Parish Church St. Martin, French Heritage monument to Couqueques

This Parish is in the district of the Archpriest of Lesparre, currently additional of Saint-Christophe de Castillon. The Saint, Titulaire of this Parish, was Saint Medard, if one refers oneself some has old pouillies Diocese. It is true that the lieve quartieres of the Archbishop's palace, year 1420, like that of the year 1546, give him Saint Martin for Patron; thus here are of the authorities for & against: remain has to know which must be preferee; it seems that it is that of the lieves, as being older than that of the pouillies, which make them certainly posterior.

There exist alternatives on the denomination of this Parish; one your finds appelee Ocoegues in the lieve of 1420, Octceques in that of 1546 Ecclesia Sancti Medardi de Coquercques, is it carries in an old manuscript, in which the income of this Church east does not evaluate that 20 liv has. Sancfus Medardus de Conoquonque, it is stated in the general pouillie of France, prints in 1648. Lastly, in a Synodal bird call of the year 1708, one finds it appelee Saint Martin's day de Conques. Among these variations on the name of this Parish, how to fix the true denomination? Shortest is to leave it has that which it carries now, which is that of Couqueques. It is not that by the synodal bird call of 1708, qu ' it appears that Saint Martin's day de Couqueques was additional of Saint-Christoly of Castillon; because all the others lieves & pouillies mention this church, as being free & main of its rights; what makes suppose that this union must be rather recent. It is necessary to think that the little of income attaches has this church put a Priest out of state to serve it and that was to provide for the service that it was annexed has that of Castillon: because, by putting two frank taxable quotas have the twenty books of which she enjoyed about the middle the thirteenth century, it is not possible there that a Priest could remain; it is undoubtedly, which determined the union of it has that of Saint-Christoly of Castillon.

It is door in the Memories which were provided on this last Parish, that the Chapter of Lucon was large Decimateur, & which this dime had been pledged; it is not known as there only one word of that of Couqueques, thus it belongs to this infeodation; it is what obliges us has to keep silence in this respect.

One will also keep it on the population of this Parish; because, though one had the attention to mark the number of fires of the Parish of Saint-Christoly, one did not have that to mark that of the Parish of Couqueques. It has to believe that it is not quite large, since the church is very small. It exists there nevertheless a borough & a village names Canterane. There existed formerly a Vault under the invocation of Loubes Saint, who was destroyed, & there does not remain any more but the furnace bridge. The Parish of Couqueques is situee in the Jurisdiction of Lesparre. The church is placee has small a half mile, & with laying down that of Saint-Christoly. It appears by a title of July 19, 1580, that Lord Louis de Genouillac, between several Seigniories which it had in the region of the Medoc, was owner of that of Couqueques.

Source: Varieties Of Bordeaux or historical and critical test on the old and modern topography of the diocese of Bordeaux, Divides into volumes second 1784.

Parish Church St. Martin
Crédit photo : (Parish Church St. Martin, couqueques)


Reported to be remarkable heritage of quality.

Structural information

Parish Church St. Martin, « Parish Church St. Martin » is a construction of the city of Couqueques (France, Gironde). Parish Church St. Martin, French Heritage monument to Couqueques couqueques, gironde

Location and general information

  • identifier : 48952
  • item : Eglise Paroissiale Saint-Martin
  • Location of the building :
    • Aquitaine
    • Gironde
    • Couquèques
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 33134
  • Zip code of the municipality : 33340
  • Order in the communal list : 1
  • Name of the building : The building is designated by the following 2 names :
    • church
    • parish church
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction : 2 different epochs of evolution of the building.
    • 19th century
    • Second half 19th century
  • Investigation : 1986
  • Date taken into account : 1987 AVANT

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials: 2 elements are used in the main structure of the building.
    • limestone
    • coating
  • Roofing : Coverage of this building is varied there are 4 different types :
    • roof with long tails
    • sprocket cover
    • pinion
    • roof
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • the main material of this building is mechanical tile
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • A mode of coverage listed 'barrel vault'
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : property of the municipality
  • Mérimée reference : IA00024849

The complete official record is available at Conseil régional d'Aquitaine - Service chargé de l'inventaire54, rue Magendie 33077 Bordeaux Cedex - 05.57.95.02.02

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Photo de Grand Titus est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Grand Titus says of the history of this building :

Église paroissiale Saint Martin

Couquèques était autrefois nommé Saint Martin de Conques. L'église Saint-Martin renferme un blason rappelant un épisode de la vie de ce Saint.

Lors de l'érection de la commune en 1895, les habitants ouvrent une souscription pour reconstruire leur église: chaque propriétaire donne le revenu d'une année de récolte et chaque ouvrier un mois de sa paye.

Contact contributor with his mail for more information.


source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Eglise Paroissiale Saint-Martin à Couqueques

Cette Paroisse est dans le district de l'Archiprêtré de Lesparre, actuellement annexe de Saint-Christophe de Castillon. Le Saint, Titulaire de cette Paroisse, était Saint Medard, si on s'en rapporte à des anciens pouilliés du Diocèse. Il est vrai que la lieve des quartieres de l'Archevêché, de l'année 1420, ainsi que celle de l'an 1546, lui donnent Saint Martin pour Patron; ainsi voilà des autorités pour & contre: reste à savoir laquelle doit être préférée; il semble que c'est celle des lieves, comme étant plus ancienne que celle des pouilliés, qui leur font certainement postérieurs.

