Former insane asylum, French Heritage monument to Le mans

One would have with difficulty an idea of the state of the lunatics in the city of Mans such as it was formerly, that it is enough for me to say that they lived truths dungeons, that they were confused with prisoners, that they were connect and that they could not enter the hospital that after a stay more or less prolongs in the prison, or they were retained to be milked and to be prohibited.

These unhappy has been today in a beautiful private hospital built for a few years by the care of the departmental administration.

It is impossible to offer an ordinance of simpler construction, healthier and more favorable to the service, the monitoring and the wellbeing of the lunatics. In the west of the city of Mans, small a demilieue has, bathes by the small river of Huyne, on very-large squares closed walls, isolates from any dwelling, one built this establishment. The entry in is imposing, the buildings are precede by a large semicircular court entouree of a gallery, in the high center a building has two stages for the housing of the sisters, the treasurer, the linen room, pharmacy, the kitchens, the vault is there admirably well distribuee for a similar house.

Behind this first building, one built the hydraulic apparatus and the baths. The dwellings of the patients are laid out on the dimensions of these buildings and form two divisions, one for the men, the other for the women.

Each division is subdivided in four houses perpendicular to central constructions, parallels between them, separated by courses plantees, joined together by a covered gallery, the ground floors are intend has refectories, common rooms, rooms of work, and stages it above form the dormitories of twelve beds; these dormitories, reach a maximum, are lit by large bays of crossings, furnished with iron trellis-work.

Two of the districts, for the men and the other for the women, are lay out in cells has ground floor. The bays are fermees by crossings vitrees and a shutter. They open outwards by the gallery. The house of the doctor independent and is separated by the wall from the gardens, which it is enough to cross to be near the patients.

Mr. Doctor Etoc, high of Salpetriere, was names doctor as a chief of this open house in 1834. The knowledge, the activity, the zeal of this young doctor, answered of the excellent direction given has this beautiful establishment, which must comfort those which knew the deplorable state of the lunatics in the city of Mans. High in medicine second Mr. Etoc. A payment which given attributions of all the employees, and regulates all the services, was writes. A commission presidee by the prefect of the Sarthe, manages this house; a sparing receiver provides for the material needs for all the services. Three sisters of Charity, having has their orders of the male nurses and of the nurses, the care supervises directs give the patients. They are in charge with pharmacy, the kitchen, and cleanliness, and the conservation maintenance of law and order of clothing.

The male nurses receive the immediate orders of the doctor, who can suspend them their functions. The prefect orders the admission of the poor. The boarders must equipped with a certificate of doctor, noting their state of madness, aims by the mayor of the residence of the patient. The price of the pensions varies from 400,700 has 1200 FR.

Source: Mental diseases considerees under the reports/ratios medical By Etienne Esquirol

Ministry for the culture

Found in 1828, asylum is built according to the plan-type gives in 1818 per Hippolyte Lebas bases on the innovative theories of Doctor Esquirol.

Work of the architect Felix Delarue. Plan following a longitudinal axis occupies by a court of circulation including/understanding the building of administration and the services, and finishes by the vault.

Around the building are lay out the houses of the various classes of patients, separating the men and the women. Certain buildings preserve their installations of origin, in particular the wing of agitate and the amphitheatre of dissection.

Former insane asylum
Crédit photo : (Former insane asylum, le mans)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Former insane asylum, Founded in 1828, the asylum is built according to the type map given in 1818 by Hippolyte Lebas based on the innovative theories of Dr. Esquirol. Work of the (...) Former insane asylum, French Heritage monument to Le mans le mans, sarthe

Location and general information

  • identifier : 119800
  • item : Ancien asile d'aliénés
  • Location of the building :
    • Pays de la Loire
    • Sarthe
    • Le Mans
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 72181
  • Zip code of the municipality : 72000
  • Order in the communal list : 3
  • Name of the building :
    • There is no specific designation in our database for this building.
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • The building dates mainly from the period : 19th century
  • Year : 1828
  • Date of protection : 2001/10/04 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 2002/08/26

