St. Peter's Church, French Heritage monument to Venerque

Venerque is so to speak placee in the high-speed motorboat on the platform which dominates the two rivers, and in spite of the little of rise in its plate, its houses, irregularly groupees, enjoy a rather pleasant sight in the green meanders of Ari?ge. Celtic flint axes and various Gallo-Roman objects in great number, overdrafts, randomly to the exploitation, in the surrounding territories, testify to an extremely old establishment. At times reculees, that no text specifies besides, Venerque was already, by its position, the natural outlet of harvests of Lauragais and the plain. Today still, the only importance of this modest commune (988 inhabitants) is in its steps of Thursday, or run out the grains of Leze, lowland and the slopes, and in its four annual fairs (April 26,July 13, October 9 and November 20) which usually join together all the farming populations of the region.

Venerque will interest the tourist by his small Romance church, recently classee with the number of the historic buildings. It is the last vestige of the abbey of Saint-Pierre.

The oldest document concerning has this house is a charter of Louis Debonnaire, datee of July 817. The assembly held at that time with the imperial palace of Aachen for the reformation of the monasteries of Carolingian origin, classified the abbey of Venerque among those of the third rank, which owed neither soldiers nor present at the sovereign, but only of the prayers for the emperor, her family and the needs for the State (Mabillon. Diplom, ann. 817).

After this starting point, the history leaves a gap of approximately two hundred years, and in the current of the eleventh century, the convent of Saint-Pierre de Venerque, perhaps restored on the ruins of a primitive monastery, is nothing any more but one dependence of the abbey of Saint-Pons of Tomieres.

In 1080, the count Willelm, duke of Toulouse, give to the abbey of Saint-Pons the wooded slopes which moutonnent, in the territory of Venerque, between Espanes, Aureville and Ari?ge, and in 1182, the pope Lucius III, in his bubble of confirmation of the goods of the abbey of Tomieres, names Saint-Pierre de Venerque with the churches and the franc-strongholds which depend on it:

In Tolosano, abbatiam Sancti $petri de Venerca cleaned ecclesiis and allodiis am (Gallia christiana. Ecclesiae sancti Pontii Tomeriarum instrumented).

Lastly, the bubble of secularization of 1612 designates with the number of the benefit of the new chapter the prioress of Vernet and the church of Venerque.

There does not remain any trace of the various buildings of the monastery; it is hardly if some formless remains of substructions were discovered during the correction of the road.

The church preserves very-beautiful a bronze reliquary, purple cabochon spillplate and people of figures of bishops of a noble style. Are contain the bones of saint Phebade, third bishop of Agen and one of the firmest defenders of the faith against the arianism.

The translation of these remainders is demeuree a mystery. One knows has of not to doubt that the episcopal relics of Phebade saint do not quitterent the church of Agen until the religious dissensions of the sixteenth century. At that time, they were transportees has P?rigueux or their trace appears to have been lost.

The popular tradition which does not know a problem, explains the event by a miracle.

They are brigands, according to the legend, who pillerent during the night the cathedral of Agen, and which reducing in Spain with their treasure, jugerent in connection with coming to camp on a solitary monticule, opposite the church of Venerque. When, the following day, at dawn, they wanted to take again their walk, the relics of the saint bishop refuserent to follow them, and like the chalices, the crosses of money and dalmatic the dorees did not oppose same resistance, they did not have guard to enter in fight with the Lord and abandonnerent hunting in full shift. Then well-known episodes in the cycle of the legends are renouvelerent: the reliquary remained obstinately motionless when the peasants who passed essayerent to remove it; the cure which one went to seek with the presbytery was not happier; and finally, when the procession, cross at the head and banners deployees, arrived while singing instead of the miracle, the reliquary was offered itself to the hands priests and was gently let carry to the church, or it is still.

The chapter of Agen has several times claims near the parish of Venerque, without never obtaining restitution, the new owners answering without being moved, that entirely foreigners with the spoliation of the church of Agen, they made only respect one supernatural will. Nevertheless, the insistence of the Residents of Agen inspired of if sharp feared in Venercois, that for a long time, to the annual procession of Phebade saint, four fusiliers walked the weapon to the arm around the relics, loans has to push back by the force enemy surprise very.

Theodore de Beze, after having said that year sixteenth century the calvinists of Agen made a temple of the old church of Saint-Phebade (Saint-Fiari), adds these curious details:

'' In this temple there was a marble sepulchre which one said being of known as Eveque, of which nourish had accustoms to scrape what they could about it have to swallow it in their soup in order to have milk abundance. And however there is a small town close to Toulouse, nommee Benerque on the river of Riege, to which place on feastday April twenty-fifth of the known as Fiari saint, the neighbouring ones have accustoms of any seniority to be assembled out of weapons, of fear (he says) that those of Agen, to which they maintain to have concealed the body of this saint, do not come it to require. '' (Beze. Hist. eccks., V, page 790.)