Il existe des variantes sur la dénomination de cette Paroisse; on ta trouve appelée Ocoegues dans la lieve de 1420 , Octceques dans celle de 1546 Ecclesia Sancti Medardi de Coquercques, est-il porté dans un ancien manuscrit, dans lequel le revenu de cette Eglise n'est évalué qu'à 20 liv. Sancfus Medardus de Conoquonque, est-il énoncé dans le pouillié général de la France, imprimé en 1648. Enfin, dans un appeau Synodal de l'an 1708, on la trouve appelée Saint-Martin de Conques. Parmi ces variations sur le nom de cette Paroisse, comment fixer la véritable dénomination ? Le plus court est de s'en tenir à celle qu'elle porte maintenant, qui est celle de Couqueques. Ce n'est que par l'appeau synodal de 1708, qu'il paraît que Saint-Martin de Couqueques était annexe de Saint-Christoly de Castillon ; car toutes les autres lieves & pouilliés font mention de cette église, comme étant libre & maîtresse de ses droits ; ce qui fait présumer que cette union doit être assez récente. Il y a lieu de penser que le peu de revenu attaché à cette église mettait un Prêtre hors d'état de la desservir et que ce fut pour pourvoir au service qu'on l'annexa à celle de Castillon: car, en mettant à deux cens francs les vingt livres dont elle jouissait vers le milieu du treizième siècle , il n'est pas possible qu'un Prêtre ait pu y subsister; c'est sans doute, ce qui en a déterminé l'union à celle de Saint-Christoly de Castillon.

Il est porté dans les Mémoires qui ont été fournis sur cette dernière Paroisse, que le Chapitre de Luçon en était le gros Décimateur, & que cette dîme avait été inféodée ; il n'y est pas dit un seul mot de celle de Couqueques, ainsi elle fait partie de cette inféodation ; c'est ce qui nous oblige à garder le silence à cet égard.

On le gardera aussi sur la population de cette Paroisse; car, quoiqu'on ait eu l'attention de marquer le nombre de feux de la Paroisse de Saint-Christoly, on n'a pas eu celle de marquer celui de la Paroisse de Couqueques. Il est à croire qu'il n'est pas bien grand, puisque l'église est très petite. Il y existe néanmoins un bourg & un village nommé Canterane. Il existait autrefois une Chapelle sous l'invocation de Saint Loubés, qui a été détruite, & dont il ne subsiste plus que l'autel. La Paroisse de Couqueques est située dans la Juridiction de Lesparre. L'église est placée à une petite demi lieue, & au couchant de celle de Saint-Christoly. Il parait par un titre du 19 Juillet 1580, que Messire Louis de Genouillac, entre plusieurs Seigneuries qu'il possédait dans la contrée du Médoc, était propriétaire de celle de Couqueques.

Source : Variétés Bordelaises ou essai historique et critique sur la topographie ancienne et moderne du diocèse de Bordeaux, Tome second 1784.

Eglise Paroissiale Saint-Martin à Couqueques
Crédit photo : Grand Titus (Eglise Paroissiale Saint-Martin, couqueques)

bâtiment remarquable.

Informations structurelles

Eglise Paroissiale Saint-Martin, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Eglise Paroissiale Saint-Martin' à couqueques (gironde 33340). Cette Paroisse est dans le district de l'Archiprêtré de Lesparre, actuellement annexe de Saint-Christophe de Castillon. couqueques, gironde

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 48952
  • item : Eglise Paroissiale Saint-Martin
  • Localisation :
    • Aquitaine
    • Gironde
    • Couquèques
  • Code INSEE commune : 33134
  • Code postal de la commune : 33340
  • Ordre dans la liste : 1
  • Nom commun de la construction : 2 dénomiations sont utilisées pour définir cette construction :
    • église
    • église paroissiale
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction : 2 différentes époques marquent l'histoire du lieu.
    • 19e siècle
    • 2e moitié 19e siècle
  • Enquête : 1986
  • Date de versement : 1987 AVANT

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux: 2 types de matériaux composent le gros oeuvre.
    • calcaire
    • revêtement
  • Couverture : On remarque 4 types de couverture différents :
    • toit à longs pans
    • pignon couvert
    • pignon
    • toit
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • L'élément de couverture principal est tuile mécanique
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • Un mode de couvrement relevé : 'voûte en berceau'
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune
  • Référence Mérimée : IA00024849

Le dossier complet est disponible : Conseil régional d'Aquitaine - Service chargé de l'inventaire54, rue Magendie 33077 Bordeaux Cedex - 05.57.95.02.02

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Photo de Grand Titus est l'image principale de cette notice.

Voir cette photo en grand

Grand Titus propose pour l'histoire de ce monument :

Église paroissiale Saint Martin

Couquèques était autrefois nommé Saint Martin de Conques. L'église Saint-Martin renferme un blason rappelant un épisode de la vie de ce Saint.

Lors de l'érection de la commune en 1895, les habitants ouvrent une souscription pour reconstruire leur église: chaque propriétaire donne le revenu d'une année de récolte et chaque ouvrier un mois de sa paye.

Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.