du douzième siècle. On remarque aussi avec intérêt quelques-uns des vigoureux chapiteaux sculptés dans la pierre meulière et couronnant les colonnes à huit côtés qui séparaient la nef des collatéraux.

L'église paroissiale, sous l'invocation de saint Martin, est contemporaine du prieuré. Elle eut beaucoup à souffrir d'un violent ouragan, qui renversa la flèche du clocher en 1308. Les parties les plus anciennes sont le clocher et la nef. Les voûtes des collatéraux et du chœur ont été reconstruites vers 1614. Depuis une dizaine d'années, des travaux importants d'assainissement et de restauration intérieure ont été faits, grâce au zèle et à la générosité de M. Delanoue, curé de la paroisse, de M. Brouty, architecte, et de M. de Coubertin, qui a exécuté les peintures du chœur.

La chapelle de Saint-Lubin, sur la route de Paris, a été reconstruite en 1845 sur l'emplacement d'une ancienne chapelle voisine de la Léproserie.

La maison la plus remarquable du vieux Chevreuse est la maison des Bannières, rue de Versailles, 14, près de l'ancienne porte Pince-Loup.

Parmi les personnages marquants nés à Chevreuse, on doit citer:

  • Marin Le Roy, sieur de Gomberville, 1600-1674, membre de l'Académie française, poëte et romancier.
  • Antoine Pruneau, avocat et écrivain du dix-huitième siècle.
  • Pierre Prudhomme, chirurgien, mort en 1708.
  • Montardier, 1747-1802, membre du Corps législatif et du Conseil des Cinq-Cents.
  • Ambroise Gautier, avocat, 1776-1829.

Les écarts sont: Hautvilliers, Trottigny, Jagny, le Breuil, Talou, le Moulin d'Ecosse-Bouton (Escorche-Botun, en 1237), Poinpierre, Doinvilliers, la Croix-de-Saint-Lubin.

Source : Le canton de Chevreuse (vingt communes) par L. Morize 1869.

parc du manoir d'Ecosse-Bouton à Chevreuse
Crédit photo : S.Mobayen (parc du manoir d'Ecosse-Bouton, chevreuse)

bâtiment remarquable.

Informations structurelles

parc du manoir d'Ecosse-Bouton, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'parc du manoir d'Ecosse-Bouton' à chevreuse (yvelines 78460). Les écarts sont: Hautvilliers, Trottigny, Jagny, le Breuil, Talou, le Moulin d'Ecosse-Bouton (Escorche-Botun, en 1237), Poinpierre, Doinvilliers, la Croix-de-Saint-Lubin. chevreuse, yvelines

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 126470
  • item : parc du manoir d'Ecosse-Bouton
  • Localisation :
    • Ile-de-France
    • Yvelines
    • Chevreuse
  • Code INSEE commune : 78160
  • Code postal de la commune : 78460
  • Ordre dans la liste : 47
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : parc
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 2 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 20e siècle
    • 2e quart 20e siècle
  • Enquête : 1996
  • Date de versement : 2003/07/31

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : Cote boîte Environnement : 126D ; dossier de jardin repéré.
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes : 2 parties constituantes distinctes relevées :
    • bassin
    • allée
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété d'une personne privée
  • Référence Mérimée : IA78000666

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de S.Mobayen est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description par S.Mobayen :

ancien moulin du 18eme siecle,modifie en 1932.avec son parc greco-romain.

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
parc du manoir d'Ecosse-Bouton à Chevreuse. par S.Mobayen
parc du manoir d'Ecosse-Bouton, chevreuse

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.