Source: Foix and Comminges, voyage in the valleys of the Garonne and Ari?ge by Jean Joseph Gabriel Ernest Roschach 1866.

St. Peter's Church
(St. Peter's Church, venerque)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

St. Peter's Church, The first mention of the Church dates back to the year 817. Construction of the Romanesque building at the beginning of the 12th century. In the 15th and 16th (...) St. Peter's Church, French Heritage monument to Venerque venerque, haute garonne

Location and general information

  • identifier : 47302
  • item : Eglise Saint-Pierre
  • Location of the building :
    • Midi-Pyrénées
    • Haute-garonne
    • Venerque
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 31572
  • Zip code of the municipality : 31810
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : church
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 3 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 12th century
    • 15th century
    • 19th century
  • Date of protection : 1840 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/08/30

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • The decor consists of 'painting'
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Interest of the building : 18 04 1914 (J.O.)
  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : owned by the 1992 municipality
  • Picture : e4a01fcd9783c88dce0a7befcfb0a5ee.jpg
  • Details : Eglise Saint-Pierre : classement par liste de 1840
  • Mérimée reference : PA00094653

Men involved in this construction

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

St. Peter's Church, French Heritage monument to Venerque. Picture of Monique c
Eglise Saint-Pierre, venerque
Description of this building by Monique c :

Eglise St Pierre Venerque

St. Peter's Church, French Heritage monument to Venerque. Picture of Monique c
Eglise Saint-Pierre, venerque
St. Peter's Church, French Heritage monument to Venerque. Picture of Monique c
Eglise Saint-Pierre, venerque
St. Peter's Church, French Heritage monument to Venerque. Picture of Monique c
Eglise Saint-Pierre, venerque
Description of this building by Monique c :

Intérieur église St Pierre Venerque


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Eglise Saint-Pierre à Venerque

Venerque s'est pour ainsi dire placée en vedette sur la plate-forme qui domine les deux rivières, et malgré le peu d'élévation de son assiette, ses maisons, irrégulièrement groupées, jouissent d'une assez agréable vue dans les méandres verdoyants de l’Ariège. Des haches celtiques de silex et divers objets gallo-romains en grand nombre, découverts, au hasard de l'exploitation, dans les territoires environnants, témoignent d'un établissement fort ancien. A des époques reculées, que ne précise d'ailleurs aucun texte, Venerque se trouvait déjà, par sa position, le débouché naturel des récoltes du Lauragais et de la plaine. Aujourd'hui encore, la seule importance de cette modeste commune (988 habitants) est dans ses marchés du jeudi, où s'écoulent les grains de la Lèze, du plat pays et des coteaux, et dans ses quatre foires annuelles (26 avril, 13 juillet, 9 octobre et 20 novembre) qui réunissent d'habitude toutes les populations agricoles de la contrée.

Venerque intéressera le touriste par sa petite église romane, récemment classée au nombre des monuments historiques. C'est le dernier vestige de l'abbaye de Saint-Pierre.

Le plus ancien document relatif à cette maison est une charte de Louis le Débonnaire, datée du mois de juillet 817. L'assemblée tenue à cette époque au palais impérial d'Aix-la-Chapelle pour la réformation des monastères d'origine carolingienne, classa l'abbaye de Venerque parmi celles du troisième rang, qui ne devaient ni soldats ni présents au souverain, mais seulement des prières pour l'empereur, pour sa famille et pour les besoins de l'Etat (Mabillon. Diplom, ann. 817).

Après ce point de départ, l'histoire laisse une lacune d'environ deux cents ans, et dans le courant du onzième siècle, le couvent de Saint-Pierre de Venerque, rétabli peut-être sur les ruines d'un monastère primitif, n'est plus qu'une dépendance de l'abbaye de Saint-Pons de Tomières.

En 1080, le comte Willelm, duc de Toulouse, donne à l'abbaye de Saint-Pons les pentes boisées qui moutonnent, dans le territoire de Venerque, entre Espanès, Aureville et l'Ariége, et en 1182, le pape Lucius III, dans sa bulle de confirmation des biens de l'abbaye de Tomières, nomme Saint-Pierre de Venerque avec les églises et les francs-fiefs qui en dépendent:

In Tolosano, abbatiam Sancti Petri de Venerca cura ecclesiis et allodiis suis (Gallia christiana. Instrumenta ecclesiae sancti Pontii Tomeriarum).

Enfin, la bulle de sécularisation de 1612 désigne au nombre des bénéfices du nouveau chapitre le prieuré du Vernet et l'église de Venerque.

Il ne reste aucune trace des divers bâtiments du monastère ; c'est à peine si quelques débris informes de substructions ont été découverts lors de la rectification de la route.

L'église conserve un très-beau reliquaire en bronze, rehaussé de cabochons violets et peuplé de figures d'évêques d'un noble style. Là sont renfermés les ossements de saint Phébade, troisième évêque d'Agen et l'un des plus fermes défenseurs de la foi contre l'arianisme.

