Remains of the Castle, French Heritage monument to Montepilloy

Through some quotations of works of the middle of the 19th century discover the forms, the structure and the epopees of the castle of Montepilloy.

Louis Graves (first quotation) does one to us exposes archaeological traditional place with the architectural precise details which define the castle.

Vistor Offroy (second quotation) him on the other hand will take us along in an almost romantic account or the history and architecture intermingle to form its account. The provided precise details keep for as much their historical value.

Simeon Luce (last quotation) as for him counts to us the adventures of Robert de Loris at the time of the Jacquerie of 1358 which toubla the castle and its surroundings.

Technical vision of the Castle at the 19th century


there remains a wall side about it has
machicolation

One Sees has Montepilloy of the considerable ruins of the important fortress edifiee at the 14th century on the site of another which dated from the Romance time; broad pits of fifteen bills of quantities still determine the figure heptagon of the enclosure. Ground boulevards defend the approaches of the door which is flanquee of two semicircular turns joined together by a construction has small square windows has mullions. The keep was rectangular, holding with the principal wall by a projecting square tower; there remains a wall side about it has machicolation. With the other end of the keep and towards the center of the place, high the large tower which dominates the country. It is a cylindrical solid mass of a masonry as beautiful as that of Pierrefopds, opening of loopholes and small square windows, rare, and couronnee of large machicolation and waste-gas mains. It is forty-five bills of quantities height and twenty of diameter at the base. It remains only with the third approximately of its circumference. The remainder was destroyed by means of the mine, just as the other fortifications.

source:

  • Titrate: Archaeological note on the department of Oise.
  • Author: Low registers, Louis
  • Editor: A. Desjardins (Beauvais)
  • Go back to edition: 1839

Historiquo-romantic description of the castle

I moved on Montepilloy, while passing through Baron and I arrived there by a splendid sky. This village does not have anything remarkable by itself, but its tower draws the attention of the historian and the archaeologist. This tower, destroyed partly under Louis XIII, is today only one large fragment of itself it was at the fifteenth century, with Ferte-Milon, Pierrefonds, Coucy, Bethisy, Oulchy, Braine, Crepy, one of the most considerable fortresses of Valois. What in remainder is remarkable today by its rise and its solidity this tower sees heights of Dammartin it is 70 bills of quantities top, its circumference was of 80 bills of quantities its walls out of sandstone and out of stones of size, dregs by very-hard cement, have 2 bills of quantities thickness part of its entablature still exists; one sees there crenels, loopholes, casemates, machicolations and a fragment of staircase. The enormous blocks, detach from this tower by the mine and lying its foot has since centuries, could not be start. This tower dominated a castle-extremely whose remainders were transform into body of farm the ramparts are still rather well preserves the broad pit which surrounds them is half filled of debris the herds feed the grass which covers them, and the pigeon broods its eggs in the cracks of the tower. Close to the east a well which has, says one, as much depth than this tower has rise.

The origin of the fort of Montepilloy goes up at the beginning of the thirteenth century under Philippe the Beautiful one, it was occupies by Templiers, which also occupied in Valois the fortress of Vivieres. In 1419, the captain Robert d' Eune, who held the place of Senlis for Charles VI, returned it has Jean of Luxembourg, chief of Burgundian and after a honourable capitulation it was withdrawn has Montepilloy.

In 1420, the lord de Gamache came to attack an English body there who had taken refuge there it demolished them and took along captive Louis de Pacy, lord of Nanteuil, which was in their rows. In 1422, the fort of Montepilloy was subjected has Henri V, king d' Angleterre, whose troops are emparerent of Ferte-Milon, Bethisy, Chavercy and Xaintes.

But the military fact most memorable of Montepilloy is that which took place in the presence of the French Armies and English, in 1429. This fact east pays to length by Mr. Poilleux in his history of Valois.


