jean charles cazin

Familiar of the school of Barbizon, near to the current Symbolist, the painter Jean-Charles Cazin (1841-1901) is does not have Samer on May 25, 1841.

For information here what one could read in 1897 in the Art review and Decoration about his disappearance.

Monthly review of modern art

A deep mourning strikes French art and reaches our Review of near; and all those which have approach the Cazin painter will include/understand by their own pain which affliction intimates has us ourself etreint when we learned that the Master had just died out abruptly and solitairement, not far from the Mediterranean. This little place of Lavandou was one of its points of refuge, and it was ale to try to restore its health there, seriously ebranlee since many month already.

The moment is not maintaining for us, - in the moral distress which this disappearance causes - to study the career and the work of Cazin. That was done, in the first same year of this Review, in the most scrupulous way and most judicious, and with the authority particuliere which sticks to the signature, in a beautiful study of our collaborator Mr. Leonce Benedite, conservative of the Museum of Luxembourg. By passing by again these pages which we are happy to have been able to publish, we would not see anything has to add to it, and they seem to us to acquire, in the abrupt retreat who comes has to occur, something of final. We want only to say here very simply our emotion in front of this death, and to return has that which from goes away the homage of our respect and our affection.

What we must say especially, it is that it was one of the dearest friends and one of the best advisers of the Review; it was interested highly has it and approved its defense of a multiple and alive art.

To give an example of the personal sights that it had and that it communicated us, we will quote some lines of the letter which he wrote has our editor following the article that Art and Decoration had devotes to him; we do not seek there a praise, which is however very invaluable for us, but the indication of a program that we are endeavour to return our. '' The first aspect of these pages, said this letter, without reading nor '' almost '' to look at, resembles to me so much that I am request if there would not be a savour has to draw by letting each artist wish these provisions has his own way, without subjecting precedents. It would result from it an interest and a diversity moreover, to which I draw your attention etc We will have, I hope for it, in the future, other occasions to work together, these first results pushing me has to join together some notes etc ''

Mr. Cazin prepared us, indeed, the matter of a study consacree has his various artistic research and has those of his family, has this center of activity of Equihen, close to Boulogne, in the region of or Cazin itself is originating, and or it passed with his several months of the year. Curious about all the questions of trades of art, it had involves in its way his wife and her Michel son; and all three worked in an absolute unit of inspiration, in a perfect family communion. For Mrs. Cazin as for her son, Cazin remained the Master venerates, the guide likes and fears, whose least opinions were orders.

One knows that the tables of Jean-Charles Cazin are not alone has to affirm, in his work, the renewal of the decorative design. This painter, followed by his, was also one of renovating of our ceramic art.

The notes that Cazin laid out for us could be put in order, but our intention remains, and this article on the Cazin Family will be publishes.

The models of sculpture laissees by Cazin are also numerous; and near the window which contains some of its ceramics, the Museum of Luxembourg, in consequence of a gift of Mrs. Cazin carrying out a thought of her husband, comes to grow rich by an admirable head by woman enveloppee by a veil, Douleur, melted in a deafened bronze.

The vast continuations of legendary and decorative compositions have from time immemorial attracts Cazin; we know that the Master leaves considerable series of relative studies has whole cycles on Jeanne d' Arc, Ulysses, on Judith, whose first table is famous.

Several of these projects have same put summer has execution, and are finish or almost complete. Perhaps will be able we one day to group all this decorative research, and the guiding idea of the work of Cazin will be essential some with more power.

Cazin, which was vice-president of the National company of the Art schools, had rendered great services has this Company and makes much for original qualities which marquerent its constitution. It was him which, with its so open talent, had had the idea of the section of the objets d'art, a little detournee, to tell the truth, of the exact destination that he had wanted for her. According to him, indeed, this section was not to comprise a special class members and with associate, in order to pasabriter fatally a day of the commercial productions: she was creee to give asylum to the artists received in the other sections, to painters, to sculptors, to architects or to engravers, and that had tents, concurrently to their work usual, the exercise of some trade of applied art. The exposure of the objets d'art to the Living room would be thus demeuree more restricted and of a special savour. At all events, Cazin remained until the last moment President of that section, or its authority at the same time as its equity and its benevolence had made it like and respect of all, and one can say that it will not be replaces.

There was load Cazin, some time ago, to complete in the Pantheon the planks laissees by Puvis de Chavannes with the state of paperboards; this work could not have been still carries out. But one deeply regrets especially well whom one does not have entrusts has Cazin some of these walls that it had illustrated with a deep sense of the decorative width and a high emotion, whereas several have there leaves only one work without true range.