La translation de ces restes est demeurée un mystère. On sait à n'en pas douter que les reliques épiscopales de saint Phébade ne quittèrent pas l'église d'Agen jusqu'aux dissensions religieuses du seizième siècle. A cette époque, elles furent transportées à Périgueux où leur trace paraît s'être perdue.

La tradition populaire qui ne connaît point de problème, explique l'événement par un miracle.

Ce sont des brigands, d'après la légende, qui pillèrent pendant la nuit la cathédrale d'Agen, et qui fuyant en Espagne avec leur trésor, jugèrent à propos de venir camper sur un monticule solitaire, en face de l'église de Venerque. Quand, le lendemain, à l'aube, ils voulurent reprendre leur marche, les reliques du saint évêque refusèrent de les suivre, et comme les calices, les croix d'argent et les dalmatiques dorées n'opposaient pas la même résistance, ils n'eurent garde d'entrer en lutte avec le Seigneur et abandonnèrent la châsse en pleine campagne. Alors se renouvelèrent des épisodes bien connus dans le cycle des légendes : le reliquaire demeura obstinément immobile quand les paysans qui passaient essayèrent de l'enlever ; le curé qu'on alla chercher au presbytère ne fut pas plus heureux; et enfin, quand la procession, croix en tête et bannières déployées, arriva en chantant au lieu du miracle, le reliquaire s'offrit de lui-même aux mains des prêtres et se laissa doucement porter jusqu'à l'église, où il est encore.

Le chapitre d'Agen a plusieurs fois réclamé auprès de la paroisse de Venerque, sans jamais obtenir de restitution, les nouveaux possesseurs répondant sans s'émouvoir, qu'entièrement étrangers à la spoliation de l'église d'Agen, ils n'ont fait que respecter une volonté surnaturelle. Néanmoins, l'insistance des Agenais inspirait de si vives craintes aux Venercois, que pendant longtemps, à la procession annuelle de saint Phébade, quatre fusiliers marchaient l'arme au bras autour des reliques, prêts à repousser par la force toute surprise ennemie.

Théodore de Beze, après avoir dit qu'an seizième siècle les calvinistes d'Agen firent un temple de l'ancienne église de Saint-Phébade (Saint-Fiari), ajoute ces curieux détails:

« En ce temple il y avait un sépulcre de marbre qu'on disait être dudit Evêque, duquel les nourrisses avaient accoutumé de racler ce qu'elles en pouvaient avoir pour l'avaller dans leur potage afin d'avoir abondance de lait. Et toutefois il y a une petite ville prés de Toulouse, nommée Benerque sur la rivière de Riege, auquel lieu le vingt-cinquième avril jour de la fête dudit saint Fiari, les circonvoisins ont accoutumé de toute ancienneté de s'assembler en armes, de peur (disent-ils) que ceux d'Agen, auxquels ils maintiennent avoir dérobée le corps de ce saint, ne le viennent requérir. » (Beze. Hist. eccks., V, page 790.)

Source : Foix et Comminges, voyage dans les vallées de la Garonne et de l'Ariège par Jean Joseph Gabriel Ernest Roschach 1866.

Eglise Saint-Pierre à Venerque
(Eglise Saint-Pierre, venerque)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Eglise Saint-Pierre, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Eglise Saint-Pierre' à venerque (haute garonne 31810). Venerque intéressera le touriste par sa petite église romane, récemment classée au nombre des monuments historiques. C'est le dernier vestige de l'abbaye de Saint-Pierre. venerque, haute garonne

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 47302
  • item : Eglise Saint-Pierre
  • Localisation :
    • Midi-Pyrénées
    • Haute-garonne
    • Venerque
  • Code INSEE commune : 31572
  • Code postal de la commune : 31810
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : église
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 3 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 12e siècle
    • 15e siècle
    • 19e siècle
  • Date de protection : 1840 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/08/30

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • Le décor est composé de : 'peinture'
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Interêt de l'oeuvre : 18 04 1914 (J.O.)
  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune 1992
  • Photo : e4a01fcd9783c88dce0a7befcfb0a5ee.jpg
  • Détails : Eglise Saint-Pierre : classement par liste de 1840
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00094653

Personnes impliquées dans la construction

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Eglise Saint-Pierre à Venerque. par Monique c
Eglise Saint-Pierre, venerque
Description par Monique c :

Eglise St Pierre Venerque

Eglise Saint-Pierre à Venerque. par Monique c
Eglise Saint-Pierre, venerque
Eglise Saint-Pierre à Venerque. par Monique c
Eglise Saint-Pierre, venerque
Eglise Saint-Pierre à Venerque. par Monique c
Eglise Saint-Pierre, venerque
Description par Monique c :

Intérieur église St Pierre Venerque


Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.