Cathedral Saint-Mammes, French Heritage monument to Langres

the description of the cathedral could take has it only a work of several volumes and abundant documentation available would make it possible to fill a house entiere. I thus took the party to release some extracts concerning his history and some comments relating to various restoration gift the cathedral was the object.

You will thus find an interpretation of its origin and the sometimes acid comments on the restoration of the 19th century.

history

The cathedral dediee under the invocation of Saint-Mammes, martyr, is the most remarkable monument that the diocese of Langres can offer to the archaeologist and the historian. If, of a dimension, the glory of its bishops, the old power of a Chapter which had in its centre so much famous men, ensure to him a place distinguee in the middle of the churches rich in memories; other, the merit of its architecture assigns a row not less high to him among works of Article.

The first question has to pose, and perhaps most difficult has to elucidate, about the cathedral of Langres, is the question of origin. At which precise time this monument it was built? All do its parts on the same date of construction?

The oldest monuments of the church of Langres teach us, that to the second century, Benigne saint having converted our glorious Saint-Twins, devoted an oratory under the invocation of Jean Saint the Evangelist. It was in this modest sanctuary, unknown with the pagan ones, that the neophytes of quotes of Lingons met during persecutions. The tradition as carries has to believe as the first church worthy of the name of cathedral was an old Jupiter Ammon temple, that the Christians dedierent has Saint Jean. Without knowing with the Juste the time of this dedicates, one can conjecture that it was made in the middle of the third century, during the life of Didier Saint, which also passes for founder of another church appelee of the name of the Madeleine, and later of that of the same founder.

The first cathedral was renversee in the bag of Langres by Chrocus, chief of cruel people, whose invasion is marquee by our legendary about year 264. On his ruins, one built another basilica in the honor of Jean Saint, about year 379, as an inscription consignee in all the chronicles langroises indicates it:

The year seventy nine and three Gratian taxable quotas the quarter Fonda emperor Reigning creative holy place of ceans In the name of nostre Priame Duc of France In Burgundy Chilperic roy All chrestiens have is engaged to it is thus into good foy.

This inscription, that the language of the fifteenth century would make suspecter innovation, is by no means meprisable, in the sense that it is the translation of another really ancient. Such is at least the feeling of the P. Vigner: it seems to us reasonable. '' The rimaillor, says it, claimed to return in French what it has finds some share written as good Latin and these terms or other equivalents: '' Anno ab incarnatione Domini trecentesimo septuagesimo nono, Gratiano quartum '' imperante, fundalum is hoc templum, etc, because indeed, year 359 of Nostre Seigneur respond at the fourth year of the reign of Gratian, since the death of Valentinian which died year 575. '' Undoubtedly this church did not remain a long time. Attila, at the time of his retirement, in 451, reduced Langres in a heap of ruins, and it has to believe that the basilica was entirely destroyed or strong endommagee in this circumstance. At all events, we do not know any detail about its restoration or its rebuilding after this terrible event; but it is on at the sixth century, a cathedral existed, since we read in the old legend of Gregoire Saint, that sheep, having its gold toyson, of which remains still some idea and vestige of the construction of its temple, in the aforementioned episcopal church, by the pillars or rods of columns which are seen there; one each one estante of only one piere has to know of stones or melted stones, inventjon which was lost. '' It acts of the columns of the chorus, at the bottom of the apse. Observations of equal value follow.

