Botanical Garden said Park Emmanuel Liais to Cherbourg

Greenhouses and Park Emmanuel Liais

If the Horticultural Society garden, if the public garden offer of interest to fans, the true horticultural curiosity of Cherbourg is Park Emmanuel Liais, this scholar, who is Mayor of Cherbourg, has by his will bequeathed to his hometown with the greenhouses and collections it contains.

This magnificent property of more than one hectare was virtually formed from scratch by its owner. During his travels through South America and his explorations in the tropics, M. Liais had designed the project to create for him, in his country of origin, a set of gardens and greenhouses which him remind the appearance of virgin forests which he had travelled. To this end, in 1873, before returning to Brazil, where he had already made a first trip, he began relations with Mr. Muhammed SR. horticulturist of merit, which he had been able to appreciate the knowledge and professional skill. He heard with him to his ship during the trips he would take back into virtually unexplored regions, plants that it would appear to be worthy of inclusion in the horticultural establishment that he had dreamed. When he finally returned to Cherbourg to settle among us, he applied himself to search for all these plants, he had collected and reported at the price of great care, habitat conditions that suited them better. He built these greenhouses in the vast proportions that we admire today and made them build so that each plant species in the more favourable conditions for its development.

Park Emmanuel Liais has two main entrances, one street from the Bucaille, another street of the Abbey. If one enters by the first, first through an alley of green trees and lies before a succession of lawns decorated with clumps of conifers and rhododendrons of the most beautiful effect. Among the most remarkable conifers, we can mention of beautiful copies of Pinus insignis and Pinaster, Cedrus Deodara and atlantica, Cupressus Lambertiana, Araucaria imbricata, Gryptomeria japonica and elegans, cedar, etc.

Further, amidst green surroundings, formed by Oaks, the statue of the astronomer, by Marcel Jacques, stands on its base of polished granite. Two groups of Chamoerops excelsa, another of Dracoena indivisa also contribute to the ornamentation of these lawns, on which the magnolias, camellias, rhododendrons and azaleas, all growing in the open air, come at the time of flowering throw the cheerful notes of their finery of all colors.

At the foot of a tower that Mr. Liais had built with the intention of later establish an Observatory, and along which the passion flowers and other climbing plants extend their flexuous branches, a nice pool presents a beautiful collection of water lilies of all shades, yellow, white, pink. Beside a hedge of Mimosa dealbata which, while spending the winter outside, are very vigorous and flower abundantly in the spring, gives the illusion of a garden in Cannes or Nice at this time of the year.

A path lined with bamboo of various species bypasses this mountain and back passing behind the tower to the dwelling house that is being converted into a Museum of natural history. Here and there, along the walls, in the middle of green trees which form curtain around the property, des Rosiers in trees spread their branches covered with flowers. Beautiful clumps of different Phormium, Gunnera scabra, beautiful Yucca and Beschorneria yuccoides, hydrangeas and fuchsias, massive groups of agaves that it covers only the winter, strong samples of Myrtus communis, Eugenia Ugni and apiculata, Clerodendrum and Eucalyptus, etc., to report also to the attention of the visitor.

Greenhouses, with the number thirteen, contain a magnificent collection of exotic plants of great rarity. Some of these plants are unique in France. In a first greenhouse near the House beautiful banana stand at almost ten metres of height their stems to the season of beautiful banana regimes. In the following we find a range of beautiful palm trees, such as Areca sapida, Chamoerops humilis, Phoenix dactylifera, Eloeis guinensis, Juboea spectabilis, Livistonia sinensis, Corypha australis, Caryota urens and sobolifera, Oreodoooa, Garludovica palmata, Rhapis flabelliformis, etc.; tree ferns, such as Cyathea medullaris and dealbata, Alsophila armata; many cycads, such as Gycas tonhinensis, siamensis, circinalis, neo-caledoniensis, madagascariensis, revoluta, poulo-condorensis; Zamia villosa, horrida, Lehmani, muricata, etc.

The walls of these greenhouses are lined with plants of all species growing there as in the adventure of plants pests etepiphytes, such as bromeliads and orchids. Lianas Connect all these plants to the other: you might think in the Brazil forest, and the temperature of these greenhouses, maintained at high heat, yet helps give us the illusion. A collection of Nepenthes, these curious plants which the polls ending leaves are filled with a liquid where insects come to take, will particularly remember the attention.

All plants grown in these greenhouses would deserve to be mentioned. Note only still Artocarpus incisa, umbraculifera Dracoena and fragrans, Ravenala madagascariensis, of Diefenbachia and many Philodendron, Ixora coccinea, of Plumeria, Medillina magnifica, Mammea americana, Melia sempervirens, Alpinia nutans, Hedychium Gardnerianum, Eugenia Jambos, Macrozamia spiralis, Encephalartos Altensteinii and caffra, dos Ficus, coffee trees.

On the other side of the dwelling house, another large glasshouse offers us a do Camellia collection varied flowers, and beautiful examples of various palms and araucarias.

