Aubie et espessas

Aubie and Espessas

Little story in the large one

  • In 458, according to the monastic movement of expansion of the Middle Ages, Templiers settle has Bordeaux. They found there hospitals and places of worship.
  • It is in 1272, as testifies some a stone of foundation updated during work of restoration, than Templiers make build the church of Aubie. Like its neighbor of the prioress of Espessas, it accomodates many pilgrims who go has Saint-Jacob de Compostelle, by the ways of the Livornese.
  • In 1312, Beautiful Philippe the, jealous one of the financial power of Templiers and coveting their goods, obtain from the pope Clement V the suppression of this kind. At that time, Saint Martin's day d' Aubie is a parish of the Archbishop's palace of Borough, pertaining to the diocese of Bordeaux.
  • In XVIeme century, the area, although agitee by local conflicts, knows an extraordinary economic advancement. There exists little of documents over this time of XVeme and XVIeme centuries. We however know, by a collation (note) of March 24, 1523, that the parish church Saint Martin's day d' Aubie and its cure depend on the Saint-Pierre Prioress to the Bonds of Espessas. Texts of 1575 and 1583 confirm it: the Prioress regular about Saint-beno?t of Espessas enjoys half of the decimal funds of Aubie.
  • In same time, by application of the 1078,1080 and 1326 councils, it is precise that only the vicars and cleans it of Aubie are entitle has to carry out the parochial ministry as secular priests (the monks of the regular orders, like that of Saint-Beno4it cheese, are prohibited functions curiales).
  • The end of XVIeme century is disturbed by the Wars of religion. The Saint-Saver Abbey of Blaye, to which east attaches the prioress of Espessas, is, as all the parishes which depend on it, in a great state of misery. Several conflicts between the successive priors and the cures of Aubie worsen the situation.
  • To the XVIIIeme century, on May 29, 1745, the Archbishop of Bordeaux entrusts to the noviciate Jesuits of Saint-Andrew de Cubzac, the Prioress of Espessas and his appendices of Aubie and Salignac. At that time, the two parishes count 900 inhabitants including 618 practitioners. The church of Aubie is then the center of the religious life of the two parishes, its cure having the whole of the incomes of the Prioress.
  • In 1754, visit of the Archbishop who notes that the church of Aubie is in fort bad condition.
  • In 1787, the scandal of the ciborium takes place! The parishioners of Espessas, wish to recover the ciborium of Aubie, applicant that it be theirs. It follows a riot from there; Aubie in victorious fate and the ciborium will remain there!
  • In 1813, the two communes are joined together.
  • In 1820, the two churches, not maintained, are in such a state of misery that the mayor of Aubie considers the demolition of the church of Espessas to renovate that of Aubie. It was without taking into account the determination of the inhabitants of Espessas which, always very fasteners has their bell-tower, counteract vigorously, and, constant by their bishop, undertake themselves the restoration of their church. It will have to be waited until 1827 so that Aubie restores his.

The church of Saint Pierre be Bonds of Espessas

It is a Romance church dating from the 12th century and fortifiee subsequently. It presents a frontage decoree serrations or teeth of saw whose shelf rests on a continuation of let us modillons tangent. Leo Drouyn indicates that '' the frontage is surmontee of a modern bell-tower pinion bores of two bays for the bells ''. One notices, on the right under the porch of Romance style saintongeais, a calcareous stone stoup. The nave has arcades isolees inside. The apse has sides cuts whose columns go up to the cornice and whose walls were elevated for defense. '' It has escaped with the architects restorers of the XIXe century and thus preserves still a very strong Romance identity '', indicates Bernard Larrieu. The high altar is out of wood and the retable out of stone; they date from the 18th century and are classes Historic buildings as object by decree of July 30, 1970. The bell bronzes date of 1556 of it, it was classee Historic building as object by decree of October 12, 1942.

The church Saint Martin d' Aubie

The church St Martin d' Aubie is a Romance church has flat bedside said templiere whose apse goes back to XIIeme century. The Chorus, vault lierne, are enlightened on the flat wall of the bedside by two Romance, long and narrow bays decorated stained glasses. With XIVeme or XVeme century are associated there side chapels. It is as of this time as date the statue hones some (classee historic building) representing an young girl holding a book in her left hand. (Perhaps the Virgin teenager) By its gracious posture, it precedes the Gothic style. Christ in cross (wood) beginning of XVIeme, the Virgin doree and her retable of XVIIIeme are registered on the inventory of furniture classifies.

