Church Saint-Pierre and Saint-Sauveur, French Heritage monument to Collonges la rouge

Church. Us here in the red city, as one named the borough of Collonges formerly. Indeed, all is red dark here, this color is given by the stone of the country: a reddish sandstone, which makes good masonry. The church, red like other constructions, seems really monumental (it is it actually), but one is astonished to see such a work in such a small borough. These three bell-towers if bring closer, emerging above the roofs moussues, make think has a monastic old city, purer Middle Ages. It is, which indeed the bell-tower of the church of Collonges is perhaps the oldest construction of this kind that we have in the Limousin. Here what Mr. R. Fage in a strong study says that it published in 1907 on the Limousin Bell-tower has Vepoque Romance:

'' One knows neither an inscription nor a document making it possible to date it. Its history and its archaeology were not studied. It is known that the church of Collonges had a real importance as of the 8th century, when the count of Limoges, Roger, and his Euphrasie wife donnerent it, with its appendices, with the abbey of Gharroux (Vienna) (Mr. the Ponlbriere abbot. Dictionary of the parishes of the Tulle diocese). On the site of this first, church a prioress was founds on an unknown date. Charroux preserved on the prioress of the rights that Philippe 1st confirmed to him in 1077 (Mr. the Poulbriere abbot. Dictionary of the parishes of the Tulle diocese). The Romance bell-tower was to exist at that time.

'' One raised there all the elements of the Limousin bell-tower: the cupola on the lower floor, the combination of the plans squares and octogonal, the cord or stringcourse on the stage of transition, finally, the full gable applies, to four faces of the octagone. But it is noted that these various characters are, thus-to say, at the incipient state. The octogonal plan includes/understands four large dimensions and four dimensions smaller; the latter are turn towards the angles of the plan squares. The gable, very thick and not very acute, does not exceed the cord of the upper floor, the jambs which support it are broad and massive, their external edge is on the same line that the edge of the octagonal stage and form projection with the solid mass squares which against butts the small face of the octagone. Though it had has its provision of excellent materials, a red sandstone, of a compact grain, very resistant and easy has to cut, the manufacturer has avoids all the processes of ornamentation which could have reduced the stability of the building. The two windows in semicircular arch, which open on each face of the stage squares tower, distant one of the other, are separated by a pilaster engages which supports the repercussions of a double blind arcade in semicircular arch forming relieving arch. The columns which frame these windows are of a strong diameter, with capitals epanneles and bases decorated with tori; their arc is double, without the least ornament in the projection, without the simplest moulding. Lastly, to give on the floor of transition more solidity, no window was bored there; the gable and its supports do not frame a bay; they are brackets on a blank wall. The upper floor has only one window, in semicircular arch, without posts, on each one of its four large faces (the circular crowning of the bell-tower of Collonges is certainly of a more recent time and must be contemporary, like the arrow out of frame, of the rebuilding of the church. In the origin, the tower was to be deadened by a stone arrow affecting the octagonal form).

'' As a whole, this bell-tower has an antiquated aspect that we do not find with the same degree has Saint-Junien and has Uzerche. The manufacturer of Collonges has finds the transition between the two plans and knew to spare it by means of the solid masses of angle, the stringcourses and the gables; he has gives thus has his tower the characteristic silhouette. He had the design of the Limousin bell-tower. ''

If the bell-tower has preserve in entirety almost its construction first, it is the same church which, in the beginning, had the form crucifere, and is today only one quadrilateral lengthens. The nave was remade towards 14th or the 15? century, just as the vaults.

The frontage of this church shows a rather odd characteristic: One sees there in full wall a quantity of stones sculptees which were used like hardcores as filling. While studying and gathering these stones, by a separated drawing, which is easy because of their nature different from that from the ordinary stones from construction (the stones sculptees are a white limestone and the others are red sandstone), one realizes that they formed formerly the tympanum of the gate of the church, as well as known as Mr. the Poulbriere abbot:

'' One finds, as has Carennac (Batch), the representation of Christ triumphing sitted in an acute aureole, in the middle of the four animals evangelic. Under its feet and along a first zone a half of the apostolic senate tronait: the six figures of this lintel were detached some under three arcades geminees, appuyees has their center by small posts: Of each dimension of the Saver, in the higher zone this one has, distributed the other apostles, also arrange under blind arcades, but blind arcades without support. Finally two angels oppose under the archivolt supplemented decoration. ''

We unisons has Mr. Poulbriere canon to say that '' since this work is not entirely lost, one could operate the rebuilding of it. It would be an invaluable remainder of the 12th century which, with the bell-tower, would constitute the most interesting part of the church of Collonges. ''

The State, which has class the church, .devrait certainly to make gather these details of sculpture and reconstitute this tympanum.