A few year ago, the State had order has Cazin, for the Sorbonne, a decoration of dining room. Two panels cars of the Fables of the Fountain, the Bear and the Amateur of the gardens and the House of Socrate, were expose to the Champ de Mars. But the Master wanted to leave the one works which it exprimat fully; he took again these two panels of which he was not satisfied yet and worked following this decoration. The unit remains unfortunately unfinished.

One remembers that the summer last Cazin wanted to arise to the Academy of the Art schools. The Academy did not include/understand only when one artist who occupies a so exceptional place in the art of our time expresses the desire to enter to it, he there will receive it from its own glory with enthusiasm, if far away from the academic character which always it has this independent. The Academy accomodated a talent extremely estimable, but younger, and whose introduction under the cupola could not have the same significance. Cazin expected itself it in vain, his/her friends in vain saw in his failure a new triumph of its proud personality, the Master tested a disappointment of it.

Today, he wanted to rest far from the competitions and of the compromises, only above the sea, on a height, Lavandou has, at the same place or he died out. But for all those which will penetrate its work, the influence high and pacifying remains about it, as for all those which knew the man, the memory of this leniency.

Gustave Shoe.

  • Titrate: Art and decoration (Paris)
  • Titrate: monthly review of modern art
  • Editor: Central bookshop of Beautiful arts (Paris)
  • Go back to edition: 1901

jean charles cazin

Familier de l'école de Barbizon, proche du courant symboliste, le peintre Jean-Charles Cazin (1841-1901) est né à Samer le 25 mai 1841.

Pour information voici ce que l'on pouvait lire en 1897 dans le revue Art et Décoration au sujet de sa disparition.

Revue mensuelle d'art moderne

Un grand deuil frappe l'art français et atteint notre Revue de tout près; et tous ceux qui ont approché le peintre Cazin comprendront par leur propre douleur quelle affliction intime nous a nous-même étreint lorsque nous avons appris que le maître venait de s'éteindre brusquement et solitairement, non loin de la Méditerranée. Ce petit coin de Lavandou était un de ses points de refuge, et il était allé tenter d'y rétablir sa santé, sérieusement ébranlée depuis bien des mois déjà.

Le moment n'est pas maintenant pour nous, — dans le désarroi moral que cause cette disparition — d'étudier la carrière et l'oeuvre de Cazin. Cela a été fait, dans la première année même de cette Revue, de la façon la plus scrupuleuse et la plus judicieuse, et avec l'autorité particulière qui s'attache à la signature, dans une belle étude de notre collaborateur M. Léonce Bénédite, conservateur du Musée du Luxembourg. En repassant ces pages que nous sommes heureux d'avoir pu publier, nous ne verrions rien à y ajouter, et elles nous semblent acquérir, dans le brusque recul qui vient à se produire, quelque chose de définitif. Nous ne voulons ici que dire très simplement notre émotion devant cette mort, et rendre à celui qui s'en va l'hommage de notre respect et de notre affection.

Ce que nous devons dire surtout, c'est qu'il fut un des amis les plus chers et l'un des meilleurs conseillers de la Revue; il s'intéressait vivement à elle et approuvait sa défense d'un art multiple et vivant.

Pour donner un exemple des vues personnelles qu'il avait et qu'il nous communiquait, nous citerons quelques lignes de la lettre qu'il écrivait à notre éditeur à la suite de l'article qu'Art et Décoration lui avait consacré; nous n'y cherchons pas un éloge, qui nous est cependant très précieux, mais l'indication d'un programme que nous nous sommes efforcés de rendre nôtre. « Le premier aspect de ces pages, disait cette lettre, sans lire ni « presque » regarder, me ressemble tellement que je me suis demandé s'il n'y aurait pas une saveur à tirer en laissant chaque artiste souhaiter ces dispositions à sa guise, sans soumettre de précédents. Il en résulterait un intérêt et une diversité de plus, sur lesquels j'appelle votre attention... Nous aurons, je l'espère, dans l'avenir, d'autres occasions de travailler ensemble, ces premiers résultats me poussant à réunir quelques notes... »

M. Cazin nous préparait, en effet, la matière d'une étude consacrée à ses diverses recherches artistiques et à celles de sa famille, à ce centre d'activité d'Equihen, près de Boulogne, dans la contrée d'où Cazin lui-même est originaire, et où il passait avec les siens plusieurs mois de l'année. Curieux de toutes les questions de métiers d'art, il avait entraîné dans sa voie sa femme et son fils Michel; et tous trois travaillaient dans une absolue unité d'inspiration, dans une parfaite communion familiale. Pour Mme Cazin comme pour son fils, Cazin restait le maître vénéré, le guide aimé et redouté, dont les moindres avis étaient des ordres.

