Said garden park of the castle of Paroy, French Heritage monument to Paroy

Seeking everywhere traces of armorial bearings and signs of feudality, the police chiefs responsibilities of disarm the Noble ones ordered especially destruction in the castles or they did not meet the owners. On the flax of 1793, it came to the castle from Paroy, in the district of Layered branches, which, in the absence of the marquis de Paroy, made burn all its titles and papers, made insert and to break its portraits of family decorate with cross and large cords, to remove the roofs of the turns finally, because they '' wounded the equality ''.

Source: The nobility of France and the public opinion to the XVIII E century by Henri Square.

The family of Paroy had as a patronymic name the Nice one. She was originating in Brittany, and Lachesnaye-Desbois gives filiation of it since the fourteenth century. The grandfather of our chronicler was general police chief of the marine. The father, Guy the Nice one, on May 30, 1728, does not deserve that we briefly tell his life. He married, on September 15, 1749, Louise-Elisabeth de Rigaud of Vaudreuil, girl of the count Louis-Philippe de Vaudreuil, general lieutenant of the naval armies and Grand Cross of Saint-Louis, and acquired by this marriage of great properties has Saint-Domingue. He entered, next on November 23, like second ensign with the regiment of the French guards. On October 23, 1752, Guy the Nice receipt ground of Paroy, situee in Brie, close to Donnemarie in Mons. It obtained, in November 1754, the erection of this ground in marquisat, and the royal letters patent carried that this favour was accordee with the recipient in consideration of the services and the nobility of its family, one of oldest of the province of Brittany. Guy the Nice one took consequently the title of marquis de Paroy. He made demolish the old castle and built nine of them on the same site.

First teaches since September 2, 1753, the new marquis was promoted second lieutenant on March 30, 1760 and accepted, on May 19, 1763, the cross of Saint-Louis.

On March 12, 1766, he became large baillif of sword of the `cities and count de Provins and of Montereau-is necessary-Yonne and lieutenant for the king of the provinces of Brie and Champagne. He gave then, next on April 27, his resignation of sound-lieutenant. He represented the nobility of Direction at the assembly of notable of 1788 and chaired that of Layered branches and Montereau, on March 16, 1789. He was elected, the 27 of the same month, deputy of the nobility of the bailliage of Layered branches to the General states.


Louis sixteen reading his will has
Mr. de Lamoignon de Malesherbes
its defender

Jean Philippe Guy the Nice one
Count de Paroy
(1750-1824; engraver).
Draughtsman of the model.

Burning royalist and opposes to the novel ideas, the marquis de Paroy defended the king during the days of October 5, 1789. He did not take part, moreover, that little time to work of the constituent Assembly; he asked and obtained ore basket on April 13, 1790, gave his resignation in May 1791 and was replaces the 17 of this month by a substitute, the farmer Billy, Layered branches. He emigrated and went to find has Worms the princes in August 1791. He placed at the disposal of prince de Conde, who organized his army, the sum of 24,916 pounds, of which this one gave him received on August 22. The count of Provence appointed it governor of Santo Domingo. The marquis left to go has his station, but it passed by Paris and announced the new one has his son. This one advised to him to make confirm its mission by the king and to require an audience on this subject has Louis XVI. The audience took place, but the king refused to hear the pseudo-governor, who took ore basket and turned over has Coblentz. The marquis did not delay has to return has Paris, or it is established street of the Mills in his daughter the marchioness of Mortagne. It frequently went to the castle of Tileries and was the August 10 day before there. Return at his place the 9 at the evening, it could not, the following day, to join the defenders of the royal family. The active role which his/her son had cheek in this famous day forced it has to move away from the capital.

It left Paris, on September 7, 1792, with his wife by the water stage coach of Montereau to go in its ground of Paroy. It unloaded has Melun and was made lead has Fontainebleau. his wife being tombee sick, it accepted a housing in a doctor names Dacis and rented then a small house. His/her son, obliges to flee, joined it; with the news?execution of the king, the marquis solved to go has Bordeaux, of or it would embark for Saint-Domingue. It left with his son the morning January 22, and both arriverent has Bordeaux the 29. It found his son-in-law there the Viscount of Hamel and its daughter. The embargo laid on the ships, because of the declaration of war with England, prevented the realization of its projects of voyage.