Charles VII came from
to make crown has Rheims

Charles VII had been just made crown has Rheims he turned over with his army on Paris, and had stopped has Crepy but on the news that Compiegne opened its doors to him he directed his walk by Montepilloy. The duke of Bedfort, which held Senlis for the king of England, gathered with haste an army of twelve thousand men and came on the heights Montepilloy to await Charles VII the two camps were soon in presence. In that of the French one saw Jeanne d' Arc, the dukes of Vendome and of Alencon, of Bar and Lorraine, the marshals of Raiz and Boussac, the lords de Clermont, of Tremouille, Hire de Xaintrailles fifteen thousand men fought under these chiefs, orders by the king in person. Dimension of the English one saw Villiers-l' Island-Adam, of the bodies of archers, Burgundian, Picardy going under various chiefs and led by Bedfort to the head of its English in the middle of the banners deployees of France, Burgundy and Saint-Georges.

The two chiefs seemed to also fear the exit of a combat it had been several days that the armies were in presence without coming to the hands. Lastly, an evening, the Picardy ones of the regent having insult the archers of the king, a duel of six hundred men began suddenly under the eyes of the two camps. During one hour and half, these brave men fought without losing an inch of ground, and with courage more the excess of lassitude alone baits made stop those which had been able to survive has this fight more half of the combatants remained on the battle field and each army withdrew its deaths and wound. Does injustice of the kings, cruelty of times have what served this widespread blood?

One called this combat the day of Senlis it took place under the walls of Montepilloy and on the same ground or, in the thirteenth century, the armies of Philippe-Auguste and the count de Flandres were also restees in presence without coming from there has a general action. Charles VII convinced that Bedfort would not give up its positionsse withdrew with his army has Crepy and of Compiegne has.

The fortress of Montepilloy remained with the capacity of the English. Jeanne d' Arc prisonniere was held there by them before being transferee in the fortresses of Beaulieu and Crotoy. It is said that at the time of the League, Catherine de Medicis, mother-in-law of best and proper mother of most fanatic of the kings, went up to the top of her tower to see in the plains of Baron the combat which were devoted to it between the royalists and the members of a league, that her perfidious policy armed the ones against the others. The print of the balls and the balls, the traces of mine that one still sees there prove that this tower was in hillock with the wars of the region but, though well delabree, it can such as it is, last well a long time still, if the hand of the man does not complete his destruction. Its high position makes that it is discovered it tres-loin, and that it dominates a great extent of country.

Source:

  • Titrate: My last leisures; The sister of charity; Lamartine
  • Author: Offroy, Victor
  • Editor: Lemarie wire (Dammartin)
  • Go back to edition: 1874

The jacquerie by Simeon Luce

Montepilloy (Mons speculatoris), belonged then has Robert de Lorris of which one of wire, Gilles, was bishop of Boundary-line of 1352 has 1388.


its men carried the devastation

While Pierre Gilles and his men carried the devastation has Tremblay, Gournay-sur-Marne and in general in all the localities of the surroundings of Gonesse has, Etienne Marcel sent another troop, under the orders of Jean Vaillant, provost of the currencies, to destroy the castle of Ermenonville.

A circumstance of the most interest, it is that the Parisian men-at-arms and the Jacques de Beauvaisis were gives appointment to the attack of this fortress. The general captain of all lowland of Beauvaisis, the famous Guillaume Fixes, was same there in person. The castle, which belonged has Robert de Lorris, chamberlain of king Jean and one of his favourites, was attacked, removes, delivers to plundering and finally close-cropped. Robert de Lorris itself was force to disavow kindness and nobility, and to swear that he loved best the middle-class men and the commune of Paris that the noble ones. But this condition it has had the safe life, like his wife and her children.

The Jacques thus demolished into 1358 this castle. During the year which followed the insurrection, Robert de Lorris brought an legal action against the culprits, to which he claimed 10,000 pounds of damages for the destruction of his castle, and 500 pounds of allowance for the loss of its furniture. By stop of November 25, 1363, the Parliament ordered an investigation.