In 738, under Charles Martel, with the testimony of the Javernault lawyer, Charlet and other chroniclers, Sarrazins are trouverent rather strong, after their defeat with the battle of Turns, to cross most of France. They saccagerent, in their retirement, the towns of Autun, of Dijon and Langres. This time still the church was not epargnee; we are all the more persuade that the historians place twenty years after, some dedicates church of Langres under the patronage of Saint-Mammes of which quotes it had received, in 758, during the episcopate of Vandier, a badge relic. The oldest charter that we had, that which gave Louis Debonnaire, in 814, notes the existence of the title of Saint-Mammes: '' Munitionem Lingonicse civitatis ubi babetur ecclesia in honours Sancti Mammetis, eximii martyris. '' The translation of similar relics, don't the changes of terms usually accompany with the Middle Ages, the construction of a new church? There is thus here, better than conjectures, to support that, under the Vandier bishop, our quotes saw building a fourth cathedral. Which fate did it undergo? It crossed several centuries and remained upright until the era opened by the last hour of the year 1000, whereas the people left vain terrors of the end of the world, undertook of all shares, the construction of news and vast basilicas. Our conviction, founded mainly on archaeology, borrows also lights from the history. Charlet ensures us that '' the Raynard bishop made, in 1075, the voyage from Constantinople, and obtained from the emperor an arm of Saint-Mammes richly enchases, that it brought has Langres triumphs '' over it. Of his dimension, the Gaultherot lawyer adds that same Raynard '' made wish make bear to the church cathedral the name of Saint-Mammes, '' and that pursuant to this promise, the bishop Garnier '' dedicated the cathedral under the invocation of Saint-Mammes, on July 22, 1196, in the presence of several abbots, of the duke of Bourgongne, the lords of Grancey, Thilchastel, Borlemont, and several others of Bourgongne and Champagne. '' Would it Have dedicates has Saint-Mammes a cathedral which to already was him dediee? Not, undoubtedly; it is thus about a new cathedral. If it were not included/understood, if one has diverts the direction of the word dedicates, it is that one wrote with an preconceived idea. Here what it is easy to disentangle in the account of these writers, and what agrees has wonder with the archaeological data. At the time of the voyage of Raynard and translation of the invaluable relic, it days ago of enthusiasm, and the splendid work of the chorus was finishes. Garnier made the dedication of the monument later only one century; as we have the material proof as work was stopped, and that, consequently, the naves could be achevees only with the distance from a certain number of years. However, we are not unaware of it, the historical documents are not positive, and same the authors who have just provided us an argument, according to us peremptory, believe, like all the chroniclers of Langres, which the current cathedral is that of which it is question as of the fourth century. We made a scrupulous reading of Gaultherot and Tabourot: these scientists men have advance the opinion that we fight; they are not based on a real tradition, but on parts without authenticity 1, and on the comparison between the pagan buildings and some ornaments of Saint-Mammes. It is not astonishing that they were mislaid, because the phases of architecture to the Middle Ages were of their time perfectly unknown. The written monuments had been the way to leave the error; but they missed and miss still today, because they were destroyed, we will say it, well before the time or flowered the above mentioned authors. The P. Vignier, the canon Thibaut, the Charlet abbot, Pietrequin de Gilley, the Mathieu abbot, Xavier d' Regel, marry with more or less concern, the same feeling, and no one does not provide a new element for a satisfactory solution.

Various chronicles

The cathedral of Langres, this monument so worthy of all the solicitude of the government, finally will be consolidee and to start has to be raised of the deplorable state or the incurie had drops it. Mr. de Contenoin, director of the administration of the worships, has it placee, in a report/ratio addresses this year to the minister, among the cathedrals of France which claim most pressing and most important repairs. Already one has entreats the danger of his fall by stays which support the staggering buttresses of them, and one ensures that more considerable work will not delay has to be undertaken there.

In 1850 an organ of accompaniment was place beside the chorus, under the large septentrional arcade. The made excavations on this occasion have brings the discovery of the tomb of Jean IV of Arcis, sixty-ten-seventh bishop of Langres, died in 1344. The statue of this bishop was lying on the tombstone which recovered its bones. The style of the sculpture confirmed the historical testimony which assigns this site with the burial of this character. A brilliant painting covered the stone, and the head of the statue rested on a rich person pillow. Unfortunately this interesting work had been put of pieces that it was impossible to join together so as to restore the monument. Public indignation was soulevee with the sight of an example of the impious vandalism which, same before 93, carried a hand sacrilege on the basilica of Saint-Mammes. The organ, from which we come to speak, left the Ducroquet house (street Sainl-Maur, has Paris). The dresser was carries out within Mr. Maquet, architect of the government, by skilful workmen langrois. This work has merit of any point of the praises. The same factor has place with the convent of the Ladies of the Saint-Child-Jesus an organ interesting for the archaeologist. It is old and of English invoice; its pipes of tin gilds glitter within a framework in mahogany tree of ogival style. This instrument was useful, says one, at the time of the baptism of the count de Paris.

