Church, French Heritage monument to Villeneuve le comte

In the extent of this Parish (Romainvilliers), on the edge of the drill of Crecy, was the castle and the hamlet of Villeneuve-the-Count S. Paul. One builds a church in this place: the Abbot of S. Germain complained some like attack made with the Privileges about his Monastery, because according to a Bubble of the Pope Luce III, one could build no church in the extent of the parishes of the Abbey without the assent of the Abbot and the Monks. The abbot wanted same to make cut down this new church but one came from there has a compromise.

Guillaume de Nemours, who held for at the time the Seat of Meaux, proposed to set up Villeneuve-the-Count in Parish distinct from that of Romainvilliers, and whose presentation would belong to the Monks, the abbot agreed and thus was to it finishes this different. The act is year 1217. In this church of Villeneuve-the-Count towards the beginning of the thirteenth century a Vault in title was founded insane the name of S. Jean-Baptiste by a Lord of the place names Joubert, and by his Luce wife. This Vault always remains, and is with the nomination of the same Monks.

Source: History of the church of Meaux per All Saints' day Of Plessis 1731.

Villeneuve-the-count (Villa nova comitis)

This locality, which concerned the eveche of Meaux and of the abbey of Saint-Germain-of-Near had as lords the lords of Crecy-in-Brie who besides have it creee at the beginning of the XIII E century. The house of Flanders held, by heritage, at that time, the Viscount of Crecy, and Robert II of Flanders was at the same time, in 1195, count of Brie-Count-Robert and Dreux. To its death, in 1219, his/her daughter, Alix de Dreux, carried the goods in dowry, initially has Gaucher IV of Saline, then, with the count Guy de Chatillon who had, for successor, in 1226, his son Hugues, the founder of the abbey of Bridge-with-Ladies. Thus Villeneuve-the-Count belonged, in 1789, with the duke of Penthievre, heir to the count to Have, has who Louis XV had engages the Viscount of Crecy in 1762.

the Church

It was said that Gaucher of Chatillon had thrown the foundations of the church of Villeneuve in 1203. With this date, the seigniory belonged has Robert de Dreux, and his/her two sons-in-law, who succederent to him successively, were called Gaucher of Saline and Guy de Chatillon. By confusing the two names, one has creates a fictitious being like Viscount of Crecy: Left-handed person of Chatillon. In any case, the date given of 1203 for the installation of the first stone of the church of Villeneuve explains sufficiently that one finds in this construction some parts reflecting the transition style, in particular in the vault of the Sacred Heart. Whereas the posts has throats are of the XIII E, their capitals belong at the end of the XIII E the date of its completion explains also the reasons of the capitals has hooks of trefoil and the four sheets of the gate which have of the XIII E century only the reputation that certain writers traditionalists want to make them well to appear scholars, but who actually are characteristic; style of the XIV E What characterizes the XIII E century clans this church it is the triplet of the bedside and the seven blind arcades ternees of the triforium to the apse, which imitate this triplet. It is advisable to point out, indeed, that the triforiums in general do not have this form; they are composed of a series of of the same blind arcades height which are the mark of the triforiums of the XIV E century.

The gate is beautiful; but it is not worth, far from, the gates of the churches of the time of transition. Decorate posts and curves, it carries to the pier a statue, but deterioree. The trefoil arches and the quatrefoil frame unobtrusive sculptures of the Virgin and the sitted Child; magi and Lamb. A statue of bishop decorates the estanfique one. All this statuary XIII E century is within a framework which will be the general style of the XIV E century.

The triforium of the nave supports, in the line of its estanfiques, of the posts superposees which rise with the vaults of the nave by giving him the appearance of elegant lightness that without the column it would not have. The pentagonal apse enlightened of simple ogival windows which are not lancets. The restorations which this historical building underwent on behalf of the State in 1861 and 1870 have to undoubtedly modify primitive bays.

The sides do not offer anything in particular. As for the external splash plates and the pillars which separate them from the nave, confine columns, with throats at the base, they are well of the XIII E century. This nave is lit by rosettes has six rays of the XIV E under its ogival vault has double torus provided with keys.

The Saint-Joseph vault is decorated of a niche has posts and capitals.

The churchwarden's pew, which is class is of the XVI E century. Its three panels are carve biblical characters and the file represents, sculptee in high relief, a Blessed Virgin crushing the snake.