  • Titrate: History of the jacquerie.
  • Author: Luce, Simeon (1833-1892)
  • Editor: H. Champion (Paris)
  • Go back to edition: 1894

Remains of the Castle
Crédit photo : (Remains of the Castle, montepilloy)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Remains of the Castle, « Remains of the Castle » is a construction of the city of Montepilloy (France, Oise). Remains of the Castle, French Heritage monument to Montepilloy montepilloy, oise

Location and general information

  • identifier : 99463
  • item : Restes du château
  • Location of the building :
    • Oise
    • Montépilloy
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 60415
  • Zip code of the municipality : 60810
  • Order in the communal list : 2
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : castle
  • State :
    • current state of the monument : remains

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • We have no information on the time of construction of this monument.
  • Date of protection : 1963/05/03 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/12/03

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : property of a private person 1992
  • Details : Château (restes) (cad. AB 24) : classement par arrêté du 3 mai 1963
  • Mérimée reference : PA00114753

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de joel.herbez est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Remains of the Castle, French Heritage monument to Montepilloy. Picture of joel.herbez
Restes du château, montepilloy
Remains of the Castle, French Heritage monument to Montepilloy. Picture of joel.herbez
Restes du château, montepilloy
Remains of the Castle, French Heritage monument to Montepilloy. Picture of joel.herbez
Restes du château, montepilloy
Remains of the Castle, French Heritage monument to Montepilloy. Picture of joel.herbez
Restes du château, montepilloy
Remains of the Castle, French Heritage monument to Montepilloy. Picture of joel.herbez
Restes du château, montepilloy
Remains of the Castle, French Heritage monument to Montepilloy. Picture of webmaster
Restes du château, montepilloy
Description of this building by webmaster :

[Entrée du château de Montepilloy près Senlis] : [dessin]

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Restes du château à Montepilloy

A travers quelques citations d'ouvrages du milieu du 19e siècle découvrez les formes, la structure et les épopées du château de Montépilloy.

Louis Graves (première citation) nous fait un exposé archéologique classique du lieu avec les précisions architecturales qui définisent le château.

Vistor Offroy (seconde citation) va lui en revanche nous emmener dans un récit presque romanesque où l'histoire et l'architecture s'entremèlent pour former son réçit. Les précisions fournies gardent pour autant leur valeur historique.

Siméon Luce (dernière citation) quant a lui nous compte les péripéties de Robert de Loris lors de la Jacquerie de 1358 qui toubla le château et ses environs.

Vision technique du Château au 19e siècle


il en reste un pan de muraille à
mâchicoulis

On Voit à Montépilloy des ruines considérables de la forteresse importante édifiée au 14e siècle sur l'emplacemént d'une autre qui datait de l'époque romane; des fossés larges de quinze mètres déterminent encore la figure heptagone de l'enceinte. Des boulevards en terre défendent les approches de la porte qui est flanquée de deux tours semi-circulaires réunies par une construction a petites fenêtres carrées à meneaux. Le donjon était rectangulaire, tenant au mur principal par une tour carrée en saillie; il en reste un pan de muraille à mâchicoulis. A l'autre bout du donjon et vers le centre de la place, s'élève la grande tour qui domine le pays. C'est un massif cylindrique d'une maconnerie aussi belle que celle de Pierrefopds, percée de meurtrières et de petites fenêtres carrées, rares, et couronnée de gros mâchicoulis et de gargouilles. Elle a quarante-cinq mètres de hauteur et vingt de diamètre à la base. Elle ne subsiste qu'au tiers environ de sa circonférence. Le reste a été détruit au moyen de la mine, de même que les autres fortifications.

source :

  • Titre : Notice archéologique sur le département de l'Oise.
  • Auteur : Graves, Louis
  • Éditeur : A. Desjardins (Beauvais)
  • Date d'édition : 1839

Description "historiquo-romanesque" du château

Je me dirigeai sur Montépilloy, en passant par Baron et j'y arrivai par un ciel magnifique. Ce village n'a rien de remarquable par lui-même, mais sa tour appelle l'attention de l'historien et de l'archéologue. Cette tour, détruite en partie sous Louis XIII, n'est plus aujourd'hui qu'un grand fragment d'elle-même elle était au quinzième siècle, avec La Ferté-Milon, Pierrefonds, Coucy, Béthisy, Oulchy, Braine, Crépy, une des forteresses les plus considérables du Valois. Ce qui en reste est remarquable aujourd'hui par son élévation et sa solidité cette tour se voit des hauteurs de Dammartin elle a 70 mètres de haut, sa circonférence était de 80 mètres ses murs en grès et en pierres de taille, liés par un ciment très-dur, ont 2 mètres d'épaisseur une partie de son entablement existe encore; on y voit des créneaux, des meurtrières, des casemates, des mâchicoulis et un fragment d'escalier. Les blocs énormes, détachés de cette tour par la mine et gisant à son pied depuis des siècles, n'ont pu être entamés. Cette tour dominait un château-fort dont les restes ont été transformés en corps de ferme les remparts sont encore assez bien conservés le large fossé qui les entoure est à demi rempli de décombres les troupeaux paissent l'herbe qui les couvre, et le pigeon couve ses œufs dans les crevasses de la tour. Près de là est un puits qui a, dit-on, autant de profondeur que cette tour a d'élévation.