In summary the Liais Park, whose management is entrusted to Mr. Corbière, is in point do view scientific both by plants which are grown outdoors by the magnificent collection of the plants encapsulated in its talons, a truly remarkable set that will soon complement the Museum of natural history, that is transferred currently, and the extensive library of the society of Natural Sciences and mathematics of Cherbourgfor which the city must soon build a special building.

Source: Cherbourg and the Cotentin peninsula / Congress of the French Association for the advancement of science.

Botanical Garden said Park Emmanuel Liais
Crédit photo : (Botanical Garden said Park Emmanuel Liais, cherbourg)


Reported to be remarkable heritage of quality.

Structural information

Botanical Garden said Park Emmanuel Liais, If the Horticultural Society garden, if the public garden offer of interest to fans, the true horticultural curiosity of Cherbourg is Park Emmanuel Liais, this scholar, who is Mayor of Cherbourg, has by his will bequeathed to his hometown with the greenhouses and collections it contains. cherbourg, manche

Location and general information

  • identifier : 81025
  • item : jardin botanique dit parc Emmanuel Liais
  • Location of the building :
    • Basse-Normandie
    • Manche
    • Cherbourg
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 50129
  • Zip code of the municipality : 50100
  • Order in the communal list : 17
  • Name of the building : The building is designated by the following 2 names :
    • garden
    • botanical garden
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 2 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 19th century
    • 4th quarter 19th century
  • Year : 1880
  • Investigation : 1987
  • Date taken into account : 2003/03/03

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : Cote boîte Environnement : 100R ; dossier de jardin repéré.
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas : 5 distinct parts in the constitution of this place :
    • garden
    • greenhouse
    • fence
    • boundary wall
    • closing
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : property of the municipality
  • Author of the survey MH : Lerouvillois Isabelle
  • Mérimée reference : IA50000258

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de JOJO 4 9 est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

jardin botanique dit parc Emmanuel Liais à Cherbourg

Serres et Parc Emmanuel Liais

Si le jardin de la Société d'Horticulture, si le jardin public offrent de l'intérêt aux amateurs, la véritable curiosité horticole de Cherbourg est le parc Emmanuel Liais, que ce savant, devenu maire de Cherbourg, a par son testament légué à sa ville natale avec les serres et les collections qu'il renferme.

Cette magnifique propriété de plus d'un hectare a été pour ainsi dire formée de toutes pièces par son propriétaire. Au cours de ses voyages à travers l'Amérique du Sud et de ses explorations dans les régions tropicales, M. Liais avait conçu le projet de se créer pour lui, dans son pays d'origine, un ensemble de jardins et de serres qui lui rappelleraient l'aspect des forêts vierges qu'il avait parcourues. A cette fin, en 1873, avant de repartir pour le Brésil, où il avait fait déjà un premier séjour, il se mit en relations avec M. Cavron père, un horticulteur de mérite, dont il avait pu apprécier les connaissances et l'habileté professionnelle. Il s'entendit avec lui pour lui expédier, au cours des voyages qu'il allait entreprendre de nouveau dans des régions pour ainsi dire inexplorées, les végétaux qui lui paraîtraient dignes de figurer dans l'établissement horticole qu'il avait rêvé. Quand il revint définitivement à Cherbourg pour se fixer parmi nous, il s'appliqua à rechercher pour toutes ces plantes, qu'il avait recueillies et rapportées au prix des plus grands soins, les conditions d'habitat qui leur convenaient mieux. Il fit construire ces serres aux vastes proportions que nous admirons aujourd'hui et les fit aménager de façon à placer chaque espèce végétale dans les conditions les plus favorables à son développement.

Le parc Emmanuel Liais a deux entrées principales, l'une rue de la Bucaille, l'autre rue de l'Abbaye. Si l'on y pénètre par la première, on traverse d'abord une allée d'arbres verts, puis on se trouve devant une succession de pelouses ornées de massifs de conifères et de rhododendrons du plus bel effet. Parmi les Conifères les plus remarquables, nous pouvons citer de beaux exemplaires de Pinus insignis et Pinaster, Cedrus Deodara et atlantica, Cupressus Lambertiana, Araucaria imbricata, Gryptomeria japonica et elegans, Thuya, etc.

Plus loin, au milieu d'un cadre de verdure, formé par des chênes verts, la statue de l'astronome, par Marcel Jacques, se dresse sur son socle de granit poli. Deux groupes de Chamoerops excelsa, un autre de Dracoena indivisa contribuent également à l'ornementation de ces pelouses, sur lesquelles les magnolias, camellias, rhododendrons et azalées, tous croissant à l'air libre, viennent au moment de la floraison jeter les notes gaies de leur parure de toutes couleurs.

Au pied d'une tour que M. Liais avait fait construire dans l'intention d'y établir plus tard un observatoire, et le long de laquelle les passiflores et autres plantes grimpantes étendent leurs rameaux flexueux, un joli bassin présente une belle collection de Nymphéas de toutes nuances, jaunes, blancs, roses. A côté une haie de Mimosa dealbata qui, bien que passant l'hiver dehors, sont très vigoureux, et fleurissent abondamment au printemps, donne à ce moment de l'année l'illusion d'un jardin de Cannes ou de Nice.