By the care of Mr. Barbier, architect, inspector of the monuments diocesans, the bottom of the chorus of Saint-Mammes was removes from the white paint and yellow which partly destroyed the effect of its architecture. A transparent colour, and approaching the ton of the stone, has succeeds the thick mortar bed; it is easy maintaining to understand how much it would be desirable that one continuat this operation for the remainder of the building.

Very-considerable repairs were made with the cathedral of Langres, into 1854,1855,1830 and 1857, on the funds allocate by the Minister of religion. The wall of the northern side was rebuilt between the door of north and the transept. The buttresses of the nave which bent under the push of propping up were widened and raise, several propping up were rebuilt. A gallery has open sky has replaces the covered gallery which reigned, of the dimension of north, above the walls of the nave, close to the roof, and was intended has to facilitate circulation in the event of fire. The church inside was degagee various paints which recovered the walls, and the capitals and the vaults were restore. One opened a door in the southern part close to the transept. The vault of catechisms which had been built in the south of the church, in 1837, was demolished. One has starts has to remove the slate cover and to replace it by a tiled roof vernissees. The ogival windows of the apse were remplacees by windows has full-clotheshanger, one has carries out, inside the church, of the doors cintrees in masonry at the ends of collateral, under the arcades which support the wall is turns of the gate. Lastly, one demolished the old room of the treasure of the charters and the sacristy which must be rebuilt on the same site.

All work of masonry was tres-bien carry out and with much more care than work which had been made previously with the Saint-Mammes cathedral; but have must consider it regrettable that the architects responsibilities of direct these repairs made innovations and are not in conformity with the style of this church which is perfectly characterizes. Thus, the openings which give on the established gallery, outside, on the wall of the nave, were empruntees with the church Notre-Dame de Paris, built one quite posterior time with the cathedral of Langres has, and are in dissension with the remainder of the building. The small shelters, which one has surmounts the buttresses of the nave, were carve and are not harmonizes some with the walls external of the nave on which one notices no sculpture. The windows which light the sides were abaissees of approximately 0m50 and one does not include/understand why one has makes this modification to the primitive costruction. Some capitals which surmount the pilasters of the nave and the sides were not remade exactly such as they were. The windows cintrees, which were restored with the apse, are accompagnees, outside, of two pilasters of each dimension which make a very bad impression and are not in connection with the other windows of the church. The open door in the collateral one of the south is also in the most complete dissension with the other doors of the church, in what the ornamentation of those is formee foliages and which the new door is charged with entirely foreign geometrical ornaments to the style of the Saint-Mammes church: because only one ornament of this kind would in vain be sought there. The doors built at the end of collateral, are accompagnees pilasters flowering ashes of grooves of a nature very-different from the grooves which one notices in various parts of the church. It is quite regrettable that in made so many repairs a monument as remarkable has as the cathedral of Langres, one is not generally by no means occupies to approach as much as possible the style this building and than one has on the contrary seeks has to move away some.

Finally one can only deplore the replacement of the cover out of slates or lead of the cathedral of Langres by a tiled roof vernissees with the hardest colors and brightest. The roof was, says one, thus modifiee because one has finds on the vaults of the Saint-Mammes church some tiles vernissees. This cathedral having been several times brulee, its roof could, after a fire, being reparee with tiles vernissees; but as the slate covers were of use has all the times, that they are, by their colour which is harmonized perfectly with the sky and gives more rise to the buildings, preferable, for the churches, has all the other covers; it is not understood that one has removes the slate cover of the cathedral of Langres to replace it by a cover in tiles, with the colors more the sharp, which crushes this building.

