Cairon

Cairon is a small town in the plain of Caen, which cannot have a history, but that retains even a few curious traditions, good, I think, to save from oblivion. Traditions are the moral monuments of a past to a half fumble in the history, and systematically disdain them it is, out of hatred for some inaccuracies, often curious themselves reject indications precious and much information not found elsewhere.

Cairon is North of Caen, half path of Creully. There are 537 inhabitants. The commune includes part of the village of Buron. The ancient parish of Bissons was annexed to that of Cairon from before the Revolution. It is said that this meeting took place following a plague that ravaged the country. The parish priest of Bissons having cowardice to abandon his parishioners, was deputized with as much dedication as activity, by the priest of Cairon. Since then, the two parishes, which were within the same pattern (at the time of the book Pelut was the Duke of Normandy), remained United. The Bissons still retain their tidy little church in the middle of the cemetery. but they it were part of the parish of the good shepherd who knew how to give his life for his sheep.

Two hamlets bear the name of Cairon. Coming from Caen, after Buron, crossing first Cairon-le-Vieux; then, more than a kilometre, in the direction of Creully is Cairon-le-Jeune. What makes these rather bizarre names, it is that Cairon-le-Vieux lies so far closely from a demi-lieue of usual centre of any parish. The Church is, in fact, located beyond the last Hamlet, at the top of an eminence, enough away from any home and almost on the borders of the commune.

The tradition of the country is that once, no doubt after a first unexplained migration, which made first abandon Cairon-le-Vieux, the largest number of inhabitants of the parish were grouped around their Bell Tower. This fact is justified by the foundations of houses and traces of dwellings which could find in the fields surrounding the Church. But a plague that ravaged the country fit to abandon the infected village, and Cairon-le-Jeune was built at the foot of the Hill, on the banks of the molt.

The Church consists of two parallelograms which one, the largest, forms the nave, and the other the choir. It is dedicated to saint Hilaire. It is known that, as the Church of Belches and several others in the country, it was occupied militarily by the English, after the last revolt of Godfrey of Harcourt. Robert of Clermont, may 28, 1357, ordered the Viscount of Bayeux resume Kalra Tower, and it seems that the place was actually removed at this time.

Moreover, no trace remains of these warriors memories. The nave comes to be almost entirely rebuilt; previously, she had already undergone many repairs, and retained however still some vestiges of its primitive style, which was novel.

The choir, vaulted and fairly well preserved, belongs at the beginning of the 13th century, as well as prove it geometric ornaments which decorate its vaults and its warheads.

The current Bell Tower, above the vault of the choir, is a shapeless mass which bears the stamp of its construction: 1776. He replaced a former belfry slate, which itself should not go back to the time where the Viscount of Bayeux brought Maie-neighbour to give assault.

In one of the northeastern foothills of the Tower of Cairon lies embedded a peculiarly enough stone, and known under the name of Fer-à-cheval. She did little more than one square foot, and bears two nicks, contained two small collateral niches. This stone, obviously laid intentionally, or by means of overlay, instead that it occupies, is the object of a perennial tradition. It is argued that it serves brand to the position of a treasure hidden in the vicinity at the time of the English. Forty years ago excavations were made in the front of this stone. It was performing them day and night, relentlessly; It pushed them far enough, to a depth of more than 2 metres. Needless to say that it found nothing.

The cemetery is very broad, and would suffice burials of a parish larger than Cairon during more than a century. But more than a century ago that it serves, and everywhere it is filled with stone coffins.

It had, said to be in the country, chosen this method of burial in a time where the coffins of wood were not usually employed, lest leave devour the dead by wolves that were found in the vicinity. Others say that, in a leper in a field nearby, which was the big leper colony of Caen, it admitted that from rich patients, whose families did not want to abandon the mortal remains to the Earth without this distinction.

Abbé De La Rue observes, in fact, the existence of a leper at Cairon.

Every time has its calamities. Today, the academies are discussed on cholera and other fatal in the 19th century and future generations plagues; broad and far-sighted of our fathers charity destroyed leprosy, and has preserved the European breeds from this terrible stain.

One of these Nineteen thousand hospitals which, in the words of Mathieu Paris, were enshrined in Christendom to the care of lepers, was founded at Cairon. It was located, said to be west of the Church, and it seems that we could see still some vestiges, there's just a few years, in a vast piece of land named Clos-burrows. The well in was destroyed only fairly recently, and its coping is still leaning against the Northeast Wall of the churchyard.

In addition to this cemetery, there have been at least two other territory of Cairon. The first is located in the countryside, between the two villages of Cairon-le-Vieux and Cairon-le-Jeune, in the loosens the IWRM mount, not far from the confluence of two streams: the molt and the Vey. Straightening this way 20 years ago, it met a considerable number of caskets in stone, enough to build a small house on the road, in the front of the grid of the Castle. The bones were piously collected and transported two dumpers in the northern part of the parish cemetery.