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : Inscription 26 06 2000 (arrêté) annulée. Les bâtiments n° 6, 13, 14 et 15 sont exclus de la protection.
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :5 parts of the building are subject to protection and are listed as follows :
    • elevation
    • chapel
    • gallery
    • pavilion
    • Concierge
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : property of a public establishment Department (2000
  • Detail :
    • Eléments suivants tels qu' ils figurent sur le plan joint à l' arrêté : la chapelle (n° 1) et le pavillon des "agités" -côté rivière Huisne(n° 3A), en totalité
    • les galeries de circulation reliant les bâtiments désignés au présent arrêté
    • les façades et toitures des bâtiments suivants : les deux pavillons encadrant la chapelle (n° 2A et 2B), la porterie (n° 4), le bâtiment de direction au centre de la cour (n° 5) -à l' exception des locaux de service 20e siècle (n° 6)-, les pavillons de malades situés de part et d' autre de la cour centrale (n° 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9A, 9B), les deux pavillons de services reliés au bâtiment de direction (n° 10A et 10 B), le pavillon des hôtes de première classe côté rivière Huisne (n° 11), la maison du médecin chef et son bâtiment de jardin (n° 12)
    • les terrains d' assiette, y compris les murs de clôture (cad. HW 166, 294) : classement par arrêté du 4 octobre 2001
  • Mérimée reference : PA72000015

Men involved in this construction

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de branddan est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Former insane asylum, French Heritage monument to Le mans. Picture of branddan
Ancien asile d'aliénés, le mans
Former insane asylum, French Heritage monument to Le mans. Picture of branddan
Ancien asile d'aliénés, le mans

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Ancien asile d'aliénés à Le mans

On se ferait difficilement une idée de l'état des aliénés dans la ville du Mans tel qu'il était autrefois, qu'il me suffise de dire qu'ils habitaient de vrais cachots, qu'ils étaient confondus avec des prisonniers, qu'ils étaient enchaînés et qu'ils ne pouvaient entrer dans l'hôpital qu'après un séjour plus ou moins prolongé dans la prison, où ils étaient retenus pour être traités et pour être interdits.

Ces malheureux sont aujourd'hui dans une belle maison de santé bâtie depuis quelques années par les soins de l'administration départementale.

Il est impossible d'offrir une ordonnance de construction plus simple, plus saine et plus favorable au service, à la surveillance et au bien-être des aliénés. A l'ouest de la ville du Mans, à une petite demilieue, baigné par la petite riviere de l'Huyne, sur un très-grand carré clos de murs, isolé de toute habitation, on a construit cet établissement. L'entrée en est imposante, les bâtiments sont précédés d'une grande cour demi-circulaire entourée d'une galerie, au centre s'élève un bâtiment à deux étages pour le logement des sœurs, de l'économe, de la lingerie, de la pharmacie, des cuisines, la chapelle y est admirablement bien distribuée pour une maison semblable.

Derrière ce premier bâtiment, on a construit l'appareil hydraulique et les bains. Les habitations des malades sont disposées sur les côtés de ces bâtiments et forment deux divisions, l'une pour les hommes, l'autre pour les femmes.

Chaque division se subdivise en quatre pavillons perpendiculaires aux constructions centrales, parallèles entre eux, séparés par des cours plantées, réunis par une galerie couverte, les rez-de-chaussée sont destinés a des réfectoires, des salles communes, des salles de travail, et l'étage au-dessus forme des dortoirs de douze lits; ces dortoirs, plafonnés, sont éclairés par de grandes baies de croisées, garnies de treillages en fer.

Deux des quartiers, un pour les hommes et l'autre pour les femmes, sont disposés en cellules à rez-de-chaussée. Les baies sont fermées par des croisées vitrées et par un volet. Elles s'ouvrent en dehors par la galerie. La maison du médecin est indépendante et séparée par le mur des jardins, qu'il suffit de traverser pour être auprès des malades.

