Church from Clessé

Clessé is a village located 15 km north of Mâcon. It depended on the Bailiwick and the diocese of Mâcon, the Archpriest of Verizet and justice of the Abbey of Saint-Pierre de Mâcon; the prior of the Abbey was named the holder of the treatment. The CARTULARY of Saint - Vincent de Mâcon mentions several times this locality, as early as the 10th century, but it is question of the Church in any Charter. The Church was placed under the patronage of our Lady; It is well oriented. The directory of Saône-et-Loire from 1843, cites it as "remarkable mostly by its octagonal Bell Tower to the gemel windows of Romanesque style of the tenth century". A Cluniac Octagon Tower recognizes Mr. H. Pignot, in his history of the order of Cluny.

In 1096, urban II confirmed to the prior and the community of Saint-Pierre of Mâcon, the right to appoint the parish churches to the patronage of Saint Peter; the Church of Clessé is included in the list.

It is a small church with a single nave ceiling, lit on each side by three redone windows, arches, which communicates with the crossing of the transept by a great arcade arches. The crossroads is vaulted by a dome on squinches; the great arcades which give entry all semicircular arch, unlined. The two braces, vaulted on cross of warheads, date from the end of the fifteenth and the beginning of the sixteenth century.

The crossing of the transept communicates with the choir flat chevet by arcade arches. The primitive choir ended probably in a round apse; It was remade on rectangular and arched ridges plan; It has no character.

Take away and consider the facade that has not been redesigned; It consists of a wall finished at the top in the shape of pinion. At the centre of the facade, on the ground floor, is pierced a door arches, doubled. At the top, in the gable, opens a small window arches that illuminates the attic. The rest of the façade is decorated by four frames composed of vertical strips that come together in their upper part with a series of arches in arches. It is a system of ornamentation often found in the churches of the Mâconnais and the Chalonnais; a provision quite rare, is one of a vertical band that descends above the door, in the middle of the full handlebar. We know that an another facade of church where this feature finds himself; This is a Saint-Martin de Laives, and in this last church the same feature is noticeable in the apse above the central window.

The side elevation divided outside the nave into three spans; each span is illuminated by a window arches, redesigned and separated from its neighbour by a flat, vertical band shaped buttress rising to join the roof cornice. This ridge, formed by a band of masonry is supported by carved modillions in a varied manner; grimacing heads, profiles of animals. The modillions which support the cornice of the northern wall are not carved.

We speak not of external elevation of braces or the small modern polygonal tower which contains the stairs of the Bell Tower, nor of the apse of the Church. Arrive at the Bell Tower.

The Bell Tower of the Church of Clessé is octagonal. The fallopian tubes in apse that transform the Octagon square are loaded in their upper part, outside, by small embankments of masonry two-slope.

There are two floors; the floor below, blind, is adorned on each side by two vertical strips that come together at the top by two arches in arches. A cornice of a very simple profile, separates the lower floor of the second floor, decorated on each side of a frame of vertical bands and arches in arches, four. In this framework, and under a slightly low-slung arched arcade which has jambs two balusters, opens a geminate Bay including median deposition is worn on a baluster, while external benefits are of simple jambs masonry. Above this floor is the corniche worn on each side by six modillions of a very simple profile; above these modillions, the cornice is composed by a simple cord of stone topped with a line of large-headed nails, then comes a quarter round molding that reaches the roof. Octagonal pyramid-shaped roof is covered with tiles; It is modern.

In sum, it is mostly outdoors which is interesting to the Church of Clessé, and particularly the Bell Tower built in excellent proportions. Although some details of the façade and the Interior of the Church we appear to belong to the end of the eleventh century, it seems difficult to trace the construction of the Bell Tower at a date as far away. Our opinion is that the Church of Clessé whose appearance is fairly homogeneous should belong at the beginning of the twelfth century.