  • Titrate: Memories of the historical and archaeological Company of Langres
  • Author: Historical and archaeological company of Langres
  • Editor: Museum Saint-Didier (Langres)
  • Go back to edition: 1847

Cathedral Saint-Mammes
(Cathedral Saint-Mammes, langres)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Cathedral Saint-Mammes, « Cathedral Saint-Mammes » is a construction of the city of Langres (France, Haute marne). Cathedral Saint-Mammes, French Heritage monument to Langres langres, haute marne

Location and general information

  • identifier : 82612
  • item : Cathédrale Saint-Mammes
  • Location of the building :
    • Champagne-Ardenne
    • Haute-Marne
    • Langres
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 52269
  • Zip code of the municipality : 52200
  • Order in the communal list : 3
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : cathedral
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • We have no information on the time of construction of this monument.
  • Date of protection : 1862 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/03/29

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : Aménagement de la bibliothèque municipale dans une partie du cloître. 18 ; 04 ; 1914 (J.O.)
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : 1992
  • Picture : 2445cb44faf0c756b02b5aae02fd2bff.jpg
  • Details : Cathédrale Saint-Mammes et restes du cloître : classement par liste de 1862
  • Mérimée reference : PA00079088

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Cathedral Saint-Mammes, French Heritage monument to Langres. Picture of Lomyre
Cathédrale Saint-Mammes, langres
Description of this building by Lomyre :

Bâtie à partir de 1150 et achevée à la fin du siècle, la cathédrale de Saint-Mammès était un vaste diocèse situé entre Champagne et Bourgogne.
C'est le dernier grand édifice construit dans la lignée de l'abbatiale romane de Cluny édifiée à la fin du XIème siècle. Située au carrefour d'influences artistiques diverses, la cathédrale co jugue harmonieusement un décor et des volumes romans avec les premières innovations gothiques. L'emploi de la voûte sur croisées d'ogives, novateur dans la région, a permis de donner au vaisseau une largeur et un éclairage plus important que dans les autres édifices clunisiens.
Reconstruite en 1768, l'imposante façade néo-classique se compose de deux tours encadrant un avant-corps sommé d'un fronton. Celui-ci est surmonté de deux statues monumentales représentant la Synagogue (à gauche) et l'Eglise (à droite). Chacun des trois niveaux est scandé par des colonnes ou de pilastres aux ordres respectivement dorique, ionique et corinthien. Durant la Révolution, certain éléments de décor ont été détournés de leur symbole initial. Ainsi au-dessus du portail Nord (à gauche), la mitre et la crosse épiscopales ont été transformées respectivement en phrygien et en faisceau de licteur.

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Cathédrale Saint-Mammes à Langres

la description de la cathédrale pourrait prendre a elle seule un ouvrage de plusieurs volumes et l'abondante documentation disponible permettrait de remplir une maison entière. J'ai donc pris le parti de dégager quelques extraits concernant son histoire et quelques commentaires portant sur diverses restauration don la cathédrale a fait l'objet.

Vous trouverez donc une interprétation de son origine et les commentaires parfois acides sur les restauration du 19e siècle.

histoire

La cathédrale dédiée sous l'invocation de Saint-Mammès, martyr, est le monument le plus remarquable que le diocèse de Langres puisse offrir à l'archéologue et à l'historien. Si, d'un côté, la gloire de ses évêques, l'ancienne puissance d'un Chapitre qui posséda dans son sein tant d'hommes illustres, lui assurent une place distinguée au milieu des églises riches en souvenirs; de l'autre, le mérite de son architecture lui assigne un rang non moins élevé parmi les oeuvres d'art.

La première question à poser, et peut-être la plus difficile à élucider, au sujet de la cathédrale de Langres, est la question d'origine. A quelle époque précise ce monument a-t-il été bâti? Toutes ses parties ont-elles la même date de construction?

Les plus anciens monuments de l'église de Langres nous apprennent, qu'au deuxième siècle, saint Bénigne ayant converti nos glorieux Saints-Jumeaux, consacra un oratoire sous l'invocation de Saint Jean l'Évangéliste. C'était dans ce modeste sanctuaire, inconnu aux païens, que les néophytes de la cité des Lingons se réunissaient durant les persécutions. La tradition aussi porte à croire que la première église digne du nom de cathédrale fut un ancien temple de Jupiter Ammon, que les chrétiens dédièrent à Saint Jean. Sans connaître au juste l'époque de cette dédicace, on peut conjecturer qu'elle a été faite au milieu du troisième siècle, pendant la vie de Saint Didier, qui passe aussi pour fondateur d'une autre église appelée du nom de la Madeleine, et plus tard de celui du fondateur même.

