Garden of the Castle of Mesnil-Saint-Firmin, French Heritage monument to Le mesnil st firmin

Mr. Charles Bazin, member of the Company of the Antique dealers of Picardy, writing:

'' In the suckers who survived the old castle of the Mesnil-Saint-Firmin (Oise), demolished in the middle of last century, I have meeting, registered on the walls, several names and dates historical of which I took stamping. The name of the count d' Estourmel, lord of the place at the sixteenth century, is there in two places; once without date, another time with the date 1530, written semi-part in Arab numerals and Roman, which makes it interesting.

Another historical date (1536) is coarsely read with the bottom of a bust trace, though with a certain insurance. The date points out the time to which Jean d' Estourmel made come from all his grounds, and in particular of that of the Mesnil-Saint-Firmin, his harvests of grains to supply the town of Fibula, assiegee by the count de Nassau.

The fourth stamping presents the weapons of Estourmel, the cross cretelee. They are escortees of a name which is unknown for me, of the date 1556, and of a sentence which does not indicate in its author a great detachment of the wordly goods (by gold and money all is done). At that time (1556), Jean d' Estourmel filled the load of general treasurer of the provinces of Picardy and with Champagne, charges which had been to him concedee by Fran?ois I er, in reward with its vigorous resistance to the seat with Fibula. Perhaps the sentence from which I come to speak refers it has this employment.

I add a last inscription which I could not read. If there is full confidence in the date 1237 which precedes it, it should be recognized that it presents a great interest, in what it is written in Arab numerals. It is known, indeed, that it is extremely rare to meet the Arab numerals has one time also reculee. The inscription is likely to make known, by the form of its characters, if the date 1237 is veracious or not. In another place of the cellars, this same inscription reproduces in a a little different form, and this time without date. I have bring closer these two stampings, so that it was easier to compare them between them. It would be interesting to know if these signatures are referred, like those of the sixteenth century, with the family of Estourmel, because it would be glorious for the commune of Mesnil-SaintFirmin to have belonged, already at the thirteenth century, for a long time has a family known then by her bravery.

Indeed, as of the year 1099, one of its members reached the first Crete of the walls of Jerusalem. It gained there its armorial bearings, the cross cretelee; its currency, Valiant on Crete, and the nickname of Creton, that this family carried indifferently with that of Estourmel until the sixteenth century, time to which the last prevailed.

To return from there at the date 1237, I will say that the cellars, by themselves, do not appear to me to have to invalidate it nor to confirm it. These cellars form two stages superimpose and identically similar. They extend in long corridors, regularly built and in average apparatus, but deprived of architectonic natures: without arches with the vaults, sculptures on the walls. ''

Source: Archaeological bulletin, Volume 2 by France. Historical committee of arts and monuments in 1842.

Garden of the Castle of Mesnil-Saint-Firmin
Crédit photo : (Garden of the Castle of Mesnil-Saint-Firmin, le mesnil st firmin)


Reported to be remarkable heritage of quality.

Structural information

Garden of the Castle of Mesnil-Saint-Firmin, « Garden of the Castle of Mesnil-Saint-Firmin » is a construction of the city of Le mesnil st firmin (France, Oise). Garden of the Castle of Mesnil-Saint-Firmin, French Heritage monument to Le mesnil st firmin le mesnil st firmin, oise

Location and general information

  • identifier : 99436
  • item : Jardin d'agrément du château de Mesnil-Saint-Firmin
  • Location of the building :
    • Oise
    • Le Mesnil-Saint-Firmin
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 60399
  • Zip code of the municipality : 60120
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : garden
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • We have no information on the time of construction of this monument.
  • Investigation : 1993
  • Date taken into account : 2003/06/26

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : cote dossier environnement 066D.Dossier de jardin repéré
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : private property
  • Author of the survey MH : Herviot Isabelle
  • Mérimée reference : IA60001444

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de meauxjm est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Jardin d'agrément du château de Mesnil-Saint-Firmin à Le mesnil st firmin

M. Charles Bazin, membre de la Société des Antiquaires de Picardie, écrit:

« Dans les caves qui ont survécu à l'ancien château du Mesnil-Saint-Firmin (Oise), démoli au milieu du siècle dernier, j'ai rencontré, inscrits sur les murailles, plusieurs noms et dates historiques dont j'ai pris l'estampage. Le nom du comte d'Estourmel, seigneur du lieu au seizième siècle, s'y trouve en deux endroits; une fois sans date, une autre fois avec la date 1530, écrite mi-partie en chiffres arabes et romains, ce qui la rend intéressante.