Source: Memoirs of the Aedui society (1872)

Church
Crédit photo : (Church, clesse)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Church, Clessé is a village located 15 km north of Mâcon. It depended on the Bailiwick and the diocese of Mâcon, the Archpriest of Verizet and justice of the Abbey of Saint-Pierre de Mâcon; the prior of the Abbey was named the holder of the treatment. The CARTULARY of Saint - Vincent de Mâcon mentions several times this locality, as early as the 10th century, but it is question of the Church in any Charter. The Church was placed under the patronage of our Lady clesse, saone et loire

Location and general information

  • identifier : 118548
  • item : Eglise
  • Location of the building :
    • Bourgogne
    • Saône-et-Loire
    • Clessé
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 71135
  • Zip code of the municipality : 71260
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : church
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • The building dates mainly from the period : 12th century
  • Dates of protection :
    • 1929/10/03 : inscrit MH partiellement
    • 1930/12/24 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/11/26

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :2 parts of the building are subject to protection and are listed as follows :
    • steeple
    • BELL
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : owned by the 1992 municipality
  • Detail :
    • L' église, sauf clocher classé : inscription par arrêté du 3 octobre 1929
    • Le clocher : classement par arrêté du 24 décembre 1930
  • Mérimée reference : PA00113219

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de perrine est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Church from Clessé. Picture of perrine
Eglise, clesse
Church from Clessé. Picture of perrine
Eglise, clesse
Church from Clessé. Picture of perrine
Eglise, clesse
Church from Clessé. Picture of perrine
Eglise, clesse
Church from Clessé. Picture of perrine
Eglise, clesse
Church from Clessé. Picture of perrine
Eglise, clesse
Church from Clessé. Picture of perrine
Eglise, clesse
Church from Clessé. Picture of perrine
Eglise, clesse

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Eglise à Clesse

Clessé est un village situé à 15 kilomètre au nord de Mâcon. Il dépendait du bailliage et du diocèse de Mâcon, de l'archiprêtré de Vérizet et de la justice de l'abbaye de Saint-Pierre de Mâcon ; le prieur de cette abbaye nommait le titulaire de la cure. Le Cartulaire de Saint- Vincent de Mâcon mentionne plusieurs fois cette localité, dès le Xe siècle, mais il n'est question de l'église dans aucune charte. L'église est placée sous le vocable de Notre-Dame ; elle est bien orientée. L'annuaire de Saône-et-Loire de 1843, la cite comme « remarquable surtout par son clocher octogone, aux fenêtres géminées, de style roman du dixième siècle ». M. H. Pignot, dans son Histoire de l'ordre de Cluny, y reconnaît un clocher clunisien octogone.

En 1096, Urbain II confirme au prieur et à la communauté de Saint-Pierre de Mâcon, le droit de nommer aux églises paroissiales du patronage de Saint-Pierre ; l'église de Clessé se trouve comprise dans la liste.

C'est une petite église à une seule nef plafonnée, éclairée de chaque côté par trois fenêtres refaites, en plein cintre, qui communique avec la croisée du transept par une grande arcade en plein cintre. La croisée est voûtée par une coupole sur trompes ; les grandes arcades qui y donnent entrée sont toutes en plein cintre, non doublées. Les deux croisillons, voûtés sur croisées d'ogives, datent de la fin du quinzième ou du commencement du seizième siècle.

La croisée du transept communique avec le choeur à chevet plat par une arcade en plein cintre. Le choeur primitif se terminait sans doute par une abside ronde ; il a été refait sur plan rectangulaire et voûté d'arêtes ; il n'a aucun caractère.

Passons à l'extérieur et considérons la façade qui n'a pas été remaniée ; elle se compose d'un mur terminé à sa partie supérieure en forme de pignon. Au centre de la façade, au rez-de-chaussée, est percée une porte en plein cintre, doublée. En haut, dans le pignon, s'ouvre une petite fenêtre en plein cintre qui éclaire les combles. Le reste de la façade est décoré par quatre encadrements formés de bandes verticales qui se rejoignent à leur partie supérieure par une série d'arcatures en plein cintre. C'est un système d'ornementation que l'on rencontre souvent dans les églises du Mâconnais et du Chalonnais ; une disposition assez rare, est celle d'une bande verticale qui descend jusqu'au-dessus de la porte, au milieu du plein cintre. Nous ne connaissons qu'une autre façade d'église où cette particularité se retrouve ; c'est a Saint-Martin de Laives, et dans cette dernière église la même particularité se remarque à l'abside au-dessus de la fenêtre centrale.