La première cathédrale fut renversée dans le sac de Langres par Chrocus, chef de peuples barbares, dont l'invasion est marquée par nos légendaires vers l'an 264. Sur ses ruines, on construisit une autre basilique en l'honneur de Saint Jean, vers l'an 379, comme l'indique une inscription consignée dans toutes les chroniques langroises :

L'an septante neuf et trois cens Gratian le quart empereur Fonda le saint lieu de céans Au nom de nostre créateur Régnant Priame Duc de France En Bourgogne Chilpéric roy Tous chrestiens ayez y fiance Il est ainsi en bonne foy.

Cette inscription, que le langage du quinzième siècle ferait suspecter de nouveauté, n'est nullement méprisable, en ce sens qu'elle est la traduction d'une autre vraiment antique. Tel est du moins le sentiment du P. Vigner : il nous semble raisonnable. « Le rimailleur, dit-il, a prétendu rendre en français ce qu'il a trouvé quelque part écrit en bon latin et en ces termes ou d'autres équivalents : « Anno ab incarnatione Domini trecentesimo septuagesimo nono, Gratiano quartum «imperante, fundalum est hoc templum, etc., parce qu'en effet, l'an 359 de Nostre Seigneur respond à la quatrième année du règne de Gratian, depuis la mort de Valentinian qui décéda l'an 575. » Sans doute cette église ne subsista pas longtemps. Attila, lors de sa retraite, en 451, réduisit Langres en un monceau de ruines, et il est à croire que la basilique fut entièrement détruite ou fort endommagée dans cette circonstance. Quoi qu'il en soit, nous ne savons aucun détail sur sa restauration ou sa reconstruction après ce terrible événement ; mais il est sûr qu'au sixième siècle, une cathédrale existait, puisque nous lisons dans l'ancienne légende de Saint Grégoire, que mouton, ayant sa toyson d'or, duquel reste encore quelque idée et vestige de la construction de son temple, en ladite église épiscopale, par les pilliers ou verges de colonnes qui s'y voient ; une chacune estante d'une seule piere à savoir de cailloux ou pierres fondues, inventjon qui s'est perdue. » Il s'agit des colonnes du choeur, au fond de l'abside. Suivent des observations d'égale valeur.