Une autre date historique (1536) se lit au bas d'un buste grossièrement tracé, quoique avec une certaine assurance. La date rappelle l'époque à laquelle Jean d'Estourmel fit venir de toutes ses terres, et en particulier de celle du Mesnil-Saint-Firmin, ses récoltes de grains pour ravitailler la ville de Péronne, assiégée par le comte de Nassau.

Un quatrième estampage présente les armes des Estourmel, la croix crételée. Elles sont escortées d'un nom qui m'est inconnu, de la date 1556, et d'une sentence qui n'indique pas dans son auteur un grand détachement des biens de ce monde (par or et par argent tout se fait). A cette époque (1556), Jean d'Estourmel remplissait la charge de trésorier général des provinces de Picardie et de Champagne, charge qui lui avait été concédée par François Ier, en récompense de sa vigoureuse résistance au siége de Péronne. Peut-être la sentence dont je viens de parler fait-elle allusion à cet emploi.

J'ajoute une dernière inscription que je n'ai pu lire. Si l'on a pleine confiance dans la date 1237 qui la précède, il faut reconnaître qu'elle présente un grand intérêt, en ce qu'elle est écrite en chiffres arabes. On sait, en effet, qu'il est fort rare de rencontrer les chiffres arabes à une époque aussi reculée. L'inscription est de nature à faire connaître, par la forme de ses caractères, si la date 1237 est véridique ou non. Dans un autre endroit des caves, cette même inscription se reproduit sous une forme un peu différente, et cette fois sans date. J'ai rapproché ces deux estampages, pour qu'il fût plus facile de les comparer entre eux. Il serait intéressant de savoir si ces signatures se rapportent, comme celles du seizième siècle, à la famille d'Estourmel, parce qu'il serait glorieux pour la commune du Mesnil-SaintFirmin d'avoir appartenu, déjà au treizième siècle, à une famille connue alors depuis longtemps par sa bravoure.

En effet, dès l'année 1099, un de ses membres atteignait le premier la crête des murs de Jérusalem. Il y gagnait ses armoiries, la croix crételée; sa devise, Vaillant sur la crête, et le surnom de Créton, que cette famille porta indifféremment avec celui d'Estourmel jusqu'au seizième siècle, époque à laquelle le dernier prévalut.

Pour en revenir à la date 1237, je dirai que les caves, par elles-mêmes, ne me paraissent pas devoir l'invalider ni la confirmer. Ces caves forment deux étages superposés et identiquement semblables. Elles s'étendent en longs couloirs, régulièrement construits et en moyen appareil, mais dépourvus de caractères architectoniques : sans arceaux aux voûtes, sans sculptures sur les murailles. »

Source : Bulletin archéologique, Volume 2 par France. Comité historique des arts et monuments en 1842.

Jardin d'agrément du château de Mesnil-Saint-Firmin à Le mesnil st firmin
Crédit photo : meauxjm (Jardin d'agrément du château de Mesnil-Saint-Firmin, le mesnil st firmin)

bâtiment remarquable.

Informations structurelles

Jardin d'agrément du château de Mesnil-Saint-Firmin, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Jardin d'agrément du château de Mesnil-Saint-Firmin' à le mesnil st firmin (oise 60120). le mesnil st firmin, oise

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 99436
  • item : Jardin d'agrément du château de Mesnil-Saint-Firmin
  • Localisation :
    • Oise
    • Le Mesnil-Saint-Firmin
  • Code INSEE commune : 60399
  • Code postal de la commune : 60120
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : jardin
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • Nous n'avons aucune informlation sur les périodes de constructions de cet édifice.
  • Enquête : 1993
  • Date de versement : 2003/06/26

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : cote dossier environnement 066D.Dossier de jardin repéré
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété privée
  • Auteur de l'enquête MH : Herviot Isabelle
  • Référence Mérimée : IA60001444

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de meauxjm est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.