  • Titrate: Bulletin of the Company of the letters, sciences and arts of Correze
  • Author: Company of the letters, sciences and arts of Correze
  • Editor: Museum of the Cloister (Tulle)
  • Go back to edition: 1879

Church Saint-Pierre and Saint-Sauveur
(Church Saint-Pierre and Saint-Sauveur, collonges la rouge)


Heritage listed, historical monument, or having been under investigation

Structural information

Church Saint-Pierre and Saint-Sauveur, « Church Saint-Pierre and Saint-Sauveur » is a construction of the city of Collonges la rouge (France, Correze). Church Saint-Pierre and Saint-Sauveur, French Heritage monument to Collonges la rouge collonges la rouge, correze

Location and general information

  • identifier : 23534
  • item : Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur
  • Location of the building :
    • Limousin
    • Corrèze
    • Collonges-la-Rouge
  • INSEE code of the municipality : 19057
  • Zip code of the municipality : 19500
  • Order in the communal list : 11
  • Name of the building :
    • The building is designated as follows : church
  • State :
    • the current state of the monument is not known.

Dates and times

  • Period of construction :
    • We have no information on the time of construction of this monument.
  • Date of protection : 1905/04/04 : classé MH
  • Date taken into account : 1993/09/15

Construction, architecture and style

  • Materials:
    • We do not have this information.
  • Roofing :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Materials (roofing) :
    • We do not have this information.
  • Other about the composition roofs :
    • No information on the coverage of the place.
  • Floors :
    • any information about this construction.
  • Stairs :
    • No stairs mentioned on this construction.
  • Decoration of the building :
    • No information about decoration.
  • Representation :
    • No information on the ornamentation of the place.
  • Typology :
    • No information about typology.
  • Plan :
    • We do not know the type of plan for this building.

Monument and history of the place

  • Elements protected MH (historical monument) :
    • Any particular element of the building is subject to protection in our database.
  • Constituent areas :
    • no information.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • no information.
  • Use :
    • We do not know the different uses that have been made of this construction.

Other

  • Other :
    • other Information : owned by the 1992 municipality
  • Picture : bc335fcc96819ebd72e3fa77315f79d5.jpg
  • Details : Eglise : classement par arrêté du 4 avril 1905
  • Mérimée reference : PA00099722

Contributions documentaries made by visitors

Church Saint-Pierre and Saint-Sauveur, French Heritage monument to Collonges la rouge. Picture of Lumière du matin
Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur, collonges la rouge
Contact contributor with his mail for more information.

Church Saint-Pierre and Saint-Sauveur, French Heritage monument to Collonges la rouge. Picture of Lumière du matin
Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur, collonges la rouge

source of information: database Mérimée and contributions of Internet users.
Images shared by the contributors of the site are provided only that they are the owners of the photo. In case of violation of copyright, thank you for contacting us.

Participate in the increase of the database

You have "old photos" of the monument or recent, you know this monument and want to share your photos, knowledge, stories about him, click here.

The objective of the website is to preserve the collective memory heritage user intervention are offered to the community.

Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur à Collonges la rouge

Eglise. Nous voici dans la ville rouge, ainsi qu'on dénommait autrefois le bourg de Collonges. En effet, tout est rouge sombre ici, cette couleur est donnée par la pierre du pays : un grès rougeâtre, qui fait de bonne bâtisse. L'église, rouge comme les autres constructions, semble vraiment monumentale (elle l'est en réalité), mais on s'étonne de voir une telle oeuvre dans un aussi petit bourg. Ces trois clochers si rapprochés, émergeant au-dessus des toitures moussues, font songer à une vieille ville monastique, du plus pur moyen-âge. C'est, qu'en effet le clocher de l'église de Collonges est peut-être la plus ancienne construction de ce genre que nous ayons en Limousin. Voici ce qu'en dit M. R. Fage dans une forte étude qu'il publiait en 1907 sur le Clocher limousin à Vépoque romane :