For the ploughshare view still often in the vicinity of human debris, and was there struck from old stone coffins. I searched one of these burials with Mr. l ' Abbé de Guzman, then parish priest of Cairon. We met the top edges of the coffin about 0 m 10, below the soil surface. It had to be closed with carved stones, but only with wide rubble. In the Interior, we constatâmes the presence of the remains of five people. A whole skeleton was lying there feet to the East, and around him, with number of various bones, we recognized four skulls almost complete. We found nothing that these debris, which were brought to the cemetery. The coffin was limestone coarse, dug at right angles on the sides, and a slightly sloping manner at the head and feet.

Tradition told us of a chapel built in this district, and named the Chapel St-Germain. We are in could discover no trace. Only found the crossbar of an old stone cross inlaid in the wall of a nearby grassland and forcing we recognize an informed segment of this cross, used to support the barrier of a field.

The second abandoned cemetery is located on a Hill east of Cairon-le-Vieux, over a career. A few years ago, flows are uncovered a few coffins of stone without the lid. The corpses were oriented feet in the levant. I fouillai one of these graves and found, with the remains of a skeleton, a bronze brooch which has since been lost. I recognized the drawing very exact in one of the publications of Mr. Abbot Cochet, who assigned the PIN by him found a Merovingian.

Thus, this is therefore three cemeteries, containing all of the caskets in stone, in the territory of a single and enough small parish. One of them, by the indication that I have just said, can be traced back to an already well distant time. However, there are perhaps at Cairon a most ancient monument yet.

Source: Memoirs by Société des antiquaires de Normandie 1869.

Description

cairon, French city Department of calvados with 3 historical sites listed or simply studied for their remarkable character.
Our database currently includes 3 elements for heritage cairon. You will find the menu and footer links leading you on the description sheets.

There are 0 localitie (Place called, location known as) in Cairon :

listeds buildings (classified and protected) in Cairon

Monuments in Cairon, Cairon has 3 buildings protected. Include :

  1. official reference : PA00111198 ;
  2. official reference : PA00111199 ;
  3. official reference : PA00111200
Please note this list is likely to evolve, the data presented are from 2013.

Statistics for Cairon

Town or city :
Postcode of city : 14610
Insee code : 14123
Longitude : -0.421691
Latitude : 49.253237
Total population : 1617 people
alley : 6
path : 6
dead : 10
place : 3
route : 1
st : 27
path : 2

Saint-Hilaire Church to Cairon
Cairon Church consists of two parallelograms, one forming the nave, the other the choir. The nave is Romanesque, the walls have retained their modillions in figures; but some parts were taken in underpinning and repeat; the side door to the South has been resized internally; the Western door is modern.

Megalith named La Pierre Tourneresse, French Heritage monument to Cairon 3
« Megalith named La Pierre Tourneresse » is a construction of the city of Cairon (France, Calvados). Megalith named La Pierre Tourneresse, French Heritage monument to Cairon

Castle, French Heritage monument to Cairon 1
« Castle » is a construction of the city of Cairon (France, Calvados). Castle, French Heritage monument to Cairon

Patrimoine historique de Cairon

Cairon est une petite commune de la plaine de Caen, qui ne peut avoir une histoire, mais qui conserve encore quelques traditions curieuses, bonnes, je crois, à sauver de l'oubli. Les traditions sont les monuments moraux d'un passé à demi échappé à l'histoire, et les dédaigner systématiquement c'est, en haine de quelques inexactitudes, d'ailleurs souvent curieuses elles-mêmes, rejeter bien des indications précieuses et bien des renseignements introuvables ailleurs.

Cairon est au nord de Caen, à moitié chemin de Creully. On y compte 537 habitants. La commune comprend une partie du hameau de Buron. L'ancienne paroisse des Bissons était annexée à celle de Cairon dès avant la Révolution. On dit que cette réunion eut lieu à la suite d'une peste qui ravagea tout le pays. Le curé des Bissons ayant eu la lâcheté d'abandonner ses paroissiens, fut suppléé, avec autant de dévouement que d'activité, par le curé de Cairon ; depuis, les deux paroisses, qui relevaient du même patron (au temps du Livre Pelut c'était le duc de Normandie), demeurèrent unies. Les Bissons conservent encore leur coquette petite église, au milieu de son cimetière; mais ils l'ont partie de la paroisse du bon pasteur qui sut offrir sa vie pour ses brebis.