Decree on June 25, 1793 with his/her son and locks up with the castle of Extremely-Louis, it was freed after eleven days of imprisonment. This adventure engaged it has to follow has Castetz, large borough locates on the Garonne, has ten miles of Bordeaux, its son-in-law and his daughter, which had a very old castle there. It was not a long time quiet there; The Viscount of Hamel, denounces, was stopped on September 30, 1793, and the marquis had the same fate next on October 30 and was led to Reole. He undergoes, on January 21, 1794, a interrogation, and its answers show a great presence of mind, if one judges some by this one:

'' Which is one, your opinion asked him on the death of the tyrant? '' '' It does not belong, answered it, has an individual to emit his opinion when the wish of the nation is manifest by the body of its representatives; it must be subjected has its decrees. ''

The following day January 22 it was embarked has six hours of the morning on a large boat of station with sixteen of his companions. They arriverent has Bordeaux the 23 has seven hours of the evening and were led in a large dungeon, locates at the top of a tower and which one reached by a winding staircase having more than one hundred steps.

The marquis de Paroy remained thirty-seven days in this place or reigned a nauseous odor and was finally, thanks to the steps of his son, transfers, on February 27, with the Small Seminar. Freed on March 22, 1794, it left Bordeaux on April 1 and arrived the 2 has Castetz, or his/her daughter and her son-in-law, deliver on April 29, joined it. He solicited administrators of Seine-et-Marne then his radiation and that of his son of the list of the emigrants.

'' I as request from you, citizens, wrote it, to consider as we do not deserve to be milked in suspect people, nor as enemies of the Republic. Neither me, neither none the miens naps left its territory, neither enter any function nor intrigue. We subjected ourselves has all the decrees of Convention; we made in favour of the Revolution all the sacrifices that our faculties could allow us, considering it regrettable that the loss entiere of my fortune removed me the means of making some larger. We do not have cease and we do not cease making sincere wishes for the prosperity and the glory of the Republic and the destruction of its enemies. ''

It is seen, the marquis knew with the need to play the republican. He obtained by deliberation of the district of Layered branches on 1st vendemiaire year III (September 22, 1794) his radiation of the list of the emigrants. With this news, he thought has to return in his hearths. Income has Bordeaux on December 22, 1794, it did not leave this city that on February 28, 1795 to join has Fontainebleau his Wife, who had just left prison. He lived quiet, without having dream has to make sanction his provisional radiation, when the decrees of 18 and 19 Fructidor year VI (September 4, 1797) proscribed all the emigrants. Thanks to its old and with the steps of his son near the Minister for the Sotin police force, it obtained to remain in monitoring has Fontainebleau. The 20 floreal year VIII (May 10, 1800), it claimed near the prefect of Seine-et-Marne his final radiation of the list of the emigrants, whom granted to him finally, 13 Frimaire year X (December 4, 1801), a decree of the consuls).

The marquis de Paroy lost on March 21, 1803 his wife, deceased has Fontainebleau. He withdrew himself then in his ground of Paroy with his grandson next on April 10.

He undoubtedly returned to spend the winter has Fontainebleau, because it is in this city that he died, on May 24, 1807, street of the Hillocks, n? 310, with old seventy-nine years.

Source: Memories of the count de Paroy: memories of a defender of the royal family during the revolution (1789-1797) publish by Etienne Charavay

Said garden park of the castle of Paroy
Crédit photo : (Said garden park of the castle of Paroy, paroy)


Reported to be remarkable heritage of quality.