En 738, sous Charles Martel, au témoignage de l'avocat Javernault, de Charlet et d'autres chroniqueurs, les Sarrazins se trouvèrent assez forts, après leur défaite à la bataille de Tours, pour traverser une grande partie de la France. Ils saccagèrent, dans leur retraite, les villes d'Autun, de Dijon et de Langres. Cette fois encore l'église ne fut point épargnée ; nous en sommes d'autant plus persuadés que les historiens placent vingt ans après, une certaine dédicace de l'église de Langres sous le patronage de Saint-Mammès dont la cité avait reçu, en 758, pendant l'épiscopat de Vandier, une insigne relique. La plus vieille charte que nous possédions, celle que donna Louis le Débonnaire, en 814, constate l'existence du titre de Saint-Mammès : « Munitionem Lingonicse civitatis ubi babetur ecclesia in honore Sancti Mammetis, eximii martyris. » La translation de semblables reliques, les changements de vocables n'accompagnent-ils pas d'ordinaire au moyen âge, la construction d'une église nouvelle ? Il y a donc ici, mieux que des conjectures, pour soutenir que, sous l'évêque Vandier, notre cité vit bâtir une quatrième cathédrale. Quel sort a-t-elle subi ? Elle traversa plusieurs siècles et demeura debout jusqu'à l'ère ouverte par la dernière heure de l'an 1000, alors que les peuples sortis des vaines terreurs de la fin du monde, entreprirent de toutes parts, la construction de nouvelles et vastes basiliques. Notre conviction, fondée principalement sur l'archéologie, emprunte aussi des lumières à l'histoire. Charlet nous assure que « l'évêque Raynard fit, en 1075, le voyage de Constantinople, et obtint de l'empereur un bras de Saint-Mammès richement enchâssé, qu'il apporta à Langres en triomphe ». De son côté, l'avocat Gaultherot ajoute que le même Raynard « fit voeu de faire porter à l'église cathédrale le nom de Saint-Mammès, » et qu'en exécution de cette promesse, l'évêque Garnier « dédia la cathédrale sous l'invocation de Saint-Mammès, le 22 juillet 1196, en présence de plusieurs abbés, du duc de Bourgongne, des seigneurs de Grancey, Thilchastel, Borlémont, et plusieurs autres de Bourgongne et de Champagne. » Aurait-il dédié à Saint-Mammès une cathédrale qui déjà lui était dédiée ? Non, sans doute; il s'agit donc d'une cathédrale nouvelle. Si on ne l'a pas compris, si l'on a détourné le sens du mot dédicace, c'est que l'on a écrit avec une idée préconçue. Voilà ce qu'il est facile de démêler dans le récit de ces écrivains, et ce qui s'accorde à merveille avec les données archéologiques. A l'époque du voyage de Raynard et de la translation de la précieuse relique, il y eut des jours d'enthousiasme, et le magnifique ouvrage du choeur fut terminé. Garnier ne fit la consécration du monument qu'un siècle plus tard ; aussi avons-nous la preuve matérielle que les travaux furent interrompus, et que, par suite, les nefs n'ont pu être achevées qu'à la distance d'un certain nombre d'années. Toutefois, nous ne l'ignorons point, les documents historiques ne sont pas positifs, et même les auteurs qui viennent de nous fournir un argument, selon nous péremptoire, croient, comme tous les chroniqueurs de Langres, que la cathédrale actuelle est celle dont il est question dès le quatrième siècle. Nous avons fait une lecture scrupuleuse de Gaultherot et de Tabourot : ces savants hommes ont avancé l'opinion que nous combattons ; ils ne se basent point sur une tradition réelle, mais sur des pièces sans authenticité 1, et sur la comparaison des édifices païens avec quelques ornements de Saint-Mammès. Il n'est pas étonnant qu'ils se soient égarés, car les phases de l'architecture au moyen-âge étaient de leur temps parfaitement inconnues. Les monuments écrits eussent été la voie pour sortir de l'erreur; mais ils manquaient et manquent encore aujourd'hui, parce qu'ils ont été détruits, nous le dirons, bien avant l'époque où fleurirent les auteurs précités. Le P. Vignier, le chanoine Thibaut, l'abbé Charlet, Piétrequin de Gilley, l'abbé Mathieu, Xavier d'Regel, épousent avec plus ou moins d'inquiétude, le même sentiment, et nul ne fournit d'élément nouveau pour une solution satisfaisante.

Chroniques diverses

La cathédrale de Langres, ce monument si digne de toute la sollicitude du gouvernement, va enfin être consolidée et commencer à se relever du déplorable état où l'incurie l'avait laissé tomber. M. de Contenoin, directeur de l'administration des cultes, l'a placée, dans un rapport adressé cette année au ministre, parmi les cathédrales de France qui réclament les plus pressantes et les plus importantes réparations. Déjà on a conjuré le péril de sa chute par des étais qui en soutiennent les contreforts chancelants, et l'on assure que des travaux plus considérables ne tarderont pas à y être entrepris.

En 1850 un orgue d'accompagnement a été placé à côté du choeur, sous la grande arcade septentrionale. Les fouilles faites à cette occasion ont amené la découverte du tombeau de Jean IV d'Arcis, soixante-dix-septième évêque de Langres, mort en 1344. La statue de cet évêque était couchée sur la dalle funéraire qui recouvrait ses ossements. Le style de la sculpture confirmait le témoignage historique qui assigne cet emplacement à la sépulture de ce personnage. Une brillante peinture revêtait la pierre, et la tête de la statue reposait sur un riche oreiller. Malheureusement cet intéressant ouvrage avait été mis en morceaux qu'il fut impossible de réunir de manière à restaurer le monument. L'indignation publique a été soulevée à la vue d'un exemple du vandalisme impie qui, même avant 93, porta une main sacrilège sur la basilique de Saint-Mammès. L'orgue, dont nous venons de parler, est sorti de la maison Ducroquet (rue Sainl-Maur, à Paris). Le buffet a été exécuté sur les plans de M. Maquet, architecte du gouvernement, par d'habiles ouvriers langrois. Cet ouvrage a mérité de tout point des éloges. Le même facteur a placé au couvent des Dames du Saint-Enfant-Jésus un orgue intéressant pour l'archéologue. Il est ancien et de facture anglaise ; ses tuyaux d'étain doré reluisent dans un cadre en acajou de style ogival. Cet instrument a servi, dit-on, lors du baptême du comte de Paris.