A stone statue of natural size decorates the high altar. One has to restore the head or at least his crown to him, because while its draperies are ourlees arabesques of a later style, has our direction, its crown presents a lace of hearts perforate which appear to be of the XIV E century. Further is a beautiful table carves on wood: a saint Jean Baptist with the lamb and the cross.

One active statement six tomb stones of the XIII E to the XVII E century.

Source: Illustrated general history of the departments, Seine-et-Marne by Pignard-Peguet, Maurice 1911.

Church
(Church, villeneuve le comte)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Church, « Church » is a construction of the city of Villeneuve le comte (France, Seine et marne). Church, French Heritage monument to Villeneuve le comte villeneuve le comte, seine et marne

Location and general information

  • identifier : 125912
  • item : Eglise
  • Location of the building :
    • Ile-de-France
    • Seine-et-Marne
    • Villeneuve-le-Comte
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 77508
  • Zip code of the municipality : 77174
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : church
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • We have no information on the time of construction of this monument.
  • Date of protection : 1849/03/13 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/06/24

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : 18 04 1914 (J.O.)
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : owned by the 1992 municipality
  • Picture : 8a4a4f7f77e1f2b44b94d0d39755c3b3.jpg
  • Details : Eglise : classement par avis de classement du 13 mars 1849
  • Mérimée reference : PA00087323

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Church, French Heritage monument to Villeneuve le comte. Picture of Lumière du matin
Eglise, villeneuve le comte
Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Church, French Heritage monument to Villeneuve le comte. Picture of Lumière du matin
Eglise, villeneuve le comte

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Eglise à Villeneuve le comte

Dans l'étendue de cette Paroisse (Romainvilliers), sur la lisière de la forêt de Crecy, était le château et le hameau de Villeneuve-le-Comte S. Paul. On bâtit une église dans ce lieu: l'Abbé de S. Germain s'en plaignit comme d'une atteinte faite aux Privilèges de son Monastère, parce que selon une Bulle du Pape Luce III, on ne pouvait construire aucune église dans l'étendue des paroisses de l'Abbaye sans le consentement de l'Abbé et des Religieux. L'abbé voulut même faire abattre cette nouvelle église mais on en vint à un accommodement.

Guillaume de Nemours, qui tenait pour lors le Siège de Meaux, proposa d'ériger Villeneuve-le-Comte en Paroisse distincte de celle de Romainvilliers, et dont la présentation appartiendrait aux Religieux, L’abbé y consentit et ainsi fut terminé ce diffèrent. L’acte est de l'an 1217. Dans cette église de Villeneuve-le-Comte fut fondée vers le commencement du treizième siècle une Chapelle en titre fous le nom de S. Jean-Baptiste par un Seigneur du lieu nommé Joubert, et par sa femme Luce. Cette Chapelle subsiste toujours, et est à la nomination des mêmes Religieux.

Source : Histoire de l'église de Meaux par Toussaint Du Plessis 1731.

Villeneuve-le-Comte (Villa nova comitis)

Cette localité, qui relevait de l'évêché de Meaux et de l'abbaye de Saint-Germain-des-Prés eut pour seigneurs les seigneurs de Crécy-en-Brie qui d'ailleurs l'ont créée au début du XIIIe siècle. La maison de Flandre détenait, par héritage, à cette époque, la vicomte de Crécy, et Robert II de Flandre était en même temps, en 1195, comte de Brie-Comte-Robert et de Dreux. A sa mort, en 1219, sa fille, Alix de Dreux, porta les biens en dot, d'abord à Gaucher IV de Salins, ensuite, au comte Guy de Châtillon qui eut, pour successeur, en 1226, son fils Hugues, le fondateur de l'abbaye de Pont-aux-Dames. C'est ainsi que Villeneuve-le-Comte appartenait, en 1789, au duc de Penthièvre, héritier du comte d'Eu, à qui Louis XV avait engagé la vicomte de Crécy en 1762.