L'élévation latérale divise à l'extérieur la nef en trois travées ; chaque travée est éclairée par une fenêtre en plein cintre, remaniée et séparée de sa voisine par un contrefort plat, en forme de bande verticale qui monte rejoindre la corniche du toit. Cette corniche, formée par un bandeau de maçonnerie est supportée par des modillons sculptés d'une façon variée ; têtes grimaçantes, profils d'animaux. Les modillons qui supportent la corniche du mur septentrional ne sont pas sculptés.

Nous ne parlerons pas de l'élévation extérieure des croisillons, ni de la petite tour polygonale moderne qui renferme l'escalier du clocher, ni du chevet de l'église. Arrivons au clocher.

Le clocher de l'église de Clessé est octogonal. Les trompes en cul-de-four qui transforment le carré en octogone sont chargées en leur partie supérieure, en dehors, par des petits talus de maçonnerie à deux pentes.

Il faut distinguer deux étages ; l'étage inférieur, aveugle, est orné sur chaque face par deux bandes verticales qui se rejoignent en haut par deux arcatures en plein cintre. Une corniche d'un profil fort simple, sépare l'étage inférieur du deuxième étage, orné sur chacune de ses faces d'un encadrement de bandes verticales et d'arcatures en plein cintre, au nombre de quatre. Dans cet encadrement, et sous une arcature en cintre légèrement surbaissé qui a pour pieds-droits deux colonnettes, s'ouvre une baie géminée dont la retombée médiane est portée sur une colonnette, tandis qu'aux retombées extérieures correspondent de simples pieds-droits en maçonnerie. Au-dessus de cet étage est la corniche portée sur chaque face par six modillons d'un profil fort simple ; au-dessus de ces modillons, la corniche est composée par un simple cordon de pierre surmonté d'une ligne de grosses têtes de clous, puis vient une moulure en quart de rond qui rejoint le toit. Le toit en forme de pyramide à huit pans est recouvert par des tuiles ; il est moderne.

En somme, c'est surtout l'extérieur qui est intéressant à l'église de Clessé, et particulièrement le clocher construit dans d'excellentes proportions. Bien que certains détails de la façade et de l'intérieur de l'église nous paraissent appartenir à la fin du onzième siècle, il nous parait difficile de faire remonter la construction du clocher à une date aussi éloignée. Notre opinion est que l'église de Clessé dont l'apparence est assez homogène doit appartenir au début du douzième siècle.

Source : Mémoires de la Société éduenne (1872)

Eglise à Clesse
Crédit photo : perrine (Eglise, clesse)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Eglise, Clessé est un village situé à 15 kilomètre au nord de Mâcon. Il dépendait du bailliage et du diocèse de Mâcon, de l'archiprêtré de Vérizet et de la justice de l'abbaye de Saint-Pierre de Mâcon ; le prieur de cette abbaye nommait le titulaire de la cure. Le Cartulaire de Saint- Vincent de Mâcon mentionne plusieurs fois cette localité, dès le 10e siècle, mais il n'est question de l'église dans aucune charte. L'église est placée sous le vocable de Notre-Dame. clesse, saone et loire

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 118548
  • item : Eglise
  • Localisation :
    • Bourgogne
    • Saône-et-Loire
    • Clessé
  • Code INSEE commune : 71135
  • Code postal de la commune : 71260
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : église
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • La construction date principalement de la période : 12e siècle
  • Dates de protection :
    • 1929/10/03 : inscrit MH partiellement
    • 1930/12/24 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/11/26

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :2 éléments font l'objet d'une protection dans cette construction :
    • clocher
    • CLOCHE
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune 1992
  • Détail :
    • L' église, sauf clocher classé : inscription par arrêté du 3 octobre 1929
    • Le clocher : classement par arrêté du 24 décembre 1930
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00113219

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de perrine est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Eglise à Clesse. par perrine
Eglise, clesse
Eglise à Clesse. par perrine
Eglise, clesse
Eglise à Clesse. par perrine
Eglise, clesse
Eglise à Clesse. par perrine
Eglise, clesse
Eglise à Clesse. par perrine
Eglise, clesse
Eglise à Clesse. par perrine
Eglise, clesse
Eglise à Clesse. par perrine
Eglise, clesse
Eglise à Clesse. par perrine
Eglise, clesse

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.