Par les soins de M. Barbier, architecte, inspecteur des monuments diocésains, le fond du choeur de Saint-Mammès a été débarrassé du badigeon blanc et jaune qui détruisait en partie l'effet de son architecture. Une teinte transparente, et se rapprochant du ton de la pierre, a succédé à l'épaisse couche de mortier; il est facile maintenant de comprendre combien il serait désirable que l'on continuât cette opération pour le reste de l'édifice.

Des réparations très-considérables ont été faites à la cathédrale de Langres, en 1854, 1855, 1830 et 1857, sur les fonds alloués par le Ministre des cultes. Le mur du bas-côté nord a été reconstruit entre la porte du nord et le transsept. Les contreforts de la nef qui fléchissaient sous la poussée des arcs-boutants ont été élargis et exhaussés, plusieurs arcs-boutants ont été reconstruits. Une galerie à ciel ouvert a remplacé la galerie couverte qui régnait, du côté du nord, au-dessus des murs de la nef, près du toit, et était destinées à faciliter la circulation en cas d'incendie. L'église à l'intérieur a été dégagée des différents badigeons qui recouvraient les murs, et les chapiteaux et les voûtes ont été restaurés. On a ouvert une porte dans le côté sud près du transsept. La chapelle des catéchismes qui avait été construite au sud de l'église, en 1837, a été démolie. On a commencé à enlever la couverture en ardoises et à la remplacer par un toit en tuiles vernissées. Les fenêtres ogivales de l'abside ont été remplacées par des fenêtres à plein-cintre, on a exécuté, à l'intérieur de l'église, des portes cintrées en maçonnerie aux extrémités des collatéraux, sous les arcades qui supportent le mur est des tours du portail. Enfin, on a démoli l'ancienne salle du trésor des chartes et la sacristie qui doit être reconstruite sur le même emplacement.

Tous les travaux de maçonnerie ont été très-bien exécutés et avec beaucoup plus de soin que les travaux qui avaient été faits précédemment à la cathédrale Saint-Mammès; mais ont doit regretter que les architectes chargés de diriger ces réparations aient fait des innovations et ne se soient pas conformé au style de cette église qui est parfaitement caractérisé. Ainsi, les ouvertures qui donnent sur la galerie établie, à l'extérieur, sur le mur de la nef, ont été empruntées à l'église Notre-Dame de Paris, construite à une époque bien postérieure à la cathédrale de Langres, et sont en désaccord avec le reste de l'édifice. Les petits édicules, dont on a surmonté les contreforts de la nef, ont été sculptés et ne sont point en harmonie avec les murs extérieurs de la nef sur lesquels on ne remarque aucune sculpture. Les fenêtres qui éclairent les bas-côtés ont été abaissées d'environ 0m50 et on ne comprend pas pourquoi on a apporté cette modification à la costruction primitive. Quelques chapiteaux qui surmontent les pilastres de la nef et des bas-côtés n'ont point été refaits exactement tels qu'ils étaient. Les fenêtres cintrées, qui ont été rétablies à l'abside, sont accompagnées, à l'extérieur, de deux pilastres de chaque côté qui font un très mauvais effet et ne sont point en rapport avec les autres fenêtres de l'église. La porte ouverte dans le collatéral du sud est aussi dans le désaccord le plus complet avec les autres portes de l'église, en ce que l'ornementation de celles-ci est formée de feuillages et que la porte nouvelle est chargée d'ornements géométriques entièrement étrangers au style de l'église Saint-Mammès : car on y chercherait en vain un seul ornement de ce genre. Les portes construites à l'extrémité des collatéraux, sont accompagnées de pilastres ornés de cannelures d'un caractère très-différent des cannelures qu'on remarque dans différentes parties de l'église. Il est bien regrettable que dans les réparations si nombreuses faites à un monument aussi remarquable que la cathédrale de Langres, on ne se soit généralement nullement occupé de se rapprocher autant que possible du style de cet édifice et qu'on ait au contraire cherché à s'en éloigner.