L'origine du fort de Montépilloy remonte au commencement du treizième siècle sous Philippe le Bel, il était occupé par les Templiers, qui occupaient aussi dans le Valois la forteresse de Vivières. En 1419, le capitaine Robert d'Eune, qui tenait la place de Senlis pour Charles VI, la rendit à Jean de Luxembourg, chef des Bourguignons et après une capitulation honorable il se retira à Montépilloy.

En 1420, le sire de Gamache vint y attaquer un corps d'Anglais qui s'y étaient réfugiés il les défit et emmena prisonnier Louis de Pacy, seigneur de Nanteuil, qui se trouvait dans leurs rangs. En 1422, le fort de Montépilloy se soumit à Henri V, roi d'Angleterre, dont les troupes s'emparèrent de La Ferté-Milon, Béthisy, Chavercy et Xaintes.

Mais le fait militaire le plus mémorable de Montépilloy est celui qui eut lieu en présence des armées française et anglaise, en 1429. Ce fait est rapporté au long par M. Poilleux dans son histoire du Valois.


Charles VII venait de se
faire sacrer à Reims

Charles VII venait de se faire sacrer à Reims il retournait avec son armée sur Paris, et s'était arrêté à Crépy mais sur la nouvelle que Compiègne lui ouvrait ses portes il dirigea sa marche par Montépilloy. Le duc de Bédfort, qui tenait Senlis pour le roi d'Angleterre, rassembla à la hâte une armée de douze mille hommes et vint sur les hauteurs de Montépilloy attendre Charles VII Les deux camps furent bientôt en présence. Dans celui des Français on voyait Jeanne d'Arc, les ducs de Vendôme et d'Alençon, de Bar et de Lorraine, les maréçhaux de Raiz et de Boussac, les sires de Clermont, de La Trémouille, de La Hire de Xaintrailles quinze mille hommes combattaient sous ces chefs, commandés par le roi en personne. Du côté des Anglais on voyait Villiers-l'Ille-Adam, des corps d'archers, de Bourguignons, de Picards marchant sous différents chefs et conduits par Bedfort à la tête de ses Anglais au milieu des bannières déployées de France, de Bourgogne et de Saint-Georges.

Les deux chefs semblaient craindre également l'issue d'un combat il y avait plusieurs jours que les armées étaient en présence sans en venir aux mains. Enfin, un soir, les Picards du régent ayant insulté les archers du roi, un duel de six cents hommes s'engagea tout à coup sous les yeux des deux camps. Pendant une heure et demie, ces braves combattirent sans perdre un pouce de terrain, et avec le courage le plus acharné l'excès de lassitude seul fit arrêter ceux qui avaient pu survivre à cette lutte plus de la moitié des combattants resta sur le champ de bataille et chacune des armées retira ses morts et blessés. Injustice des rois, barbarie des temps A quoi servait ce sang répandu ?

On appela ce combat la journée de Senlis il eut lieu sous les murs de Montépilloy et sur le terrain même où, dans le treizième siècle, les armées de Philippe-Auguste et du comte de Flandres étaient aussi restées en présence sans en venir à une action générale. Charles VII convaincu que Bedfort n'abandonnerait pas ses positionsse retira avec son armée à Crépy et de là à Compiègne.