Source: Friends of the inheritance Albin.

Description

aubie et espessas, French city Department of gironde with 1 historical site listed or simply studied for their remarkable character.
Our database currently includes 1 elements for heritage aubie et espessas. You will find the menu and footer links leading you on the description sheets.

There are 2 localities (Place called, location known as) in Aubie et espessas : commun de la gruppe ; commun du puyfaure.

listed building (classified and protected) in Aubie et espessas

Monument in Aubie et espessas, Aubie et espessas has 1 building protected. Include :

  1. Eglise d'Espessas official reference : PA00083116
Please note this list is likely to evolve, the data presented are from 2013.

Places of Culture

Libraries aubie et espessas, aubie et espessas has 2 Libraries :

  • bibliotheque municipale (7 place jean jaures 33240 aubie et espessas)
  • bibliotheque municipale (25 bis rue emile dantagnan 33240 aubie et espessas)

Cinema de aubie et espessas, aubie et espessas has 1 cinema :

  • magic cine (14 rue mondenard, 33240 aubie et espessas)

Statistics for Aubie et espessas

Town or city :
Postcode of city : 33240
Insee code : 33018
Longitude : -0.389451
Latitude : 44.998209
Total population : 973 people
place called : 2
path : 6
dead : 14
st : 35

Espessas Church, French Heritage monument to Aubie et espessas 1
« Espessas Church » is a construction of the city of Aubie et espessas (France, Gironde). Espessas Church, French Heritage monument to Aubie et espessas

Patrimoine historique de Aubie et espessas

Aubie et Espessas

La petite histoire dans la grande

  • En 458, suivant le mouvement d'expansion monastique du Moyen Age, les Templiers s'installent à Bordeaux. Ils y fondent des hôpitaux et des lieux de culte.
  • C'est en 1272, comme en témoigne une pierre de fondation mise à jour lors de travaux de restauration, que les Templiers font édifier l'église d'Aubie. Comme sa voisine du prieuré d'Espessas, elle accueille de nombreux pèlerins qui se rendent à Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, par les chemins du Libournais.
  • En 1312, Philippe le Bel, jaloux de la puissance financière des Templiers et convoitant leurs biens, obtient du pape Clément V la suppression de cet ordre. A cette époque, Saint-Martin d'Aubie est une paroisse de l'Archevêché de Bourg, appartenant au diocèse de Bordeaux.
  • Au XVIème siècle, la région, bien qu'agitée par des conflits locaux, connaît un prodigieux essor économique. Il existe peu de documents sur cette époque des XVème et XVIème siècles. Nous savons cependant, par une collation (note) du 24 mars 1523, que l'église paroissiale Saint-Martin d'Aubie et sa cure dépendent du Prieuré Saint-Pierre aux Liens d'Espessas. Des textes de 1575 et 1583 le confirment: le Prieuré régulier de l'ordre de Saint-Benoît d'Espessas jouit de la moitié des fonds décimaux d'Aubie.
  • Dans le même temps, par application des conciles de 1078, 1080 et 1326, il est précisé que seuls les vicaires et le curé d'Aubie sont habilités à mener le ministère paroissial en tant que prêtres séculiers (les religieux des ordres réguliers, comme celui de Saint-Benoît, sont interdits de fonctions curiales).
  • La fin du XVIème siècle est perturbée par les Guerres de Religions. L'Abbaye Saint-Sauveur de Blaye, à laquelle est rattaché le prieuré d'Espessas, est, comme toutes les paroisses qui en dépendent, dans un grand état de misère. Plusieurs conflits entre les prieurs successifs et les curés d'Aubie aggravent la situation.
  • Au XVIIIème siècle, le 29 mai 1745, l'Archevêque de Bordeaux confie au noviciat des Jésuites de Saint-André de Cubzac, le Prieuré d'Espessas et ses annexes d'Aubie et de Salignac. A cette époque, les deux paroisses comptent 900 habitants dont 618 pratiquants. L'église d'Aubie est alors le centre de la vie religieuse des deux paroisses, son curé disposant de l'ensemble des revenus du Prieuré.
  • En 1754, visite de l'Archevêque qui constate que l'église d'Aubie est en fort mauvais état.
  • En 1787, a lieu le scandale du ciboire ! Les paroissiens d'Espessas, souhaitent récupérer le ciboire d'Aubie, prétendant que c'est le leur. Il s'en suit une émeute; Aubie en sort vainqueur et le ciboire y restera!
  • En 1813, les deux communes sont réunies.
  • En 1820, les deux églises, non entretenues, sont dans un tel état de misère que le maire d'Aubie envisage la démolition de l'église d'Espessas pour rénover celle d'Aubie. C'était sans compter avec la détermination des habitants d'Espessas qui, toujours très attachés à leur clocher, ripostent vigoureusement, et, soutenus par leur évêque, entreprennent eux-mêmes la restauration de leur église. Il faudra attendre 1827 pour qu'Aubie restaure la sienne.