M. le docteur Etoc, élève de la Salpêtrière, a été nommé médecin en chef de cette maison ouverte en 1834. Le savoir, l'activité, le zèle de ce jeune médecin, répondaient de l'excellente direction donnée à ce bel établissement, qui doit consoler ceux qui ont connu l'état déplorable des aliénés dans la ville du Mans. Un élève en médecine seconde M. Etoc. Un règlement qui détermine les attributions de tous les employés, et règle tous les services, a été rédigé. Une commission presidée par le préfet de la sarthe, administre cette maison; un receveur économe pourvoit aux besoins matériels de tous les services. Trois sœurs de Charité, ayant à leurs ordres des infirmiers et des infirmières, dirigent, surveillent les soins donnés aux malades. Elles sont chargées de la pharmacie, de la cuisine, du maintien de l'ordre et de la propreté, et de la conservation des vêtements.

Les infirmiers reçoivent les ordres immédiats du médecin, qui peut les suspendre de leurs fonctions. Le préfet ordonne l'admission des pauvres. Les pensionnaires doivent être pourvus d'un certificat de médecin, constatant leur état de folie, visé par le maire du domicile du malade. Le prix des pensions varie de 400, 700 a 1200 fr.

Source : Des maladies mentales considérées sous les rapports médical Par Etienne Esquirol

Ministère de la culture

Fondé en 1828, l'asile est construit d'après le plan-type donné en 1818 par Hippolyte Lebas base sur les théories novatrices du docteur Esquirol.

Oeuvre de l'architecte Félix Delarue. Plan suivant un axe longitudinal occupé par une cour de circulation comprenant le bâtiment d'administration et des services, et terminé par la chapelle.

Autour du bâtiment sont disposés les pavillons des différentes classes de malades, séparant les hommes et les femmes. Certains bâtiments conservent leurs installations d'origine, notamment l'aile des agités et l'amphithéâtre de dissection.

Ancien asile d'aliénés à Le mans
Crédit photo : branddan (Ancien asile d'aliénés, le mans)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Ancien asile d'aliénés, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Ancien asile d'aliénés' à le mans (sarthe 72000). Fondé en 1828, l'asile est construit d'après le plan-type donné en 1818 par Hippolyte Lebas basé sur les théories novatrices du docteur Esquirol. le mans, sarthe

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 119800
  • item : Ancien asile d'aliénés
  • Localisation :
    • Pays de la Loire
    • Sarthe
    • Le Mans
  • Code INSEE commune : 72181
  • Code postal de la commune : 72000
  • Ordre dans la liste : 3
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • NC.
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • La construction date principalement de la période : 19e siècle
  • Année : 1828
  • Date de protection : 2001/10/04 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 2002/08/26

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : Inscription 26 06 2000 (arrêté) annulée. Les bâtiments n° 6, 13, 14 et 15 sont exclus de la protection.
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :5 éléments font l'objet d'une protection dans cette construction :
    • élévation
    • chapelle
    • galerie
    • pavillon
    • conciergerie
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété d'un établissement public départemental ( 2000
  • Détail :
    • Eléments suivants tels qu' ils figurent sur le plan joint à l' arrêté : la chapelle (n° 1) et le pavillon des "agités" -côté rivière Huisne(n° 3A), en totalité
    • les galeries de circulation reliant les bâtiments désignés au présent arrêté
    • les façades et toitures des bâtiments suivants : les deux pavillons encadrant la chapelle (n° 2A et 2B), la porterie (n° 4), le bâtiment de direction au centre de la cour (n° 5) -à l' exception des locaux de service 20e siècle (n° 6)-, les pavillons de malades situés de part et d' autre de la cour centrale (n° 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9A, 9B), les deux pavillons de services reliés au bâtiment de direction (n° 10A et 10 B), le pavillon des hôtes de première classe côté rivière Huisne (n° 11), la maison du médecin chef et son bâtiment de jardin (n° 12)
    • les terrains d' assiette, y compris les murs de clôture (cad. HW 166, 294) : classement par arrêté du 4 octobre 2001
  • Référence Mérimée : PA72000015

Personnes impliquées dans la construction

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de branddan est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Ancien asile d'aliénés à Le mans. par branddan
Ancien asile d'aliénés, le mans
Ancien asile d'aliénés à Le mans. par branddan
Ancien asile d'aliénés, le mans

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.