l'Eglise

On a dit que Gaucher de Châtillon avait jeté les fondations de l'église de Villeneuve en 1203. A cette date, la seigneurie appartenait à Robert de Dreux, et ses deux gendres, qui lui succédèrent successivement, s'appelaient Gaucher de Salins et Guy de Châtillon. En confondant les deux noms, on a créé un être fictif comme vicomte de Crécy : Gaucher de Châtillon. En tout cas, la date donnée de 1203 pour la pose de la première pierre de l'église de Villeneuve explique suffisamment qu'on trouve dans cette construction quelques parties reflétant le style de la transition, notamment dans la chapelle du Sacré-Coeur. Alors que les colonnettes à gorges sont du XIIIe, leurs chapiteaux appartiennent à la fin du XIIIe La date de son achèvement explique aussi les raisons des chapiteaux à crochets des trilobés et du quatre feuilles du portail qui n'ont du XIIIe siècle que la réputation que certains écrivains traditionalistes veulent bien leur faire pour paraître érudits, mais qui en réalité sont caractéristiques; du style du XIVe Ce qui caractérise le XIIIe siècle clans cette église c'est le triplet du chevet et les sept arcatures ternées du triforium à l'abside, lesquelles imitent ce triplet. Il convient de faire remarquer, en effet, que les triforiums en général n'ont pas cette forme; ils se composent d'une série d'arcatures de même hauteur qui sont la marque des triforiums du XIVe siècle.

Le portail est beau ; mais il ne vaut pas, loin de là, les portails des églises de l'époque de transition. Orné de colonnettes et de voussures, il porte au trumeau une statue, mais détériorée. Les arcs trilobés et le quatre-feuilles encadrent des sculptures effacées de la Vierge et l'Enfant assis; des Mages et de l'Agneau. Une statue d'évêque orne l'estanfique. Toute cette statuaire XIIIe siècle est dans un cadre qui sera le style général du XIVe siècle.

Le triforium de la nef supporte, dans la ligne de ses estanfiques, des colonnettes superposées qui s'élèvent aux voûtes de la nef en lui donnant l'apparence d'élégante légèreté que sans la colonne elle n'aurait pas. L'abside pentagonale s'éclaire de fenêtres ogivales simples qui ne sont pas des lancettes. Les restaurations que cet édifice historique a subies de la part de l'Etat en 1861 et 1870 ont sans doute dû modifier les baies primitives.

Les bas-côtés n'offrent rien de particulier. Quant aux dosserets extérieurs et aux piliers qui les séparent de la nef, cantonnés de colonnes, avec gorges à la base, ils sont bien du XIIIe siècle. Cette nef est éclairée par des rosaces à six rayons du XIVe sous sa voûte ogivale à double tore munie de clefs.

La chapelle Saint-Joseph est ornée d'une niche à colonnettes et chapiteaux.

Le banc d’œuvre, qui est classé est du XVIe siècle. Ses trois panneaux sont sculptés de personnages bibliques et le dossier représente, sculptée en haut relief, une Sainte Vierge écrasant le serpent.

Une statue en pierre de grandeur naturelle décore le maître-autel. On a dû lui restaurer la tête ou du moins sa couronne, car tandis que ses draperies sont ourlées d'arabesques d'un style ultérieur, à notre sens, sa couronne présente une dentelle de cœurs ajourés qui paraissent être du XIVe siècle. Plus loin est un beau tableau sculpté sur bois : un saint Jean Baptiste à l'agneau et la croix.

On relève six pierres tombales allant du XIIIe au XVIIe siècle.

Source : Histoire générale illustrée des départements, Seine-et-Marne par Pignard-Péguet, Maurice 1911.

Eglise à Villeneuve le comte
(Eglise, villeneuve le comte)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Eglise, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Eglise' à villeneuve le comte (seine et marne 77174). On a dit que Gaucher de Châtillon avait jeté les fondations de l'église de Villeneuve en 1203. A cette date, la seigneurie appartenait à Robert de Dreux, et ses deux gendres, qui lui succédèrent successivement, s'appelaient Gaucher de Salins et Guy de Châtillon. villeneuve le comte, seine et marne

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 125912
  • item : Eglise
  • Localisation :
    • Ile-de-France
    • Seine-et-Marne
    • Villeneuve-le-Comte
  • Code INSEE commune : 77508
  • Code postal de la commune : 77174
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : église
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • Nous n'avons aucune informlation sur les périodes de constructions de cet édifice.
  • Date de protection : 1849/03/13 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/06/24

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : 18 04 1914 (J.O.)
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune 1992
  • Photo : 8a4a4f7f77e1f2b44b94d0d39755c3b3.jpg
  • Détails : Eglise : classement par avis de classement du 13 mars 1849
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00087323

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Eglise à Villeneuve le comte. par Lumière du matin
Eglise, villeneuve le comte
Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Eglise à Villeneuve le comte. par Lumière du matin
Eglise, villeneuve le comte

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.