Structural information

Said garden park of the castle of Paroy, « Said garden park of the castle of Paroy » is a construction of the city of Paroy (France, Seine et marne). Said garden park of the castle of Paroy, French Heritage monument to Paroy paroy, seine et marne

Location and general information

  • identifier : 155231
  • item : Jardin d'agrément dit parc du château de Paroy
  • Location of the building :
    • Ile-de-France
    • Seine-et-Marne
    • Paroy
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 77355
  • Zip code of the municipality : 77520
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : garden
  • State :
    • current state of the monument : destroyed

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 2 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 18th century
    • 3rd quarter 18th century
  • Year : 1760
  • Investigation : 1996
  • Date taken into account : 2003/07/31

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • Plan Type 'regular garden'

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : Cote boîte Environnement 084D
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • a constituent part in this construction : moat
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : private property
  • Involved in the work : Gentil Guy le (commanditaire)Sachot (commanditaire)
  • Author of the survey MH : Collette Florence
  • Mérimée reference : IA77000056

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de doulce_france est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description of this building by doulce_france :

Petite gravure tirée du "Guide du voyageur en France" édité dans la première moitié du 19° siècle.

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Said garden park of the castle of Paroy, French Heritage monument to Paroy. Picture of doulce_france
Jardin d'agrément dit parc du château de Paroy, paroy

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Jardin d'agrément dit parc du château de Paroy à Paroy

Recherchant partout des traces d’armoiries et des signes de féodalité, les commissaires chargés de désarmer les Nobles ordonnaient surtout des destructions dans les châteaux où ils ne rencontraient pas les propriétaires. Sur la lin de 1793, il en vint au château de Paroy, dans le district de Provins, qui, en l’absence du marquis de Paroy, firent brûler tous ses titres et papiers, firent enfoncer et briser ses portraits de famille décorés de croix et de grands cordons, enlever enfin les toitures des tours, parce qu’elles « blessaient l’égalité ».

Source : La noblesse de France et l'opinion publique au XVIIIe siècle par Henri Carré.

La famille de Paroy avait pour nom patronymique Le Gentil. Elle était originaire de Bretagne, et Lachesnaye-Desbois en donne la filiation depuis le quatorzième siècle. Le grand-père de notre chroniqueur était commissaire général de la marine. Le père, Guy Le Gentil, né le 30 mai 1728, mérite que nous racontions brièvement sa vie. Il épousa, le 15 septembre 1749, Louise-Élisabeth de Rigaud de Vaudreuil, fille du comte Louis-Philippe de Vaudreuil, lieutenant général des armées Navales et grand-croix de Saint-Louis, et acquit par ce mariage de grandes propriétés à Saint-Domingue. Il entra, le 23 novembre suivant, comme deuxième enseigne au régiment des gardes françaises. Le 23 octobre 1752, Guy Le Gentil acquit la terre de Paroy, située en Brie, près de Donnemarie en Montois. Il obtint, en novembre 1754, l'érection de cette terre en marquisat, et les lettres patentes royales portaient que cette faveur était accordée au bénéficiaire en considération des services et de la noblesse de sa famille, une des plus anciennes de la province de Bretagne. Guy Le Gentil prit dès lors le titre de marquis de Paroy. Il fit démolir le vieux château et en édifia un neuf sur le même emplacement.

Premier enseigne depuis le 2 septembre 1753, le nouveau marquis fût promu sous-lieutenant le 30 mars 1760 et reçut, le 19 mai 1763, la croix de Saint-Louis.

Le 12 mars 1766, il devint grand bailli d'épée des villes`et comté de Provins et de Montereau-faut-Yonne et lieutenant pour le roi des provinces de Brie et de Champagne. Il donna alors, le 27 avril suivant, sa démission de sons-lieutenant. Il représenta la noblesse de Sens à l'assemblée des notables de 1788 et présida celle de Provins et de Montereau, le 16 mars 1789. Il fut élu, le 27 du même mois, député de la noblesse du bailliage de Provins aux États généraux.


Louis seize lisant son testament à
Mr de Lamoignon de Malesherbes
son déffenseur

Jean Philippe Guy Le Gentil
Comte de Paroy
(1750-1824 ; graveur).
Dessinateur du modèle.