Deux hameaux portent le nom de Cairon. En venant de Caen, après Buron, on traverse d'abord Cairon-le-Vieux ; puis, à plus d'un kilomètre, dans la direction de Creully, on trouve Cairon-le-Jeune. Ce qui rend ces appellations assez bizarres, c'est que Cairon-le-Vieux se trouve ainsi éloigné de près d'une demi-lieue du centre habituel de toute paroisse. L'église est, en effet, située par-delà le dernier hameau, au haut d'une éminence, assez loin de toute maison et presque aux confins de la commune.

La tradition du pays est qu'autrefois, sans doute après une première migration inexpliquée, qui fit d'abord abandonner Cairon-le-Vieux, le plus grand nombre des habitants de la paroisse s'étaient groupés autour de leur clocher. Ce fait est justifié par les fondations de maisons et les traces d'habitations dont on a pu constater l'existence dans les champs environnant l'église. Mais une peste qui ravagea le pays fit abandonner le village infecté, et Cairon-le-Jeune fut bâti au pied de la colline, sur les bords de la Mue.

L'église se compose de deux parallélogrammes dont l'un, le plus grand, forme la nef, et l'autre le chœur. Elle est dédiée à saint Hilaire. On sait que, comme l'église de Rots et plusieurs autres du pays, elle fut occupée militairement par les Anglais, après la dernière révolte de Godefroy d'Harcourt. Robert de Clermont, le 28 mai 1357, ordonna au vicomte de Bayeux de reprendre la tour de Karou, et il semble que la place ait été effectivement enlevée à cette époque.

Au reste, nulle trace ne reste de ces souvenirs guerriers. La nef vient d'être presque entièrement refaite; auparavant, elle avait déjà subi de nombreuses réparations, et conservait cependant encore quelques vestiges de son style primitif, qui était roman.

Le chœur, voûté et assez bien conservé, appartient au commencement du XIIIe siècle, ainsi que le prouvent les ornements géométriques qui décorent ses voûtes et ses ogives.

Le clocher actuel, au-dessus de la voûte du chœur, est une masse informe qui porte le cachet de sa construction : 1776. Il remplaça un ancien clocher en ardoises, qui lui-même ne devait pas remonter au temps où le vicomte de Bayeux amenait la Maie-Voisine pour lui donner assaut.

Dans un des contreforts nord-est de la tour de Cairon se trouve incrustée une pierre assez singulièrement taillée, et que l'on désigne sous le nom de Fer-à-cheval. Elle n'a guère qu'un pied carré, et porte deux entailles, qui figurent deux petites niches collatérales. Cette pierre, évidemment posée intentionnellement, et par procédé d'incrustation, à la place qu'elle occupe, est l'objet d'une tradition vivace. On prétend qu'elle sert de marque à la position d'un trésor caché dans les environs, au temps des Anglais. Il y a une quarantaine d'années, des fouilles furent faites en face de cette pierre. On les exécutait de jour et de nuit, sans désemparer; on les poussa assez loin, sur une profondeur de plus de 2 mètres. Inutile de dire qu'on ne trouva rien.

Le cimetière est très-vaste, et suffirait aux inhumations d'une paroisse plus grande que Cairon pendant plus d'un siècle. Mais il y a plus d'un siècle qu'il sert, et partout il est rempli de cercueils en pierre taillée.

On avait, dit-on dans le pays, choisi ce mode de sépulture en un temps où les cercueils de bois n'étaient pas habituellement employés, de peur de laisser dévorer les morts par les loups qui infestaient les environs. D'autres disent que, dans une maladrerie située en un champ voisin et qui relevait de la grande léproserie de Caen, on n'admettait que de riches malades, dont les familles ne voulaient pas abandonner la dépouille mortelle à la terre sans cette distinction.

L'abbé De La Rue signale, en effet, l'existence d'une maladrerie à Cairon.

Chaque temps a ses calamités. Aujourd'hui, les académies discutent sur le choléra et sur d'autres fléaux fatals au XIXe siècle et aux générations futures ; la charité large et prévoyante de nos pères détruisit la lèpre, et a préservé les races européennes de cette terrible souillure.

Un de ces dix-neuf mille hôpitaux qui, au dire de Mathieu Paris , furent consacrés dans la chrétienté au soin des lépreux, avait été fondé à Cairon. Il était situé, dit-on, à l'ouest de l'église, et il paraît qu'on en voyait encore quelques vestiges, il y a peu d'années, dans une vaste pièce de terre nommée les Clos-Terriers. Le puits n'en a été détruit qu'assez récemment, et sa margelle est encore appuyée contre le mur nord-est du cimetière paroissial.