« On ne connaît ni une inscription ni un document permettant de le dater. Son histoire et son archéologie n'ont pas été étudiées. On sait que l'église de Collonges avait une réelle importance dès le 8e siècle, lorsque le comte de Limoges, Roger, et sa femme Euphrasiè la donnèrent, avec ses annexes, à l'abbaye de Gharroux (Vienne) (M. l'abbé Ponlbrière. Dictionnaire des paroisses du diocèse de Tulle). Sur l'emplacement de cette première, église un prieuré fut fondé à une date inconnue. Charroux conserva sur le prieuré des droits que Philippe 1er lui confirma en 1077 (M. l'abbé Poulbrière. Dictionnaire des paroisses du diocèse de Tulle). Le clocher roman devait exister à cette époque.

« On y relève tous les éléments du clocher limousin : la coupole à l'étage inférieur, la combinaison des plans carré et octogone, le cordon ou bandeau sur l'étage de transition, enfin, le gable plein appliqué, sur quatre faces de l'octogone. Mais on constate que ces divers caractères sont, pour ainsi-dire, à l'état naissant. Le plan octogone comprend quatre grands côtés et quatre côtés plus petits ; ces derniers sont tournés vers les angles du plan carré. Le gable, très épais et peu aigu, ne dépasse pas le cordon de l'étage supérieur, les pieds-droits qui le supportent sont larges et massifs, leur arête extérieure est sur la même ligne que l'arête de l'étage octogonal et forme ressaut avec le massif carré qui contre bute la petite face de l'octogone. Quoiqu'il ait eu à sa disposition des matériaux excellents, Un grès rouge, d'un grain compact, très résistant et facile à tailler, le constructeur a évité tous les procédés d'ornementation qui auraient pu amoindrir la stabilité de l'édifice. Les deux fenêtres en plein cintre, qui s'ouvrent sur chaque face de l'étage carré de la tour, sont distantes l'une de l'autre, séparées par un pilastre engagé qui supporte les retombées d'une double arcature en plein cintre formant arc de décharge. Les colonnes qui encadrent ces fenêtres sont d'un fort diamètre, avec des chapiteaux épannelés et des bases ornées de tores ; leur arc est doublé, sans le moindre ornement dans le ressaut, sans la plus simple moulure. Enfin, pour donner à l'étage de transition plus de solidité, aucune fenêtre n'y a été percée ; le gable et ses supports n'encadrent pas une baie ; ils sont appliqués sur un mur plein. L'étage supérieur n'a qu'une seule fenêtre, en plein cintre, sans colonnettes, sur chacune de ses quatre grandes faces (Le couronnement circulaire du clocher de Collonges est certainement d'une époque plus récente et doit être contemporain, comme la flèche en charpente, de la reconstruction de l'église. Dans l'origine, la tour devait être amortie par une flèche en pierre affectant la forme octogonale).

« Dans son ensemble, ce clocher a un aspect archaïque que nous ne trouvons pas au même degré à Saint-Junien et à Uzerche. Le constructeur de Collonges a trouvé la transition entre les deux plans et a su la ménager au moyen des massifs d'angle, des bandeaux et des gables ; il a donné ainsi à sa tour la silhouette caractéristique. Il a eu la conception du clocher limousin. »

Si le clocher a conservé presque en entier sa construction première, il n'en est pas de même de l'église qui, à l'origine, avait la forme crucifère, et n'est plus aujourd'hui qu'un quadrilatère allongé. La nef a été refaite vers le 14e ou le 15° siècle, de même que les chapelles.