Royaliste ardent et opposé aux idées nouvelles, le marquis de Paroy défendit le roi pendant les journées des 5 et 6 octobre 1789. Il ne participa, d’ailleurs, que peu de temps aux travaux de l'Assemblée constituante ; il demanda et obtint congé le 13 avril 1790, donna sa démission en mai 1791 et fut remplacé le 17 de ce mois par un suppléant, le cultivateur Billy, de Provins. Il émigra et alla retrouver à Worms les princes en août 1791. Il mit à la disposition du prince de Condé, qui organisait son armée, la somme de 24,916 livres, dont celui-ci lui donna reçu le 22 août. Le comte de Provence le nomma gouverneur de Saint-Domingue. Le marquis partit pour se rendre à son poste, mais il passa par Paris et annonça la nouvelle à son fils. Celui-ci lui conseilla de faire confirmer sa mission par le roi et de demander à ce sujet une audience à Louis XVI. L'audience eut lieu, mais le roi refusa d'entendre le pseudo-gouverneur, qui prit congé et retourna à Coblentz. Le marquis ne tarda pas à revenir à Paris, où il s'établit rue des Moulins chez sa fille la marquise de Mortagne. Il allait fréquemment au château des Tuileries et s'y trouvait la veille du 10 août. Rentré chez lui le 9 au soir, il ne put, le lendemain, se joindre aux défenseurs de la famille royale. Le rôle actif que son fils avait joué dans cette fameuse journée le força à s'éloigner de la capitale.

Il quitta Paris, le 7 septembre 1792, avec sa femme par le coche d'eau de Montereau pour se rendre dans sa terre de Paroy. Il débarqua à Melun et se fit conduire à Fontainebleau. sa femme étant tombée malade, il accepta un logement chez un médecin nommé Dacis et loua ensuite une petite maison. Son fils, obligé de fuir, vint le rejoindre ; à la nouvelle·de l'exécution du roi, le marquis résolut de se rendre à Bordeaux, d'où il s'embarquerait pour Saint-Domingue. Il partit avec son fils le matin du 22 janvier, et tous deux arrivèrent à Bordeaux le 29. Il y trouva son gendre le vicomte du Hamel et sa fille. L'embargo mis sur les navires, à cause de la déclaration de guerre avec l’Angleterre, empêcha la réalisation de ses projets de voyage.

Arrêté le 25 juin 1793 avec son fils et enfermé au château de Fort-Louis, il fut mis en liberté après onze jours d'emprisonnement. Cette aventure l'engagea à suivre à Castetz, gros bourg situé sur la Garonne, à dix lieues de Bordeaux, son gendre et sa fille, qui y possédaient un château très ancien. Il n'y fut pas longtemps tranquille; Le vicomte du Hamel, dénoncé, fut arrêté le 30 septembre 1793, et le marquis eut le même sort le 30 octobre suivant et fut conduit à La Réole. Il subit, le 21 janvier 1794, un interrogatoire, et ses réponses montrent une grande présence d'esprit, si on en juge par celle-ci :

« Quelle est, lui demanda-t-on, votre opinion sur la mort du tyran ? » « Il n’appartient pas, répondit il, à un individu d'émettre son opinion quand le vœu de la nation s'est manifesté par l'organe de ses représentants ; il doit se soumettre à ses décrets. »

Le lendemain 22 janvier on l'embarqua à six heures du matin sur un grand bateau de poste avec seize de ses compagnons. Ils arrivèrent à Bordeaux le 23 à sept heures du soir et furent conduits dans un grand cachot, situé au haut d'une tour et auquel on accédait par un escalier tournant ayant plus de cent marches.

Le marquis de Paroy resta trente-sept jours dans ce lieu où régnait une odeur nauséabonde et fut enfin, grâce aux démarches de son fils, transféré, le 27 février, au Petit Séminaire. Mis en liberté le 22 mars 1794, il quitta Bordeaux le 1er avril et arriva le 2 à Castetz, où sa fille et son gendre, délivrés le 29 avril, vinrent le rejoindre. Il sollicita alors des administrateurs de Seine-et—Marne sa radiation et celle de son fils de la liste des émigrés.