On sait que les tableaux de Jean-Charles Cazin ne sont pas seuls à affirmer, dans son oeuvre, le renouvellement de la conception décorative. Ce peintre, suivi par les siens, a été aussi un des rénovateurs de notre art céramique.

Les notes que Cazin disposait pour nous n'ont pu être mises en ordre, mais notre intention demeure, et cet article sur La Famille Cazin sera publié.

Les maquettes de sculpture laissées par Cazin sont aussi nombreuses ; et auprès de la vitrine qui contient quelques-unes de ses céramiques, le Musée du Luxembourg, par suite d'un don de Mme Cazin réalisant une pensée de son mari, vient de s'enrichir d'une admirable tête de femme enveloppée d'un voile, Douleur, fondue dans un bronze assourdi.

Les vastes suites de compositions légendaires et décoratives ont de tout temps attiré Cazin; nous savons que le maître laisse des séries considérables d'études relatives à des cycles entiers sur Jeanne d'Arc, sur Ulysse, sur Judith, dont le premier tableau est célèbre.

Plusieurs de ces projets ont même été mis à exécution, et sont terminés ou presque achevés. Peut-être pourrons-nous un jour grouper toutes ces recherches décoratives, et l'idée directrice de l'oeuvre de Cazin s'en imposera avec plus de puissance.

Cazin, qui était vice-président de la Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, avait rendu de grands services à cette Société et fait beaucoup pour les qualités originales qui marquèrent sa constitution. C'était lui qui, avec son talent si ouvert, avait eu l'idée de la section des objets d'art, un peu détournée, à vrai dire, de la destination exacte qu'il avait voulue pour elle. Selon lui, en effet, cette section ne devait pas comporter une classe spéciale de sociétaires et d'associés, afin de ne pasabriter fatalement un jour des productions commerciales : elle était créée pour donner asile aux artistes reçus dans les autres sections, peintres, sculpteurs, architectes ou graveurs, et qu'avait tentés, à coté de leurs travaux habituel, l'exercice de quelque métier d'art appliqué. L'exposition des objets d'art au Salon serait ainsi demeurée plus restreinte et d'une saveur plus spéciale. Quoi qu'il en soit, Cazin resta jusqu'au dernier moment Président de celle section, où son autorité en même temps que son équité et sa bienveillance l'avaient fait aimer et respecter de tous, et l'on peut dire qu'il ne sera pas remplacé.

On avait chargé Cazin, il y a quelque temps, d'achever au Panthéon les frises laissées par Puvis de Chavannes à l'état de cartons ; ce travail n'avait pu être encore effectué. Mais on regrette surtout bien vivement que l'on n'ait pas confié à Cazin quelques-unes de ces murailles qu'il eût illustrées avec un sens profond de l'ampleur décorative et une haute émotion, alors que plusieurs n'y ont laissé qu'une oeuvre sans portée véritable.

Il y a quelques années, l'Etat avait commandé à Cazin, pour la Sorbonne, une décoration de salle à manger. Deux panneaux tirés des Fables de La Fontaine, l'Ours et l'Amateur des jardins et la Maison de Socrate, furent exposés au Champ de Mars. Mais le maître voulait laisser là une oeuvre qui l'exprimât pleinement; il reprit ces deux panneaux dont il n'était pas encore satisfait et travailla à la suite de cette décoration. L'ensemble reste malheureusement inachevé.

On se rappelle que l'été dernier Cazin voulut se présenter à l'Académie des Beaux-Arts. L'Académie ne comprit pas que lorsqu'un artiste qui occupe une place si exceptionnelle dans l'art de notre époque manifeste le désir d'entrer chez elle, il y va de sa propre gloire de le recevoir avec enthousiasme, si éloigné du caractère académique qu'ait toujours élé cet indépendant. L'Académie accueillit un talent fort estimable, mais plus jeune, et dont l'introduction sous la coupole ne pouvait avoir la même signification. Cazin avait beau s'y attendre lui-même, ses amis eurent beau voir dans son échec un nouveau triomphe de sa fière personnalité, le maître en éprouva une déception.

Aujourd'hui, il a voulu reposer loin des compétitions et des compromis, seul au-dessus de la mer, sur une hauteur, à Lavandou, à l'endroit même où il s'est éteint. Mais pour tous ceux qui pénétreront son oeuvre, l'influence élevée et pacifiante en subsiste, comme pour tous ceux qui ont connu l'homme, le souvenir de cette mansuétude.

Gustave Soulier.

  • Titre : Art et décoration (Paris)
  • Titre : revue mensuelle d'art moderne
  • Éditeur : Librairie centrale des Beaux Arts (Paris)
  • Date d'édition : 1901