Outre ce cimetière, il en a existé au moins deux autres sur le territoire de Cairon. Le premier se trouve dans la campagne, entre les deux villages de Cairon-le-Vieux et de Cairon-le-Jeune, en la délie du Mont-Gire, non loin du confluent de deux ruisseaux: la Mue et le Vey. En redressant cette voie, il y a une vingtaine d'années, on rencontra un nombre considérable de cercueils en pierre, assez pour en construire une petite maison sur la route, en face de la grille du château. Les ossements furent pieusement recueillis, et transportés sur deux tomberaux dans la partie nord du cimetière paroissial.

Le soc de la charrue découvre encore souvent dans les environs des débris humains, et s'y heurte à de vieux cercueils de pierre. J'ai fouillé une de ces sépultures avec M. l'abbé Delauney, alors curé de Cairon. Nous rencontrâmes les bords supérieurs du cercueil à environ 0m 10 au dessous de la surface du sol. Il n'avait pas dû être fermé avec des pierres taillées, mais seulement avec de larges moellons. Dans l'intérieur, nous constatâmes la présence des restes de cinq personnes. Un squelette entier y était couché les pieds vers l'est, et autour de lui, avec nombre d'ossements divers, nous reconnûmes quatre crânes presque complets. Nous ne trouvâmes rien que ces débris, qui furent portés au cimetière. Le cercueil était en calcaire grossier, creusé perpendiculairement sur les côtés, et d'une manière un peu déclive à la tête et aux pieds.

La tradition nous avait parlé d'une chapelle construite dans ce quartier, et nommée la chapelle St-Germain. Nous n'en pûmes découvrir aucune trace. Seulement on retrouve le croisillon d'une vieille croix de pierre incrusté dans le mur d'un herbage voisin, et nous crûmes reconnaître un tronçon informe de cette croix, employé à soutenir la barrière d'un champ.

Le second cimetière abandonné se trouve sur une colline à l'est de Cairon-le-Vieux, au-dessus d'une carrière. Il y a quelques années, des écoulements y mirent à jour quelques cercueils de pierre sans couvercle. Les cadavres étaient orientés les pieds au levant. Je fouillai l'une de ces sépultures et j'y trouvai, avec les restes d'un squelette, une broche en bronze qui depuis a été perdue. J'en ai reconnu le dessin très-exact dans une des publications de M. l'abbé Cochet, qui assignait à la broche par lui trouvée une époque mérovingienne.

Ainsi, voilà donc trois cimetières, contenant tous des cercueils en pierre, sur le territoire d'une seule et assez petite paroisse. L'un d'eux, par l'indice que je viens de dire, remonterait à un temps déjà bien lointain. Cependant, il y a peut-être à Cairon un monument plus antique encore.

Source : Mémoires par Société des antiquaires de Normandie 1869.

Description de Cairon

Cairon, commune Française du département calvados avec 3 sites répertoriés ou simplement présentés pour leur caractère remarquable.

Vous trouverez dans le menu et en bas de page les liens vous menant sur les fiches de description.

On compte 0 lieu-dit à Cairon :

Edifices, monuments classés à Cairon

Bâtiments classés de Cairon (Source open data), Cairon possède 3 bâtiments ou espaces classés. On peu citer :

  1. référence officielle : PA00111198 ;
  2. référence officielle : PA00111199 ;
  3. référence officielle : PA00111200
Attention cette liste est suceptible d'évoluer, les données présentées sont de 2013.

Statistique Cairon

Commune ou ville de :
Code postal de la ville : 14610
Code Insee : 14123
Longitude : -0.421691
Latitude : 49.253237
Population totale : 1617 habitants
allee : 6
chemin : 6
impasse : 10
place : 3
route : 1
rue : 27
sentier : 2

Répertoire du patrimoine

proposer un site web dans l'annuaire Promotion du patrimoine Proposez un site, blog, en rapport avec Cairon
La fiche descriptive de votre site sera directement accessible dans cette rubrique.
 
Eglise Saint-Hilaire
Patrimoine classé, étudié ou inscrit dit 'Eglise Saint-Hilaire' à cairon (calvados 14610). La nef est romane, les murs ont conservé leurs modillons à figures; mais quelques parties ont été reprises en sous-œuvre et refaites ; la porte latérale au sud a été retaillée intérieurement ; la porte occidentale est moderne.

Château
Le château de Cairon date du XVIIIe siècle, il accueillit probablement le Général de Gaulle. Son colombier date du XVIe siècle. On trouve peu de documentation sur ce château et son colombier.

Mégalithe nommé La Pierre Tourneresse
C'est la pierre tourniresse, à laquelle une vague tradition rattache le souvenir des fées et de leurs danses nocturnes. Elle est calcaire , de forme irrégulière, un peu elliptique, et mesure 3 mètres 80 centimètres de long sur 3 mètres de large.