Enfin on ne peut que déplorer le remplacement de la couverture en ardoises ou en plomb de la cathédrale de Langres par un toit en tuiles vernissées aux couleurs les plus dures et les plus éclatantes. La toiture a été, dit-on, ainsi modifiée parce qu'on a trouvé sur les voûtes de l'église Saint-Mammès quelques tuiles vernissées. Cette cathédrale ayant été plusieurs fois brûlée, sa toiture a pu, après un incendie, être réparée avec des tuiles vernissées; mais comme les couvertures en ardoises ont été en usage à toutes les époques, qu'elles sont, par leur teinte qui s'harmonise parfaitement avec le ciel et donne plus d'élévation aux édifices, préférables, pour les églises, à toutes les autres couvertures ; on ne comprend pas qu'on ait enlevé la couverture en ardoises de la cathédrale de Langres pour la remplacer par une couverture en tuiles, aux couleurs les plus vives, qui écrase cet édifice.

  • Titre : Mémoires de la Société historique et archéologique de Langres
  • Auteur : Société historique et archéologique de Langres
  • Éditeur : Musée Saint-Didier (Langres)
  • Date d'édition : 1847

Voir aussi Cathédrale en architecture.

Cathédrale Saint-Mammes à Langres
(Cathédrale Saint-Mammes, langres)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Cathédrale Saint-Mammes, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Cathédrale Saint-Mammes' à langres (haute marne 52200). langres, haute marne

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 82612
  • item : Cathédrale Saint-Mammes
  • Localisation :
    • Champagne-Ardenne
    • Haute-Marne
    • Langres
  • Code INSEE commune : 52269
  • Code postal de la commune : 52200
  • Ordre dans la liste : 3
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : cathédrale
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • Nous n'avons aucune informlation sur les périodes de constructions de cet édifice.
  • Date de protection : 1862 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/03/29

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : Aménagement de la bibliothèque municipale dans une partie du cloître. 18 ; 04 ; 1914 (J.O.)
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : 1992
  • Photo : 2445cb44faf0c756b02b5aae02fd2bff.jpg
  • Détails : Cathédrale Saint-Mammes et restes du cloître : classement par liste de 1862
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00079088

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Cathédrale Saint-Mammes à Langres. par Lomyre
Cathédrale Saint-Mammes, langres
Description par Lomyre :

Bâtie à partir de 1150 et achevée à la fin du siècle, la cathédrale de Saint-Mammès était un vaste diocèse situé entre Champagne et Bourgogne.
C'est le dernier grand édifice construit dans la lignée de l'abbatiale romane de Cluny édifiée à la fin du XIème siècle. Située au carrefour d'influences artistiques diverses, la cathédrale co jugue harmonieusement un décor et des volumes romans avec les premières innovations gothiques. L'emploi de la voûte sur croisées d'ogives, novateur dans la région, a permis de donner au vaisseau une largeur et un éclairage plus important que dans les autres édifices clunisiens.
Reconstruite en 1768, l'imposante façade néo-classique se compose de deux tours encadrant un avant-corps sommé d'un fronton. Celui-ci est surmonté de deux statues monumentales représentant la Synagogue (à gauche) et l'Eglise (à droite). Chacun des trois niveaux est scandé par des colonnes ou de pilastres aux ordres respectivement dorique, ionique et corinthien. Durant la Révolution, certain éléments de décor ont été détournés de leur symbole initial. Ainsi au-dessus du portail Nord (à gauche), la mitre et la crosse épiscopales ont été transformées respectivement en phrygien et en faisceau de licteur.

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.