La façade de cette église montre une particularité assez bizarre: On y voit en plein mur une quantité de pierres sculptées qui ont servi comme moellons de remplissage. En étudiant et rassemblant ces pierres, par un dessin séparé, ce qui est facile en raison de leur nature différente de celle des pierres ordinaires de la construction (Les pierres sculptées sont un calcaire blanc et les autres sont du grès rouge), on se rend compte qu'elles formaient autrefois le tympan du portail de l'église, ainsi que le dit M. l'abbé Poulbrière :

« On trouve là, comme à Carennac (Lot), la représentation du Christ triomphant assis dans une auréole aigûe, au milieu des quatre animaux évangéliques. Sous ses pieds et le long d'une première zone trônait une moitié du sénat apostolique : les six figures de ce linteau s'en détachaient sous trois arcades géminées, appuyées à leur centre par de petites colonnettes : De chaque côté du Sauveur, dans la zone supérieure à celle-ci, se distribuaient les autres apôtres, également rangés sous des arcatures, mais des arcatures sans appui. Enfin deux anges opposés sous l'archivolte complétaient la décoration. »

Nous nous unissons à M. le chanoine Poulbrière pour dire que « du moment que cette oeuvre n'est pas entièrement perdue, on pourrait en opérer la reconstruction. Ce serait un reste précieux du 12e siècle qui, avec le clocher, constituerait la partie la plus intéressante de l'église de Collonges. »

L'Etat, qui a classé l'église,.devrait certes faire rassembler ces détails de sculpture et reconstituer ce tympan.

  • Titre : Bulletin de la Société des lettres, sciences et arts de la Corrèze
  • Auteur : Société des lettres, sciences et arts de la Corrèze
  • Éditeur : Musée du Cloître (Tulle)
  • Date d'édition : 1879

Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur à Collonges la rouge
(Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur, collonges la rouge)

bâtiment classé.

Informations structurelles

Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur, Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur' à collonges la rouge (correze 19500). collonges la rouge, correze

Localisation et informations générales

  • identifiant unique de la notice : 23534
  • item : Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur
  • Localisation :
    • Limousin
    • Corrèze
    • Collonges-la-Rouge
  • Code INSEE commune : 19057
  • Code postal de la commune : 19500
  • Ordre dans la liste : 11
  • Nom commun de la construction :
    • La dénomination principale pour cette construction est : église
  • Etat :
    • L'état actuel de cette construction ne nous est pas connue.

Dates et époques

  • Périodes de construction :
    • Nous n'avons aucune informlation sur les périodes de constructions de cet édifice.
  • Date de protection : 1905/04/04 : classé MH
  • Date de versement : 1993/09/15

Construction, architecture et style

  • Materiaux:
    • NC.
  • Couverture :
    • NC.
  • Materiaux (de couverture) :
    • NC.
  • Autre a propos de la couverture :
    • NC.
  • Etages :
    • NC.
  • Escaliers :
    • NC.
  • Décoration de l'édifice :
    • NC.
  • Ornementation :
    • NC.
  • Typologie :
    • NC.
  • Plan :
    • NC.

Monument et histoire du lieu

  • Eléments protégés MH (Monument Historique) :
    • Notre base de données ne comprend aucun élément particulier qui fasse l'objet d'une protection.
  • Parties constituantes :
    • NC.
  • Parties constituantes étudiées :
    • NC.
  • Utilisation successives :
    • NC.

Autre

  • Divers :
    • Autre Information : propriété de la commune 1992
  • Photo : bc335fcc96819ebd72e3fa77315f79d5.jpg
  • Détails : Eglise : classement par arrêté du 4 avril 1905
  • Référence Mérimée : PA00099722

Contenu correspondant

Découvrez une sélection de pages qui pourrait compléter votre lecture.

Contributions des internautes

Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur à Collonges la rouge. par Lumière du matin
Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur, collonges la rouge
Envoyer un mail à l'auteur de cette photo pour plus d'information
Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur à Collonges la rouge. par Lumière du matin
Eglise Saint-Pierre ou Saint-Sauveur, collonges la rouge

Source: base Mérimée et contribution des internautes.

Les images proposées par les contributeurs du site le sont à la seule condition qu'ils soient les propriétaires du cliché. En cas de constat d'usurpation des droits d'auteur, merci de nous contacter.

Participez au complément de la base patrimoine

partager Vous disposez de photos anciennes ou récentes de ce monument, vous connaissez ce monument et souhaitez partager vos photos, connaissances, anecdotes le concernant, cliquez ici.

Le but affiché du site est de conserver la mémoire collective du patrimoine les interventions des utilisateurs sont offertes à la communauté.