« Je vous prie aussi, citoyens, écrivait-il, de considérer que nous ne méritons pas d'être traités en gens suspects, ni en ennemis de la République. Ni moi, ni aucun des miens ne sommes sortis de son territoire, ni entrés dans aucune fonction ni intrigue. Nous nous sommes soumis à tous les décrets de la Convention; nous avons fait en faveur de la Révolution tous les sacrifices que nos facultés ont pu nous permettre, regrettant que la perte entière de ma fortune m'ait ôté les moyens d'en faire de plus grands. Nous n'avons cessé et nous ne cessons de faire des vœux sincères pour la prospérité et la gloire de la République et l'anéantissement de ses ennemis. »

On le voit, le marquis savait au besoin jouer le républicain. Il obtint par délibération du district de Provins en date du 1er vendémiaire an III (22 septembre 1794) sa radiation de la liste des émigrés. A cette nouvelle, il songea à rentrer dans ses foyers. Revenu à Bordeaux le 22 décembre 1794, il ne quitta cette ville que le 28 février 1795 pour rejoindre à Fontainebleau sa Femme, qui venait de sortir de prison. Il vivait tranquille, sans avoir songé à faire sanctionner sa radiation provisoire, quand les décrets des 18 et 19 Fructidor an VI (4 et 5 septembre 1797) proscrivirent tous les émigrés. Grâce à son âge et aux démarches de son fils auprès du ministre de la police Sotin, il obtint de rester en surveillance à Fontainebleau. Le 20 floréal an VIII (10 mai 1800), il réclama auprès du préfet de Seine-et-Marne sa radiation définitive de la liste des émigrés, que lui accorda enfin, le 13 Frimaire an X (4 décembre 1801), un arrêté des consuls).

Le marquis de Paroy perdit le 21 mars 1803 sa femme, décédée à Fontainebleau. Il se retira alors dans sa terre de Paroy avec son petit-fils le 10 avril suivant.

Il revenait sans doute passer l'hiver à Fontainebleau, car c'est dans cette ville qu'il mourut, le 24 mai 1807, rue des Buttes, n° 310, à l'age de soixante-dix-neuf ans.

Source : Mémoires du comte de Paroy : souvenirs d'un défenseur de la famille royale pendant la révolution (1789-1797) publiés par Etienne Charavay

Jardin d'agrément dit parc du château de Paroy à Paroy
Crédit photo : doulce_france (Jardin d'agrément dit parc du château de Paroy, paroy)

bâtiment remarquable.

Informations structurelles

Jardin d'agrément dit parc du château de Paroy, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Jardin d'agrément dit parc du château de Paroy' à paroy (seine et marne 77520). Guy Le Gentil prit dès lors le titre de marquis de Paroy. Il fit démolir le vieux château et en édifia un neuf sur le même emplacement. paroy, seine et marne

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 155231
  • item : Jardin d'agrément dit parc du château de Paroy
  • Localisation :
    • Ile-de-France
    • Seine-et-Marne
    • Paroy
  • Code INSEE commune : 77355
  • Code postal de la commune : 77520
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : jardin
  • Etat :
    • Etat courrant du monument : détruit (suceptible à changement)

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 2 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 18e siècle
    • 3e quart 18e siècle
  • Année : 1760
  • Enquête : 1996
  • Date de versement : 2003/07/31

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • Plan Type 'jardin régulier'

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : Cote boîte Environnement 084D
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • PArtie constituante relevée : douves
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété privée
  • Acteurs impliqués dans l'oeuvre : Gentil Guy le (commanditaire)Sachot (commanditaire)
  • Auteur de l'enquête MH : Collette Florence
  • Référence Mérimée : IA77000056

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de doulce_france est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Description par doulce_france :

Petite gravure tirée du "Guide du voyageur en France" édité dans la première moitié du 19° siècle.

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Jardin d'agrément dit parc du château de Paroy à Paroy. par doulce_france
Jardin d'agrément dit parc du château de Paroy, paroy

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.