L'église de Saint Pierre ès Liens d'Espessas

C'est une église romane datant du 12e siècle et fortifiée postérieurement. Elle présente une façade décorée de dentelures ou dents de scie dont la tablette repose sur une suite de modillons tangents. Léo Drouyn indique que « la façade est surmontée d'un clocher pignon moderne percé de deux baies pour les cloches ». On remarque, à droite sous le porche de style roman saintongeais, un bénitier en pierre calcaire. La nef possède des arcades isolées à l'intérieur. L'abside est à pans coupés dont les colonnes montent jusqu'à la corniche et dont les murs ont été surélevés pour la défense. « Elle a échappé aux architectes restaurateurs du XIXe siècle et conserve donc encore une très forte identité romane », indique Bernard Larrieu. Le maître-autel est en bois et le retable en pierre ; ils datent du 18e siècle et sont classés Monuments Historiques à titre d'objet par arrêté du 30 juillet 1970. La cloche en bronze date de 1556, elle a été classée Monument historique à titre d'objet par arrêté du 12 octobre 1942.

L'église Saint Martin d'Aubie

L'église St Martin d'Aubie est une église romane à chevet plat dite "templière" dont l'abside remonte au XIIème siècle. Le Chœur, vouté en étoile, est éclairé sur le mur plat du chevet par deux baies romanes, longues et étroites ornées de vitraux. Au XIVème ou au XVème siècle y sont adjointes des chapelles latérales. C'est aussi de cette époque que date la statue en pierre (classée monument historique) représentant une jeune fille tenant un livre dans sa main gauche. (Peut-être la Vierge adolescente) Par sa posture gracieuse ,elle préfigure le style gothique. Le Christ en croix (bois) début du XVIème, la Vierge dorée et son retable du XVIIIème sont inscrit sur l'inventaire du mobilier classé.

Source: Les Amis du patrimoine albin.

Description de Aubie et espessas

Aubie et espessas, commune Française du département gironde avec 1 site répertorié ou simplement présenté pour leur caractère remarquable.

Vous trouverez dans le menu et en bas de page les liens vous menant sur les fiches de description.

On compte 2 lieux-dits à Aubie et espessas : commun de la gruppe ; commun du puyfaure.

Edifice, monument classé à Aubie et espessas

Bâtiment classé de Aubie et espessas (Source open data), Aubie et espessas possède 1 bâtiment ou espace classé. On peu citer :

  1. Eglise d'Espessas référence officielle : PA00083116
Attention cette liste est suceptible d'évoluer, les données présentées sont de 2013.

Lieux de culture à Aubie et espessas

Bibliothèques de Aubie et espessas, Aubie et espessas possède 2 bibliothèques à proximité :

  • bibliotheque municipale (7 place jean jaures 33240 Peujard)
  • bibliotheque municipale (25 bis rue emile dantagnan 33240 Saint-André-de-Cubzac)

Cinema de Aubie et espessas, Aubie et espessas dispose de 1 salle de cinéma :

  • magic cine (14 rue mondenard, 33240 saint-andre-de-cubzac)

Statistique Aubie et espessas

Commune ou ville de :
Code postal de la ville : 33240
Code Insee : 33018
Longitude : -0.389451
Latitude : 44.998209
Population totale : 973 habitants
lieu dit : 2
chemin : 6
impasse : 14
rue : 35

Répertoire du patrimoine

proposer un site web dans l'annuaire Promotion du patrimoine Proposez un site, blog, en rapport avec Aubie et espessas
La fiche descriptive de votre site sera directement accessible dans cette rubrique.
 
Eglise d'Espessas
Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Eglise d'Espessas' à aubie et espessas (gironde 33240).