La forteresse de Montépilloy demeura au pouvoir des Anglais. Jeanne d'Arc prisonnière y fut détenue par eux avant d'être transférée dans les forteresses de Beaulieu et Crotoy. On dit qu'au temps de la Ligue, Catherine de Médicis, belle-mère du meilleur et propre mère du plus fanatique des rois, montait au haut de sa tour pour voir dans les plaines de Baron les combats qui s'y livraient entre les royalistes et les ligueurs, que sa perfide politique armait les uns contre les autres. L'empreinte des balles et des boulets, les traces de mine qu'on y voit encore prouvent que cette tour fut en butte aux guerres de la contrée mais, quoique bien délabrée, elle peut telle qu'elle est, durer bien longtemps encore, si la main de l'homme n'achève sa destruction. Sa position élevée fait qu'on la découvre de très-loin, et qu'elle domine une grande étendue de pays.

Source :

  • Titre : Mes derniers loisirs ; La soeur de charité ; Lamartine
  • Auteur : Offroy, Victor
  • Éditeur : Lemarié fils (Dammartin)
  • Date d'édition : 1874

La jacquerie par Siméon Luce

Montépilloy (Mons speculatoris), appartenait alors à Robert de Lorris dont un des fils, Gilles, fut évêque de Noyon de 1352 à 1388.


ses hommes portaient le ravage

Tandis que Pierre Gilles et ses hommes portaient le ravage à Tremblay, à Gournay-sur-Marne et en général dans toutes les localités des environs de Gonesse, Etienne Marcel envoyait une autre troupe, sous les ordres de Jean Vaillant, prévôt des monnaies, détruire le château d'Ermenonville.

Une circonstance du plus haut intérêt, c'est que les gens d'armes parisiens et les Jacques de Beauvaisis s'étaient donné rendez-vous à l'attaque de cette forteresse. Le capitaine général de tout le plat pays de Beauvaisis, le fameux Guillaume Cale, s'y trouvait même en personne. Le château, qui appartenait à Robert de Lorris, chambellan du roi Jean et l'un de ses favoris, fut assailli, enlevé, livré au pillage et enfin rasé. Robert de Lorris lui-même fut forcé de renier gentillesse et noblesse, et de jurer qu'il aimait mieux les bourgeois et la commune de Paris que les nobles. Mais à cette condition il eut la vie sauve, ainsi que sa femme et ses enfants.

Les Jacques démolirent donc en 1358 ce château. Pendant les années qui suivirent l'insurrection, Robert de Lorris intenta une action en justice contre les coupables, auxquels il réclama 10,000 livres de dommages-intérêts pour la destruction de son château, et 500 livres d'indemnité pour la perte de son mobilier. Par arrêt du 25 novembre 1363, le Parlement ordonna une enquête.

  • Titre : Histoire de la jacquerie.
  • Auteur : Luce, Siméon (1833-1892)
  • Éditeur : H. Champion (Paris)
  • Date d'édition : 1894

Restes du château à Montepilloy
Crédit photo : joel.herbez (Restes du château, montepilloy)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Restes du château, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Restes du château' à montepilloy (oise 60810). montepilloy, oise

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 99463
  • item : Restes du château
  • Localisation :
    • Oise
    • Montépilloy
  • Code INSEE commune : 60415
  • Code postal de la commune : 60810
  • Ordre dans la liste : 2
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : château
  • Etat :
    • Etat courrant du monument : vestiges (suceptible à changement)

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • Nous n'avons aucune informlation sur les périodes de constructions de cet édifice.
  • Date de protection : 1963/05/03 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/12/03

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété d'une personne privée 1992
  • Détails : Château (restes) (cad. AB 24) : classement par arrêté du 3 mai 1963
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00114753

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de joel.herbez est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Restes du château à Montepilloy. par joel.herbez
Restes du château, montepilloy
Restes du château à Montepilloy. par joel.herbez
Restes du château, montepilloy
Restes du château à Montepilloy. par joel.herbez
Restes du château, montepilloy
Restes du château à Montepilloy. par joel.herbez
Restes du château, montepilloy
Restes du château à Montepilloy. par joel.herbez
Restes du château, montepilloy
Restes du château à Montepilloy. par webmaster
Restes du château, montepilloy
Description par webmaster :

[Entrée du château de Montepilloy près Senlis] : [dessin]

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.