Un chemin bordé de bambous de diverses espèces contourne ce massif et ramène en passant derrière la tour à la maison d'habitation, que l'on est en train de convertir en musée d'histoire naturelle. Çà et là, le long des murs, au milieu des arbres verts qui forment rideau autour de la propriété, des rosiers en arbres étendent leurs rameaux couverts de fleurs. De belles touffes de différents Phormium, de Gunnera scabra, de beaux Yucca et Beschorneria yuccoïdes, des massifs d'hortensias et de fuchsias, des groupes d'agaves que l'on recouvre seulement l'hiver, de forts échantillons de Myrtus communis, Eugenia Ugni et apiculata, Clerodendron et Eucalyptus, etc., se signalent également à l'attention du visiteur.

Les serres, au nombre de treize, renferment une magnifique collection de plantes exotiques de grande rareté. Certaines même de ces plantes sont uniques en France. Dans une première serre, près de la maison, de magnifiques bananiers dressent à près de dix mètres de hauteur leurs tiges portant à la saison de beaux régimes de bananes. Dans les suivantes nous trouvons toute une série de palmiers du plus bel effet, tels que Areca sapida, Chamoerops humilis, Phoenix dactylifera, Eloeis guinensis, Juboea spectabilis, Livistonia sinensis, Corypha australis, Caryota urens et sobolifera, Oreodoooa, Garludovica palmata, Rhapis flabelliformis, etc. ; des fougères arborescentes, telles que Cyathea medullaris et dealbata, Alsophila armata; des Cycadées nombreuses, telles que Gycas revoluta, tonhinensis, siamensis, circinalis, neo-caledoniensis, madagascariensis, poulo-condorensis ; Zamia villosa, horrida, Lehmani, muricata, etc.

Les murs de ces serres sont tapissés de végétaux de toutes espèces poussant là comme à l'aventure, de plantes parasites etépiphytes, telles que broméliacées et orchidées. Des lianes relient toutes ces plantes les unes aux autres: on pourrait se croire dans les forêts du Brésil, et la température de ces serres, maintenue à une forte chaleur, contribue encore à nous en donner l'illusion. Une collection de Nepenthes, ces plantes curieuses dont les urnes qui terminent les feuilles sont remplies d'un liquide où les insectes viennent se prendre, retiendra particulièrement l'attention.

Toutes les plantes cultivées dans ces serres mériteraient d'être citées. Signalons seulement encore Artocarpus incisa, les Dracoena umbraculifera et fragrans, Ravenala madagascariensis, des Diefenbachia et Philodendron nombreux, Ixora coccinea, des Plumeria, Medillina magnifica, Mammea americana, Melia sempervirens, Alpinia nutans, Hedychium Gardnerianum, Eugenia Jambos, Macrozamia spiralis, Encephalartos Altensteinii et caffra, dos Ficus, des Caféiers.

De l'autre côté de la maison d'habitation, une autre grande serre nous offre une collection do Camellia aux fleurs les plus variées, et de beaux exemplaires de différents palmiers et araucarias.

En résumé le parc Liais, dont la direction est confiée à M. Corbière, constitue au point do vue scientifique tant par les végétaux que l'on y cultive à l'air libre que par la magnifique collection des plantes renfermées dans ses serres, un ensemble vraiment remarquable que viendront compléter prochainement le musée d'histoire naturelle, que l'on y transfère actuellement, et l'importante bibliothèque de la Société des Sciences naturelles et mathématiques de Cherbourg, pour laquelle la ville doit prochainement édifier un bâtiment spécial.

Source : Cherbourg et le Cotentin / Congrès de l'Association française pour l'avancement des sciences.

jardin botanique dit parc Emmanuel Liais à Cherbourg
Crédit photo : JOJO 4 9 (jardin botanique dit parc Emmanuel Liais, cherbourg)

bâtiment remarquable.

Informations structurelles

jardin botanique dit parc Emmanuel Liais, Si le jardin de la Société d'Horticulture, si le jardin public offrent de l'intérêt aux amateurs, la véritable curiosité horticole de Cherbourg est le parc Emmanuel Liais, que ce savant, devenu maire de Cherbourg, a par son testament légué à sa ville natale avec les serres et les collections qu'il renferme. cherbourg, manche

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 81025
  • item : jardin botanique dit parc Emmanuel Liais
  • Localisation :
    • Basse-Normandie
    • Manche
    • Cherbourg
  • Code INSEE commune : 50129
  • Code postal de la commune : 50100
  • Ordre dans la liste : 17
  • Nom commun de la construction : 2 dénomiations sont utilisées pour définir cette construction :
    • jardin
    • jardin botanique
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 2 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 19e siècle
    • 4e quart 19e siècle
  • Année : 1880
  • Enquête : 1987
  • Date de versement : 2003/03/03

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : Cote boîte Environnement : 100R ; dossier de jardin repéré.
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes : 5 parties constituantes distinctes relevées :
    • jardin
    • serre
    • clôture de jardin
    • mur de clôture
    • clôture
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune
  • Auteur de l'enquête MH : Lerouvillois Isabelle
  • Référence Mérimée : IA50000258

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de JOJO 4 9 est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.